Customer Reviews for GE Paintable Silicone Supreme 10.1 oz. Window and Door Silicone Sealant Caulk

Internet #203370482

Model #2709114

Store SKU #1000014279

  • Hybrid performance; paintable and waterproof
  • 30-minute paint and rain-ready
  • Mold resistant with 10-year mold-free product protection

Customer Reviews

  • 214 Customer Reviews
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars overall
71% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(157)
4star-icon(25)
3star-icon(4)
2star-icon(6)
1star-icon(22)
Attribute Ratings
Quality
2.0
Value
2.1
Sort By:
NOT white - turns yellow
Quality :
1
Value :
1
This GE white, paintable silicone caulk went on well, but turned yellow within a week of application. It's probably fine if you're intending to paint it, but if you want it to stay white, steer clear. It's a total garbage product, and I would never buy it again.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Momentive PerformanceSeptember 9, 2020
We're sorry to hear about your experience with GE Paintable Silicone Supreme.  What you are describing is not typical of this product's performance. Please contact customer service at 1-866-275-4372 at your earliest convenience and we will be happy to work with you to resolve the issue. Momentive
Very difficult to apply
I had to apply a lot of pressure to apply this caulk. I had cut to about 1/4 inch bead size. Even then, I could not get a consistent bead. Since it was so viscous, my caulking job turned out horrible. I’m glad that I only needed to use this caulk in an inconspicuous area. I used a wood stain and it somewhat adhered to the caulk. It does dry in 30 minutes, as advertised. I think it will do a good job in resisting. water, mold and mildew. Time will tell. Overall, I’m disappointed at $8 dollars a tube.
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from Momentive PerformanceJanuary 15, 2019
We're sorry to hear about your experience with GE Supreme Paintable Window & Door.  What you are describing is not typical of this product's performance. Please contact customer service at 1-866-275-4372 at your earliest convenience and we will be happy to work with you to resolve the issue. Momentive
$8 worth of Junk
Was hoping this product was as "supreme" as advertised. I was sorely disappointed. Used it around window edging, and cracking appeared shortly after. Why spend $8 on a product that doesn't work?
Was this helpful?
8
0
Response from Momentive PerformanceMay 17, 2017
We're sorry to hear about your experience with GE Supreme Paintable Silicone. What you are describing is not typical of this product's performance. Please contact customer service at 1-866-275-4372 at your earliest convenience and we will be happy to work with you to resolve the issue. Momentive
I used this product when I installed new windows and doors on my house, and I followed the label ...
I used this product when I installed new windows and doors on my house, and I followed the label directions to the letter. Within one month, it started to fail around two of the doors and windows (it's separating from the door and window frames). After several months, it's starting to fail everywhere. It looks like this product is going to cause me a massive headache because I will need to remove and replace it on every door and window.
Was this helpful?
16
0
Response from Momentive PerformanceNovember 22, 2017
Tony, we're sorry to hear about your experience with GE Supreme Paintable Silicone.  What you are describing is not typical of this product's performance. Please contact customer service at 1-866-275-4372 at your earliest convenience and we will be happy to work with you to resolve the issue. Momentive
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Was this helpful?
0
0
A decent, and paintable seal....
A decent, and paintable seal.
Was this helpful?
0
0
I like using this because it's paintable. Works great around...
I like using this because it's paintable. Works great around outside wooden window frames
Was this helpful?
0
0
Used half a tube. Capped end. Went back two weeks later and it was hard in tube. Had to cut tube ...
Used half a tube. Capped end. Went back two weeks later and it was hard in tube. Had to cut tube to get caulking gun out. Was not expired. Dummy me bought another tube and same thing happened.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Momentive PerformanceSeptember 9, 2020
One way you can increase the shelf life of an opened tube is by placing a screw or the nozzle tip that was cut off into the opening and sealing it with tape. Also, be sure to store in a cool dry location. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact customer service at 1-866-275-4372. Momentive
Was this helpful?
0
0
Holds up good but tends to turn a little yellow...
Holds up good but tends to turn a little yellow after a while. Doesn’t hold the true white color.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers