Customer Reviews for Geeni Tap Smart Wi-Fi Light Switch

Internet #307306716

Model #GN-WW107-199

Customer Reviews

  • 46 Customer Reviews
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars overall
90% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(30)
4star-icon(7)
3star-icon(3)
2star-icon(2)
1star-icon(4)
Sort By:
I followed in the instructions and everything worked as expected no the first try. We use this to...
I followed in the instructions and everything worked as expected no the first try. We use this to turn our backyard light on and off from the backyard.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Easy installation, it is as easy as changing out a standard switch. Be aware, a NEUTRAL WIRE IS ...
Quality :
3
Seeds Program Review
(What's this)
Easy installation, it is as easy as changing out a standard switch. Be aware, a NEUTRAL WIRE IS REQUIRED for proper installation. Older homes may not have necessary wiring to complete the installation. In my state, neutral wire were not code under 2011, so if your home was built before that please check your home wiring before purchasing. The switch takes up a little more room within the electrical box, like most smart switches. The switch doesn't require a hub, only your home wifi and the app. The app allows you to simply turns lights on or off, set a schedule on when to turn on, or use voice commands with Google Assistant, Alexa, or Cortana. This is a great choice as a smart switch for a beginner trying to get into making their home "Smart". I feel that the current options available from Geeni may not be enough to outfit an entire home to work within the same app, but the switch is a good start.
Was this helpful?
6
0
Response from Geeni official responseFebruary 4, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We are dedicated on making the most advanced, affordable and reliable smart home products. We at Geeni are thinking ways to improve our products and we would love to hear any suggestions from you via email at support@mygeeni.com, phone +1 (888) 232-3143 support.mygeeni.com for an online chat from Mon-Sun, 7:00 AM to 12:00 Midnight EST. MerkuryInnovations
This switch is a good choice for an inexpensive entry level smart switch. Due to the low cost thi...
Quality :
3
Seeds Program Review
(What's this)
This switch is a good choice for an inexpensive entry level smart switch. Due to the low cost this is a great choice to get you started in the entry into home automation. My first impressions when opening this switch was that the quality isn't as good as those made by other brands. This can be forgiven though when one considers the price difference. I initially installed this switch for our front porch light. Unfortunately, it would not fit in the switch box due to the extra room that any smart switch occupies. Especially since it was next to another smart switch already taking up more than its share of room in the box. I elected to install it in our hallway and installation was very easy. It even includes a decora style faceplate. While it looks great you may want to use a standard decora plate to match your other switches and outlets. One negative I found with this switch is that it does not include screws to mount to the switch box. Every single switch I have ever bought as included screws, so I'm not sure why they elected to leave them out. I'll admit 95% of the time you are replacing an existing switch, but there are times you will be installing a switch in a new location such as when adding a new lighting circuit. Adding the switch to the APP and to Alexa was straight forward. The app could use some more features such as the ability to synchronize to sunset/sunrise, but seems to be functional and reliable. The indicator light is also appreciated, especially if you install it where you cannot see the light, such as for a porch light. Overall this is a good choice for a simple SMART light, it will allow you to turn your light on and off with your supported device(s) and set a timer as well. It is somewhat let down by some of the negatives I have mentioned, but considering the price I would still recommend it.
Was this helpful?
3
0
Response from Geeni official responseFebruary 8, 2019
Hi! Thank you for the great feedback. We are happy to help make our customers life easy, we are dedicated on making the most advanced, affordable and reliable smart home products. Your comments are important to us because they help us provide the best service in the industry. If you need assistance, please contact us via email at support@mygeeni.com, phone +(888) 232-3143, support.mygeeni.com for online chat support. We are available from Mon-Sun, 7:00 AM to 12:00 AM EST. MerkuryInnovations
I really like the convenience of having the ability to turn off my lights using my phone or just ...
Quality :
4
Seeds Program Review
(What's this)
I really like the convenience of having the ability to turn off my lights using my phone or just by asking Alexa to do it for me. I currently have 10 lutron caseta smart switches in my home. They are pretty spendy so when I saw this one I was curious if it would do the job. After installing this switch I had no issues setting it up. As with all geeni products this was so simple to hook up to my network. I like the blue light on the front that tells you that you are connected to wifi and also it has a green light to let you know the light is on. Definitely recommend these switches whether your just getting into smart home products or your just looking for something new. My one complaint is that it did not come with the screws.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from Geeni official responseFebruary 6, 2019
Congratulations on your new product! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to provide you with the excellent experience we strive to provide all our customers. We look forward to working with you again in the future. If you have any issues moving forward, please let us know as we’re here to help. Feel free to contact our revamped support channels via email at support@mygeeni.com or call us at +1 (888) 232-3143, available from Mon-Sun, 7:00 AM to 12:00 Midnight EST. MerkuryInnovations
Works perfectly with my alexa. I use to control my front porch light.
Works perfectly with my alexa. I use to control my front porch light.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Works great!
Customer review from logo
These Geeni products work great. They are easy to connect to using my 2.4ghz WiFi. No issues at all. I highly recommend!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Was this helpful?
0
0
This switched enabled me to set Up my driveway lights...
This switched enabled me to set Up my driveway lights to turn on when my motion sensor is triggered.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Not easy to pair at the beginning but after you...
Not easy to pair at the beginning but after you get the trick is a pice of cake.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Great product! Easy to install!...
Great product! Easy to install!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers