No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (12)
  • A solid, heavy and heavy duty workbench
  • November 10, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This workbench is not fancy - no drawers, no storage, no moving parts other than the adjustable height legs. It is simply a solid, heavy duty work surface. The top is 1-3/4" thick, made of solid hardwood. The legs are tubular steel and adjustable, with leveling feet. It was fairly easy to assemble, and only took about 20 minutes. The weight of the bench is the largest concern. Moving it requires either plenty of strength or two people. Even the legs are heavy to move around. That weight just equals strength and stability - both good for a workbench. I added a shelf between the cross braces of the legs, made out of plywood. It works well and gives me some additional storage space below the bench. I really like the bench and can see it lasting forever. The leveling feet are a nice touch. My garage slopes (as do most), and the leveling feet resolved that without me having to shim it. I like that a lot. The only thing I would like to see is some kind of shelving or drawers under the top. The space is there, and it would make it a much more functional workspace.

Pros Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, easy assembly, heavy, Strong

Video & Photo

  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

jswobe

Elkridge, MD, USA
35 to 44, Male
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jswobe
  • This Gladiator Workbench makes a Perfect Home Office Computer Station with a regular desk for d...
  • January 05, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This Gladiator Workbench makes a Perfect Home Office Computer Station with a regular desk for doing daily paper work. These Workbenches are easy to assembly and very stable compared to most Computer Work Stations we looked at. We like the feature of adjustable legs. We did add a Keyboard Tray and a Pencil Drawer to finish out the office arrangement . The Gladiator Power Strip resolved the Tangled Cord Problem Associated with Computers. You will also notice The Internet Router and TV Box sits nicely on the shelf (we found on the web) . We are very pleased that Home Depot delivered these workbenches in a timely manner during the Christmas Time frame . This lay out really enhances our home based business and makes doing daily work very easy. I assembled these the same day they arrived (EARLY) and was up and running the business the next day . Ordered December 13 , Delivered on December 18, 2016

Video & Photo

Ron

12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Ron
  • Needed a new desk for my PC that would hold both the computer and my quad monitor setup. Didn't ...
  • June 08, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Needed a new desk for my PC that would hold both the computer and my quad monitor setup. Didn't like the look of any of the cheap particle board looking desks to drill a hole in for my monitor mount so I decided to go with a more solid option. I have the 8 foot table in my garage as my workbench so I knew this would work fine. Set legs to 2nd lowest level and added a chair and voila, I have my new computer desk that isn't going anywhere.

Video & Photo

Ken

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Ken
  • Super Nice and Sturdy Workbench
  • December 22, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This is an excellent workbench. It is extremely heavy, the frame is thicker gauge steel and the top is solid wood. The bench is height adjustable and has a lot of variation in height available to fit nearly any preference. I like mine a little higher so I don't have to bend far to reach out over it. I was able to mount my bench vice directly to the top. I had to be careful to miss the framework when drilling the holes, but the result was nice (see photos). Although this workbench is kind of expensive, it is so well made you will be handing it down to your grandchild.

Pros Nice Design, Sturdy

Video & Photo

  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

AJAY

West Virginia
45 to 54, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: AJAY
  • Great Table - With Warnings
  • September 26, 2014
  • Recommended Product

After seeing reviews that suggested this item might arrive damaged, I had it delivered to my nearest HD store so I could inspect it first. I am glad I did. The first two tables arrived at the store damaged. Before reordering the table a third time, store personnel picked the good parts from the two damaged tables to make me one good one....or so I thought. After taking the table to my shop, I opened it to find the table top damaged in two small places, both of which exposed rough wood to the front edge of the table top. Here's the problem. The bamboo top is so hard, it's extremely difficult to sand the dings smooth. And I need to do that so workers here will not get splinters. Check your item closely for dings, especially the table top. And know it will not be easy to sand those dings smooth. The dings on my table top are still not smooth. Otherwise the table is top notch. It is very sturdy even with the adjustable nature of the legs. And it is nice and heavy, just right for attaching a vise for serious work.

Pros Durable, Good Size & Weight
  • Pro

DAD814

greensboro, NC
55 to 64, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DAD814
  • somewhat disappointed
  • April 03, 2014
  • Recommended Product

somewhat disappointed. Purchased this unit based on reviews and seeing it on display. The bench is easy to assemble and very solid. it took about 30 minutes to put together and I had my son in law help me flip it over which cost me a beer I got it on sale so that was even better. Right now its $384 on the HD site. My unit had some issues so I am a little disappointed as I mentioned. Issue one (1) was the threading on one of the adjustable legs was defective and the leg would not screw in. A call to CS and 5 days later I had a new part. CS was great. but I still lost a week of use. Thge workbench top is the (2nd) second issue. There are gaps wheresome of the pieces of maple in the top join together and the finish is thin. There are also some strips in the finish, I guess from either when it was dipped or shipped. They are about 1/4 inch wide and occur every foot or so down the side of the top. While this may not be an issue in the garage, for me, i am using this as a desk and its a little unsightly. I will be adding wood filler to the gaps and then a second or third coat of poly to the top to bring it up to the standard of the "Whalen" tops. Knowing what I know now I would inspect before I got the unit home to make sure I got a good top.

Pros Sturdy, Good Size & Weight Cons poor qc, top is not well finished
  • DIY

Lightbulb

55 to 64, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Lightbulb
  • Terrific value, durable, easy to assemble
  • December 10, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I especially like the adjustable height. I initially installed it at table height and then adjusted it higher as I needed more storage room under the bench for some tool boxes. The bench was easy to assemble by myself. Would be a little easier to upright with two people though.

Pros Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Great Instructions, Nice Design

Lobo

San Ramon, CA, USA
65 or over, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Lobo
  • outstanding workbench
  • August 04, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Exceeded my expectations. Beautiful maple top (or as my wife observed: "It is almost too good for he shop") and solid adjustable legs. Set up was easy. Since I like portability, I had step down casters welded on the bottom legs to allow me the freedom to move the bench; under most circumstances it rests on the floor. Since the bench is heavy, determine the height of the work surface prior to installation. Once the height is set, then you can turn the bench over (with help from a spouse or friend). Got the bench on sale 25% off! Great Deal...One issue: when I went to my HD store for pick up (had it delivered there to save shipping), I and the Customer Service folks observed that it had arrived in absolutely thrashed condition! Not only was a new one shipped as a replacement, but HD paid for white glove shipment to my home as an apology for the inconvenience. Great CS! As it turned out, I needed the white glove shipment because the second bench arrived in a damaged box as well. However, all was well inside when we inspected it! I love it!!!!!

Pros Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
  • Pro

Buzz

Austin, Texas
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Buzz
  • Great Bench
  • January 27, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This is a well built bench. It's a bit pricey but I guess you get what you pay for. My only complaint was the condition of the bench top when I unpacked it. There were half a dozen places on the wood top that were damaged from shipping even though it was fully wrapped by cardboard. Nothing major but for what you pay for this bench, it should be perfect. I decided to for go trying to have it replaced because of the time and hassle but it still ticks me off a little every time I see those dents. That's why I gave it four stars.

RJ77659

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: RJ77659
  • This is the second Gladiator bench that I have purchased. The first 8' bench was purchased about...
  • July 31, 2018
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This is the second Gladiator bench that I have purchased. The first 8' bench was purchased about 1.5 years ago. I wad sort happy with it. Since I needed another EpiPen surface I bought this 4 footer. A few things that were not great with the new one. The paint color of the upper legs and lower legs was off. Definitely different. Also one of the holesfor the back flange was not tapped all the way so it wouldn't accept the button head screw. Also one of the hex holes rounded out when tightening the wing nut on the left. I returned the bench. Could be better quality control. Maybe Gladiator is getting too big for their britches?

Video & Photo

  • DIY

DenverJack

35 to 44, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DenverJack