No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (14)
  • Good for First-timers
  • August 14, 2013
  • Recommended Product

Having never laid a shower pan before and with very little deck mud experience, I opted to spring for the Pre-Pitch and Quick Pitch systems. They definitely made the process much easier & I'm confident improved my end result. The system is very easy to use & there are great videos on the company’s website that detail how the product should be installed. Once you’ve measured and cut your float sticks (I used a circular saw to cut mine but they’re just PVC, so they’re pretty easy to cut), they press into the ring & sit over your drain & you just fill one cell at a time, screeding the deck mud until it’s even with the top of the sticks. It’s important to note that because it sits over the drain screws, it adds an additional ¼ of an inch to the height of the shower base. Initially, I was judging where the shower floor would line up off the height of the sticks, but it ended up being slightly higher (not a big deal unless you’re pushing the minimum 2” interior curb height above your drain). My only complaint is that most showers, if done as they suggest, will require 8 sticks and they only give you 6. I feel like at this price, the customer deserves a full 8 sticks without having to purchase an add-on. With that said, I didn’t purchase additional sticks and still made it work. It was a little trickier in the two wider cells, but nothing too bad. All in all, it’s a major timesaver & it’s easy to use. I definitely recommend both the Pre Pitch & the Quick Pitch to anyone who’s even a little unsure about their ability to evenly lay a shower pan at the correct pitch.

Pros Easy to Use, Nice Design

Video & Photo

  • Top 100 Contributor
  • DIY

Judson

Knoxville, TN, USA
25 to 34, Female
27 out of 27 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Judson
  • Product was easy to use
  • April 08, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I have a variety of previous experience doing home remodel and repair, however this was the first time doing a shower pan. I used the Goof Proof slope sticks to help define a smooth, even, surface for the shower floor, prior to tile. The slope sticks worked out really well!!!

Pros Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install

Video & Photo

  • DIY

darkwater27

Winters, CA 95694, USA
35 to 44, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: darkwater27
  • Saved my Bacon
  • February 28, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I'd heard about these online, but was unable to find locally (Seattle area) -- not even at Home Depot. Allowed me to easily set the final slope for my shower. Note that you need both pre-pitch and quick-pitch for a complete solution: this was not clear in the write-ups that I found online. My two complaints: (a) very expensive for a few hunks of plastic, and (b) could do with at least 2 more angled rails (they ship 6, really needs 8). And to this point I have both a complaint (just voiced) and a rave. I completed pouring the floor late on a Sunday: late enough that the final batch of mix was done in the dark. You know how it goes when you're in a hurry -- not so well. And in this case I wound up with a low spot in between widely spaced rails that I didn't notice for 24 hours. Some online research indicated that the only correct fix is to remove the concrete and re-pour. That turned out to be easy, and because the quick-pitch defines a clean zone, it was easy to re-pour and get the slope right. I have a friend who, after two attempts (literally two floors poured on top of each other), still has a low spot. He poured without this aid.

  • DIY

Mike

Redmond, WA, USA
55 to 64, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mike
  • Great Little Product For The Amateur Or Pro!
  • March 06, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I had never build my own shower pan before but when I saw this device on line I thought I could do it. My shower pan turned out beautifully. Now I have a perfect shower and the satisfaction of doing it myself. With this device, YOU CAN DO IT. Whether you have never built your own shower pan or have done several, this great little tool will help make you job easier.

Pros Easy to Use, Accurate

Video & Photo

  • DIY

MrEd

Arkansas, USA
65 or over, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MrEd
  • No brainer
  • March 27, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I'm a wannabe remodeler. I'm remodeling my seventh house and this was my third custom shower. Piece of cake. Make sure whatever model drain and its associated drain flange you use is good and level and the top of the flange is at or near your rough floor height, glued in and set with a level mortar/bedding sand mix base, etc. Set the goof proof ring on the flange bolts and follow the rest of the easy directions. My only complaint is I wish the kit came with eight sticks instead of six to make troweling in the bedding sand mix a little easier between the sticks.

Pros Easy to Install
  • DIY

Wannabe

Texas
55 to 64, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Wannabe
  • Use every time!
  • October 25, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I am a remodeler in the New Orleans area and started using the quick pitch system about a year ago. I've used it 6 times already and order one every time a make a shower. Gets the right pitch fast and easy!

  • Pro

Kevin

New Orleans
35 to 44, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Kevin
  • Overall a great idea and makes it easier
  • March 07, 2012

My only advice is to make sure you pack in the mortor in and around the sticks really well.

lmaj

tucson, as
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: lmaj
  • Good Product
  • March 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I bought this product so I could remodel my Master Bathroom. Great product, the only flaw I found was this universal center ring will not work with square drains. If you plan on installing a square drain order Model # QPUCR-108.

Pros Easy to Use, High Quality
  • DIY

lazydwoodworks

Texas
35 to 44, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: lazydwoodworks
  • Good, but could be better
  • January 26, 2016
  • Recommended Product

Nothing bad to say. Maybe in the future make this with breakable lengths. This way you can adjust for different size showers.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
  • I used the pre-pitch, quick pitch, weep hole protector and curb kit. These were essential for me...
  • April 20, 2017
  • Recommended Product

I used the pre-pitch, quick pitch, weep hole protector and curb kit. These were essential for me as a DIYer to get a professional end result. I'd highly recommend the entire system to anyone looking for a perfect shower pan and curb system installation that meets code. Making a shower pan is still very hard work but this system eliminates much of the stress associated with a DIYer's lack of experience - especially if you watch the Goof Proof Youtube videos. Also on the Goof Proof website there is a support phone number if you have any questions. In my case I did and they answered right away and were very helpful. Great product and people that will support your installation.

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Elian

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Elian