Customer Reviews for Hampton Bay 11 ft. LED Round Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Sunbrella Sand

Internet #206186342

Model #YJAF052-A

Store SKU #1002087358

  • Includes solar-powered LED lights ideal for evening gatherings
  • Sturdy frame supports weather-resistant Sunbrella fabric
  • Tilts easily for all-day relaxing shade

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 4,364 reviews
  • 80% recommend this product
5star-icon2936
4star-icon749
3star-icon213
2star-icon162
1star-icon304
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 4,364 reviews
umbrella structure rusted and broke in 2.5 or so years
Disappointed that the umbrella is ruined. I cannot find a replacement umbrella amywhere. It’s a large heavy metal stand that now is useless.
by SadinStAugustine
Response from Product ManufacturerDec 16, 2020
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, to better answer your question, please contact our HD.com customer service department at 800-430-3376 call any day between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. EST, or call your local store; they can either answer your question or transfer you to your local store to answer your specific question.
1 person found this helpful
Bad quality and poor design - Do not buy
I had this umbrella for 2 year and the string broke, I bought a stronger string thinking I can replace the string. After threading the new string, discovered that one end of string is molded to the end cap and cannot be removed. What a stupid design!!!.. Don't waste your money, do not buy this piece of garage.
by PLee
Response from Product ManufacturerOct 16, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
4 people found this helpful
It's a 50/50
We bought this item and loved it at first. We have had this item 4 to 5 years now. We live in the USVI where it's summer practically year round and humid with the tradewinds. The quality of the metal frame holding the umbrella is great. The base we filled with rocks instead and added extra weight on top of the base. The umbrella kept falling over just filling the bag that came with it and even with all the rocks inside that we added. The solar lights were nice, but little by little some of the tracts stopped working over time. Some till work till today. However , the material for the umbrella itself is disappointing. It is not waterproof. The color fadding started by 1 year. The tearing and holes started last year. We always took the umbrella down for storms and hurricanes. My overall comment is that it's a great piece to have and we did enjoy many days and evenings under this product, but not for long. For an umbrella to fade so fast, have the lights falling, keep tipping over and due to the fading start to tear....the price is too high. I am not sure if the option to only replace the umbrella part is available.
by Mo
Response from Product ManufacturerSep 29, 2020
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, to better answer your question, please contact our HD.com customer service department at 800-430-3376 call any day between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. EST, or call your local store; they can either answer your question or transfer you to your local store to answer your specific question.
2 people found this helpful
Great Umbrella Great Customer Service.
My daughter bought me 2 of these for my 65 birthday.. When I first saw the boxes I thought crap how long is this going to take to put together. I opened and to m y surprise less then 15 minute in and I was done. Except adding the sand. On the second one it was easier. Then I broke a piece. I called them and the sent out another in 5 days which was fine because i still had not added the sand. I realized with 250 pounds of sand, where ever I filled it up with sand is where it stayed, forever. So I went to Home depot and bought some moving dollies, screwed them together put my umbrellas on the moving dollies attached with a couple screws added the sand and now i can move them,. I went thru all this after I seen how well built these Hampton Bay Umbrellas are compared to some I have seen. By being able to move them and tilt them I will use these all year long. Great Product, Great customer service. When I called and told the guy I broke one of the panels he just ask me the model number and the part number both of which were clear in the manuel
by Greg
One gust of wind
Disappointed!! You’d thing for $600 and over 220 pounds of stand it would be able to stand up to one random gust of wind on a sunny day. Metal pole bent like plastic. Would not recommend. Didn’t even last one summer. I doubt this is covered under the warranty either. I wouldn’t buy this piece of junk unless you have absolutely no wind on your patio.
by Jeremy
Response from Product ManufacturerAug 24, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
6 people found this helpful
Highly Disappointed
I purchased in June preparing for a big 4th of July barbecue. The umbrella was to be the centerpiece with the LED lights but it never came on. When I set it up a few days earlier it can on on its own. But never again. My husband finally got around to opening it up and checking the batteries and they all work fine and fully charged so I have no idea what is the problem. Jut a waste of money gets g the more expensive one with the light and it did not work. So disappointed.
by Disappointed
Response from Product ManufacturerAug 17, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
3 people found this helpful
Crank Handle broke
I absolutely loved this umbrella until the handle and crank recently broke. Now they want another $200 to replace the whole top umbrella. I originally was glad I spent the extra money to get a quality base and umbrella that still looks great after several years in the sun. Hasn't faded at all. However, after only a few years of using it the crank handle breaks. So disappointed with the quality of that piece. I feel like a still have a new umbrella that can't be used and now they want to send me a whole new umbrella. So disappointed. Wondering if it is better to get a less expensive unit if I have to replace it anyway.
by Shelly
Response from Product ManufacturerAug 17, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
7 people found this helpful
Patio Umbrella
Reasonable price and it was very easy to assembled. The ambience from the LED definitely set mood for relaxation. The only pitfall I have it’s very shaky the slightest wind blow it would move around a lot, otherwise from that it’s a awesome product.
by Drew
1 person found this helpful
I have had it for a week. We really enjoy the umbrella. Assembly was easy. Don’t forget to buy sa...
I have had it for a week. We really enjoy the umbrella. Assembly was easy. Don’t forget to buy sand to put in the base. You need 200 lbs.
by Mitch
2 people found this helpful
I love the look of the umbrella and the solar lights but after only 8 or so uses over a year the ...
I love the look of the umbrella and the solar lights but after only 8 or so uses over a year the connector that secures the umbrella when open no longer fits properly. Is there a way to replacement the part shown in the photo?
by Unfortunate
Response from Product ManufacturerAug 6, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
2 people found this helpful
Showing 1-10 of 4,364 reviews