#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Hampton Bay Arched Pergola Replacement Canopy

Internet #300719927

Model #GFM00469A-CPY

  • All-weather fabric protects cushion from sun & mildew
  • Fabric's grid pattern keeps small holes from getting larger
  • For use on arched pergola

Customer Reviews

  • 2.9
    out of 118 reviews
  • 26% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 118 reviews
Black mold on canopy
Received a Hampton bay pergola for a wedding gift. Used for 1.5 summers and now the canopy has black mold. Tried to remove the mold with mold remover and no luck. Tried washing it with no luck. Looked up reviews and this seems to be a known defect in the material as the same problem is happening to MANY customers. Called customer service and because I didn't have the receipt (it was a gift) they wouldn’t do anything except direct me to where I can buy a replacement despite the fact that this is A KNOWN DEFECT AS MANY PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME COMPLAINT. Do not buy this canopy!!!!! The attached pic does not do it justice. Mold is much worse than the pic shows.
by Blackmold
Response from Product ManufacturerAug 13, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you have been experiencing. We are appreciative of your comments because it allows us to see and improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
1 person found this helpful
Horrible
Canopy is horrible Black mold won’t come out Looks nasty After paying all this money for this Pérgola is unacceptable that canopy is soo cheap and gets full of mow Do not recommend
by Unhappycustomer
Response from Product ManufacturerJun 4, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
Black Mold
We bought this pergola last spring from Home Depot. It is attractive, easy to assemble, and blocks the afternoon sun well on our patio. The issue with the black mold is very disappointing. By fall it was covered in black spots and NOTHING got the stains out...... bleach, pressure washer, cleaners, etc. I took it down and stored it all winter in the garage, but it looks worse after I put it back up! The Pergola was reasonably priced but if I need to spend $100 a year for a new cover, I'm looking elsewhere for a new one and planning to move on. There are so many poor reviews here it's not a coincidence then that I've had same issues.
by Unacceptable
Response from Product ManufacturerApr 13, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is in our best interest to ensure our customer’s satisfaction. As stated in your review, however, it is apparent that you were not satisfied with our product and we deeply regret this occurrence. We apologize for your inconvenience and we would like to help resolve this issue in a timely manner. As the manufacturer, we appreciate your review as it helps us to improve our shortcomings. Please contact us at (866) 602-1800, so that you may give us the opportunity to make this right.
Mold
So very sad that the cover didn’t even last a year. Had the same issue as others with mold. I was hoping I could just toss in the wash, no problems. It took forever to take the canopy down. I tried stain remover and even bleach and couldn’t get it clean. In fact, it even started fraying everywhere. I don’t think it would be worth paying $99 for a new cover every single year. Such a bummer.
by Julie
Response from Product ManufacturerApr 6, 2020
Dear Julie, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is in our best interest to ensure our customer’s satisfaction. As stated in your review, however, it is apparent that you were not satisfied with our product and we deeply regret this occurrence. We apologize for your inconvenience and we would like to help resolve this issue in a timely manner. As the manufacturer, we appreciate your review as it helps us to improve our shortcomings. Please contact us at (866) 602-1800, so that you may give us the opportunity to make this right.
Bought this product two summers ago. By fall of the first summer the canopy had developed black ...
Bought this product two summers ago. By fall of the first summer the canopy had developed black mold over the entire top. Looked awful. The company suggest putting the canopy away and storing it when not in use. It takes a good hour to hour and 1/2 to get the canopy on and off the pergola. You have to remove the bars holding the canopy on to get it off. It would be nice if they attached with Velcro fasteners for quicker removal. After removal last fall I treated with bleach for 3 hours which didn't remove the mold. Then I hit both sides with a 1800 psi power washer and soap. This got rid of the dirt but didn't get rid of the mold stains. I'd like to buy a new canopy but its definitely not worth 129.00 replacement every season.
by Gryhound
Response from Product ManufacturerApr 18, 2018
Hello, We apologize to hear about the mold on your canopy. Please give us a call at (866) 602-1800 for assistance in this matter.
7 people found this helpful
I purchased the Hampton Bay 9 x 9 pergola canopy in April 2017 from Home Depot. It looked great a...
I purchased the Hampton Bay 9 x 9 pergola canopy in April 2017 from Home Depot. It looked great at the beginning, but after a few months I started to notice the mold. I've read the reviews and it seems that customers are experiencing the same thing. I tried cleaning it too with almost EVERY cleaning detergent out there. If bleach can't take out the mold stains, nothing else can. I don't want to purchase a replacement canopy if it's just going to have mold stains again. It can get pretty expensive if you have to change it 2 to 3 times a year! Has this issue been solved by the manufacturer yet?
by EZab02
Response from Product ManufacturerDec 5, 2017
Hello, We are sorry to hear about the mold on the pergola canopy. We would like the opportunity to get you on the right track in obtaining a canopy replacement for your pergola. For stock availability, please feel free to call our dedicated team directly at (866) 602-1800.
12 people found this helpful
As others have mentioned - after a year I noticed the black mold. I removed the canopy and soak b...
As others have mentioned - after a year I noticed the black mold. I removed the canopy and soak both shade and sliding canopy in a bleach/cleaning solution for 6 hour then ran it through the washer. Nothin will remove these black stains. Very unhappy with the lack of testing and quality assurance with this product.
by Silverback
10 people found this helpful
Canopy covered in mold in only 3 months!!!
Purchased and installed on back patio in June 2017. Really enjoyed for the first couple of months. By the end of summer, the canopy is completely covered in mold! Would recommend manufacturer consider an improved, waterproof canopy. Purchasing a replacement canopy to only have the same issue is unacceptable! There are enough negative reviews by consumers about the canopy for the manufacturer to rectify the issue by replacing with a weatherproof canopy at no charge to consumers!!!
by Ann816
Response from Product ManufacturerNov 3, 2017
Hello, We apologize to hear about the mold on your fabric shade. We would like to help you with getting this issue resolved. Please call our direct line at (866) 602-1800 for assistance.
9 people found this helpful
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Easy to install and fit perfectly...
Easy to install and fit perfectly
by PAULA
Showing 1-10 of 118 reviews