#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Hampton Bay Windgate 40 in. Dia Round Steel Wood Burning Fire Pit with Spark Guard

Internet #308680536

Model #A301002900

Store SKU #1004356311

  • Heavy duty firepit great for large gatherings
  • 60 lbs. in total weight with 2.7 mm gauge steel
  • Durable matte black powder coated finish

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 78 reviews
  • 75% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 78 reviews
Perfect for my backyard terrace
It is exactly what I wanted! It’s not too large, the screen stops large sparks and material from becoming airborne and it gives off a lot of heat. Let’s see how it holds up longer term.
by Melanie
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertNov 8, 2020
Hello Melanie, thank you so much for sharing your shopping experience with us. Your satisfaction of our Windgate 40-inch Dia Round Steel Wood Burning Fire Pit with Spark Guard is a huge compliment to us. If you have any question or concern, please contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit our website at www.sunjoyonline.com and select the chat box. sunjoy
Great size badly made
I’ve used the pit 3 times now in two weeks. I’ve brought it inside my garage when rain was coming and after pulling it in this time I noticed it completely corroded already. Could be a defective pit but for the price one would hope 3 fires wouldn’t cause the exterior to blister.
by John
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertOct 13, 2020
Hi John, Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention and we are truly sorry to hear about your experience with the fire pit. Please contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit our website at www.sunjoyonline.com for us to further assist you. Thank you. sunjoy
Beautiful in the yard, deep enough for the fire to safely be contained. Very happy with it.
Beautiful in the yard, deep enough for the fire to safely be contained. Very happy with it.
by Aaron
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertNov 9, 2020
Hello Aaron, thank you for choosing one of our products and we are very glad to hear you are happy with it! If you have questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or you may visit us at www.sunjoyonline.com. We are open 24/7. sunjoy
Good quality
Love how big this fire pit is! We've left it uncovered for 3 months and no sign of rust yet. Really good quality!
by Jenn
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertNov 2, 2020
Hello Jenn, thank you so much for sharing your shopping experience with us. Your satisfaction of our Windgate 40-inch Dia Round Steel Wood Burning Fire Pit with Spark Guard is a huge compliment to us and hope you enjoy it in more seasons to come. If you have any question or concern, please contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit our website at www.sunjoyonline.com and select the chat box. sunjoy
Spark Guard broke after one month. Fire pit is great, but spark guard wasn't welded properly or c...
Spark Guard broke after one month. Fire pit is great, but spark guard wasn't welded properly or corroded. Will try and call for a replacement.
by 405club
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertJul 26, 2020
Dear valued customer, thank you for purchasing one of our products and for taking time to share your experience with us. If you have questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit us at www.sunjoyonline.com. We are open 24/7. sunjoy
1 person found this helpful
Love this BIG fire pit!
I was looking for something more than the standard 30" firepit. I honestly didnt think a 40" would cut it, but didnt want to be too obnoxious as us guys tend to be. So I pulled the trigger and boy was I shocked to see how truly big this was. This is a BIG fire pit. I was thinking "ehh only 10" bigger than the small 30" ones" but this literally seems twice the size. I thought I would have to return it for being too big! It's heavy, durable, easy to assemble and there's nothing fancy to it. Just what I was looking for. The bowl is DEEP. The screen is really nice and i love how it tucks inside the bowl rather than on the outside. My only small complaint would be the finish on the legs. Not the best coat job as its "light" in some areas. No big deal to me though as I can spray it with product I already have. If you're looking for a cover get the next size up from the 40". This pit has handles that make it actually about 42" so the 40" cover is extremly snug and I wish I went bigger. I wish the review would allow me to post more than 1 picture but unfortunately it wont
by
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertNov 20, 2020
Dear valued customer, Thank you so much for sharing your shopping experience with us. We are truly grateful for your satisfaction with our fire pit and we will definitely take note of this feedback of yours to provide a better quality of our product in the near future. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit our website at www.sunjoyonline.com. Thank you. sunjoy
Almost Perfect
The drain hole is about 1/8”. So every time it rains, a teeny tiny anything blocks the hole and the pit fills with water. This is also an issue for venting, we all know a fire wants oxygen. It’s a great size and could be perfect, if not for the lack of ventilation/drainage. We’ve had this since November 2019 and it’s rusting.
by Eelaroo2
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertJul 4, 2020
Dear valued customer, Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention and we are truly sorry to hear about your experience with the fire pit. But we greatly appreciate it for letting us know about this matter in order for us to better improve as a company and provide a better quality of our products to our customers. Please contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit our website at www.sunjoyonline.com for us to further assist you. Thank you. sunjoy
2 people found this helpful
I love how big this thing is. My family can spread out around it and everyone can roast marshmell...
I love how big this thing is. My family can spread out around it and everyone can roast marshmellows at once lol. But seriously, the heavy gauge steel feels like it will last for years! We do hope to upgrade to a nice patio, with a built in fire pit one day, but this really fills the need for now. I have been using it to burn all kinds of wood and brush we clean out from the woods around us. We are out in the sticks of NH and surrounded by 100's of acres of woods. 5 years ago the 100 acres we own was logged and there is still a lot of debris. We will have lots of stuff to burn for many wonderful fires! So very happy I chose this one!
by Mike
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertNov 20, 2020
Hi Mike, Thank you so much for sharing your shopping experience with us. We are really happy to hear that you love our fire pit and we hope that you will enjoy using it. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit our website at www.sunjoyonline.com. Thank you. sunjoy
As far as I'm concerned this is a perfect fire pit. It is very well built. The legs have a larg...
As far as I'm concerned this is a perfect fire pit. It is very well built. The legs have a large enough pad on the bottom they don't sink into the ground. It has bolts welded onto the base so putting in the connecting bolts for the legs is a breeze. There is very little assembly and it is easy and quick to accomplish. The weight is perfect, heavy enough to be strong, light enough to move when you need to do so. The handles on either side are welded in place. It is a perfect for me to burn the bits of wood that fall out of the big trees into the yard all year and enjoy sitting around the welcoming fire with friends while I do.
by maggieb
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertNov 12, 2019
Hi Maggie, Thank you so much for sharing your shopping experience with us. We are truly grateful for your satisfaction with our fire pit. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit our website at www.sunjoyonline.com. Thank you. sunjoy
2 people found this helpful
This Hampton Bay Windgate fire pit looks great and it is very well made. It was carefully packaged so there was no damage when I opened the box. It is heavy, the shipping box weighed about 79 lbs. The box measured 42" x 42" x 12". Everything needed to assemble the 4 legs was included, even the allen wrench. The legs are packed under the cardboard on the corners above the foam-filled corner protectors. The 40" diameter bowl is 10" deep and lets you burn a large amount of wood. The bowl with the legs assembled is 18" high. There is a small drain hole in the middle of the bowl. There are 2 handles on the sides for moving it around. I like that the 38" diameter spark control screen sits about 2" inside the bowl and that the 2' poker can be used to lift the screen up. I have had other fire pits, but this one is impressive and the quality is excellent. It also comes with a 2-year warranty, which is nice.
by DoubleL
Response from Sunjoy Product ExpertNov 5, 2019
Dear valued customer, Thank you so much for sharing your shopping experience with us. We are truly grateful for your satisfaction with our fire pit. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at 1-866-578-6569 or visit our website at www.sunjoyonline.com. Thank you. sunjoy
5 people found this helpful
Showing 1-10 of 78 reviews