No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (17)
  • Out of order instructions, Screw heads too soft.
  • May 22, 2016

Once installed, the fan looks nice, and operates quietly. However, there are a few caveats: 1) The Canopy mounts require loosening one screw and removing another from the ceiling mount. This is in the instructions on about step 7. If you did not go ahead and do this during step 1, you will need a right angle screw driver (if you are using the included down rod), as there is very little clearance for anything beyond a stubby or right angle driver. 2) The screws for mounting the light kit have VERY soft heads. Take care to have the right sized driver, and proceed with light force, or you will strip the heads and not be able to mount the two plates that make up the light. I have installed dozens of ceiling fans from several brands, so my only other observation is that the material and build quality for similarly priced Hunter and Hampton Bay (Home Depot brand) have been a slightly better than this fan in my experience. But not enough to sway a decision over your personal style preference.

Pros Looks Great, Nice Design, Fast / Speed, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Stylish Cons out of order instructions, soft heads on the light kit mounting screws

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Gossamer42

Wilmington, NC
45 to 54, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Gossamer42
  • Bad Remote Receiver on two units- Universal remote works fine
  • June 05, 2016

I purchased this fan to replace a regular light fixture in my bedroom that heats up from the afternoon sun. I liked that it came with the LED lights and had a remote control. Most of the ceiling fans I was looking at that didn't have the integrated LED had that unattractive "nipple" at the bottom of the globe. I love the modern design. The fan installation and wiring were pretty simple. Just follow the instructions--seemingly easy peasy. HOWEVER, I received a defective remote receiver (part that installs in the fan canopy and is wired between the ceiling and the fan). My wiring matched the instructions and yet the fan did not work. I went to Home Depot to exchange the included remote receiver and transmitter for another (they took one out of another fan box). The second one did not work either. In case you're wondering-- yes, the dip switches all matched up and the battery was in the correct way. Before going back to the store I wanted to be 100% sure it was the remote receiver that was bad and not something else. I wired the fan to bypass the remote unit, and sure enough the fan worked without issue. The point is that the remote receiver unit was bad TWICE! I went back to Home Depot to see what I could do (since it's a brand new fan and I didn't want to wait for the manufacturer to send me a replacement remote that possibly wouldn't work). The lady at the return register kindly gave us a universal fan remote at no cost to see if that would make the fan work. I wired up the new universal remote and the fan worked like a charm. Now that the fan is up and running (albeit with the remote that I happened to snag for no cost thanks to the friendly cashier), I'm very happy with the fan.

Holly

Minnesota
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Holly
  • like overall, but light is on whenever the fan is on. Looks like only a few of the LEDs are lit ?????
  • August 03, 2015
  • Recommended Product

like fan, like remote, like dimmable light, like fan speeds. Bought to run in bedroom all night. When the fan is on, and the light turned off, there is still some of the LED's lit. Is this normal, or is there an issue. Called Home Depot, got very helpful person. They sent me a new light and receiver, installed and still have the same issue. Is this normal and the way it was intended to operate or is this a flaw ?

Pros Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design Cons have issue with light
  • DIY

JP

lancaster pa
55 to 64, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JP
  • Love it!
  • June 25, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This fan is nicer than I thought it would be. I wanted a quiet, lighted ceiling fan without chains hanging down for above our dining room table. My husband wanted LED lighting. So, we both got what we wanted! Very nice, easy to use, remote with wall mount. Perfect for our needs at a good price.

Pros Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design

Video & Photo

MrsM

Trenton, NJ
55 to 64, Female
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MrsM
  • Have 3 of these fans running for a few months now..
  • March 09, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I was initially reluctant to go with the HomeDecorators brand, having not had any experience with them before, but the styling won me over. I installed three of the exact same fans in a period of about 2 weeks, and have had them running since. I've been very satisfied with them so far. A few things to know and things I learned during the installation and subsequent use: Installation: Pretty easy and straight forward. My fan box wiring was not switched, rather always on, and this setup is ideal for this fan. Given the wall mount remote, having a wall switch in the mix also is redundant. Instructions were clear. There were a few assembly steps that could've been engineered a little easier, but really no big deal. There is one area where you need to reach 2 Phillips screws that are nearly impossible to get with a normal Phillips screw driver. Luckily I had a 90 degree bent Phillips that did the trick. First fan took 2 hours to install (taking my time), second took 1 hour, third took 30 minutes. Performance: The LED color tone does not stand out as overly white or blue. I was worried that it would, but it looks fine. The fan runs silent. The remote is good. The first two fans were very well balanced. The third had a very noticeable wobble. In following the instructions to resolve any wobble, I checked the blade height from the ceiling and one blade was noticeably off. With little muscle adjustment, all blades were then equal and the wobble was gone. Other notes: I ended up with the globe to the first fan cracked. Quite possibly my fault for not being as careful as I should of during unboxing, but I can't say for certain. Called HomeDecorators and they happily shipped out a new globe, free of charge, with no questions asked. I felt the fan price was high for what it was, hence the average value rating, but I've been very pleased overall. Definitely a thumbs up.

Pros Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Assemble, Unique
  • DIY

Wayne

Frederick, MD
25 to 34, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Wayne
  • I Really like this ceiling fan & this DIY'r installed it.
  • September 28, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I really like this ceiling fan & this DIY'r installed it. Other reviews have listed most of its exemplary properties. Fan Motor Warranty 15 years ! Really ? (How about similar warranty for _ Remote-Control/Receiver and the LED light?) (currently a replacement LED part is $40 , ouch.) The transitional design offers a modern-rustic look and fit-nicely into our modest exposed-beam living-room architecture. Product exhibits surprisingly high quality engineering, manufacturing and hardware. Very quiet & smooth motor. I really expected more air movement on Low. I upgraded from 48", 4-blades and hoped that the new-guys low speed would be equivalent to old-fan's Med.-Speed; Nope. LED light adjusts from medium-low to very-bright; the frosted-glass globe softens some. _ imo: not for primary room illumination. One blade color matched my "Brazilian Cherry flooring". She liked that. Longer downrods in "Oil-Rubbed" finish NOT stocked; but the "New-Bronze" rods matched "ok". Light-Dimmer-button on remote is a 'lil flaky. To eliminate the unexpected fan-wobble on a 36 in. rod, I needed ALL-3 balance-weights (included) on a single blade; (after checking everything else of course). The downrod connection to fan motor assembly cannot be precisely adjusted for plumb. Positioning the "receiver & antenna" into the mounting bracket and making the electrical connections are straightforward; but tucking all those wire-nuts(6) into the ceiling box was challenging; fortunately the "canopy cover" is large enough to hide all those pesky wires & connections. fwiw: Fan Speed & LED-light operate totally independent; _ and a wall switch can be used to turn it OFF and _ return to previous state ( cool huh ? ).

Pros Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • DIY

oldtechy

Houston
55 to 64, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: oldtechy
  • Easy to install, looks good, seems to work fine with wall switch
  • June 27, 2016
  • Recommended Product

Medium sized room, bought for looks and dimmable LEDs. Light output is good for our needs, we didn't want something too bright, which is why we went with this model over one we liked better looks-wise but was not dimmable. Instructions were clear. Didn't really need the remote, can't lose a wall switch and a lot of receiver problems on other reviews, so after seeing the wiring was the same as my old fan and the fact that the remote receiver isn't permanently attached, I decided to take a chance and just leave the receiver out all together and wire directly to the fan, no remote functions but working great so far with my sliding switches on the wall.

feathered

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: feathered
  • Noisy Motor
  • December 29, 2015

Loved the look of this fan and it functions well with the remote and speeds, but the motor is noisy. We purchased for our bedroom (new construction) and just had to replace it because it was too loud at night. The constant noise from the motor is not good. Wish it had worked better!

Pros Looks Great, Functional, Stylish Cons Noisy

Ahooper

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Ahooper
  • I bought 3 of these fans. November of 2015 Pros: -Inexpensive -look nice -quiet -remote operate...
  • July 10, 2017

I bought 3 of these fans. November of 2015 Pros: -Inexpensive -look nice -quiet -remote operated, no need to run wire to a switch -can be mounted on angled surface -happy with the fan when it works Cons: -the light went out in fan #1 after about a year, not sure if it is the light or the control module, light is $40, control module is $60, fan is $189, not easy to find someone to fix it and I would pay more for someone to fix it and the part than a new fan, If one is so inclined to fix it themselves it is not easy to trouble shoot if you don't have known to be working parts to change out and see if that fixes the problem again one must buy the light and controller $100 + shipping, again fan is $189 -Fan #2 stopped working completely a short time after fan #1, verified fan has power, ordered a new controller at$60, hope that fixes it, if it does not then I will have to purchase a new fan, and since I have 3 of the same fan, I will begrudgingly probably buy this fan again so I don't have 2 of the same fan and then an odd different fan Gave product a 1 out of 5 because I expect the fan to work longer than a year before things start failing, If it was only one of the fans then ok maybe it was just a bad one but since it is 2 out of 3 I have the feeling there is a quality issue with the manufacture or design of the fan. Also, I feel Home Depot is gouging it's customer for replacement parts. I am seriously considering purchasing a new fan, robbing the parts I need and return it. I will still not be reimbursed for the time/labor the fix both fans.

Ted

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Ted
  • PERFECT FAN!
  • August 04, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Love the look of this fan in the living room - the low profile light is perfect! Am considering getting another one for the dining room or bedroom.

Pros Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design

Sunny

Florida
55 to 64, Female
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Sunny