#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Honda 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Gas Walk Behind Self Propelled Lawn Mower with Auto Choke

Internet #203709643

Model #HRR216VKA

Store SKU #404997

  • Switch from bagging to mulching without tools or attachments
  • Reliable Honda GCV160 engine delivers years of peak performance
  • Twin blades for superior cut quality, mulching and bagging

Customer Reviews

  • 3.1
    out of 58 reviews
  • 33%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 58 reviews
Very good easy to use powerful and cuts grass clippings small with the blade design. Highly recom...
Very good easy to use powerful and cuts grass clippings small with the blade design. Highly recommend this mower could be a touch quieter
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
1 found this review helpful
junk
engine runs fast slow fast slow and stops and will not start. Total piece of junk. Honda used to be good. But now it is junk.
by
Response from American Honda TeamJun 20, 2022
Hello, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower changing speeds and cutting off. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a service dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
    Good engine, bad grass clipping collection system
    I used this 3-4 years; my previous John-Deere push mower lasted me about 20 years. The engine starts well, as long as it is taken care properly. However, grass clipping system is badly designed and made. Much clipping is not picked up by the mower, forcing me to go over the clipped area again. Also, it is bothersome to empty out the bag; so much clippings are built up between the bag and the mower, forcing me to cleanup each time bag is emptied.
    by
      4 years of ownership in repair shop 5 times
      I purchased this mower in 2018. The first summer the mower worked great. After that the troubles began. The back wheels locked up when trying to pull the mower backwards. Took mower to repair shop they replaced the plastic bushings. Took unit home mowed one time and wheels locked up again. Have taken this unit to the repair shop 4 additional times without long term repair. STAY AWAY FROM THIS MODEL MOWER.
      by
      Response from American Honda TeamJun 1, 2022
      Hi James, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the back wheels on your lawn mower. We’d like to get our Customer Relations team involved. Please send us your contact information here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/help
      A representative will respond to you shortly. americanhonda
        1 found this review helpful
        Just burn your money instead of buying this junk
        Ran five times okay. Then wouldn't stay cranked - sputtered and died. Replaced gas. Replaced oil. Still would not work properly. Replaced air filter. Cleaned carburetor. Still sputtered and died. Replaced automatic choke assembly. Ran okay once. Returned to sputtering and dying. Replaced spark plug sputtered and died every time it cut grass. Home Depot would not replace it (I had it "too long"). Warranty would require paying for shipping the 100 LB motor to be examined and shipping to return. I do not recommend this mower!
        by
        Response from American Honda TeamJun 1, 2022
        Hello, We’re sorry to hear you are having issues. You should not have to ship your mower to get a warranty repair. We have many dealers throughout the US. You can find a dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
          1 found this review helpful
          AVOID at all costs!
          I bought this model in March, cut lawn once. When I went to use it a second time, the motor surged due to a bad carburetor. Exchanged it at my Home Depot for the same model. Cut lawn once, no problem. Just went to cut the lawn for a second time, oil leak -- all over the steel mower deck and garage floor. This is not the quality you'd expect from Honda and certainly not worth the nearly $500. I will return this junk this weekend for a refund. I regret not sticking with Briggs and Straton.
          by
            1 found this review helpful
            Poor workmanship - Wheels falling apart!!
            We purchased this mower on April 11, 2019. Last year both front wheels started to fall apart and there is big crack in right side of the mower where wheel attaches. We purchased new wheel assembly and due to COVID had to drive quite far away to buy the Wheel Assembly. Spend 100 dollars for all things. problem remains the same, wheels are still falling apart and getting loose every after two minutes of mowing. This is very frustrating to see a mower like HONDA brand is falling apart in two years!
            by
            Response from American Honda TeamApr 25, 2022
            Hello, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the wheels on your lawn mower falling apart. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a service dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
              2 found this review helpful
              Jaw-droppingly bad
              I come from a Honda family, so I thought this mower would be an easy purchase to have the best, most reliable mower- even though I had to pay a bit more for the name. Within a year the flywheel broke, blades wouldn't mulch, and the mower would leave a 2" strip of uncut grass if the ground was slightly un-leveled. My yard is only about a 1/6 acre lot. My neighbors have Toros they've been using for over a decade and their yards still look better. Very disappointed. Won't buy another Honda mower.
              by
              Response from American Honda TeamApr 22, 2022
              Hi Doug, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower. We’d like to get our Customer Relations team involved. Please send us your contact information here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/help
              A representative will respond to you shortly. americanhonda
                1 found this review helpful
                Worst mower I’ve ever owned
                I purchased this Honda mower approx 5 years ago and have never had a worse mower. I made the switch from Toro after buying into the Honda hype and nothing but problems. The engine had compression issues, wheels falling off and zero tread left on any of them. Going back to Toro!
                by
                Response from American Honda TeamMar 22, 2022
                HI Patrick, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower. We’d like to get our Customer Relations team involved. Please send us your contact information here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/help
                A representative will respond to you shortly. americanhonda
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Rear Wheels Lock up
                  After two seasons of use, the rear wheels locked up and the mower won't roll backwards, I made adjustments to the cable according to manufactures instructions; this did not fix the problem. I took to the internet and found out that this is a common problem with Honda mowers and Honda chooses not correct problem / design flaw, with them using undersized bushings. I contacted Honda several times and they responded with a generic answer, take it to a Honda dealer, at my expense. Don't buy a Honda mower.
                  by
                  Response from American Honda TeamSep 13, 2021
                  Hi Thomas, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the rear wheels on your lawn mower. We’d like to get our Customer Relations team involved. Please send us your contact information here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/help
                  A representative will respond to you shortly. americanhonda
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Great mower
                    Had it fo about 2 years and put it to the test, it start in a pull and a 10 year old can start it. I have another Honda $$$$ and this one does a better cut
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Garbage
                      This mower is pure garbage. Had to return the first one I purchased as it was leaving a strip of uncut grass. I was able to swap it out for a new one, still the same issue with cut quality and now to top it off the engine just seized. Garbage. I change the oil twice a season, clean the machine after every mow. Terrible product, corporate won't even get back to me. Should've got the Toro.
                      by
                      Response from American Honda TeamAug 19, 2021
                      Hi Vinny, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the engine and cut quality of your lawn mower. We’d like to get our Customer Relations team involved. Please send us your contact information here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/help
                      A representative will respond to you shortly. americanhonda
                        2 found this review helpful
                        Still Works
                        I bought this product from Home Depot in 2015 and 6 yrs later it still works. All you have to do is to properly maintain it. Use proper fuels. Change the spark plug every season. Keep it clean after each use. Ensure that u practice frequent blade sharpening etc.
                        by
                        Response from American Honda TeamAug 9, 2021
                        Hi Josim, We are glad to hear you are still enjoying your Honda lawnmower 6 years after your initial purchase. Thank you for sharing your experience and valuable maintenance tips with other customers. americanhonda
                          • Recommended
                          Bagger comes off with slight bump in yard
                          Avoid purchasing if you bag your lawn! It is very painful running into a bag that comes loose! Honda is no help either with the issue. Home Depot was great took back the second one that did the same thing poor design on Honda’s end. The older models didn’t have this issue.
                          by
                          Response from American Honda TeamJul 13, 2021
                          Hello, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble getting the grass bag to stay on your lawn mower. We’d like to get our Customer Relations team involved. Please send us your contact information here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/help
                          A representative will respond to you shortly. americanhonda
                            Purchased 2-1/2 Years Ago - Doesn't work anymore
                            We were excited about this mower initially -- easy to use for husband and occasionally wife. But this Spring (just after the two-year warranty expired) it was difficult to start, and once it started, it died frequently. Now, a few weeks later, it does not start at all. What a hassle! Taking a 2-1/2 year old mower in to be repaired. We would not buy a Honda again.
                            by
                            Response from American Honda TeamJun 14, 2021
                            Hello, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a service dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
                              Loose wheels
                              One of the wheels came loose not long after I brought this home and started mowing, so I had to tighten it. it's now come loose two more times and it won't tighten back on. The handlebar is also too low even in the highest position and I'm just 5'8", so it is difficult to push. I thought Honda was better than this. Who has time to worry about fixing a practically new mower? I have more than enough things to fix around my house, I need a reliable mower that gets the job done.
                              by
                              Response from American Honda TeamJun 7, 2021
                              Hi Jack, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the wheels coming off your lawn mower and not tightening up. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a service dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
                                Fooled by "Honda" reputation
                                Bought this mower 3 years ago thinking I was buying a higher quality mower. It does start with ease and so far no problem with the engine. However I started to find issues rather quickly, like the self propelled system being far more clumsy than my previous Toro, and the issue of backing the mower up as other reviewers have mentioned. Another more serious problem is with the cut. My first choice is to mulch unless the grass has gotten too long. I started noticing that in the mulch setting the mower was leaving thin strips of uncut grass on one side. This has been going on for several seasons even with the blades freshly sharpened and balanced. I thought it might have something do do with the mulching so I tried mowing with the discharge. When I researched this model and watched a video I liked that the clippings seemed to drop behind the mower instead of being shot out from the side. However what I found was that the grass is shot out the back and fills your shoes full of grass, and it didn't solve the cutting problem. I have tried to research causes for the cutting problem and though others have this same problem there doesn't seem to be a consensus as to the cause. Very disappointed and wishing I could just sell it and buy another brand.
                                by
                                Response from American Honda TeamJun 3, 2021
                                Hi Bob, We’re sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the cut quality of your Honda lawn mower. We have both a video and a helpful handout that will help you with these issues. Please check out these resources. https://youtu.be/TOOCDjixnZg and https://cdn.powerequipment.honda.com/pe/pdf/lawn-mower/mowing-a-great-looking-lawn.pdf

                                These tips usually help to resolve most customers' mowing issues. However, please see your local service dealer if you are still having problems.
                                https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
                                  Rear wheels lock up
                                  You will not be able to always pull this lawn mower to the rear. The rear wheels will lock up when the axle starts to corrode and the engine temperature get hot. I started having this problem after two seasons.
                                  by
                                  Response from American Honda TeamMay 26, 2021
                                  Hi Roger, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the rear wheels locking up on your lawn mower. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a service dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator
                                  Chose Service as the dealer type. americanhonda
                                    Dissapointed!!!
                                    I should start saying I bought this because of the high quality of honda vehicles. Sad to find out whoever is making these lawn mover is not following honda quality. I would never buy a honda lawn mover again and you should stay away from these units too. Maybe buying a much more expensive model the experience would be better. It wasn’t my case.
                                    by
                                    Response from American Honda TeamMar 30, 2021
                                    Hi Alex, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower. We’d like to get our Customer Relations team involved. Please send us your contact information here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/help
                                    A representative will respond to you shortly. americanhonda
                                      1 found this review helpful
                                      Rear wheels lock up when going backward
                                      This mower is very powerful, it starts easily and mulches well. The rear wheels lock up intermittently when pulling the mower backward. Backing up is effortful and it tears up the lawn! This defect is described in many YouTube videos with some people stating that removing the transmission then cleaning and polishing the drive shaft temporarily solves the problem. I am skeptical of this labor intensive method. On examining the drive wheels myself, it looks like the transmission shaft should not turn when you pull the mower backward. There is a ratchet mechanism in the drive pinion that should allow the mower to backup without turning the transmission. My drive mechanism is clean and well lubricated, but the problem persists. What say you HONDA ??! (purchased May 13, 2019 - Home Depot High Point, NC - receipt 3633 00056 14672)
                                      by
                                      Response from American Honda TeamNov 23, 2020
                                      Hi Rex, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower's rear wheels locking up when you attempt to pull it backward. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
                                        1 found this review helpful
                                        Worst mower EVER!!!
                                        I bought this mower to replace a cheap regular push mower that I had used for years. I'm a 53 year old female with a large yard and wanted a self propelled to reduce the workload. At first I thought this was an awesome mower...fast forward 5 months and it's the worst mower I've ever used. As others have stated back wheels won't roll backwards when needed, doesn't mulch grass with "special 2 blade" system as advertised. This mower is 3 times the work than my old non self propelled mower at 3 times the price...thanks Honda...won't buy another Honda product EVER!
                                        by
                                        Response from American Honda TeamSep 9, 2020
                                        We are sorry to hear you are dissapointed with your lawn mower. We have asked our Customer Relations team to reach out to help address your concerns. americanhonda
                                          3 found this review helpful
                                          Stay Away from this Mower
                                          Barely one year of ownership and in the shop already. I read the comments about problems with the drive wheels (won't roll backwards) but the salesman assured me that Honda had resolved it. Wrong. Can't believe a company like Honda would sell a product with a known defect for years and then not stand behind it. It starts fine but doesn't mulch or mow any better than my 17 year old Craftsman did. What a waste of money. I will never buy another Honda product.
                                          by
                                            4 found this review helpful
                                            Easy start and handling....
                                            Easy start and handling.
                                            by
                                            • Verified Purchase
                                            Worst Mower Ever!
                                            Initially, I had a positive impression because this mower was easy to start and powerful; it almost ran away with me! I did notice that the wheels didn't seem balanced (front wheels kind of skipped along even when adjusted to the same height as the rear wheels) resulting in a few errant strands of long grass. I was willing to overlook this until towards the end of the first season of mowing, the back wheels starting locking when pulling mower back. I took it in for service along with a service bulletin on the problem and the bushings were replaced. Then the self-propulsion stopped working properly. Repair person said cable had slipped and repaired it. Fast forward to the beginning of the second season of use (still within the first year of ownership) and the back wheels are locking again and the self-propulsion works properly intermittently. The mower still skips along. The only positives are it starts like a champ and mulches great; these two advantages don't make up for the horrible experience of having to mow with it weekly. Just learned this model has been discontinued. No wonder! Had problems with my previous Toro and was very optimistic about being a Honda owner. Very disappointed. Will probably not buy another Honda mower as I recently read various models have issues and Honda does not support their products. They did not respond to the email I sent three weeks ago either. $400 for a mower that worked properly for less than one season? I could have hired someone to take care of my lawn more cheaply!
                                            by
                                              3 found this review helpful
                                              Forget Pulling Backwards
                                              Starts Great, Cuts Tremendous, Mulches Perfect! Just don't try and pull backwards a foot or two (under a bush, around a tree) unless you enjoy a good "Lat and Arm workout" every time you cut grass!
                                              by
                                                2 found this review helpful
                                                Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                                                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                                                by
                                                • Verified Purchase
                                                The motor run weak I think I got a defected one
                                                The motor run weak I think I got a defected one
                                                by
                                                • Verified Purchase
                                                1 found this review helpful
                                                Worst mower ever
                                                This is easily he worst mower I’ve ever owned. After only a year and a half of owning it it will not stay started. The gas, oil, air filter, and spark plug have all been replaced. It still won’t stay started for more than 3-5 minutes. Do yourself a favor and buy a lawnmower from someone who makes good ones. In 30 of owning a mower I’ve never had one this terrible. I 100% regret buying a honda.
                                                by
                                                  4 found this review helpful
                                                  I bought this because all my buddies said it was...
                                                  I bought this because all my buddies said it was great. Last time I listen to new home owners. My old lawnboy, with Kohler motor was waaaaay better. It was a Single blade too. Im not impressed with this mower
                                                  by
                                                  • Verified Purchase
                                                  1 found this review helpful
                                                  Havent really used. But started and took for a walk or should say it took me. Great machine. This...
                                                  Havent really used. But started and took for a walk or should say it took me. Great machine. This is my second honda. I know some might be like Honda making a mower. They are one of the best.
                                                  by
                                                  • Verified Purchase
                                                  • Recommended
                                                  Showing 1-30 of 58 reviews