#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Honda 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Gas Walk Behind Self Propelled Lawn Mower with Auto Choke

Internet #203709643

Model #HRR216VKA

Store SKU #404997

  • Switch from bagging to mulching without tools or attachments
  • Reliable Honda GCV160 engine delivers years of peak performance
  • Twin blades for superior cut quality, mulching and bagging

Customer Reviews

  • 3.5
    out of 46 reviews
  • 41% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews
Very good easy to use powerful and cuts grass clippings small with the blade design. Highly recom...
Very good easy to use powerful and cuts grass clippings small with the blade design. Highly recommend this mower could be a touch quieter
by Pete
Purchased 2-1/2 Years Ago - Doesn't work anymore
We were excited about this mower initially -- easy to use for husband and occasionally wife. But this Spring (just after the two-year warranty expired) it was difficult to start, and once it started, it died frequently. Now, a few weeks later, it does not start at all. What a hassle! Taking a 2-1/2 year old mower in to be repaired. We would not buy a Honda again.
by Skippyrama
Response from American Honda TeamJun 14, 2021
Hello, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a service dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
Loose wheels
One of the wheels came loose not long after I brought this home and started mowing, so I had to tighten it. it's now come loose two more times and it won't tighten back on. The handlebar is also too low even in the highest position and I'm just 5'8", so it is difficult to push. I thought Honda was better than this. Who has time to worry about fixing a practically new mower? I have more than enough things to fix around my house, I need a reliable mower that gets the job done.
by Jack
Response from American Honda TeamJun 7, 2021
Hi Jack, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the wheels coming off your lawn mower and not tightening up. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a service dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
Fooled by "Honda" reputation
Bought this mower 3 years ago thinking I was buying a higher quality mower. It does start with ease and so far no problem with the engine. However I started to find issues rather quickly, like the self propelled system being far more clumsy than my previous Toro, and the issue of backing the mower up as other reviewers have mentioned. Another more serious problem is with the cut. My first choice is to mulch unless the grass has gotten too long. I started noticing that in the mulch setting the mower was leaving thin strips of uncut grass on one side. This has been going on for several seasons even with the blades freshly sharpened and balanced. I thought it might have something do do with the mulching so I tried mowing with the discharge. When I researched this model and watched a video I liked that the clippings seemed to drop behind the mower instead of being shot out from the side. However what I found was that the grass is shot out the back and fills your shoes full of grass, and it didn't solve the cutting problem. I have tried to research causes for the cutting problem and though others have this same problem there doesn't seem to be a consensus as to the cause. Very disappointed and wishing I could just sell it and buy another brand.
by Bob
Response from American Honda TeamJun 3, 2021
Hi Bob, We’re sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the cut quality of your Honda lawn mower. We have both a video and a helpful handout that will help you with these issues. Please check out these resources. https://youtu.be/TOOCDjixnZg and https://cdn.powerequipment.honda.com/pe/pdf/lawn-mower/mowing-a-great-looking-lawn.pdf

These tips usually help to resolve most customers' mowing issues. However, please see your local service dealer if you are still having problems.
https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
Rear wheels lock up
You will not be able to always pull this lawn mower to the rear. The rear wheels will lock up when the axle starts to corrode and the engine temperature get hot. I started having this problem after two seasons.
by Roger
Response from American Honda TeamMay 26, 2021
Hi Roger, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with the rear wheels locking up on your lawn mower. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a service dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator
Chose Service as the dealer type. americanhonda
Dissapointed!!!
I should start saying I bought this because of the high quality of honda vehicles. Sad to find out whoever is making these lawn mover is not following honda quality. I would never buy a honda lawn mover again and you should stay away from these units too. Maybe buying a much more expensive model the experience would be better. It wasn’t my case.
by alex
Response from American Honda TeamMar 30, 2021
Hi Alex, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower. We’d like to get our Customer Relations team involved. Please send us your contact information here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/help
A representative will respond to you shortly. americanhonda
Rear wheels lock up when going backward
This mower is very powerful, it starts easily and mulches well. The rear wheels lock up intermittently when pulling the mower backward. Backing up is effortful and it tears up the lawn! This defect is described in many YouTube videos with some people stating that removing the transmission then cleaning and polishing the drive shaft temporarily solves the problem. I am skeptical of this labor intensive method. On examining the drive wheels myself, it looks like the transmission shaft should not turn when you pull the mower backward. There is a ratchet mechanism in the drive pinion that should allow the mower to backup without turning the transmission. My drive mechanism is clean and well lubricated, but the problem persists. What say you HONDA ??! (purchased May 13, 2019 - Home Depot High Point, NC - receipt 3633 00056 14672)
by Trex
Response from American Honda TeamNov 23, 2020
Hi Rex, We’re sorry to hear you are having trouble with your lawn mower's rear wheels locking up when you attempt to pull it backward. We recommend taking your lawn mower to your local Honda service dealer for help resolving this. You can find a dealer here: https://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator americanhonda
Worst mower EVER!!!
I bought this mower to replace a cheap regular push mower that I had used for years. I'm a 53 year old female with a large yard and wanted a self propelled to reduce the workload. At first I thought this was an awesome mower...fast forward 5 months and it's the worst mower I've ever used. As others have stated back wheels won't roll backwards when needed, doesn't mulch grass with "special 2 blade" system as advertised. This mower is 3 times the work than my old non self propelled mower at 3 times the price...thanks Honda...won't buy another Honda product EVER!
by Sherry
Response from American Honda TeamSep 9, 2020
We are sorry to hear you are dissapointed with your lawn mower. We have asked our Customer Relations team to reach out to help address your concerns. americanhonda
2 people found this helpful
Stay Away from this Mower
Barely one year of ownership and in the shop already. I read the comments about problems with the drive wheels (won't roll backwards) but the salesman assured me that Honda had resolved it. Wrong. Can't believe a company like Honda would sell a product with a known defect for years and then not stand behind it. It starts fine but doesn't mulch or mow any better than my 17 year old Craftsman did. What a waste of money. I will never buy another Honda product.
by DisappointedDR
1 person found this helpful
Easy start and handling....
Easy start and handling.
by HomeDepotCustomer
Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews