No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (10)
  • This product is good for beginners
  • March 18, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I purchased this item online, and built it a few days later. While building it, I ran into a few problems. Some of the predrilled marked holes didn't match up, so I had to wing it and make new pilot holes for the nails. the product came out alright, Overall design was nice, and kit came with everything needed, only complaint is you may have to redrill your pilot holes if they don't match up.

Pros Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Good Shape Cons pilot holes don't match up

Video & Photo

  • DIY

25 to 34, Male
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Great Cub Scout Project
  • April 22, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I got these birdhouses for my Cub Scouts to build. The kits made it easy for me as I didn't have to cut out 7 full Birdhouses from scratch. The only thing is the nails they come with are very thin almost a wire and bend easy and even though they have a small impression for the nails to start I would recommend to bring a drill and predrill to help start the nails....

Pros High Quality of Material, Stylish, Good Shape Cons thin small nails

Video & Photo

  • DIY

ED63028

Festus, MO
45 to 54, Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ED63028
  • Great build for children
  • January 09, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

My son is 7 years old and in Cub Scouts. He was working on a couple achievments and this fit the bill. He needed to "make something useful" and for another he needed to put out a bird house. We built this project to achieve both goals. The wood is pine is good quality and all pre-cut.The directions are clear and easy to follow for a child. The assembly was easy and with a little help he was able to do the majority of the work all by himself. It was a great confidence booster for him. Dont forget to have wood glue and sand paper on hand. We used a waterproof wood glue and painted it with outdoor paint to stand up to the New Jersey weather.

Pros Easy to Install, good build for young children
  • Pro

HopatcongScoutDad

New Jersey, USA
35 to 44, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HopatcongScoutDad
  • birdhouse and birthday party
  • November 15, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I purchased the 12 pack of birdhouses for my sons 5th birthday party and had the Mann and Jessica from home depot come out and do a kids workshop for the party.. It was a huge hit.. Mann and Jessica did a awesome job and the kids really enjoyed themselves. They went above and beyond to help make the party a success.. I cant thank them enough.. You guys are the best!!

  • DIY

Hunter

Mechanicsville, VA, USA
35 to 44, Female
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Hunter
  • Perfect for Wolf Requirement
  • October 17, 2010
  • Recommended Product

I am the den leader for a Cub Scout Wolf den of thirteen boys (age 7). I ordered 13 of these birdhouses and brought them to our fall campout this weekend. The boys brought their own hammers and built this birdhouse. It was perfect for them! The wood was easy to work with. It wasn't too hard so the nails went in pretty easy. The kit also includes two Philips head screws so the boys were also able to use a Phillips head screwdriver, too. (which is part of the the requirment). The price is reasonable. In the past, we have tried other birdhouses. We have bought the wood and cut the pieces ourselves in the past, but the wood was WAY too hard for the boys to use (and it usually ended up costing the same anyway). We've also tried cheaper, smaller birdhouses in the past, but these were aggravating for the boys and sometimes would leave them in tears. This was the best experience. I would definitely recommend this for other Wolf Cub Scouts. PS--I will definitely be purchasing Home Depot's tool box for next year's 'Bear' requirement.

CubScoutDenLeader

The Woodlands, Texas
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CubScoutDenLeader
  • Wolf Scout Activity
  • January 23, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I ordered 11 of these birdhouses for my Wolf Scouts (2nd grade Cub scouts). We built them as part of our 'Build something useful' achievement. With a little help from each parent, the boys were able to construct them in about 30 minutes. We used wood glue along with the nails that were provided. The kit also came with 2 screws for attaching the bottom (which can be removed in the Fall for cleaning out). Some of us drilled a couple holes along the top of the roof for hanging, but I plan to mount ours to a metal pole after painting it. These are good quality and thus should last awhile. i would highly recommend.

ChrisFromNormal

Normal, IL
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ChrisFromNormal
  • great value
  • March 04, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I like this birdhouse kit. easy to fit and with help, kids can participate in making the birdhouse. My only complaint is that there is no hinge to open back for cleaning or top and no hooks to hang up the bird house.

Pros High Quality of Material, Good Shape Cons no hooks for hanging, no door hinge to open for cleaning
  • DIY

kbdg

Atlanta, GA, USA
45 to 54, Female
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: kbdg
  • Just what we were looking for, great gift and project for my grandson
  • February 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Gave 2 kits to my 9 year old grandson for his birthday..just what we were looking for, he has always wanted to build a bird house. One for his house and one for grandma's. Purchased water based paint to complete the kit. We both enjoyed the project and he has a birdhouse to hang in the tree we planted together in my backyard...

  • Pro

grandma

55 to 64, Female
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: grandma
  • Building a better bird House
  • January 22, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

My wife has a garden in front of the house where each year she places four bird houses in a decorative setting. She has been buying these bird houses new each year as they never seem to last. I finally asked “Why are you buying those cheap bird houses made out of pressed wood?” The reply, “Well, they have tin roofs and I can paint them. Plus they are only about $25 each. “ Hmm thinks I. That is $100 a year to make the flower garden more beautiful? It was then I suggested looking for bird house kits and discovered the kits at Home Depot. We needed something made out of real wood, solid, paintable, and it could be hung easily. THANK you Home depot. Four of your kits arrived a few days ago and have been assembled, painted and ready for the snow to go away so they can be hung. Will they last more than a year? I am confident that they will. Even if they don’t, it is still about 1/4 the price I was paying. PS - Seldom does anyone thing get a 5 from me. That is saved for really exceptional stuff. A four is a great rating for this product.Yeah, if they always got 5's they would stop working to get better.

HarveySmedlap

Niwot, CO
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HarveySmedlap
  • Just what I expected.
  • July 22, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The materials were properly cut by the mfgr. The instructions were clear. A hanging hook-eye is not provided with the hardware; perhaps the on-line description should note that. Instructions might also be modified to suggest that painting/staining of wood components is best done before assembly. I was very pleased with the product.

KAKy

Omaha
65 or over, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: KAKy