No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (13)
  • Just replaced a 13 yr old Badger 1
  • December 06, 2012
  • Recommended Product

Replaced a 13 yr old Badger 1. The new Badger 1 installed in minutes used old power cord and drain, It was so easy and so fast just snapped in, and the new disposal is very quiet I would never use anything else.

Pros Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design

Video & Photo

BigGinkc

55 out of 55 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BigGinkc
  • GREAT PRODUCT
  • April 04, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The Quick-Mounting System was wonderful. My husband is 75 years old. With a little help from a neighbor, they had the old garbage disposal out and the new one installed. It took less than an hour and a half. Everything matched up PERFECTLY. If I had known how easy it was to install this garbage disposal, I would have bought it a year ago. Instead, I’ve been using a wooden spoon to jump start mine, every time I wanted to use it. This garbage disposal is strong and quiet. Great product. Thank you…..Katey

Pros Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality

Video & Photo

Katey

3-Points, Arizona
65 or over, Female
27 out of 27 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Katey
  • Easy to install
  • November 22, 2011
  • Recommended Product

Six years ago I had professionally installed this same garbage disposal under my kitchen sink. Worked without issue until a month ago. The units' grinding blades froze in place and water would not pass through, causing a backup in my sink and rendering my dishwasher unusable too. Tonight I purchased the same disposal. After thoroughly reading the instructions and with sage advice from the local Home Depot plumbing isle fellow, I embarked on the project. The advice to use my car tire jack to hold the unit up both ways (off and on) was priceless. Being reminded about the dishwasher knockout was appreciated. I am rather handy with a screwdriver and wrench and have successfully accomplished minor to medium repairs at my home. The hardest part was reconnecting the wires (you have to cut a little of the sheathing away from the wire to get to the copper for good contact), but with the circuit breaker off (A MUST) it was about as hard as replacing a light switch. The new unit fit into the sink collar of my old unit so not having to replace that was a big plus. All in all, with the time to redo the wiring, it took me about two hours start to finish (clean out under the sink, kill the circuit breaker, read the instructions, dismount the first, wire the second, mount the second, test runs, additional tightening of screws and clean up). I'm pleased its in, and operational, and didnt require a call to a plumber. A real plus in my book! If you have an exisiting Badger or insinkerator and basic knowledge of how things work, I would recommend this for easy installation.

  • DIY

PastryPrincess2011

Cincinnati, OH, USA
45 to 54, Female
25 out of 25 people found this helpful
more details...
By: PastryPrincess2011
  • First Badger 5 Lasted 12 Years and 10 Months
  • May 16, 2012

Good product for the price. My first Badger 5 lasted 12 years and 10 months under light use (no potato peels, carrot peels, or any food item which is hard on the motor and cutting blades). The first Badger just quit and I smelled smoke. The failure was apparently related to the food chopping interior chamber rusting which allowed water to drip into the motor area, frying it. Replacing the Badger 5 was easy: turn the CB off, disconnect plumbing connection, twist unit to remove, disconnect wiring and then reconnect new unit's wiring, twist unit back on and reconnect the plumbing. I like the fact I did not have to replace the sink fitting and the connection is just a twist. I hope for another 12 years or more. I'm curious as to why the model number changed when the unit looked the same and had the same 1/2 HP. They could have just used the model # followed by a revision number or year of manufacture.

Mike

19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mike
  • Quick and Easy Installation
  • February 15, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

After 7 years my old garbage disposal started to leak. I purchased the Badger at a reasonable price. The installation was painless and super quick. Within in 30 minutes I was back in action. My only suggestion is to make sure you have some plummers putty to complete the installation

Mir

Texas
17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mir
  • excellent purchase
  • January 26, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Purchased this garbage disposal to replace the the Badger 5 that broke. Easy online purchase, great price, was delivered to my house within a couple of days. Installation was about an hour with regular home tools. Works great!

Pros Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design, High Quality

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Beacher

Redondo Beach
35 to 44, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Beacher
  • Great price, great disposer!
  • November 22, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Our old disposer developed a crack and we bought this one and installed it ourselves in less than an hour. It works great! The only tip I can give is that there is a 'punch out' hole toward the top that is to be left in place if you have no dishwasher, and punched out if you do have a dishwasher. Pay attention! LOL! If your husband is like mine and doesn't read instructions you will have a big problem! This is where your dishwasher drains into your disposer and if you don't punch it out the force of the water will generally break the hose free and you will end up with a swimming pool in your kitchen! Thank goodness we were home and disaster was averted! We only got a little wet. : )

  • DIY

Barb

Ogden, UT, USA
45 to 54, Female
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Barb
  • Horrible product - began leaking in 1 1/2 years
  • August 04, 2012

It never worked well like my old one. The water often didn't even go down the drain for no apparent reason. I would use it simply to try to suck the water down the drain. Then it began leaking substantially in the cabinet due to rusting out after only 1.5 years. I will definitely try another brand now.

Cons Quality, Performance, rusted out the bottom and began leaking

DesignDork1

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DesignDork1
  • Industry standard
  • June 13, 2013

I wasn't going to write a review, but when I read someone else's review that said they had water dripping out of the bottom of the unit where the wire housing is, I thought I better mention that that's what happened to mine. At least I got 9 years out of it, albeit light use as I'm a vegetarian and compost. I was just going to replace my old Badger with a new one to make installation easier, but now I think I'll look around a little more. Probably can't do much better for the price though.

  • Pro

Topher

Hawaii
45 to 54, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Topher
  • Replaced 11 year old unit with same model.
  • January 24, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

11 Year old model that was installed when we bought the house. It started to rust up and after being on vacation for 2 weeks we came back and it was all seized up. Even when using the wrench to turn the shaft it made an awful scraping noise. The grinding blades no longer swiveled so it wasn't grinding any food. Old unit was very easy to remove. Since I needed to replace the rubber "mouting gasket" [that black rubber thing in the sink], I removed everything. The new unit came with all the parts including a new gasket. It was easy to mount the sink colar and then install the unit. The drain pipe was a slight bit different but all I needed was a new plastic compression fitting and I was finished in less than 30 mins. Just take a pic of your piping before you go to the store if you are replacing an old unit or you may need to take a 2nd trip. New unit is quiet and chews up the food just fine.

  • DIY

LeeP

Murfreesboro, TN
35 to 44, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: LeeP