#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for JELD-WEN 42 in. x 84 in. Rustic Unfinished Wood Sliding Barn Door with Hardware Kit

Internet #206795167

Model #THDQC232800008

Store SKU #1001711412

  • Rustic sliding barn door kit has black hardware
  • Rustic door style to easily compliment your home
  • DIY barn door kit comes with door slab, hardware and handles

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 88 reviews
  • 86% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 88 reviews
Hardware work great awesome door
Hardware work great awesome door
by Rick
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamApr 3, 2020
We work with JELD-WEN customers every day and are delighted when a customer is inspired to call or write about their JELD-WEN experience. Your kind words offer us encouragement in the way we continue to serve our customers. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide this feedback. Jeldwen
Beautiful door! My handyman hung the door without problems. I used linseed oil and it is warm and...
Beautiful door! My handyman hung the door without problems. I used linseed oil and it is warm and gorgeous.
by Numberonegirlseven
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamAug 5, 2019
We work with JELD-WEN customers every day and are delighted when a customer is inspired to call or write about their JELD-WEN experience. Your kind words offer us encouragement in the way we continue to serve our customers. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide this feedback. Jeldwen
2 people found this helpful
This sliding barn door is a dream. I have been wanting this for years and with the sale I finally...
This sliding barn door is a dream. I have been wanting this for years and with the sale I finally bought it. It is functional, beautiful, and amazing. The door was packed well and all the hardware was included. The biggest time consumer for us was getting the pre-existing doorway ready and finishing the door to my liking. The Home Depot paint department was not very willing to help me figure out the finish that I was trying to achieve. I loved what "Mitch" did in his review and I wanted to duplicate it. FYI- I ended up using the Minwax Weathered Wood stain and it's exactly what I was looking for. The staining and poly process took a few days so you will need to plan that into your timeline. Once it was ready to install, my husband did all of the measuring, drilling, etc. He's very particular and exact, slow moving and thorough, so it took 6-8 hours before it was finally hung. While measuring, be careful with the pre-drill guide to the handle. The guide was not correct and the holes would not have been right. Luckily, he caught that before it was too late. And the floor guide still worked for us on our carpeted floor. We just installed that right into our carpet and it keeps the door sliding smoothly. The only thing I would knock down the rating half a star for is that it is not soft close like it's stated in some places. That is the one thing it needs. Besides saving space in my laundry room, the door is beautiful and a statement piece. It totally fits my rustic farmhouse decor.
by Mamaof4
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamOct 1, 2018
We work with JELD-WEN customers every day and are delighted when a customer is inspired to call or write about their JELD-WEN experience. Your kind words offer us encouragement in the way we continue to serve our customers. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide this feedback. Jeldwen
6 people found this helpful
Barn door looks great... I did a wood burn torch technique.
Barn door looks great... I did a wood burn torch technique.
by Vicki
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamSep 4, 2018
We work with JELD-WEN customers every day and are delighted when a customer is inspired to call or write about their JELD-WEN experience. Your kind words offer us encouragement in the way we continue to serve our customers. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide this feedback. Jeldwen
1 person found this helpful
Got one of these two years ago; bought and installed two more this month. The hardware is still ...
Got one of these two years ago; bought and installed two more this month. The hardware is still exceptional; the quality/ruggedness of the door has gone down some, but still looks great when stained and varnished. The mounting board is no longer solid wood but laminated, and there is no provision for anchoring the lag bolts beyond screwing them into that board. The previous kit came w/ wall anchors for additional strength/stability. Overall love the way they look, just not sure the installation will hold up over time as well as the previous version.
by JAY
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamAug 27, 2018
JELD-WEN sincerely appreciates the time you took to provide this response. Your comments encourage and inspire us as we strive to better serve our customers. Thank you again for sharing with us your experience. Jeldwen
1 person found this helpful
love this barn door
We bought two of these doors and just love them. They are not cheaply made compared to other barn doors. There are also nicer and heavier ones too but then three times the costs than this one. We got to stain the doors the color we wanted. Love the black hardware
by kc53
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamJun 5, 2018
We work with JELD-WEN customers every day and are delighted when a customer is inspired to call or write about their JELD-WEN experience. Your kind words offer us encouragement in the way we continue to serve our customers. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide this feedback. Jeldwen
We opened 8 different boxes in 2 different stores, and could not find a door that was not damaged...
We opened 8 different boxes in 2 different stores, and could not find a door that was not damaged (scrapes, gouges) or gaps in the vertical planks due to poor manufacturing or warped wood. Very disappointing experience for what I thought was a well-respected brand.
by StrongsWoman
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamApr 24, 2018
Thank you for your review of JELD-WEN and for bringing this to our attention. We’re sorry to hear your expectations were not met and assure you we take your concerns seriously. We are always looking for opportunities to improve and will send it to the proper department for further review and appropriate action. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide this feedback. Jeldwen
2 people found this helpful
Already shown and recommended the door to neighbors. Really like the quality and looks, especiall...
Already shown and recommended the door to neighbors. Really like the quality and looks, especially with the real wood construction! It was easier to hang than I expected, though it did take the necessary, appropriate time to paint and hang... made much easier with the absolutely fantastic detailed instructions and templates that were provided! Thanks!
by Terry
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamMar 14, 2018
JELD-WEN sincerely appreciates the time you took to provide this response. Your comments encourage and inspire us as we strive to better serve our customers. Thank you again for sharing with us your experience. Jeldwen
Looks Great
Me and my wife remodeled our house, and decided to replace the sliding door that enters the kitchen with a Barn Door. It looks great where we put it, and we get a lot of compliments when people walk in our house.
by Mangibin
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamFeb 6, 2018
We work with JELD-WEN customers every day and are delighted when a customer is inspired to call or write about their JELD-WEN experience. Your kind words offer us encouragement in the way we continue to serve our customers. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide this feedback. Jeldwen
Looks amazing and fits the room perfect!
Looks amazing and fits the room perfect!
by Wow
Response from YourJELD-WENTeamJan 12, 2018
We work with JELD-WEN customers every day and are delighted when a customer is inspired to call or write about their JELD-WEN experience. Your kind words offer us encouragement in the way we continue to serve our customers. Once again, we sincerely appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide this feedback. Jeldwen
1 person found this helpful
Showing 1-10 of 88 reviews