#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for John Deere 44 in. Two-Stage Snow Blower Attachment for 100 Series Tractors

Internet #314752814

Model #BM27439

Store SKU #1005838293

  • High speed rotor provides consistent snow placement
  • Use of tire chains and weights is highly recommended
  • Compatible with 100 Series models with a 48 in. or 54 in. deck

Customer Reviews

  • 3.2
    out of 27 reviews
  • 59%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-27 of 27 reviews
by
  • Verified Purchase
It is great at moving large amounts of snow. I...
It is great at moving large amounts of snow. I used it to move snow from around the house after pushing the snow off the roof. I had to nock off the tall 4-5ft piles but it handled the compacted snow & ice better than expected. I have the recommended weights and chains.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Mower deck grease fittings were dry. Otherwise great....
Mower deck grease fittings were dry. Otherwise great.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Not the easiest to put together, but well worth it
I have a John Deere E120 and this is one of the best purchases i've made for my tractor. Clears snow extremely fast and with ease. Relatively inexpensive compared to some standalone snow blowers that would be able to handle the snow that this can.
by
    • Recommended
    terrible design, poor quality
    As an owner of the previous version of the "new" design, I will tell you that it is terrible. I used the previous version for almost 15 years without fail. Even in the blizzard of 2013 here in Connecticut, when we had a single snowfall of over 40 inches, it worked wonderfully. On the "New and Improved" version the gear box cover is very thin gage metal and will bend and pull away from the box housing and the interior, final stage fan/impeller is made of plastic instead of the heavy gage reinforced and welded metal. This snow blower simply does not have the same blowing capability as the previous versions. In heavy wet snow the chute will quickly clog and you will spend more time clearing the chute than you will actually blowing snow. This is a terrible product and the engineers at John Deere should be embarrassed to have put such a poorly designed product in the hands of John Deere customers. A large self-propelled snowblower works better than this tractor attachment.
    by
      2 found this review helpful
      Get the electric lift kit !
      I bought this blower in order to get more use from my JD E120 lawn tractor; where I live in Alaska winter last twice as long as summer! I am in my 3rd winter with it now, and feel like I can make some useful comments at this time. My gravel driveway is about 200 yards long, with a moderate gradient. In order to get adequate traction I needed to add 150 lbs. of weight to the rear (in addition to my own 220 lbs.), and tire chains. Even with this, traction is poor if there is ice under the snow, or driving uphill. What became immediately apparent as the most necessary addition was the need for the optional electric lift kit. This is pretty expensive, but well worth it, if you plan to operate on any other surface than a flat, paved one. It allows you to adjust the height of the blower with a toggle switch. In the time I've had this I have had to replace the auger drive belt and the lift toggle switch each twice. Overall, I am pleased with the performance with this snowblower. It blows snow well in a range of conditions, and is much faster than my walk-behind blower. It has been a workhorse for me, and I use the tractor year round now. If I had to do it all over again though, I would buy a tractor with 4 wheel drive.
      by
        • Recommended
        BM27439 Mounted To 2008 LA135
        I mounted this snow blower to an older 2008 LA135. It will work if one knows what to look out for. First, the initial setup did take some time, but was not too bad. I was a mechanic for many years with a full compliment of tools, and I think it took about two hours to set up initially. After initial setup, it takes 20-30 minutes to swap out seasonally. I have been quite impressed with the function of it. It does make the 22 hp V-Twin in my machine work a little bit when the snow is very wet and heavy, but it does not have any trouble throwing that stuff a good distance. I did ding it one star for two reasons, 1) as others have said, if you have an older machine that is lacking the drive belt module mounting holes in the frame, then you will either need to drill holes, or obtain the brackets that others have mentioned. The brackets' part numbers are listed in the operators manual, but one wouldn't know that until they purchased the machine. It would be nice if that fact was clearly identified prior to purchase. 2) I did find the lift lever a bit flimsy and difficult to operate. I am no muscle man, but I am not weak either, and I believe having to use the lift lever that came with it would have been a heavy detraction from an otherwise good piece of equipment. I opted to install an electric operated lift actuator. It wasn't cheap, but it really transformed the usability of the machine. All in all, I am very happy with the purchase.
        by
          • Recommended
          nice product but couple of problems
          buyer beware. unit wasn't compatible for D140 with out some mods
          by
            Great service
            exactly what I ordered. Shipping said 8-10 weeks, received in less than 2weeks.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Excellent snow blower attachment, with some minor gotchas
            I've had this now for four winters on my D130. It moves mountains of snow very rapidly - it cleared a 150' driveway of heavy wet snow breaking over the top in under 25 minutes, and running into branches or rocks doesn't bother it one bit. I can clear my twice as large drive as my neighbor in less than 1/3 of the time they can with a massive walk-behind. The blower itself is just fantastic. I also really love not having another engine to maintain and just running one big piece of equipment year round, so overall cost of ownership ends up being less over the years than having a separate snow blower. Assembly the first year was kind of a pain, took me about 4-5 hours, but now the deck to blower swap is about an hour job all-in. Weight is your friend with this - the ~90 lbs of weight hanging off the back is essential, and front wheel weights also help keeping it steerable in dicey conditions. If you weigh a lot, it also helps ... if I could figure out how to safely attach another 100 lbs of weight, I'd do it. The 100 and 200 series are just not that heavy and weight matters for this application. Also, though my D130 can handle it, I'd be leery of the single cylinder tractor models - they should work, but when you're lifting and chucking snow, horsepower is your friend. Also, get the traction straps over the chains, they do a much better job and are easier to get on and off - plus you can use them for more traction in the summer if you need it. Also, two winters ago I added the power lift system... it takes this up another level because I now have steps in between up and down, and can finely manage the ground pressure and don't have to wrench on a big lever with pins that can get clogged with snow, but adds significantly more cost. Also, I'd skip a big box store on this one and get it from a proper JD dealer who can match it to the serial of your machine - as others have mentioned, you sometimes need additional parts to connect it to certain models. All in all, great attachment, great investment. One day when my tractor goes to the great yard in the sky, I'll be sure to pick up the latest for the replacement tractor.
            by
              • Recommended
              6 found this review helpful
              Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
              Rating provided by a verified purchaser
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              1 found this review helpful
              Seals failed on work gear drive
              Bought this in July of 19. In the spring of 21, there was a puddle of oil from the worm gear box. One of the seals had failed. JD does not have a way to replace the seals and will therefore only provide you with the advice of buying a new gearbox which costs over 700 CAD. At first I was informed that the warranty was still valid, but after I brought it in to a dealership for repair, they informed me the warranty for this item is only valid for 12 months. I'm very disappointed with this product and this while experience. This snowblower was one of the reasons I bought my E160 because it can be multi purpose. I wish I had done more research. I would have not chosen John Deere because of it.
              by
              Response from JohnDeereJun 5, 2021
              We're sorry to hear that. If you would like to discuss this with us further, please reach out to the John Deere Enterprise Contact Center at 1-800-537-8233.
                One Great Attachment
                The blower itself is a great machine. I have a D130 and supposedly it requires 2 brackets at an added cost. The good news is they don't inform you in advance when ordering or I would have ordered not knowing that it's a matter of drilling holes to fix the problem. Only other issue is the lever for lifting the blower. Not really something that is easy to operate. Otherwise one great attachment. Almost as easy as mowing the lawn. Next year the cab.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                The product arrived late and on top of that it...
                The product arrived late and on top of that it was not even compatible to my tractor E160 even though it said that is compatible with 100 series.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                5 found this review helpful
                Great to just good enough
                I uncreated & assembled this snow blower to my S140 tractor by myself relatively easily. I did read the manual over a couple of times. It moves snow very well but you must be very careful with the lifting handle as it feels flimsy. The surface I snow-blow is not flat, forcing me to hold the lift pin release lever so I can lift the mechanism when I want to back up.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Snow Blower attachment
                  So far has handled everything winter has thrown at it! Light and fluff to wet and heavy snow! Love it
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Hard to mount, won't get fixed in up position.
                  I got this blower about a year ago to help clear the snow im my driveway in Colorado. Putting it together required 3 people and took several hours. Having to remove it from tractor after winter and adding it back on is a nightmare! Once it is finally on it is impossible to put it up with the lever, and once you do, it won't even stay in place. Super disappointed with this product and wish I had bought a different snow blower.
                  by
                    2 found this review helpful
                    Still going strong after 6 years
                    I was surprised to see that this snowblower only averaged a 2 star rating when I’ve been using mine without any problems for 6 years. When I bought mine I had a JD dealer install it, judging by the reviews that was a good decision as all the parts necessary were professionally installed from the start. Since then, I put on the mower deck in spring and the snowblower and chains in the fall. It takes a little time and patience and a bit of elbow grease but the instruction manual is detailed enough to follow. Just be aware you’ll need to get your hands dirty and get down under the tractor to connect it. My driveway is 165 feet long and the windrow left by the snow plow is often 3 feet high and 5 feet wide. I’ve never had the slightest problem getting through it. We had a foot of snow last week and this snowblower went through it like butter. At age 62, riding a snowblower is a lot easier than pushing one around, be sure to wear some good snow pants before heading out.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      cheaply built
                      So excited to get this blower had nothing but trouble with it the pins keep coming out plow drops on ground have to drag it back to the Garage so disappointed will be calling company I think I got a bad blower
                      by
                      Response from JohnDeereFeb 19, 2021
                      We're sorry to hear about your experience. If you haven't already, we recommend you contact your local dealer for assistance. You can find their contact information at dealerlocator.deere.com.
                        This is exactly what I was hoping for! All hardware...
                        This is exactly what I was hoping for! All hardware was accounted for. It wasn't that bad to install. Had to read the instructions a couple times but overall not bad. Wished I had done it in warmer weather. We have an inclined gravel driveway and this attachment has no issues going up or down the hill. Make sure you get the weights & chains and you'll never pay someone to plow again!
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        The mounting brackets did not come with the snow blower....
                        The mounting brackets did not come with the snow blower. Had to call John Deere directly right before the big storm in January to order the parts. They sent them the following week UPS overnight and was able to mount the snow blower before the next 2 storm. It was an easy job clearing the snow and I am very happy to have a snow blower I can mount to my lawn tractor
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        A dying deere
                        For many years, I had an L120 with the snowblower attachment that ran without a problem, strong belt, easy attachment, made work a joy. Sadly, the L120 gave it's last a year back and I had to replace it with a new setup. Of course, the old snowblower didn't work with the new tractor, so I bought this one. I should have bought another L120. This new snowblower is junk. The belt has all the strength of an elastic band, poor power, a pain to attach the assembly and take it off and I gave up trying to lift it with the handle, as the flimsy thing just bends. John Deere took a serious step back with this. Whoever okayed this piece of junk at Deere should have been fired immediately!
                        by
                          6 found this review helpful
                          Returned item, lever to raise the plow kept getting jammed...
                          Returned item, lever to raise the plow kept getting jammed and we struggled every time we attempted to raise the plow
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          2 found this review helpful
                          Nothing Breaks Like a Deere
                          Be very gentle with this thing. If you are aggressively going after the snow be very careful. If you break a shear pin, there is a high probability you also broke a tooth inside the gearbox. Then it is all downhill from there. The gearbox is built in India and costs $530 bucks! Do not pound on the end of the drive shaft as it is made from very soft steel and the end will mushroom over and not fit through the gear box. That means you need to buy a $75 dollar drive shaft for that brand new $530 gear box. The OEM belt is junk and I've replaced two $75 belts. I believe they improved how to replace the blower belt. My older unit requires about 2 hours of fun and have to disassemble everything to get the 2nd stage impeller moved forward so you can get the belt over the rear end of the impeller shaft.
                          by
                            4 found this review helpful
                            Do NOT buy
                            What nothing tells you and Home Depot doesn't sell is the 2 frame arms you need for any 100 series tractor. After you get everything together and try to attach to the tractor, you realize this does not fit your chassis. In small print in the directions it tells you that you need part UC 14554 and UC 14556, the R and L frame arms so it can attach to the frame. They are $80/piece for some unknown reason and $20 to ship then tax. That's an Extra $200 you need to spend in addition to chains and weights. No one seems to carry this and it takes 8-10 days for the online parts to ship. Being that it will snow TUESDAY and this is Saturday, we're screwed! Thanks to both Home Depot and John Deere for their failure to include and / or advise of a necessary part. Shame on both of you.
                            by
                            Response from JohnDeereFeb 3, 2021
                            We're sorry to hear that. If you would like to discuss this with us further, please reach out to the John Deere Enterprise Contact Center at 1-800-537-8233.
                              13 found this review helpful
                              Defective part. Snowblower did not mount to the tractor...
                              Defective part. Snowblower did not mount to the tractor corectly. It was not level. Returned to Home Depot and got our money back.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              5 found this review helpful
                              Built solid, not used yet.
                              I bought this in the fall and installed it about a month ago. These are the worst instructions ever!! Plan on using the instructions and YouTube videos. I had to re-assemble some parts over and over because the instructions did not make sense. Plan on at least 3 hours to install it. I am mechanically inclined, but struggled sometimes doing it by myself. You will need tire chains, 2 weights and the bracket to hold them. I also purchased the weather enclosure for this was well. I took a star off due to the instructions.
                              by
                                • Recommended
                                Showing 1-27 of 27 reviews