No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (10)
  • Great product - Easy install
  • February 10, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Had to replace old smoke detectors that were over 12 years old. I know way past over due !! After looking at reviews and the product myself I decided on this one, glad I did the old ones were a different manufacturer so the plug in was different, but this one came with its own hard wiring, if you needed like me to change plug in. SUPER EASY I had 4 of these units installed in less than 30 minutes... Work great, something as important as smoke detectors I would NOT give a good review if they weren't that good.. They are LOUD also...

Pros Loud, Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions, Nice Design

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Rgring

Millington
45 to 54, Male
23 out of 23 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Rgring
  • Convenient smoke detectors
  • July 08, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Our handyman recommended these smoke detectors. Said smoke detectors should be replaced every 10 years or so. When I told him I thought the old ones were pathetic--so hard to get off the ceiling and back up there once the batteries were changed, and why on Earth nobody has thought to make one that's easier, he said THEY HAVE--and he recommended Fire-X! He installed them really fast (must not have been too hard to do), and now when a battery needs replacing, we don't have to take the whole thing off the ceiling--you just open a little door on the side of the smoke detector, slide out the old battery, and slide in the new one! Pretty cool! Wish we'd done this years ago. Sure beats standing on top of a big ladder with your arms over your head trying to get the thing off the ceiling and back up again!

LynAnn

12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: LynAnn
  • Easy to install
  • July 04, 2013
  • Recommended Product

Replaced three older smoke detectors with this model. The adapter for the old smoke detector wouldn't fit this one so rewired all of them which was a simple task. One of them started chirping after a day - the problem is that the battery doesn't make good contact so it will beep as if the battery were low. I solved the problem by taping a thin piece of paper (from a business card) over the non conductive end of the battery and then reinserted the battery. That stopped the chirping and the battery had a nice snug fit.

Pros Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
  • DIY

ElVee

Central MA
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ElVee
  • Easy upgrade for whole house when old units ar at end of life
  • March 19, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The battery door is accessible without removing the unit from its mounting plate, and that was my main reason for purchasing these. The low battery warning in my previous alarms always seemed to occur when I was out of town, and my wife always struggled with replacing the batteries. These are dirt-simple to replace the batteries, and take 5 minutes to install despite have to re-terminate the connector. If you're comfortable stripping wire, just cut off the old incompatible connector and attach the new one included in the box. I don't use adapter harnesses because connectors are usually the first thing to fail.

Pros Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
  • DIY

number6photo

Novi, MI, USA
45 to 54, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: number6photo
  • Excellent Replacement
  • November 20, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I bought the 6 pack of these even though I only have 5 in my home because it was cheaper. I bought them because I am painting my home (ceilings/walls/trim) and I wanted white smoke detectors to match the freshly painted ceiling. The previous ones were not completely white (you know what I'm talking about) but instead like they had yellowed. The smoke detectors were installed in 2005, so these were 8 years old anyway. So buying was not a waste in my opinion. They hooked up with my old wiring flawlessly. Much cleaner, and the battery is now accessible on the front instead of me having to unscrew anything. Would I recommend these? You bet.

Pros Easy Replacement, Easy Installation

Video & Photo

  • DIY

WB1990

Lawrenceburg, KY 40342, USA
18 to 24, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WB1990
  • Well Fit for Their Purpose
  • August 21, 2010
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I purchased this pack of smoke detectors to replace all of the aging ones in our home. They were relatively simple to install, and the fit between the ceiling-mounted base and the detector unit itself was generally quite good. The "push to open, push to close" battery tray is a big improvement in convenience from the side-mounted, sticky slide-out tray on the units I replaced. Installation notes: These do not come with mounting screws or wire nuts; you will need to reuse those from existing units (if replacing), or be prepared to provide them yourself. This is a well-designed product that is fit for its intended purpose. Relatively basic, it nonetheless has appealing features that make it an easy, economical choice.

scmo

San Francisco Bay Area
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: scmo
  • Good Deal
  • April 25, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I purchased the 6 pack 2 years ago when I had electrical work done and needed to bring the house up to code with smoke detectors. There is 1 in the basement and 5 throughout the house. I have had no problems in the 2 years that they have been installed. I burned something in the oven once and all six went off, so they work as designed. The included backup battery only lasted about 2 months, but name brand alkaline batteries still test good when I change them at 12 months. If these are still available when it is time to replace the detectors I will purchase them again.

  • DIY

Josh

North Tonawanda, NY
35 to 44, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Josh
  • Great value and features
  • July 03, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I had to replace the old dectectors as they were going on 10 years of age and this package deal is the best bargin by far. The front access door for battery replacement is a great feature. It was easy to take off the old wiring harness and replace it with the new one that is supplied with the units (just be sure to power off the circuit at the breaker panel before installing).

  • DIY

Billwsw

Harwich, MA
65 or over, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Billwsw
  • Too many false alarms
  • January 16, 2012

I liked the contractor pack. I liked the ease of installation. I did not like the 4am wake up calls caused by false alarms. I returned 12 of them within 90 days of purchase. Hated the product, but loved that Home Depot took them back.

Steve

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Steve
  • Great Smoke Alarm
  • February 26, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I'm a senior citizen, and I installed this myself with no problem at all. Very simple installation. Good product. I love the battery access door. No more taking the whole unit down just to put in a new battery.

Pros Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
  • DIY

Nancy

Iowa
65 or over, Female
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Nancy