#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for KitchenAid 6.0 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel

Internet #205998253

Model #KFGD500ESS

Store SKU #1001378086

  • EVEN-HEAT True Convection helps keep the perfect temperature
  • 6.0 cu. ft. capacity, perfect for cooking multiple dishes at once
  • 5 burners provide the perfect range of power from 5000-17000 BTU

Customer Reviews

  • 4.6
    out of 1,032 reviews
  • 90% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,032 reviews
I never knew how much I needed a double oven!!
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Shopping for a new range, I thought the double oven was overkill.... but I did it anyway cause I loved the cooktop. I CANNOT BELIEVE HOW MUCH I LOVE IT!!!! Now I can cook multiple things at different temps or use only the top oven for quick one dish meals. It heats quickly, I love how I can see the temp progressing as it pre heats, not having to bend over as far as often is nice, it cleans easily with a microfiber cloth. My only minimal complaint is I wish the control panel had a disable feature so when you clean it, you don’t hit the buttons. Minor... but a suggestion.
by Alicat45
    Gorgeous Range
    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We really wanted a double oven for our range and the griddle in the middle was just the icing on the cake! Honestly, this whole unit is awesome and works so well. We also love the look of this in our new kitchen. My one piece of advice is buy it! Period!
    by LJB618
      • Recommended Product
      Not sure I would but again
      We have had this stove for under three years and I cannot complain about the actual performance, maybe we got lucky! What I do have an issue with is that the what I can assume is aluminum they have used to make them is peeling but to the extent that it has become dangerous because it’s splintering into little metal fragments. Additional, I do believe it was mentioned before but I will reiterate, in order to clean the stove top you have to remove the grates that click together, this has scratched the actual front and back of the stove so badly that it looks like the stove is 20 years old, not 3. The knobs to get very hot if the top oven is being used. Not sure I would recommend this until some things get tweaked
      by Char66
      Response from CA SOCIAL CARE `Mar 10, 2021
      Hello, Char66! We are so very sorry to hear that you are not completely satisfied with your Kitchenaid gas range. Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your concerns about the metal splintering, scratched stovetop, and hot knobs. We understand that it is upsetting to have an appliance fail to meet your needs and expectations, and we sincerely apologize for that happening to you! You are a valued Kitchenaid customer and we want to help you! Please email us at canadasocial@kitchenaid.com with the model number, serial number, your best contact number, and review ID 243233652. We look forward to hearing from you and hope you have a wonderful day! Thank you, - Andrea
        GREAT RANGE - very versatile
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is a terrific range. We've had it for a year now and the dual oven design is really great..
        by Pete M.
          • Recommended Product
          Awesome Range
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is the best gas stove I've ever used. Absolutely love it.
          by SJG3
            • Recommended Product
            Just what we wanted
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The double oven has already come in very handy. We cook for a large groups and baking is a necessity. Very happy with the KitchenAid range
            by Michael58
              • Recommended Product
              As smart as it is Beautiful
              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We got this just before Christmas and the design, the dual ovens, spacious cook top and griddle single handedly, masterfully, produced our large Christmas dinner. The oven took longer to cook than our old one, but it could have been our unfamiliarity--and that guests kept opening the door to look at the gorgeous blue interior. One of the best thing about this oven and stove top is how easy it is to clean! Make sure you use the recommended cleaners, the Affresh brand. We love our range, with all its possibilities. It is a very good value.
              by Tanna
                • Recommended Product
                Love it!
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] New home new appliances and this oven is amazing and looks fantastic
                by Justmee813
                  • Recommended Product
                  Great Product
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I purchased all Kitchenaid appliances for my new house and love them.
                  by Arkhog
                    • Recommended Product
                    Great looks! Excellent features and stylish
                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I purchased this back in August 2020. Because of covid 19 I had to wait until December to received my order. worth the wait. Had a kitchen remodel and I love it cooks well oven bakes well. So far I'm very pleased with my purchase. Now if I can only get my new refrigerator, my kitchen will be complete!
                    by Bon58
                      • Recommended Product
                      Double Down Cooking
                      (This review was collected as part of a promotion.) I purchased this Stove about a month ago and I am extremely happy that I did. I love the 2-ovens system as it allows for cooking 2-dishes at once for dinner or a complete batch of cookies all at once. The most thing I love about this stove is when you open the top oven door, you don't get the waive of heat coming up at your face, it is controlled away from you. I highly recommend this stove and give it an A+++ Rating..
                      by Slarky22
                        • Recommended Product
                        Great Features
                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Bought this oven about a month ago. We are so pleased with the way it cooks & the ease of using it we would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a new oven. The double oven feature makes cooking a breeze!
                        by Anthony48
                          • Recommended Product
                          Great double oven
                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Great oven! Only feature I do not like is the stove should be raised otherwise the bottom door sits on the floor when opened. A 2-3" riser works wonders but raises the stove above counter level. Browning in the upper oven is difficult.
                          by DaveInRolla
                            • Recommended Product
                            Smart design
                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] For starters, this range is beautiful, inside and out. As far as function, it does everything I could ask for. The middle burner and griddle is convenient and heats quickly and evenly. The other four light up quickly and heat as expected. The double ovens are amazing. Juggling multiple dishes is so much easier when you have two ovens that can be set at different temps! The slide out racks also work really well. The bake, broil, and convection oven functions help you make sure your dishes come out perfect every time! I just love everything about this range!
                            by Jaded8785
                              • Recommended Product
                              Great Features - Love the double oven.
                              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We replaced our old Whirlpool with this model. Love the double oven and the fit and finish. Only minor issue is our gas supply line is not imbedded in the wall. We have a call in with a plumber to relocate. I would imagine that this is a common issue with all double oven inserts. I do wish that you could manually light the stove top burners when there is no power. Other than those issues, we love it.
                              by Chip-N-NC
                                • Recommended Product
                                Good choice for my kitchen
                                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Since we cannot fit two wall ovens in our kitchen, this was the next best bet and we are pleased. Both ovens preheat to temperature quickly and food comes out cooked through the way we like it. Broiler is excellent. Really love having two ovens. The smaller top one is good for anything on a low pan (frozen French fries, lasagna, cookies, etc.) but not good for things that rise since they get caught on the broiler pipe in the middle. Can be pushed to the side for more clearance. Love the telescoping rack in the bottom oven, making it easier to take out and lift larger items like turkeys or roasts. Just a word to the wise, best to be able to bend over to lift those items mentioned because that oven is shelf is practically down to the floor. My one gripe is that the stainless steel top scratches so easily if adjusting the grills to put in place. The surface does clean up easy with a wash cloth followed by glass cleaner without ammonia. For stubborn cooked on spots try a mildly gritty cleaner (like brass/copper polish) or Zep stainless steel cleaner.
                                by Beachpup
                                  • Recommended Product
                                  Excellent double ove
                                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We’ve had this range just long enough to use both ovens several times. They are both perfect and the range is beautiful. Stove top is also beautiful and I have not the found the stainless cook top to be a problem to clean, as a few others mentioned.
                                  by Barbie0262
                                    • Recommended Product
                                    Love it - Love it - Love it!
                                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love this beautiful appliance. I have to say, she was a bear to get installed. The instructions were "lacking" to say the least. The gas hook up in the back looks like you have to find an adaptor - and it's very confusing. But - on the bottom of the box with the valve, is where you would hook up for natural gas... we found it by accident - after going to several specialty stores for the converter - not needed. Also, the instructions say to swap out the little nozzle on all the burners - nope, not needed. I swapped out 3 and suddenly realized, that there was no visible difference in what I was taking out and what I was installing - and sure enough - not needed. But - she works wonderfully and she's very pretty.
                                    by carolynhart62
                                      • Recommended Product
                                      Still getting to know it
                                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have always enjoyed Kitchenaid appliances. There are some things that I don't like on this range. The cooktop surface; I prefer the ceramic surface. Sure you only have to use glass cleaner on this surface; it just looks cheap to me. The double oven is great but the bottom oven is sooooo low, I have to get down on the floor to use it.
                                      by skinieminnie257
                                        • Recommended Product
                                        Stove
                                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love the stove. Just wish I could find the model number
                                        by Dd070857
                                          • Recommended Product
                                          I love the features they’re user friendly
                                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I purchased this is November 2020. Love cooking healthier meals that was my reason for selecting this model.
                                          by Meechee
                                            • Recommended Product
                                            Worth the wait!
                                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Worth the wait is all I can say. So far making meals and baking has been wonderful. I am still working my way around using all the functions. I will keep this updated as I go along and use this product. This oven was my Christmas gift that was ordered in Nov 2020; the store itself did not have it in stock and stated I would have to wait for the manufacturer. Now being without a stove since Nov 2020 until Feb. 2021 was a feat (it was quite disappointing this could not be in stack, and we were never told why)! We were cooking on a hot plate until this came in; in February 2021. My husband wanted to settle for just a basic oven; I did not. I almost folded around Christmas time when I could not make cookies, and other items (but a neighbor came to my rescue). Pros: So far baking has been even, no uneven baking of cakes or brownies. I used the broiler and that was with ease. People were reporting about the knobs; they are also ok. I bump into them from time to time and do not find that they turn on my gas. I have made sauce on top and that has turned out perfect. Learning about the features is also easy; I am still reading about all of the ovens functions, but they are clear and should be no problem navigating. Cons: I would love for burner shields to be sold with this type of oven, this is just cosmetic. But would be a nice feature. Lastly, ovens used to come with a broiler pan, now they sell them, I thought that was odd. Honestly for the cost of this oven the customer should not be nickeled and dime just to get more money on the product. That is what will keep loyal patrons. All in all this product was worth the wait, no matter if I had to wait three months to get it.
                                            by Clavon
                                              • Recommended Product
                                              Great Range!
                                              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have stand alone range that is terrific! 5 burners with griddle in the middle that I use much more than I thought I would. Racks slide easily It’s a joy to use- highly recommended this model.
                                              by Snazzy Sue
                                                • Recommended Product
                                                Convection Stove
                                                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Like the oven. However, there have been a few times all ready that we've bumped up against the knobs and turned the gas on. It took a bit to notice the gas smell and then turn the knob back. These should be a little more resistance to turning the gas on.
                                                by Rocket78
                                                  • Recommended Product
                                                  Upper oven
                                                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I wish the upper oven had a option for the rack to be equally distant from the upper and lower burners. When in the upper position you can only get a cookie sheet on there and on the lower position, it is so close to the burner that things tend to burn on the bottom before they are done.
                                                  by SLMTX
                                                    • Recommended Product
                                                    Be aware of the power outage feature.
                                                    This stove does not work if you have a power outage. I live in TX and I could NOT use this during the ice storms when I needed hot food. This will NOT work without electricity! This stove also is difficult to clean the ovens as the doors cannot be removed for cleaning. I guess they expect that you will always use the oven self cleaning setting. Other than these two things the stove works great and cooks nicely. I love the heavy grates and they clean up easily. I also use the top smaller oven 10 times more than the bottom larger one. It is very convenient and comfortable to use. I love Kitchenaid products and have other products of theirs, but I wish I could send this one back, I've only had it for 6 months. Hope this helps someone who's considering buying this stove.
                                                    by Maggie Bee
                                                      Areal pleasure to use.
                                                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The recess in the back of the range should be larger. The range has to sit further out from the wall then other ranges I have had The double oven is fantastic.
                                                      by Wwwwww
                                                        • Recommended Product
                                                        Great design!
                                                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The cooktop and ovens are beautifully designed and I love the 2 ovens...so handy. The ovens don't hold their temperature as well as they should, but overall ok.
                                                        by Sparky66
                                                          Loose burner knobs
                                                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Frequently, after leaning gently on the burner knobs, they turn on slightly, leaving the smell of gas in the kitchen. I wish they were tighter so that didn't happen. Fortunately we have been home when it happens, but I worry that one day we will leave and the house will fill up with gas.
                                                          by Kay Beth
                                                            Amazing in every way!
                                                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am so thrilled to get another KitchenAid appliance at a great price. I have had both ovens and a couple top burners going at the same time with no trouble. I did have to order a silicon mat for around the burners to catch splashes, but that's my OCD and normal. I've used slow-cook and bread proofing already and love it. The controls are easy to use. The bottom oven is a bit low, but I just don't have room for a wider format...this was the only way to get two ovens in the space I have available.
                                                            by DDD1
                                                              • Recommended Product
                                                              Showing 1-30 of 1,032 reviews