No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (17)
  • Beautiful addition to glass pocket door
  • September 13, 2013

After seeing this latch from a door & window installation company, I purchased one online from HD and had my contractor place it in our new glass door. He'd never seen this kind of latch. Worked like a charm! The pop out pull for the door works better than our old one, too. The return on doorway frame is rectangular (like standard), so did not need to be recut.

Pros Beautiful Appearance, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality

Video & Photo

  • DIY

lildeb1971

Southern California
35 to 44, Female
19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: lildeb1971
  • replaces existing lockset nicely
  • April 30, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This door latch is an excellent option for conversion of a regular door to pocket door. This is the lockset that should be stocked in store rather than the "square" type. It is more reasonable and fits a pre-drilled standard lockset hole. It is more asthetically pleasing and has a built in door pull feature!

Pros Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality

lith1

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: lith1
  • Gosh, my Kwikset Smart Keys (have about 30 of them on my home and kid's) have been great, but thi...
  • December 31, 2016

Gosh, my Kwikset Smart Keys (have about 30 of them on my home and kid's) have been great, but this lock's performance - and worse, Kwikset's service - are sub-par. I have 5 of these in Satin Nickel. Each are operated 10-15 times per day. All purchased through Home Depot. Now on-line only. My oldest unit is 2 years, youngest is <6 months. Youngest failed 2 weeks ago (won't retract). Second older unit failed today (grab disengaged from latch). Let's bear in mind that after you've bored and routed for this lockset, you are apparently captive. It appears that the few competitors for this lock type could have similar fit on door, but jamb sides appear different. So if you want to migrate away from these locks you may be in for new doors and cost prohibitive jamb replacement or modification. I derive this from pictures but have not gone through trouble of checking precise dimensions. Hey, I chose these as my permanent platform because thought they were the best design and had Kwikset reliability! My service experience. Called Kwikset 11 days ago (a Monday, early AM), high call volume, opted for callback , received call 8 minutes later, rep took my personal info, said I was already registered in their system. We'll send you e-mail, please respond with photos of your problem. Ok, although I thoroughly described the failure to the rep, I figure "no sweat". I took pics against a labeled paper background with arrows to defects, write on the case number, attached and sent via their blind reply link, which doesn't leave a 'sent' in my mailbox. Expect response within 48 hours, the website says. Now it's late Wednesday - no reply. I resubmit my info, with note 'resubmittal'. No response. ........ Days pass....... Forward to today. Call Kwikset about 8:30AM PST,after checking website to be sure they're open, opt for callback, 2:00 PM rolls around and still no callback. Call service again, hold for 14 minutes and give up. Time already far exceeds value of lock, dang it. I call Delta, Pfister, Glacier Bay, First Alert, Johnson Door, Jeld-Wen and get serviced promptly! Sheesh! Now 5:30 PM and no e-mail or callback. 3 -day weekend coming. So I'll be at 2 weeks struggling to resolve a straight forward warranty issue when the first Tuesday of 2017 rolls around. It pains me to post this, but Kwikset, you are failing on the service side of your organization. If you read this, my Case # is 201612811408, to substantiate my review.

Video & Photo

  • DIY

NoDisgrace

55 to 64, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: NoDisgrace
  • Different and better pocket door alternative
  • July 07, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Really like this design and prefer it over the more typical [rectangular] style. My only gripe is with regard to the product description and visuals ... There is NO imagery nor details related to how the lock actually latches! Based upon what's presented currently, you'd be led to believe that the pull [appears to be a hook] somehow locks the door rather than the actual design that deploys a catch on the side of the bolt that firmly secures the door when latched. Bottom line, a great design well executed ... so why in the world isn't it properly promoted?!

Pros Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design, good quality & great design Cons need to detail the latch design in product descrip
  • DIY

DaveB

Chicago, IL
55 to 64, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DaveB
  • LOOKS NICE
  • November 01, 2011

IT WAS INSTALLED BY OUR CONTRACTOR IN OUR NEW HOME. IT LOOKS NICE AND WEARS WELL DESPITE THREE SET OF DIRTY KID'S HANDS. THE MECHANISM THAT GOES INTO THE FRAME TO LOCK THE DOOR GETS STUCK OCCASIONALLY. IT IS MAGNETIC AND CAN DISENGAGE. THIS LOCKS THE PERSON IN THE BATHROOM, BUT CAN BE FIXED BY LIFTING THE DOOR UP AT ITS BASE.

JENNIFER

CODY, WY
35 to 44, Female
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JENNIFER
  • Too difficult to lock
  • September 20, 2011

Clever idea and easy to install, but too hard on the fingers trying to get the thin locking lever all the way into locked position. It's easy to think the door's locked when it's not. The locking lever-dial thing has to be thinner than regular locks to fit into the door pocket/wall, and the lock isn't really locked until that very last click when the little triangular piece of metal pops out of the tip of the dead bolt.

  • DIY

Kansas City
45 to 54, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
  • A little chintzy
  • December 13, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This product was a total cinch to install and looks great. However, it's a little chintzy overall--it doesn't give you much depth to grab the door by. In addition, popping the "tongue" out to pull the door gives you about a half-inch tab with a sharp edge that you have to pinch to close the door. All in all, good for a partition door (say, for separating a room from a closet), but I wouldn't use it for anything that needs to be secure--or, for that matter, a door that's opened or closed often.

  • DIY

Framingham, MA, USA
25 to 34, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
  • August 25, 2010
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I'm very pleased with the look of this product and was very easy to install. This was my first hardware install on a slab door not pre-drilled. The directions and template provided were easy to follow. I plan on ordering another for a second pocket door. The lock is very good quality and the mechanics will last a long time. I love the little pop-up feature on the latch which really makes it easy to pull the door out of the pocket - what a GREAT feature.

HomeDepotCustomer

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • Great Product
  • February 03, 2010
  • Recommended Product

Nice design, fits into an existing door (was converting a regular door to a pocket door) with very little cutting. Much more elegant look than the square lock. Only issue that I have with the product is the tiny pull - digs into your finger when you pull to close the pocket door.

FixThat

Tallahassee, FL
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FixThat
  • Streamlined Design, Easy functionality
  • November 02, 2009
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I was looking for something other than your typical rectangular shaped box lock for my new pocket door I was installing when I found Kwikset's new lock. I love the design because it looks and functions like a regular deadbolt lock. When the door is open and recessed into the pocket you just push on the deadbolt and it pops out with a little finger that you can grab to pull the door out of the pocket. The door locks by turning the knob like a traditional deadbolt. It works by inserting the deadbolt into the strike plate and popping out little hooks that hold the door shut. The installation is the same as a typical deadbolt however it is even more important with this type that you drill your holes precisely. I drilled my deadbolt hole just a little off angle and the door was hard to open and lock because the pieces were not lining up correctly. I had to chisel out a little extra to make the lock work smoothly. It is especially important to line up the strike plate so that the right side of the deadbolt is flush with the right side of the strike plate opening so that the hooks will catch and keep the door locked. I also had issues with this and had to hammer the back of the strikeplate in a little to make it work good. Overall it's a good design and in my opinion the best of what's available out there. Also you can't beat the price. However, there is still some room for improvement on the latch mechanism.

FKeno

Raleigh, NC
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FKeno