#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt XL Propane Gas Smoker

Internet #203868169

Model #20050211

  • Plenty of room to smoke all of your favorite foods
  • Four chrome-coated smoking racks — smoke up to 100 lbs. of food
  • Push-button ignition

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 44 reviews
  • 75%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 44 reviews
received with broken door latch. design is weak on the secure positioning of the roll pin. I rep...
received with broken door latch. design is weak on the secure positioning of the roll pin. I repaired myself. the smoker itself is great
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Great Smoker
Smoker worked great. I smoked about 40 # of sausage with single digits temperatures outside. I first cured it at 400 degrees like the manual says.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
6 found this review helpful
Easy to assemble easy to use ...
Easy to assemble easy to use
by
  • Verified Purchase
easy to put together set it and forget it just add water when it is low
easy to put together set it and forget it just add water when it is low
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Works ok. ...
Works ok.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Love the smoker. Hold lot's of food, works well. Holds steady temp if no wind. Smoked the best pu...
Love the smoker. Hold lot's of food, works well. Holds steady temp if no wind. Smoked the best pulled pork I ever had.
by
Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportJun 7, 2018
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your new Masterbuilt Smoker! We are so pleased you're loving it and the food that you're making with it as well!! Thank you for choosing Masterbuilt! We appreciate having you as our customer and invite you to take a look at the recipes on our website as well as register your purchase with us at www.masterbuilt.com Masterbuilt
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
The smoker assembled easily and the quality is fine for...
The smoker assembled easily and the quality is fine for the price. The minor problems I have encountered is the unit is apparently not square, which is noticeable when the door is shut and the door lines are compared to the body. The gas valve is very touchy. In order to maintain a temp between 225 and 250 you need to make very very fine adjustments. Otherwise my first smoke turned out a wonderful pork shoulder. I did first make some modifications to the chip pan, as online forums had suggested to do to this model.
by
Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportJun 7, 2018
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your Masterbuilt Smoker! We are so pleased you're loving the food that you're making with it!! Thank you for choosing Masterbuilt! We appreciate having you as our customer and invite you to take a look at the recipes on our website as well as register your purchase with us at www.masterbuilt.com Masterbuilt
  • Verified Purchase
I have owned this smoker for 4 years. It's not a 500 dollar smoker, but does what it should. I en...
I have owned this smoker for 4 years. It's not a 500 dollar smoker, but does what it should. I enlarged the water tray, added a seal around the door and upgraded the smoke box to a 10" cast iron pan. It makes great smoke meats, and in fact I won first place with this smoker for pork ribs last year at a smoke off. I like it and may add another one.
by
Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportJun 5, 2018
Thank you for taking time to share your review on your Masterbuilt product! We appreciate having you as a customer. Congratulations on your First Place Win. Be sure to share your experiences and recipes on our social media channels. Smoke on!” Masterbuilt
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    does a great job. Some smoking, but not too bad
    does a great job. Some smoking, but not too bad
    by
    • DIY
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Overall a good smoker but door doesn’t seal well so...
    Overall a good smoker but door doesn’t seal well so heat & smoke escape making it hard to maintain temperature.
    by
    Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportApr 4, 2018
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! If you believe there is a defect with the door on your unit, please give us a call! We would be happy to assist you in replacing that! You can reach us @ 1-800-489-1581 and our hours of operation are Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm EST. Thank you for choosing Masterbuilt! Masterbuilt
    • Verified Purchase
    You get what you pay for and at this price point expect a smoker made from very thin materials. I...
    You get what you pay for and at this price point expect a smoker made from very thin materials. I bought this because of the reviews that I read, I figured it wouldn't be a Vermont Castings, but it seemed well received and "sturdy". I am really disappointed with the construction. The metals are flimsy and thin. I have a hard time imagining this is going to hold the temp well in a New England Fall or Springs. If I had seen in person I probably wouldn't have purchased.
    by
    Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportMar 22, 2018
    We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with your smoker purchase. We hope you'll give it a try and find it to be a great addition to your cooking options! If we can be of any service or assistance to you, please let us know - we would be happy to help! You can reach us @ 1-800-489-1581, Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm EST. Thank you for choosing Masterbuilt! Masterbuilt
      I've had this smoker about a year. Works good but if its windy outside forget about it. Your temp...
      I've had this smoker about a year. Works good but if its windy outside forget about it. Your temp will swing up and down like crazy. I fashioned a wind screen out of sheet metal and plywood. Seems to work ok. I think I'm ready to sell this one off and get an electric one.
      by
      Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportMar 13, 2018
      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience with your smoker on those windy days you mentioned. We would be happy to help you find the best option for a replacement electric unit if you're thinking of purchasing a new smoker. Please let us know if we can help, or check with your local Home Depot Associate! You can reach us @ 1-800-489-1581 and we are here Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm EST. Masterbuilt
        • Recommended
        Could not get temp below 220F. Had to spend additional...
        Could not get temp below 220F. Had to spend additional money for a needle valve to reduce the temp. Otherwise smoker preformed as expected.
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportFeb 6, 2018
        Thank you for taking time to share your feedback - we always appreciate hearing from our customers! We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope your smoker is working well for you. Thank you for choosing Masterbuilt! Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        Not perfect but does a good job. I’ve used this...
        Not perfect but does a good job. I’ve used this style smoker for years, they are pretty easy to master
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportFeb 6, 2018
        Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear this smoker is meeting your needs and that you are using it with ease. We invite you to take a look at some of our Dadgum Good recipes on our website @ www.masterbuilt.com There are some great ideas and flavors to try out! Thank you for choosing Masterbuilt! Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        Met expectations...
        Met expectations
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportFeb 6, 2018
        Thank you for taking time to share you review of your new Propane Smoker. We are glad to hear it is meeting your needs and expectations! Please don't hesitate to let us know if we can assist you in any way! Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        Pro: Really Good smoker Con: Have to open it to change\add wood
        Pro: Really Good smoker Con: Have to open it to change\add wood
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportJan 18, 2018
        Thank you for taking time to your review on your Masterbuilt Propane Smoker! We truly do appreciate having you as a customer and encourage you to use the recipe and registration tools on our website: www.masterbuilt.com Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Does what I bought it to do....
        Does what I bought it to do.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Door latch fell apart on 1st use. Was not happy....
        Door latch fell apart on 1st use. Was not happy. Propped the door closed with a broom, so I could continue smoking fish for Christmas gifts.
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportDec 18, 2017
        We are very sorry to hear this. Please call our Customer Service Department with your unit's information and we can assist you with getting replacement parts. You can reach us @ 800-489-1581, Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm EST. Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        4 Star Review
        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportOct 25, 2017
        Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your Propane Smoker! We're so pleased to hear you're happy with it!! Thank you for choosing Masterbuilt, and as always, if we can be of service in any way, please give us a call. 800-489-1581. Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        5 Star Review
        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportSep 27, 2017
        Thank you for sharing your review on your Masterbuilt product! We appreciate having you as a customer and encourage you to use the recipe and registration tools on our website: www.masterbuilt.com Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        It's easy to assemble and smokes with an even heat first one works so good we bought another. We...
        It's easy to assemble and smokes with an even heat first one works so good we bought another. We have had our first one for two years
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportSep 6, 2017
        Thank you for sharing your experience with your new Masterbuilt Propane Smoker. We are pleased to hear you are happy with all your Masterbuilt products and we sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the brand! We hope you continue to do so and if we can ever be of assistance to you, please let us know! Our Customer Service Department is available to you Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm EST @ 800-489-1581. Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Great product at a great price.
        Great product at a great price.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        the unit works just wonderful. A little rough on...
        the unit works just wonderful. A little rough on the shipping and the temp gauge is way off but the way it performs makes up for it. I wrap my wood chips in foil and cut slits in it, saves on ashes falling into burner.
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportAug 15, 2017
        Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and feedback with us here at Masterbuilt. We are sorry to hear your unit was damaged in shipping - if you feel the damage affects your units functionality, please consult with your local Home Depot or call us at 1-800-489-1581. Please do be careful with using the foil in your wood chip pan - this can be a dangerous fire hazard. We encourage you to view our free recipes as well as register your product purchase with online @ www.masterbuilt.com Welcome to the Masterbuilt family! Masterbuilt
        • Verified Purchase
        1 found this review helpful
        Awesome Smoker
        This smoker is great, it has room to really be able to smoke a bunch of different meats at the same time.
        by
        Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportAug 2, 2017
        Thank you for taking time to send us your thoughts on your new smoker. We are very happy to hear you are pleased with it and with the space inside of it. Please take time to register your product as well as check out some of the great recipes on our website. Just go to www.masterbuilt.com and use the toolbar at the top to navigate to the registration form as well as the recipe page. Masterbuilt
          • Recommended
          Very easy to assemble. Works great, and I highly recommend...
          Very easy to assemble. Works great, and I highly recommend this smoker. plenty of room, was able to smoke 100 Polish Sausages at the same time. This is definitely the smoker to get especially if you smoke a lot of meat at once, and $208.85 for the smoker & cover was a great bargain.
          by
          Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportAug 2, 2017
          Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad to hear you are pleased with your smoker purchase so far. We'd like to suggest looking at some of our Dagum Good Recipes on our website, www.masterbuilt.com. You can also register your product purchase with us as well on our website. We hope you continue to enjoy your smoker each and every time you use it! Masterbuilt
          • Verified Purchase
          This is my second Masterbuilt XL. The last one held...
          This is my second Masterbuilt XL. The last one held out for eight years and served me well smoking hundreds of pounds of meat. I was thrilled that I could buy another one just like it to replace "Old Smokie". Looking forward to many years of smoking with the new one.
          by
          Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportJul 26, 2017
          Thank you for your review and for continuing to be a part of the Masterbuilt family. We always love to hear from our long-time customers. We hope your new smoker is as faithful and useful as "Old Smokie" was. If there is every any need for assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Service line on Monday-Friday from 8am-5pm. Just call 1-800-489-1581 and provide us your model and serial number. Masterbuilt
          • Verified Purchase
          Great smoker and grill
          This is our 3rd smoker in 12 years. We went with the wider body this time. We use this as a grill as well. Love how easy it is to control the heat. We are going to place ours on blocks to raise it up since it is so low. The only issue we had with the first two smokers is that the bottom burned out at the burner.
          by
            • Recommended
            Bought this smoker a couple of weeks ago cooked on...
            Bought this smoker a couple of weeks ago cooked on three times [chicken pork roast and pork ribs] and all three has came out perfect . it so easy to put together a child could do it.[love it]
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Sick and tired
            Both times I ordered from Home Depot I have received my order broken. Nice smoker but broken. Never again LOWES ALL THE WAY
            by
              Love this smoker
              Love this smoker! If it hadn't been bent up when it was delivered it would have been perfect!
              by
                • Recommended
                Showing 1-30 of 44 reviews