No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (20)
  • Great Lawn Care Product
  • June 08, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Please watch my video how-to and review (below). The Melnor Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod (the product itself is actually labeled the Premium Brass Impact Sprinkler on Tripod), is a great option if you want to water a large area with an easy-to-use product. The tripod is made of metal (it feels like aluminum to me), and the legs extend easily. Once set up, the tripod is very sturdy, so there's no chance of it being knocked over by the force of the water being shot out of the sprinkler. Thankfully, the hose connector that's built into the tripod is also made of metal, so that will be able to stand up to the test of time well, too. The sprinkler itself is made of brass, so, again, there are no concerns that it will wear out anytime soon. The sprinkler has an advertised 85' diameter coverage range (approx 42' spray distance in any one direction), and, while I haven't actually measured that, a visual check seems to confirm that the coverage range is quite large. Thanks to the built-in metal stops, there are a number of coverage patterns that can be created ranging from a full 360° spin to very tight angles. That being said, though, the sprinkler didn't come with any instructions, so it took me a long time to figure out how to disengage the stop arm so that the sprinkler could do a full 360° rotation (to save you the hassle of figuring it out on your own, simply watch my video (below) to see how its done). Frustratingly, the design of the sprinkler on the tripod is such that the arm has to be forced past the mount and so, even knowing what to do, it's difficult to disengage the stop arm. This design flaw could have been easily avoided, but, since it exists, it's my only "dislike" of this product (and resulted in the 4-star rating instead of a 5-star rating). Other than the issue with the frustrating stop arm, though, this tripod sprinkler is great and I very much recommend it.

Pros Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape Cons no instructions included, stop arm is very difficult to disengage and engage

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

Hurwizzle

Middleton, WI
25 to 34, Male
24 out of 24 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Hurwizzle
  • Solid and well built.
  • May 17, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I have a Melnor stick in the ground sprinkler head, that I have used for years to help aerate my Earth pond. I really liked it as it never gave me any trouble. I still have it. The Brass Impact Sprinkler on Tripod version has given me a much better coverage area. It is also much easier to work with as all I have to do now is move the tripod as opposed to grabbing the active head stuck in the ground and getting wet. In addition I will use it for my oversize garden and I can see using this sprinkler to bridge shrubbery and other obstacles in order to water what's thirsty. All three legs are independently adjustable, which is great for unlevel terrain or to aim the sprinkler higher or lower or make it taller or short. The legs are metal alloy or aluminum with heavy duty plastic leg height locks. The sprinkler head has two main adjustments which are very easy to tweak while the sprinkler is active. First one will tell the head when to stop and reverse and the other determines what type of spray output you desire.The entire unit is very light. The sprinkler head is brass with other metal alloy components. I'm very happy with this product and can see it lasting for many years.

Pros Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, light

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

JeffersonOh

Ohio
55 to 64, Male
15 out of 15 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JeffersonOh
  • Poor head Construction...Get a Rainbird head for it.
  • May 25, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I had one of these by a different manufacturer and wanted to add a second. The concept is great and if you just want it to go in circles forever it's fine. If you want to use the stops to water a specific area, you're kind of out of luck. The stops are not designed to be tight enough around the shaft and the sprinkler head will move them each time it cycles. Fortunately, I had a few old rainbird reversing heads I could cannibalize for parts. You can get new ones online for $14-$40 direct. from rainbird online.. impact sprinklers

  • Pro
  • DIY

Szieve

Cleveland, OH, USA
35 to 44, Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Szieve
  • How hard can it be to build a decent sprinkler?
  • July 29, 2016

As an owner of a company that sells products into Home Depot and works extremely hard to achieve the highest quality, I am stunned with the inability of sprinkler manufacturers to build a simple sprinkler that can survive. I envision the engineers at Melnor spending more time on computer solitaire than in doing testing and failure engineering on their products. A sheet-metal part on our tripod sprinkler just fell off because the rivet snapped. Rivet was rusted or corroded - could not tell which. Should they design more robust rivets? Product also often decided not to rotate and locked in one position. Other than that this was a great product.

Cons Not Durable
  • DIY

StickMan

ATL
65 or over, Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: StickMan
  • Not a good sprinkler
  • May 28, 2013

Concept is good. Design is ok. Sprinkler head is junk! The head will not change directions when you have the stops down. Just sits there and waters the same spot. Product may work better if you have constant high water pressure Works ok if you don't need to use the stops. Distance wise is ok but I have noticed with long distance it does not water well in the short to medium range. Would not recommend to anyone the uses well water.

Ryan

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Ryan
  • Thought it was GREAT....until the 3rd use
  • July 14, 2014

I purchased 4 of these to provide full coverage for my lawn area. I set them up and "configured" the spray pattern provided by some swivel clamps that allow you to set the desired surface area to water. I hooked it up to a 4 port programmable Melnor watering scheduler (excellent product btw) and away I went. Loved it for the first 2 or 3 uses. Then the next thing I knew I was watering my house and only part of the lawn. ALL of these configurations had "moved" due to the back and forth nature of these sprinklers. In other words, it wouldn't hold the pattern. I find this to be a defect in the design as there's no way to "lock" the pattern. The friction based adjusters just don't hold their positions over time. I'm returning all of these today and will be getting the one from the blue big box store. Those adjusters are a different style and hold the position much more accurately (I already have one). Please do NOT purchase this sprinkler unless you're willing to disable the pattern feature and just water 360 degrees continuously.

Pros Easy to Install Cons adjusters faulty

Kingofbytes

Northeast
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Kingofbytes
  • Water Where You Need It.
  • May 27, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I love the fact that by raising the sprinkler head, I am able to shoot water over obstacles in the yard and put water on the area you need it. It shoots out to 85 feet with the right water pressure. The tripod is strong and easy to use. The quick adjustable legs make it so easy to raise or lower. The sprinkler head has a smooth function of turning and squirting the water. I like the fact that the inlet valve fitting is curved away from the bottom so it is so easy to connect the hose to the tripod. It is light enough to tote around but heavy enough to stay in place when properly set up. I can hardly wait for the monsoons to end so I can water my tomatoes when they need it. Be Safe

Pros Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape, sprays where you want it

Video & Photo

  • Top 50 Contributor
  • Pro

Sandy

Olathe, KS, USA
65 or over, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Sandy
  • Needs some work on the stops
  • June 09, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Melnor is a well known brand with many years in the sprinkler market, so I was very much surprised that the sprinkler had has a problem. The adjustable stops that constrain the sprinkler to water the desired area are too loose to be any use. Once set the sprinkler hammers them in each cycle resulting in them moving together. This defeats the whole feature of being able to control where the sprinkler waters. I modified my sprinkler using the following steps: 1) remove the two stops by sliding them up and off the sprinkler head 2) wind some insulation tape around the shaft of the sprinkler head 3) replace the two stops by clipping them on and then sliding them down onto the insulation tape. See one of the attached pictures. Apart from the issue of the moving stops, this is a great sprinkler. The tripod is easily adjusted, The hose connection is solid and contains a mesh to prevent (big chunks) of dirt getting into the head. Th rating I gave is very much influenced by the issue of the stops.

Pros Easy to Install Cons stops dont work as supplied

Video & Photo

  • Top 50 Contributor
  • DIY

Dale

Maine
45 to 54, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dale
  • Easy connection great spray field
  • March 13, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I was looking for a sprinkler which would cover my whole back yard and this did the trick. It covers a large area and works great, well worth the money.

Pros Reliable, Easy to Install
  • DIY

FAV

Manatee, FL, USA
55 to 64, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FAV
  • Range, Adjustable and it Stays in Place
  • May 18, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Brass Impact Sprinkler on a Tripod who would think of it. I grow up knowing these as rain birds, as a type of sprinkler and not as a brand. I have tried many types of pulsating sprinkler, on poles you push into the ground, heavy solid metal ones that sit on the ground and they all never stay in place without heavy bricks or bracing. Now here's an heavy framed Metal Tripod that extends from 26 - 48 in. high, with a range of up to 85 ft. in diameter. You can water only a portion of a full circle by repositioning the angle adjusters or by flipping the wire stop up cover a complete circular. To limit the area you can do a number of adjustments, use the diffuser to break up the water stream, creating a softer watering pattern and there's a deflector to reduce how far it sprays. One last thing is, you can always just adjust the faucet. For staying in-place during watering, solid as a rock, the tripod legs sit firmly on the ground and spread out wide enough to prevent movement. The center pole is the inlet and has a lock screw that hold the legs out and the hose weight connected pulls down in the center adding weight. The leg extending locks clip firmly and do not slip and you can make one leg shorter should it be needed for uneven ground. I did have one issue with it during operation and that was the angle adjusters slipped and we went from a 1/2 circle to near a 3/4 circle and the wire stop would not freely flip up for a full circle as it hit the base. Everything flipped freely as to the level that reveres the direction, so the angle adjusters just fit to loose and is a simple fit for me. Other quick details: Assy. closed up, 3.75 in. W x 3.13 in. D x 29 in. H Solid brass impact head, die-cast metal base 3/4 in. standard fitting

Pros Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality Cons ajusters slip, wire stop binds

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

Retired297

South Hill, WA, USA
55 to 64, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Retired297