No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Range, Adjustable and it Stays in Place
  • May 18, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Brass Impact Sprinkler on a Tripod who would think of it. I grow up knowing these as rain birds, as a type of sprinkler and not as a brand. I have tried many types of pulsating sprinkler, on poles you push into the ground, heavy solid metal ones that sit on the ground and they all never stay in place without heavy bricks or bracing. Now here's an heavy framed Metal Tripod that extends from 26 - 48 in. high, with a range of up to 85 ft. in diameter. You can water only a portion of a full circle by repositioning the angle adjusters or by flipping the wire stop up cover a complete circular. To limit the area you can do a number of adjustments, use the diffuser to break up the water stream, creating a softer watering pattern and there's a deflector to reduce how far it sprays. One last thing is, you can always just adjust the faucet. For staying in-place during watering, solid as a rock, the tripod legs sit firmly on the ground and spread out wide enough to prevent movement. The center pole is the inlet and has a lock screw that hold the legs out and the hose weight connected pulls down in the center adding weight. The leg extending locks clip firmly and do not slip and you can make one leg shorter should it be needed for uneven ground. I did have one issue with it during operation and that was the angle adjusters slipped and we went from a 1/2 circle to near a 3/4 circle and the wire stop would not freely flip up for a full circle as it hit the base. Everything flipped freely as to the level that reveres the direction, so the angle adjusters just fit to loose and is a simple fit for me. Other quick details: Assy. closed up, 3.75 in. W x 3.13 in. D x 29 in. H Solid brass impact head, die-cast metal base 3/4 in. standard fitting

Pros Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality Cons ajusters slip, wire stop binds

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

Retired297

South Hill, WA, USA
55 to 64, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Retired297
  • Sprinkler head is junk
  • July 14, 2013

I bought this product to water a 24' x 24' garden. I was planning on sticking this on the edge of the garden and letting it rotate 360 degrees to also allow for the sprinkler to water part of my lawn as well. The sprinkler boasted an 85' diameter, so I figured a minimum of a 60’ diameter should not be a problem. The manufacturer does supply limited instructions on their website (it is unknown as to why they did not include them at the point of sale, it isn't like that savings was passed to the customer) however, after dozens of attempts, being soaking wet, and out of ideas, the sprinkler does not spray more than a 25’ diameter. The water does not come out of the nozzle as a "stream" it more or less mists, but there did not appear to be a way to adjust this and the online instructions did not have an adjustment for this problem. The frame is easy to set up, but is not durable; the braces are cheap plastic that will break with very limited pressure. All in all, you'd be better buying anything but this product because they certainly cannot be as bad.

Cons Not Durable, will not spray more than 12.5 feet
  • DIY

Bubba

Minnesota
25 to 34, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bubba
  • Instant Irrigation. Just add water....
  • May 27, 2015
  • Recommended Product

The unit comes fully assembled. You need only cut the packing material from the hose connection. The tripod is made of lightweight aluminum and appears to be the equivalent of a typical mid level camera tripod. The leg extension locks are plastic. The hose connection was tight with no leaks out of the box. I observed about a fifty foot diameter water coverage on a 100' foot hose with city water pressure. A shorter hose or a booster pump will likely get better results. The spray pattern is adjustable with an interruption screw much like typical reciprocating sprinkler heads. The field of coverage is adjustable with limit rings like similar heads but a nice plus is they are a heavy grade metal not plastic. I noticed no "creeping" out of the limit range like I sometimes do with the plastic rings. Another nice plus to the design is the tripod is multi-stage. It is easy to set up at an angle for non-level areas, easy to set to shoot over hedges, and below tree branches. The initial test run for the unit was two hours with six relocations with only one glitch. When the unit was at the maximum reach of the hose it did fall over one time. Make certain you have a small amount of slack on the hose enough to reach the ground below the unit and this does not happen. A simple two foot correction on my placement solved the issue entirely. The unit locks are plastic so baby them. The operation is smooth but as the unit gets older this may become a weak spot. A little armor all once or twice a year should help the plastic and add oil for the metal parts to reduce corrosion. If not left out in the sun it looks like this unit may last for years. I would highly recommend this unit for use with new plantings, for use during irrigation system failures, and for supplemental watering when needed. If you will be repositioning several times or maneuvering around obstacles I would also recommend attaching an "In Line" shut off valve to your hose so you need not return to the hose bib every time.

Pros Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Light Weight, adjustable height

Video & Photo

  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • Pro

Chief

South Florida
35 to 44, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Chief
  • I read the reviews on the Melnor Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod and wasn't really s...
  • June 26, 2017

I read the reviews on the Melnor Deluxe Metal Pulsating Sprinkler with Tripod and wasn't really sold on it. Then I watched a video on YouTube showing this product in action. It looked like it would handle the watering of my wife's garden, so I took a chance. After I set the tripod where I wanted it, adjusted the stops for the coverage area, hooked up the hose and turned the water on, the sprinkler was not pulsating, and no matter how I adjusted the diffuser, the spray was not going to come close to the 40 foot plus radius (85 foot diameter) that is advertised. I looked it over and kept making adjustments without success. I had my neighbor come over to see if a fresh set of eyes could see something I wasn't. He couldn't get it to work either, and we're both pretty mechanical guys. The sprinkler didn't come with any instructions, so I went to Melnor's website where I found one page that was pretty useless. I also went back to YouTube to see if there were any helpful videos, but again, nothing. I'll be taking it back to Home Depot tomorrow.

Dano

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dano
  • Yes, it met my expectations. Went on vacation and set it up for my neighbor to tend to my front y...
  • July 04, 2018
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Yes, it met my expectations. Went on vacation and set it up for my neighbor to tend to my front yard plants. All they had to do was turn it on every other day. Worked well. Easy to set up. Nice feature is the varying height for my various height plant set up.

Video & Photo

Kath

55 to 64, Female
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Kath
  • Not reliable
  • July 01, 2013

This sprinkler seemed ideal for my garden - I have a steep bank - so I bought two. When they work, they're excellent. But they are prone to sticking in one position, so I have to keep checking them and unjamming them as needed. They cannot be trusted to operate properly unsupervised.

Pros Easy to Install Cons not consistent
  • DIY

Meticulous

Salt Lake City, UT, USA
65 or over, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Meticulous
  • I Love this thing!
  • April 15, 2013
  • Recommended Product

You'll see the moment you turn it on. Great distance and precise adjustability. No more bending over ! Top notch!

Pros Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
  • Pro

Grumpy

Seabrook New Hampshire
55 to 64, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Grumpy
  • Stops didn't hold.
  • July 04, 2014

I had the same problem as some other folks, in that the stops would not hold and we wanted less than a 360 degree pattern. I called the manufacturer to see if there was a quick fix, left a message but never got called back so returned it to HD. Too bad, it was a great concept. I was really disappointed.

kanklam

Clark County Washington
55 to 64, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: kanklam
  • So far so good
  • May 22, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Easy to adjust you can make it taller or shorter just by adjusting the tripod. Also easy to adjust the spray. Had it for a short time - 3 weeks, and its working good. Attached this hose is a bit of a problem as you have to have it really tight or else it leaks.

  • DIY

DmHs

Commack
35 to 44, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DmHs
  • great for lower water pressure and large coverage area
  • May 18, 2016
  • Recommended Product

bought multiple pulsating sprinklers with stakes, none had the coverage i needed with 45psi my well pump puts out and spent alot of time moving them around the yard until the stakes broke. This unit sprays well and far, makes much less of a puddle under itself than many other sprinklers I have used. Its also very stable and easy to adjust, but very light when moving around. Worth the money, should have just bought this to begin with.

Pros Easy to Install, Functionality
  • DIY

mike

25 to 34, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mike