#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Miracle-Gro 8 qt. Cactus Palm and Citrus Potting Soil Mix

Internet #204502296

Model #72078500

Store SKU #972499

  • Enhanced formula contains Miracle-Gro Plant Food
  • Helps prevent soil compaction and provides improved drainage
  • Should only be used for plants in containers

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 451 reviews
  • 58% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 451 reviews
No problems here!
I use this product on all my cacti, I never had a problem other then I might of over watered them a couple of times. I leave them out in the summer and bring them in the fallen. I have several different kinds of cacti and each are doing well. I have bought several bags to repot some of them and still not a problem with any bugs, gnats or mushrooms. Well maybe occasional caterpillar from outside. LOL all my cacti were purchased local and starters in 2013. I have had great results with miraclegro potting soil for cacti!
by MyGreenThumb
Fugues and mushrooms
Bough this to repot my succulents and weeks later notice mushrooms/fugues growing in one of the my pot. Didn't really bother me at first because it was just one pot but then later on all my other pots starts to grow and have thick mushrooms coming out. That's when I really got mad.
by Chu
Response from Consumer Service Sep 28, 2020
Chu, we are sorry to hear of your experience with Miracle-Gro® Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix. Our growing media products are not sterilized, and may contain microorganism including fungus. The fungus/mold only becomes a problem if there is an overgrowth. Overgrowth occurs when the soil is too wet. For soil that has not been used yet, allow it to dry out on some newspaper outside before using. For soil that has already been used, allow the plants to dry out a bit between watering. If you are still unhappy with the product, you may reach us at https://tinyurl.com/y9nlw5xl.
Eggs in soil -avoid
I bought two bags of this soil over the weekend and found eggs in both bags. Unfortunately before realizing they were eggs I squeezed one and its contents squirted on my face. Avoid this, it was pretty gross. I’d used the soil before without issue, but this time around the bags were full of eggs. I returned and am going with another brand.
by Jenn
Response from Miracle-gro TeamSep 24, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you encountered issues with Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm and Citrus Potting Mix. We do have a product guarantee that covers all of our products that we would be happy to extend to you. We would like to discuss this issue more with you so that we can extend to you this guarantee as well as to learn more about this issue. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. miracle-gro
9 people found this helpful
Weevil Eggs In Soil
Despite the reviews I decided to give this soul a try. I dug a little into the soil, and begin to find a bunch of weevil eggs and some that had hatched. This definitely an issue and you should avoid this soil.
by Shida
Response from Miracle-gro TeamSep 24, 2020
We apologize for the experience you have had with Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm and Citrus Potting Mix. We would be interested in hearing more about the issue so that we can take the appropriate steps to prevent this in the future. We also have a product guarantee that we would be happy to extend to you. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. miracle-gro
9 people found this helpful
Worked fine for my succulents
I mix this 50/50 with perlite for my succulents to allow for better drainage so that my succulents don't have "wet feet". And so far so good. I know some people have experienced bugs in their soil, but I think that may be a regional thing. But so far so good for me.
by Dennis
4 people found this helpful
Cactus saver !
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have had problems with my cactus plants not doing so well. I changed the soil to Scott’s and they are thriving! I couldn’t be happier. Great product! I will not go back to any other products. They never work as great as Scott’s
by chris262
Avoid The Entire Brand
I’ve bought 3 different bags of Miracle-Gro from different locations and the only constant are the GNAT EGGS that hatch after you’ve planted everything. I’m losing my mind over here trying to save my infested plants. Miracle-Gro is a mess.
by VM
Response from Miracle-gro TeamSep 22, 2020
We apologize for your frustration regarding Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm and Citrus Potting Mix. Insects could not survive the composting and packing process. However, it is possible for them to enter the bag during shipping and storage. You can apply about 1/2 inch of horticultural sand on top of the soil of potted plants. Larvae cannot burrow through the sand and will die. We are dedicated to providing consumers with high quality products at a value price, and if we have not done that in this case, we would like to discuss this with you directly and have the opportunity to make it right for you. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 at your earliest convenience. miracle-gro
6 people found this helpful
So sad!!!! I should have read the reviews prior my purchase. ALL of my houseplants got fungus gna...
So sad!!!! I should have read the reviews prior my purchase. ALL of my houseplants got fungus gnat after repotted with this soil ( I bought 3 large bags) .i didn’t realize it was the soil’s problem until the 15th plants starts the gnat problem. Seriously, none my other plants has gnats but ALL of those with this soil. I tried repot again, add sands and stones, tried Neem oil, and now trying hydrogen peroxide to get rid of the gnats. Hopefully I can get rid of these annoying bugs. Anyone can recommend another brand or type of soil please? The gnats not just found on the top 2” soil But also at the bottom of the soil got baby gnats too, I also put lots of yellow gnat traps , can you imagine that i have to change the trap EVERY SINGLE DAY?
by Angela1111
Response from Miracle-gro TeamAug 26, 2020
We apologize for the issues you have encountered with Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm and Citrus Potting Soil Mix. Insects could not survive the composting and packing process. However, it is possible for them to enter the bag during shipping and storage. You can apply about 1/2 inch of horticultural sand on top of the soil of potted plants. Larvae cannot burrow through the sand and will die. We do have a product guarantee that covers all of our products that we would be happy to extend to you. We would like to discuss this issue more with you so that we can extend to you this guarantee as well as to learn more about this issue. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. Miracle-gro
13 people found this helpful
fungus gnat eggs
bought this today and there are fungus gnat eggs everywhere! taking so much time to remove them.
by mogs
Response from Consumer Services Jul 13, 2020
We apologize for your dissatisfaction regarding Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix. We would be interested in speaking with you in further detail so that we can both extend to you our guarantee as well as learn more about this issue to make a more complete report to our Quality Assurance Department. We can be reached at http://tinyurl.com/noc5mcg
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by Happy
2 people found this helpful
Showing 1-10 of 451 reviews