Customer Reviews for Miracle-Gro Miracle-Gro Garden Soil All Purpose for In-Ground Use, 1 cu. ft.

Internet #312540716

Model #70551430

Store SKU #1005160921

Customer Reviews

  • 318 Customer Reviews
  • 3.6 out of 5 stars overall
60% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(176)
4star-icon(23)
3star-icon(11)
2star-icon(19)
1star-icon(89)
Sort By:
Canada
Not so great
Customer review from logo
Its mostly tree mulch, not soil. It has impurities like pieces of plastic and chunks of wood. Would never buy this again unless they improve the quality.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer Service August 30, 2020
We apologize for the plastic that you have found in your Miracle-Gro Garden Soil All Purpose. Miracle-Gro applies rigorous quality protocols to inspect and screen raw materials before, during, and after the manufacturing process, many of which are specifically aimed to mitigate the presence of foreign content. While these foreign objects should not impact plant performance, we understand the impact it can have to you. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
Greater Boston, MA
Trash scraps throughout the soil
Customer review from logo
We purchased several bags to fill our raised beds and there is scraps of trash throughout the soil. I have found paper, metal, plastic, and other unknown items. There are also random seeds sprouting up that were clearly not planted by us. Poor quality and a waste of money! The photos below are from a small section of the raise bed, however the trash has been found throughout all of the areas.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer ServiceAugust 10, 2020
Our apologies, Lauren, for the plastic, paper, and metal you have found in your Miracle-Gro All Purpose Garden Soil. We make every effort to ensure a quality product for our consumers. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 888-270-3714 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review.
Horrible mix
Customer review from logo
This has got to be the worst mix I have used. Lots of wood chip filler. Like concrete after a while. I have 10 bags spread for garens and if I had time I would have started over with some other product.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer ServiceAugust 3, 2020
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our Miracle-Gro All Purpose Garden Soil. Most of our soils are made of composted forest products and contain very little if any, actual soil. These composted forest products provide high organic content and nutrients without the concern for soil compaction and allows for air to reach the roots of the plant which improves plant performance. We are committed to making this right for you. Please contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y9nlw5xl and refer to this review so we can further assist you.
Port Haywood, VA
Soil really makes a difference!
Customer review from logo
This is my first time gardening. I have 2 raised beds that we partially filled native soil then added Miracle Gro garden soil to one and when we went to get more they didn’t have any so we bought a different brand. The Miracle Gro bed did great and the other nothing grew. I even fertilized the sad looking bed. I will get more Miracle Gro and hopefully fix the other bed.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Michigan
Ingredients list is not fully disclosed
Customer review from logo
Found pieces of plastic and glass in it. This should be mentioned in the ingredients list. Disappointed. Luckily I bought just one bag. Went back to store and bought 8 more bags of a much cheaper brand and it had better quality. Ie. Not contaminated with junk.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer ServiceJuly 24, 2020
Arun, we apologize for this experience with our Miracle-Gro All Purpose Garden Soil. Most of our soils are made of composted forest products and contain very little if any, actual soil. Every effort made to screen out debris. Possibly, the screens were damaged and not noticed, allowing some debris into the bagged product. We are committed to making this right for you. Please contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y9nlw5xl and refer to this review so we can further assist you.
Central California
What’s happened to Miracle-Gro?
Customer review from logo
I was so disappointed and disgusted with several “store brand” soils that I decided to spend the extra bucks on Miracle-Gro. This definitely wasn’t the same as the Miracle-Gro I’ve used in the past. Lots of stuff besides soil, chunks of wood, sticks (not little twigs), plastic shards and rocks. Not gravel-sized pebbles, rocks. See photo, these were just some of the ones in the first 3 inches of the bag. I couldn’t believe how often my trowel went “clink” as I was scooping out soil. I guess I should be grateful there’s no fungus or broken glass like I found in the store brand. But I expected better from Miracle-Gro. I’m almost ready to consider getting one of the “boutique” brands. Not quite, still too pricey. I’ll wait until I see how this performs.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer Care July 21, 2020
Pixie, we apologize for the issues you have encountered with Miracle-Gro All Purpose Garden Soil. Our soils are made of composted forest products to produce a courser material for air to reach the roots of the plant, which improves plant performance. We make every effort to screen out man made materials from our soils. We would like to speak with you in further detail so that we can both extend to you our guarantee as well as learn more about this issue to make a more complete report to our Quality Assurance Department. We ask that you contact us at your convenience at https://tinyurl.com/y9nlw5xl.
Chattanooga
It’s mulch, not soil!
Customer review from logo
Very disappointed - was expecting soil as labeled, 4 bags were all equally terrible, large hunks of wood. Suitable to mulch trees, not for vegetable gardens!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer ServicesJuly 16, 2020
We apologize that this product did not meet your expectations. This product is suitable to be used in gardens. We want you to be confident in our products. For that reason, we offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please feel free to reach us at https://tinyurl.com/y9nlw5xl and we can assist you further from there.
Wapello, iowa
Heavier then potting soil but works
Customer review from logo
Definitely will buy again! So , after running out of worm compost , decided to give miracle-gro a chance. Never used it before. I probably should of read the description that it's for in ground use but my fault. Pros- after mixing compost and miracle-gro potting in, it's perfect for my pots! Has decaying wood in it for extra oomph Convenient packaging Had live worms! Awesome bonus! Growth rate is amazing on my plants, tomatoes are very green, my melons have doubled in less time, sprouts are stronger Cons- bags heavy to drag around Definitely a bit thick on it's own and easily compacted. Overall, very pleased with what I got. My plants are healthier , growth is even and will definently buy again once available online!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Clinton Montana
Disgusting
Customer review from logo
I bought 5 -2cu bags at one store and 6-1 cu bags at another the 5 larger bags were nothing but cheap mulch. I have always bought miracle gro for all my garden and houseplant needs but this was something I was disappointed in finding. I wanted to get my garden finished but now I have to go and get someone else’s brand to put on top or mix in. How can same product be completely different.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer ServiceJuly 13, 2020
Patty59825, we apologize for this experience with our Miracle-Gro All Purpose Garden Soil. Most of our soils, especially potting mixes, and garden soils, are made of composted forest products and contain very little if any actual soil. Composted forest products provide high organic content and nutrients without the concern for soil compaction which often occurs with potting mixes composed primarily of actual topsoil. The coarser material allows for air to reach the roots of the plant which improves plant performance. We are committed to making this right for you. Please contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y9nlw5xl and refer to this review so we can further assist you.
LaPorte Indiana
Medical waste
Customer review from logo
This stuff was great for what we wanted to use if for but we found lots of trash in it and even broken medical waste in it. I am only not recommending this product because of the medical waste in it.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers