No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (11)
  • Nice results.
  • November 02, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Being there are many choices for door paint,it can be difficult to figure out which one is the best for you. I have tried a few others, which tend to fade and peel after a short time. While Express yourself paint may be a bit more on the cost scale, its results are quite superior. 1 Quart may seem like small amount, but a little goes a long way. I used at 2" brush to apply and after 2 coats, I only used about 1/4 of the container. I figure I can get about 3 - 80" x 32" doors , 2 coats each, out of this. It dries very fast and you can recoat in about an hour, even though it recommends 2 hours. The final product looks tough and has a satiny sheen which is great for the front door. I would definitely recommend to someone looking for a different brand of door paint that out performs some of those other choices.

Pros Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

DannyT

Bristol, CT
35 to 44, Male
22 out of 22 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DannyT
  • The best front door paint!
  • October 20, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Painted a 2 year old white fiberglass door that was turning yellow. First coat was scary. Coverage was poor and the color was more purple than the cranberry color I expected. The second and third coated went on easily, coverage was great and I got more of the color I wanted. I watered down the paint for a fourth coat and touch-up. This is a good quality paint and was well worth the price. After 4 coats I still had half the jar left. My neighbors are pleased with the results.

Pros High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly

Video & Photo

  • DIY

RNH

Camp Verde, AZ
65 or over, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: RNH
  • do your homework
  • July 21, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

the product seems to be fine. painting was done at 85 degrees with high humidity and the finished product was not as good as I hoped, but I believe the weather has some impact. also, be sure to clean your door thoroughly, especially around the knob and deadbolt area, oils from hands will impact the finish.

Pros Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
  • DIY

auntB

Stuarts Draft, VA, USA
55 to 64, Female
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: auntB
  • Dries too fast: shows brush strokes
  • November 02, 2015

First off, this red color is the perfect shade of front-door-red. Beautiful color. My house is white with black shutters and this color looks great. Hence the 3 stars. But this paint does not paint on easily and shows every brush stroke. Granted, I painted over a black door instead of a white primed door, I painted about 4 coats of paint and still felt that it needed more coats. I thought that since I was painting over black and not another color like blue or green, that it would look ok. The major problem I have with this paint is that it dries so fast that it shows every brush stroke. If you decide to use this paint, be very cautious of the directions of your brush strokes and where they overlap. Any overlapping spots could end up with brush strokes in both directions. To avoid that, I made sure that my brush strokes mirrored what it would look like if it had been a wood-grain door. I also believe that if there hadn't been any brush strokes, it would have had a nice satin-shiny smooth finish. I'm considering going back and adding flotrol to the paint and repainting the door. And lastly, my door fits REAL tight. So some of the paint has scratched off right away in the spots that it scrapes the inside of the frame. It's not a big deal since it is just the frame, but it makes me wonder how easily it will scratch off the front if I dinged it.

Cons Scratches Easily, shows brush strokes

Video & Photo

  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • DIY

Caitlinny

Norwood, MA, USA
25 to 34, Female
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Caitlinny
  • I was looking for a hunter green and this was the closest available. The Modern Masters that is a...
  • June 14, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I was looking for a hunter green and this was the closest available. The Modern Masters that is a notch lighter must be discontinued as it wss showing unavailable everywhere. I was dead set on buying this brand based on the reviews. Unless you pause and study it, this color looks black on my door. The only time it is obviously green is at night with the porch light shining on it. I did not skimp on preparation and bought a quality brush. I was starting with a white door and therefore anticipated two coat coverage. It required a third coat to get a consistant, even color. A caution to those painting a metal door: this dark color accentuates EVERY dent and imperfection. I knew I had some dents but didn't expect them to show so bad. Unnerved me to the point I sanded, filled, repainted those areas. Much more work than I wanted to put into this project; a couple of hours on a Saturday morning turned into a much larger project. If I wasn't working alone I would have just bought a new door. After all of this, I still have 2/3 of a jar remaining so there is plenty for later touch ups or new paint jobs. One of the biggest complaints you hear after painting an exterior door is that the weather stripping will stick to the paint for days, weeks, months later. I waited 3 hours before closing my door and it has never stuck to the weather stripping. BIG thumbs up. Overall, I am happy with the paint and would buy it again but I am deducting one star because I feel it should not have required a third coat in my situation. I won't hold the color issue against them because colors are hard to reproduce on a computer and light has a major effect on the finished product.

  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • Pro

Tex75

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Tex75
  • Looks Great, Only Time Will Tell
  • November 24, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This paint looks great, with a nice shine to it and a very deep, rich black color. The paint was very thick, so it was a little difficult to put on initially but the second coat evened everything out and covered very well. The coat is pretty smooth and went a long way to covering up the imperfections in the door and some nicks and gouges that I had repaired. I'd definitely recommend using this paint to freshen up a front door, but only time will tell how well this will hold up

Pros Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

Eddie

Louisville, KY, USA
25 to 34, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Eddie
  • Red door beauty
  • July 31, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This paint on my front door of fiber glass worked excellent as I painted 4 times. Dries fast and looks beautiful on my front door. Definitely recommend it!

Pros Dries Quickly, High Quality of Material, Looks Great

Video & Photo

Chito

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Chito
  • This paint went on smoothly and covered a dark (and ugly) burgundy color with two coats. I used a...
  • December 09, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This paint went on smoothly and covered a dark (and ugly) burgundy color with two coats. I used a small brush for edging but used a small spongy roller for covering the main part of the door and that worked wonderfully since there were no brush strokes! This paint is a little pricey but it's worth it! The finish is beautiful and it's an awesome color!

Video & Photo

PaintProjectGal

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: PaintProjectGal
  • like it but
  • May 07, 2016
  • Recommended Product

This is very pretty but also very dark, when its overcast its almost black or dark brown.

Pros Dries Quickly, Easy Instructions, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Even Application, Looks Great Cons color is very dark
  • DIY

me

canton mi
45 to 54, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: me
  • This paint looks great on my front door and overall...
  • July 11, 2017

This paint looks great on my front door and overall I'm very happy with it. Two items worth noting, (1) it took three coats to fully cover the white primer applied to the base door and (2) if I had to to do it again I would use a brush rather than a roller due to bumpy texture from roller nap.

HomeDepotCustomer

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer