Customer Reviews for Olympic Elite 7.5 oz. American Chestnut Semi-Transparent Stain and Sealant in One Low VOC

Internet #312208795

Model #802142-16

Store SKU #1005065266

Customer Reviews

  • 84 Customer Reviews
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars overall
71% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(43)
4star-icon(15)
3star-icon(7)
2star-icon(4)
1star-icon(15)
Attribute Ratings
Quality
3.1
Value
3.1
Sort By:
Beautiful chestnut brown color. Stain and sealer in one! Water beads off of the deck!
Beautiful chestnut brown color. Stain and sealer in one! Water beads off of the deck!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Color not right
Quality :
3
Value :
3
I have used Olympic stains in the past with great results, but this particular stain is problematic. You can see the color is not as advertised and now my deck looks like it did before I pressure washed and sanded. Not to mention it is two different colors (albeit I didn’t combine both gallons I purchased, but also didn’t think they would be this far off...). I’m hoping I can recover by staining over with a solid, darker stain.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Olympic TeamJuly 20, 2020
We are sorry to hear this. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can discuss potential solutions. OlympicPaint
BUYER BEWARE
Quality :
1
Value :
1
First, this stain is WAY DARKER and NOT the color advertised. Second, it has a very MATTE finish making it impossible not to have overlap marks. I specifically purchased as part of a two tone brand new chevron style deck. We now have to remove the deck boards that were stained and start over. VERY disappointed with this product.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Olympic TeamJune 3, 2020
Hey Nicole. We're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
Regretful choice
Quality :
1
Value :
1
Wish I could go back and pick any other stain besides this one. First, as other reviewers noted American Chestnut is WAY darker than the sample. I could live with that -if the stain went on evenly. My deck is blotchy. Any slight overlaps are way darker. It seemed the stain dried way too fast to keep a wet workable edge. Furthermore, after 8 months the stain is flaking off. So it looks like I’ll be renting a sander and starting over soon. Big waste of money and time.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Olympic TeamMay 1, 2020
Hi there, we're sorry to hear your experience with our stain wasn't what you expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
It did what it was purchased to do however it didn't have the gloss finish that it displayed in t...
It did what it was purchased to do however it didn't have the gloss finish that it displayed in the store. Still, it looks great.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Good product so far - - 2 weeks! I do not know how long this stain will maintain its color and ...
Good product so far - - 2 weeks! I do not know how long this stain will maintain its color and protection qualities, and that is a very important part of this survey which I cannot answer too at this time. One problem is that the personnel at HD were not all familiar with the product, and I got some misinformation a couple of times. I understand it is important that personnel recommend OUTDOOR stain for outdoor applications, but in the learning process, several times it was recommended that I use INDOOR stain - - the people did not even know that there was a difference and I was taken to the indoor products. When I questioned them, they said there is no difference, but go ahead and use the indoor.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Timeless went on with ease with a 3 " brush due to it's thin texture. I pressure washed 10 year o...
Timeless went on with ease with a 3 " brush due to it's thin texture. I pressure washed 10 year old pressure treated 14' X 16' deck and let it dry before application. The color was true and bright. Time will tell on the direct sun deck to see how long the surface will continue to look new. Used 2 gallons. 1 on pickets taking 5 hours and 1 on floor taking 2 1/2 hours.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Stain color is MUCH DARKER than can label suggests. First off, Home Depot is not to blame for my...
Stain color is MUCH DARKER than can label suggests. First off, Home Depot is not to blame for my complaint with PPG Timeless American Chestnut. My issue is with PPG. The main problem is color. Look at the color of the boards on the can label for American Chestnut in this ad. I don't know where they got those boards, or what type of wood it is, but I can attest that the actual stain is NOT that color. It is MUCH darker. When you shake and open the can, the stain is a deep dark chocolate brown. I applied it to my older 11 year old deck of pressure-treated wood. I had stripped the boards of all prior stain and they came out looking great, almost brand new. When I applied American Chestnut, however, the boards turned deep brown, not anywhere like the color on the can. Click on the photo of my stained deck posted below and check out the color. Secondly, this is not like the old oil-based stains of old. This product is water based. When I applied it with a roller, it immediately sank into the wood and the stain/dye stained the wood differently, inch by inch. It was necessary to roll over the wet area again and again to spread the stain, otherwise, some areas became very dark and others lighter. Even with lots of effort, I still got uneven staining (look at the photo). Thirdly, the stain is so dark that there was no way I could apply a 2nd coat. I tried it and the boards turned almost black. I had to wipe it off again. Because I could apply only one thin coat, I don't know how water-repellent the product will be. I fear that the deck will begin to mildew quickly, since the boards really do not have much protection. I guess the product would be OK if the color was not so dark, and I could apply two good coats. I consider it false advertising to put that photo on the can label, when that is NOT what the product looks like. If you choose this product, make sure you buy the small sample can of American Chestnut, and apply it to a small piece of your actual wood surface, particularly if it is aged wood. You will get darker wood. If that is fine with you, OK. If not, either choose a lighter color of Timeless stain, or shop for a different brand.
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from PPG TimelessJuly 18, 2017
Hi there, Thank you for your detailed feedback and review. We are sorry that you are unhappy with the outcome of the color that you applied on your deck. We are here to help you, so please call us at 1-800-729-9029 between 8am-5pm EST. ppgtimeless
Rich Chestnut Color, Wood grain still visible, Easy to apply with brush or sprayer, Soap and Water Cleanup,
Quality :
5
Value :
5
Seeds Program Review
(What's this)
The PPG Timeless Semi-Transparent/Semi-Solid Exterior stain in American Chestnut is a rich medium brown color with a hint of red. The stain appears a shade darker when applying on the wood; however, after 24 hrs, the wood lightens to its medium brown color. There is a bit of smell when opening the container, similar to opening a can of low VOC interior paint. The stain is easy to apply with either a brush or sprayer, it just depends on your preference; I recommend working in smaller sections to ensure the area is covered and there aren't any drip marks left on the wood. I applied this stain on a 10yr old fence, which had been pressure-washed a few months back; I did notice in some areas I had to reapply the stain because the wood quickly absorbed it and appeared to have a matte finish instead of a satin sheen finish. I love that I don't have to use mineral spirits for cleanup; soap and water well quite well on brushes, sparyer components, and stain splatter on forearms.
Was this helpful?
1
0
We have a 10-year-old neglected fence that needed some serious help. We were going to use Behr's ...
We have a 10-year-old neglected fence that needed some serious help. We were going to use Behr's Solid Color House & Fence Wood Stain which received good reviews; however, a friend recommend taking a look at the PPG Timeless stain. The Behr is a hybrid stain (10 year warranty) the PPG is an oil-based stain (limited lifetime warranty). Although, the Behr is a little cheaper (~$20) and you get more product 5 gallons (Behr) vs 3 gallons (PPG) they both report a similar coverage area 1000 sq ft (Behr) vs 1050 sq ft (PPG). Our fence was dirty and had a bunch of stains, so we used the Behr's All-In-One Wood Cleaner (works well but not a miracle worker), then pressure washed the fence. Due to the weather, we could only stain one side of the fence. The Behr cleaner and pressure washer could only do so much, as a few dark/black stains remained; however, the PPG Semi-Transparent did a wonderful job of covering these stains up. The PPG applies easy and was quickly absorbed by the dry-weathered wood. In addition, only one coat was necessary. Home Depot (HD) associates recommend applying with a pump sprayer and back brushing. We found this method time consuming and it wasted product. We ended up using a roller and the process went much faster. Because this stain is so good and easily absorbed, back brushing was not necessary except in places that had deep groves or areas the roller could not reach. A paint sprayer would probably work well. *Please note, the PPG Timeless - American Chestnut can be tinted to different colors. This is a brand new product at HD that some of the paint associates did not think this was an option. After some research Ms. Etta at the NLR, AR store figured it out; THANK YOU MS. ETTA! We chose the mahogany color. The following link shows PPG's available colors: https://diy.ppg.com/colors-transparencies/browse-stain-transparencies/semi-transparent-stains So why the 4-star rating? 1) PPG lists this as 3 gallons bucket but in reality it is 2.81 gallons...this is a crummy move for a quality product 2) They should offer a 5 gallon option 3) A better mechanism for pouring the stain out of the container would be helpful. When pouring some stain is spilled along the outside and some remains on top of the container Overall, this is a very good product and we are happy we chose it. Only time will tell how well it protects our fence.
Was this helpful?
3
0
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers