No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (12)
  • Netted Grass Seed Starter Mat
  • May 29, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I wasted so much time, seed, and energy before finding this great product. The seed stays in place, birds can't get to them, and they start growing in just days. I leave it down for weed control, and it eventually decomposes. It is easy to cut to size. I use steel staples to keep it in place.

dragonflies

Cincinnati, OH, USA
65 or over, Female
23 out of 23 people found this helpful
more details...
By: dragonflies
  • Good for protecting and growing new seed, but pricey.
  • March 31, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I've used the Seed Starter Mat in the past for small patch repair on my lawn and it worked well. Within 2 weeks I had grass sprouting up through the mat and it thrived after that. This year I decided to do a fairly major overhaul to my front lawn...I live in a townhouse so the front yard isn't all that large - it's just under 300 sq ft. I bought 5 rolls of this stuff to keep the seed from eroding away on the slight slope my yard has. It is definitely pricey at just over $18/roll...so I'm near $100 for the "small" area I need to cover. Working with the mat is tricky...the wind was working against me so that didn't help. LOL. Once it was down, I soaked it with water and it stayed put. Now I just play the waiting game for this and see what happens in a couple weeks (I'll try to update the review accordingly). For the price, I feel like others...I wish it covered more area. A good deal more. Otherwise, this product would be a better value for patching rather than trying to cover over a full lawn. If I spent nearly $100 for just enough mat to cover my townhouse front lawn, I can only imagine what someone with a decent size lawn would shell out for this product. There has to be cheaper alternatives.

Pros Easy to Install, Functionality Cons expensive

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Frank

Arnold, MD
35 to 44, Male
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Frank
  • Very Useful for Seeding on Slope
  • October 17, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I used this on a slope on which I have not had prior luck seeding well. It went down easily (see "before" picture). I did water the area daily and in about ten days I had grass coming up through the mat. As you can see from the "after" picture, I do have some small spots where the seed did not germinate, but this looks a lot better than all prior attempts in this location. I would highly recommend the Pennington mat for difficult to seed sloping areas. It held in the seed and the moisture.

Pros Functionality, good on a slope

Video & Photo

  • Top 50 Contributor
  • DIY

DickB

Westwood, MA
55 to 64, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DickB
  • The mat was easy to use and performed beautifully. It sat on the ground right where we installed...
  • April 18, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The mat was easy to use and performed beautifully. It sat on the ground right where we installed it. It is a good mat.

Video & Photo

  • Pro

Mule

35 to 44, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mule
  • Does what it's meant to do...
  • May 06, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The Pennington 18 ft. x 39 in. Netless Grass Seed Starter Mat does what it's advertised to do. However it's quite pricey. If it wasn't so expensive, I'd use it a lot more.

Pros Durable, Easy to Install Cons quite pricey
  • DIY

DiHD

Friendsville, TN, USA
55 to 64, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DiHD
  • Works Great but...
  • July 23, 2013

Had several spots to cover.. Some did great some didn't..for the price should have just used straw...

Beach101

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Beach101
  • Grass started sprouting in 4 days
  • July 07, 2016
  • Recommended Product

Easy to roll out over the seed. Grass started growing about 4 days in with twice a day watering. We are on day 12 now. Just wondering when the mat will start to disintegrate because I missed a few spots and need to put down some more seed around edges. Pricey product... We bought 5 rolls.

Pros Easy to Install, Great Quality, Strong

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Staceydlc

Plymouth, MA
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Staceydlc
  • WELL SATISFIED WITH THE PRODUCT
  • May 29, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

STARTER MAT WORKED VERY WELL ON SLOPED TERRAIN, DID NOT ALLOW FOR EROISION OF SOIL OR GRASS SEED

defield

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: defield
  • Pricey but works...
  • May 22, 2014
  • Recommended Product

While this stuff is pricey, it does work if you follow instructions. For those of you concerned of reviews where they have issue of it blowing away...you must water it down during install and then it will stick to the ground and anchor seeds. I had no issue with installation except that it is pricey...they could give you 25' instead of 18 otherwise it's worth hydro seeding. I also used biodegradable stakes to hold it down but that is certainly a waste as the mat tears very easily but a good soaking during install does stick it to the ground where wind will not blow it away.

Pros Easy to Install Cons pricey
  • Top 50 Contributor

Brian

Md
25 to 34, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Brian
  • A Disappointment
  • July 12, 2015

I bought this, and expensive name-brand grass seed, with the hope of filling in bare spots. It looked promising at first. The seed did sprout. Some grass grew through the mat, and the mat was mostly lifted up by the growing grass. In spots the mat became plastered to the soil, and prevented grass growth. I expected the mat to crumble away gradually, but instead it remained indefinitely (weeks) until I did something to remove it. Pulling up the mat manually was destructive, because it pulled out new grass. Shaving away the mat with a mower (modest size walk-behind mower, not a riding mower) was also destructive, because wheel pressure smashed the new grass against the ground, and it died. I found that an electric trimmer was better than a mower, if I did not walk on the new grass. In the end (and in some spots after two tries), I ended up right back where I started, patches of grass with bare spots in between.

Cons does not perform as advertised

yardslave

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: yardslave