No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (11)
  • Common Problem With This Unit
  • November 27, 2015

The specs look good, nice size compressor for light duty use. Finish nailer, tire filling, etc. The second air outlet started leaking right away when it was used. No biggie, don't use that one, the two outlets are not needed for a small compressor anyways. The issue is the pressure cut off switch. (Not the pressure relief). The switch goes bad, does not turn off the compressor when it reaches 150 psi, and then the relief valve opens to prevent damaging the tank. The problem is so common with this unit that the manufacturer cannot keep the replacement part in stock. So many compressors break with this problem that the part is always back ordered. And even then, you need to decide if you want to spend $30 and 90 minutes to fix a $99 compressor. (Knowing it will happen again)

Cons Not Durable, parts always on backorder
  • DIY

MidwestMike

Midwest
45 to 54, Male
84 out of 84 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MidwestMike
  • Buy a different one
  • March 27, 2016

I bought this compressor from Home depot for light home use. It worked fine for a few years using it maybe twice a year. Then it had a problem where the the pressure in the tank would rise but the other gauge showed 0 pressure. I went on the internet and found that this is a common problem with this unit. Inside the regulator the parts are plastic junk. Porter Cable no longer makes a rebuild kit (but when they did it was the same plastic junk)and you have to buy a new regulator for about 50 bucks. You can buy another brand regulator and install on the end of the existing regulator by removing the end plug. You would thing Porter Cable would use better components to build their equipment. I would not buy anything else with their name on it.

Cons Not Durable, regulaor components are junk plastic and break wit
  • DIY

Bruce

MARIETTA,GA
55 to 64, Male
36 out of 36 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bruce
  • A textbook cost reduced design..
  • January 03, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Pros: High Tank Pressure, Portable, Initial Purchase Price Cons: Marginal Pressure Switch, Universal Brush Motor, Loud, Light Duty Piston, Drawn Cylinder Best Uses: Home Use, Limited Lightweight Use Describe Yourself: Professional Bottom Line: Recommended with restrictions called out below I borrowed a C2002 unit a few years ago when installing rosewood flooring and needed to run my nailer at ~120PSI. Recently I found a C2002 at a local HD during a compelling seasonal sale. I did a quick tear-down and found the following. The tank pressure limit switch is an extremely inexpensive, nonadjustable unit supposedly rated for 15A switching. While the motor load is called out at 10A, in service the pressure switch contacts appear to weld shut and prematurely fail to open at 150PSI, causing the pressure relief valve vent avoiding disaster. You can find many end user documented cases of this problem. This may however be remedied by addition of a 20A 120VAC relay to switch the motor load and will eliminate premature failure of the pressure switch (part cost of the pressure switch is $25 ±, where the proactive relay modification will set you back about $5). The compressor piston appears to be some sort of sintered lubrication impregnated alloy running in a drawn stainless steel cylinder. No idea what the expected life on this engineering feat may be but I'm not very optimistic. I'd pick up a replacement sintered piston ring and cylinder sleeve if PC would offer these at a reasonable price. Otherwise after the pressure switch modification above, these appear next in line to wear in service such that the pressure achieved (one of the few market differentials for this unit) and effective air volume displacement of the compressor will gradually decrease (repair part cost $25 ±). The motor is an inexpensive universal, brushed type which contributes to the runtime racket. The brushes while reasonably substantial, are a presumed wear out component with a replacement pair setting you back a whopping $20 ± per set. Other expected wear items such as the compressor reed valve plate seems to be a reasonable design and is inexpensive to replace. Ball bearings and even the timing belt are available elsewhere as generic parts. If PC could redesign this addressing the above caveats ideally as a oil-lubricated unit (may be tough to maintain the under 30LB weight) and at the $99 price point, they would have an uncontested winner for the portable-duty compressor market. However as-is I'd recommend this for light duty as a disposable unit or for modest use for the mechanically inclined comfortable with the above modifications and prospective repairs.

Pros Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, high tank pressure, Portable, initial purchase price, repair parts available Cons Not Durable, pressure switch failure, universal brushed motor, light duty piston, drawn cylinder, loud
  • Pro

Uhmgawa

45 to 54, Male
31 out of 31 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Uhmgawa
  • Save your Money
  • February 08, 2015

I bought one of these back in 2010 when it was offered in a package with 3 air gun nailers. A homeowner, I have not used it but probably 4 or 5 times a year since. I have had to replace the stripped out valve drain (part # A17038) almost immediately (it was out of warranty of course). The valves are sold in a pack of two. I am now having to replace that valve. The drain valve should open and close with simple hand tightening/loosening but it time it requires a pair of pliers. When this valve eventually needs replacement, I plan to purchase another air tank but only by a different manufacturer.

  • DIY

Dale

Maryland
55 to 64, Male
28 out of 28 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dale
  • The compressor is a good value for doing some of the work that you might tackle day to day around...
  • November 23, 2016
  • Recommended Product

The compressor is a good value for doing some of the work that you might tackle day to day around the house. I bought this for my work room to power some of the air tools that I utilize while working on different projects. It offers a good, consistent supply of air at the higher pressures as long as you are not trying to run it at a high rate. The compressor is relatively quiet and the fact that it does not require oil is a plus. The gauges are easy to read and the pressure is easy to set. Overall this is a very good value for the price and if you are looking for a great combo package this one comes with multiple nailers and staplers that will support a wide range of projects.

  • DIY

Slammer

12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Slammer
  • Reliable compressor and very capable brad nailer.
  • December 11, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I bought the compressor to run a narrow crown stapler that I already had. My project is on a ranch and what I am working on has to be powered by a gas generator. My 2000W generator ran this compressor with no problem, the big surprise is what this brad nailer was capable of doing with 2" brad nails, the compressor and nailer ran flawlessly for about eight hours a day for three days and I drove more than 10,000 2" brads with no problems, the little nailer that was just part of the package literally saved my trip, when the old crown stapler non porter cable quit. I now want all of the other Porter Cable nailers and staplers.

Pros Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting

Stone

Arlington, TX, USA
55 to 64, Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Stone
  • I bought the basic unit without any tools or hoses as I had tools and hoses already. It did come...
  • March 30, 2019
  • Recommended Product

I bought the basic unit without any tools or hoses as I had tools and hoses already. It did come with the two female quick release fittings already installed. The price was excellent at $99. Fourteen years ago I purchased at Home Depot for $99 a Husky with same size motor (approximately) but only a 2 gallon tank. The Porter Cable has a 6 gallon tank which is a noticeable improvement. The max tank pressure is 150 psi instead of 135 of smaller units. It does not walk or vibrate excessively, and it is not noticeably louder than my old one ever was. I only use it for tires and blowing out lines, or clearing dirt, etc. It stays in the garage most of the time, but is light enough to carry around easily. It holds enough air to top up all tires on a car without carrying out a power line. It is light enough to carry around easily. It will run an impact wrench at 90 psi but only for one lawnmower blade at a time (which is all I need). It has a water drain cock around the bottom. I cannot attest to its longevity as I have only had it two weeks. I know the line regulator may fail as the old one on the Husky did after about two years. I still have the larger precision external one that lasted 12 years ready to install if needed.

Video & Photo

Robbie

11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Robbie
  • Cant beat the quality for the price.
  • December 05, 2017
  • Recommended Product

Less than $100 for a quality brand, 6 gal compressor. There is no equal. I bought this unit last Christmas. It has held up well for a year. It works excellent for all construction tasks. Runs framing, roofing, and finish guns no problem. Not as good for automotive though. Will not fill a low truck tire on a full tank. Id imagine this compressor would run a lot if trying to use pneumatic wrenches also. Mostly I didnt give 5 stars because of how loud this compressor is. It can be deafening indoors; not good when working in a clients home.

Cappy

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Cappy
  • Great Little Compressor IF They Would Fix Regulator Design
  • July 12, 2016

This is a lightweight, convenient little compressor with enough capacity for a pretty big range of jobs. However, right out of the box it had issues with the output regulator acting up. Setting it at 90psi for my nailer, it would randomly stop adjusting back up to set limit, and my nails would end up not driving. Sometimes it dipped as low as 40psi without the pressure kicking back up. When that happened, I had to adjust regulator knob to get it back to 90psi, but then, several nails later it was up to 120psi! Adjust back down and start all over. Pretty maddening in the middle of a job. If Porter Cable would fix this known regulator issue (I wish I had read reviews before I bought), I would love and recommend this compressor, but as is, it is too much trouble to be worth it.

Pros Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Sturdy Cons poor regulator design
  • DIY

mbgoss

Kansas City, KS
35 to 44, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mbgoss
  • Tire Inflator
  • August 15, 2016
  • Recommended Product

The compressor works great for a carry around tire inflator. I bought this compressor to be portable carry around for my RV tires. It is compact and light weight enough to carry around in the back of the truck to keep my tires inflated. I run 80# in my truck and 65# on the trailer and it has no problems keeping those pressures. It fills up quick and holds air well enough that I air it up at home and carry it with me to maintain air pressure. For the price, this is the best air compressor for my needs. It is fairly quiet compared to some of the small pancake compressors I have seen.

Pros All In One, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
  • DIY

rocco7869

Arlington, TX
45 to 54, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: rocco7869