No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (24)
  • Excellent system at a lower cost
  • March 27, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Hearing the frustration/confusion from other people I know that have set up their own surveillance in getting the DVD on friendly talking terms with their ISP, I decided to have a surveillance installer do it for me. I had planned on all day to do it myself, but he took just on two hours. The installation of the cameras and fitting the connections was straight forward. The DVD/Router connection was then made and that was the only time I heard him cursing. He did tell me that many of the installations he does, some are easy to embrace the recorder to the router and some not so, and depending on devices already installed, the age of the router/speed etc including what sort of OS they had and the Anti-virus dictated to a degree how good or bad it would be on the monitor. As this system only comes with an HDMI cable and the DVD set up is for the factory set resolution, then it just may have be changed to suit as mine had to be. Then with a minor tweak of the router settings, (port forwarding), plus changing the screen resolution the first pictures flooded the screen. The startup wizard was straight forward and was easy to follow and there was no problems completing the instructions. The quality of the picture/s recording for daytime is excellent and from 20 feet from one of the cameras I can clearly recognize the face of whoever is coming through the gate and to the door. And once at the door their faces are very distinct. The nighttime pictures are also of a very good quality. Not quite as good as daytime but good enough to recognize any visitors. It rained heavy last night and yet the quality of the recording remained the same, bearing in mind that the 960H is only slightly below the 1080 high definition and in many cases the 960H is about $1K cheaper to buy. Our company has a 1080Hd system and to be honest, there really is not a lot of difference in the quality from a 960H. So, other than having to tweak the router for port forwarding and changing the screen resolution, the setting up of the unit was just about as straight forward as you can get. The only con that I have is when trying to use the software program for my smartphone. I could not get it to sync, no way, not any way. Called several people who have their smartphone and /or tablet synced to their surveillance for advice and in turn advised me to call the help line as they had to do. Spent 30 minutes waiting to talk to the technical support and then gave up. Perhaps another day. I must stress here that this system is well worth the cost and the clarity of the images on the screen are very good. All other features like viewing a recording, changing the viewing locations for example work flawlessly.

Pros Lots of Features, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Stylish, quality pictures, excellent recording, good playback
  • Top 25 Contributor
  • Pro

Palaranda

Southbridge MA
55 to 64, Male
28 out of 28 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Palaranda
  • Very happy
  • September 17, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

It took be about 4-5 hours to install it. Of course running the cables was the most time consuming task. Cameras were very easy to connect and mount. I did buy shielded cables as I thought running across all my electric lines in the garage ceiling may cause interference. But I did not see any difference using the more expensive cables. The pictures are very clear during the day. Night time vision is really not the greatest, but I didn't expect it to be. The DVR is easy to set up and view. I am having trouble getting the internet connectivity to work, but that is not a huge deal for me either.I haven't caught the wife's boyfriend on tape yet, but trust me I will. I'm just kidding about that. I think I will have to add about 3 more cameras to the system for complete coverage. I'm very happy with the product and the installation.

Pros Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Easy Installation
  • DIY

TBone65

Westminster, MD
45 to 54, Male
27 out of 27 people found this helpful
more details...
By: TBone65
  • Awesome system
  • June 19, 2013

This is a great deal. The same system on amazon is 100$ more and only has a 500GB hard drive, this is 1TB!!!! I Hooked up the dvr and monitor first so I could test the cameras and set up the remote/mobile viewing. This way I can use my phone app to adjust the cameras when I install them without walking inside 1000 times to make them perfect. Setting up the mobile app settings on the network was a paint at first because I don't have a plug and play router. I called q see customer service 2 times and AT&T 1 time before I got it working. The q see customer service was awesome and very helpfull. Hold time was a little longer than I hoped for but all was well. 5 stars so far

Anthony

24 out of 24 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Anthony
  • Great Product, Excellent buy, Incredible service!!!
  • May 15, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Anyone who can use a drill can easily install this product! It is SOOOO incredibly easy. It operates exactly as it says it does. The box setup was a bit of a challenge (to get the remote features working properly) but their customer service folks are REALLY helpful. They made the process a breeze! I HIGHLY recommend the product, I Highly recommend that you buy it from HOME DEPOT. Home Depot saved me LOTS of $$$. More than $150 over anyone else selling the EXACT same product. That includes anyone else on any web site! Fryes Electronics was the next closest competitor but they were still $154 more than what Home Depot sold it for on line. Shipping time to my home was INCREDIBLY short and SUPER fast! It actually arrived way sooner than I ever expected. Great Product, Excellent buy, Incredible service!!!

Pros Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation Cons Short Battery Life
  • DIY

MFerrante

West Covina, CA, USA
35 to 44, Male
21 out of 21 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MFerrante
  • Great Picture Love the App
  • February 05, 2014

I use this system for two things. To monitor my driveway, it is in a blind spot from my house. It is nice to see who is coming to the door etc.. I also use it to monitor my dogs in the yard while I am at work. The app works great and it is nice to be able to see if the pet sitter came and how long they were there. The system works great for me. Installation was easy. I have run cable in the past so it was not my first time. That being said I think setup would be easy for someone of any experience level. I like being able to control the DVR from my phone and the tera bite of storage is more than enough space.

Pros Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, nice app for remote monitoring

Video & Photo

  • Seeds
  • Top 250 Contributor

11rdub11

massachusetts
35 to 44, Male
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
By: 11rdub11
  • Basic Surveillance system for small places
  • November 04, 2014
  • Recommended Product

This is the second Q-see system that I have tried. Its built quality is decent and the installation is fairly straight forward for the basic needs. All the equipment, cables, etc come with the package except for LCD monitor/TV. This is not a biggie since you can probably use your old computers screen or get a cheap monitor/TV. The image quality is pretty decent in the daytime recording. Not top notch for the night vision, but not bad either. Also 500 gb is not a lot of HDD space but if you lower the resolution a bit, you can still manage good number of days.The remote viewing on cellphone feature looks kind of tricky and I was not able to set that up. Other than these minor issues, this product is great if you are looking for a basic surveillance system for your home or office.

Pros Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation

Video & Photo

  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

Victor

Hartford, CT, USA
25 to 34, Male
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Victor
  • Great product
  • May 20, 2015
  • Recommended Product

We have not installed this to it's "final" place yet. We currently have it in my downstairs shop testing it. The first thing I'd do different is I would go wireless. The wires are going to be a pain when we actually install it outside. The cameras are great. They give a very clear picture on an old old computer monitor we had around the house. I still have a lot to learn about the system and how it all works. If you can be close enough to your wireless router, you can watch the camera's from your phone or tablets. We have to work on that as well because we want the cameras upstairs, outside and the router is downstairs right now. It was hard to get pictures without me in them because the cameras show the whole room so I had to take it from further away and increase the size - doesn't really give the clarity I had hoped.

Pros Lots of Features, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, produces clear pictures Cons Complicated, installing wired will be complicated

Video & Photo

  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

Mamajane1234

Hiawassee, GA 30546, USA
55 to 64, Female
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mamajane1234
  • Well Built with Robust Software
  • March 05, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Installing and using this system has easily been my most enjoyable review to date. I wish I could write more about it, but my original review exceeded the maximum review length by 2/3! Boo! As a software developer I’m generally quite critical of poorly designed or poorly functioning applications, but Q-SEE has done a pretty good job with this, I must say. In fact, considering the sheer amount of functionality packed into the application I’m quite surprise that it’s not quirky and buggy. Let’s start with the cameras, which are well built and quite stylish. They have a circular array of sensors and IR lights for night vision. They’re not too big and can be angled any way you need to via three swiveling joints. Each camera has two leads to connect to the feed; power and video. A thin cable is run from the DVR to the camera that has corresponding connectors to hook up with the camera. While you might assume Wi-Fi would be better because you wouldn't need to run cabling, keep in mind that you need power at the camera. Included with each four pack of cameras are two 60 foot cables and two 100 foot cables. I had to use the 100 footers for all my cameras so far, which obviously means I’ll run out of the long ones if I install many more. To me, they should have just included all 100 footers. They’re quite thin and you can fit a lot in a single conduit, if you run them separately because of the connectors that have to pass through. I placed my DVR in the basement because I can run cables from there in various directions under the house. Most of my runs go through a 1.5” conduit under my mudroom and into the barn cellar. From there I distribute them to cameras I've mounted on different sides of the barn, as well as inside and outside the mudroom. Have fun untangling the feeds! Also included with each four pack of cameras is a single power supply with a four-way splitter to power four remote cameras, which is quite convenient. Mounting a camera can be done by drilling a hole through the wall and threading the leads from the camera through it or by surface mounting the feed up to the camera and having the connectors hang below it. For all my external cameras I drilled holes in my barn walls, which was quite easy. I used a ¾” auger bit that I had on hand, but technically you don’t need it to be that big. For the cameras that I mounted inside I simply surface mounted them. If I want to install any cameras on the front of the house I’ll have to figure out an approach because I don’t really want to start drilling holes in the house and figure out how to fish wires through insulated walls. My advice is to walk around and think about where you want cameras and how you’d run the lines. How many cameras do you mount? How high and at what angles? Here’s another lesson-learned. Until you know that the angle of view is what you need (and that a single camera will suffice), I recommend that you get the camera working before you commit to the location and the angle. Run a temporary line to it. This will allow you to use a mobile application connected to the DVR to eliminate any guess work. You may find that you need multiple cameras to get the entire field of view you’re looking for if you want to monitor your yard, for instance. The height is another important factor. If you go too low someone could mess it, but if you go too high the angle could make the video less useful. Again, this is where the live evaluation during installation helps. Once you locate a mounting spot, another suggestion is to drill a small exploratory hole before going right to the big one. The small, stylish DVR is actually a computer. It comes with a mouse, but there’s no keyboard. The mouse is used with a virtual popup keyboard to enter data at the DVR. The DVR needs an internet connection if you want to use remote monitoring, either from a mobile device or from your work computer. It needs to be in a central location where all the feed lines converge. Finally, you will need a monitor attached to it. This was something I couldn't determine up front, wondering if I could do everything through my network. You cannot. You can do much through the network, but you do need an attached monitor. Also, the video quality on the attached monitor is HD, but any remote viewing is of lessor quality. I bought an inexpensive, used 1280 h LCD. You can point your web browser to the DVR's IP and perform much of the setup and tinkering from the comfort of your keyboard. While I’d rather be able to see the HD video in my home office, I didn't want to run the feeds from the basement to the main living floor. There’s probably something I could do to make this work, but for now I’m fine with going down to the cellar once in a while when the network streaming quality is insufficient. It takes a bit of time to figure out where to find things, but after a while it makes sense. Also, the software on the machine is significantly more robust than the remote software or the browser application. As you start adding cameras, you’ll quickly realize how important it is to be able name each camera. Unfortunately, not all screens use the channel names, so you’re either left guessing or you’ll need a printed list. There’s plenty of functionality regarding motion detection, email notices (with image snapshots!), schedules to record on for each channel, the quality of each, etc. One of the coolest features that really blew me away is a screen that shows, for a given camera, the view it sees (real-time) divided into a grid. You can mask out areas that you don’t want to record in the view and even cooler … turn blocks on/off anywhere in the grid that you want ignored for motion detection. For instance, in my back yard is a large spruce with a branch that’s constantly swaying. I can de-select the 7-8 blocks where the branch is located so it doesn’t trip the motion detection! Another good example is a road. If you have a road at the end of your driveway, or along your perimeter, you can mask that out so cars don’t trip it. Finally, and by far the coolest (ok, I’m a bit geeky) while you’re in that view, any blocks where the DVR thinks it sees motion (again, real-time here) will turn red as they trip. So, combined with a sensitivity setting that you control and the ability to turn blocks on/off you can fine tune the motion detection to your needs! Now for the crummy part. While this works perfectly in the test view, meaning I have no false positives while monitoring it, during actual use they still trip. I mean to contact the company to ask for support with this. Hopefully I've just missed something simple or they can get a fix out for it because it’s a really important feature to have working. One feature that I thought would be really useful, but has turned out not to be is the motion-based snapshot and email notification. I do believe they could fix this with a simple software update, but I won’t hold my breath. I've found that it’s simply too “immediate” to be of use. For instance, I installed a camera inside my mudroom and enabled email notifications. Boy was I disappointed to receive emailed snapshots of the door opened ever so slightly inwards, showing that someone was about to enter the mudroom! If I could program a 5 or 10 second delay for the snapshot it would actually catch the person. Granted, I’ll still have the video of the person, but the snapshot is useless. This also happened in my barn. I walked through the barn to test this feature. The snapshot didn't even catch me! Video Quality. At the DVR it’s quite fine, but streaming to mobile devices uses a much less useful quality. For instance, while watching me pull into the driveway on the phone or iPad there’s no chance of reading the plate. Likewise, people aren't really recognizable via the streaming. You’d have to go to the DVR to see detail like that. I’m not knowledgeable about video formats and compression so I can’t really speak to the specs. If you are, the information is readily available. Night vision is decent. I've seen rabbits and deer in the yard. The brightness is quite reasonable and it’s pretty cool to be able to see in pitch blackness. At night you can see the camera’s IR sensors lightly glowing. Accessing video through mobile devices is really cool. You will most likely have to work through the details of opening up a couple of ports through your router in order to reach the DVR externally. I actually had to call for support and they were able to get me up and running. There are a number of apps out there that frankly, I don’t understand the reason for each version and the relationship to the actual product of each. For instance, I got a silly, non-sense message when trying to access my DVR via my SG4 and support’s answer was to install another app that doesn't appear to be theirs. I’m guessing that the system uses a standard that the other app uses. I ended up paying a few bucks for the upgraded version of that app. Q-SEE’s iPad app seems to work decently, but not without some quirks. I really don’t like the time range selection, which is cumbersome. Also, I've had it crash quite a few times. I am unable to access video from my work. I assume they’re blocking a needed port. I can connect to the box, but any attempt at playing recorded or live video fails. Summary: There are fancier systems from Q-SEE, but they cost more. When considering this system, try to think through your needs. For instance, this system is not true HD and the cameras don’t support panning and zooming. I do think it’s a great product that works well. The software is quite robust and mature. The equipment is well built and stylish. I definitely recommend Q-SEE, and if this system meets your needs (out of their product line) I believe you’ll be happy!

Pros Lots of Features, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation Cons requires dedicated monitor, can't stream higher quality, snapshots of limited use
  • Seeds
  • Top 50 Contributor

ToddB

Boston
45 to 54, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ToddB
  • Very Good System
  • February 08, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I sell CCTV and security systems. I wanted a simple system for my house but didn't want to spend the type of money for our systems. I compared specs on this system to the ones we've been selling by a major manufacturer (which I won't mention) and the specs were similar. Installation was very easy. The software and interface is way easier to navigate them the systems I sell. Was very easy to get online and get my phone app operational. The image quality is very good and the night vision IR's are outstanding. You can't go wrong with this system!!

Pros Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Nice Design, Easy Installation
  • Pro

Mike

N.J.
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mike
  • Great System
  • December 25, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Directions were easy to follow, and I had the system running in about 15 minutes. The setup wizard worked like a charm. If you don't want to use advanced features, it just works. If you do want advanced settings (e.g. video settings, network settings, etc.), there is plenty there to play with. The DVR's software also seems very stable; no problems so far.

Pros Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
  • DIY

HappyUser

Iowa, USA
25 to 34, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HappyUser