No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Easy to work with. Beautiful results.
  • May 11, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This product is incredibly forgiving and easy to work with. It distributes itself evenly throughout the wood as it is brushed on. It truly penetrates into the wood which is more than can be said for the acrylic stains on the market. I won't use or recommend anything else for fences or decks.

Pros Easy to Apply, Even Application, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, High Quality of Material Cons not available in stores in my area
  • Pro

RIPainter

Rhode Island
25 to 34, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: RIPainter
  • Good Product -
  • December 08, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Use a sprayer for bigger areas, looks very nice on cedar wood. I applied two coats for max protection. Oil base penetrates well. Fence looks amazing. Applied 3 months ago. ps thanks for the reviews on this product...

Pros Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End Cons Difficult to Clean

eon1000

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: eon1000
  • First-Time User
  • April 30, 2016
  • Recommended Product

Once I overcame the difficulty I had with the shipping ring, I've warmed up the actual product. First, recognize Ready Seal comes in two formats, an oil-based version [brown can] strictly for exterior use and a water-based formula for interior use. This review is for the exterior product. Here's how I used it. I have a 2-yr old cedar fence [about 100 lineal feet x 5' tall, i.e. 500 sq feet], which has been bare since the house was built a year ago. I power washed it one weekend with a mild bleach solution, rinsed it out an hour later and let it dry until the following weekend. Then I mixed five gallons of this stuff in a five gallon pail and used my airless sprayer to lay down a reasonably light first coat and followed that up with another coat an hour later [I sprayed until the spray was gone]; a helper followed behind with a brush and roller. All told, the pre-wash and stain app took less than two hours. It's looking great. I chose the darker color because RS says the darker the stain the greater the UV protection. Combining that with its built-in algaecide, and the oli-rich formula, I fully expect it'll be four years until I need to respray [all oil-based stains volatize, i.e. dry out, so I'm not expecting miracles]. I think the formula provides a rich color, which is perfect for my cedar. Now, the true test of the product will be its performance over the next few years. Will I see growth? warping? blotching? Only time will tell. Next job ... I'm trying it on a teak bench.

Pros Dries Quickly, Easy Instructions, Easy to Apply, Even Application, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, High Quality of Material
  • Top 25 Contributor
  • DIY

HomeDepotCustomer

Chesterfield VA
65 or over, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • Ready Seal
  • June 19, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I have tried everything on my cedar deck and nothing (until this product) lasted even one year. I dreaded having to redo the deck every year. Minnesota winter didn't even phase this one. This product is great. This is the first review I have ever written and I like this so much that I had to let others know.

Pros Dries Quickly, Easy Instructions, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Even Application, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, High Quality of Material
  • Pro

SWT

Minnesota
55 to 64, Female
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SWT
  • VERY EASY TO WORK WITH AND GREAT RESULTS.
  • May 11, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The only downside is having to order and wait for this product from Home Depot. We ordered and picked up at the store and it didn't take very long. This product is worth waiting for. It's easy to apply, goes on well and looks terrific! We used it to refreshen an older deck(9 years) after power washing it, and it made it look fresh and great. We are so happy with this product we will be applying it to a newer deck. I highly recommend it and wish it was in the stores!!! Happy Spring!!

Pros Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great, High Quality of Material
  • Pro

FlipsWife

New Hampshire
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FlipsWife
  • Extremely satisfied
  • December 29, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I am a first time home owner and recently redid my privacy fence. I researched pretty extensively on how to stain and what stain to use. I bought 2 five gallon buckets for about 300 ft of fence and I used every last drop. It took 3 people and about 6 hours to finish. We used good old paint brushes and rollers. Very easy and the stain is beautiful!

Pros Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great

Mary

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mary
  • Great So Far
  • November 10, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Very easy to apply, stained/sealed about 150' of Fencing which has alot of deco wood details. After pressure washing and letting it dry this product was easy to apply. I put it on generously and it soaked it right up has a nice finish not to dark a little on the orangish/brownish side so it looks great. Hoping it will last more than a year...Thompson didn't last at all! Will follow up possibly after a year on this review to see how it holds up!

Pros Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
  • DIY

Ramrod

Northern California
45 to 54, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Ramrod
  • Good stuff
  • May 04, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I used this on a cedar patio cover I recently built for someone. It turns the wood to a darker red color. Very nice looking and my customer was very happy with it. Applying with a brush... only one coat will absorb in cedar.

MJServices

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MJServices
  • Best deck stain ever!
  • June 22, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This is a stain and not a paint. This is not water based it is solvent based, you clean your brushes with paint thinner or mineral spirits. I used it on a 20 year old deck that had never been cleaned or sealed. The deck was built using pressure treated lumber. After pressure washing the deck and letting it dry for 3 days I started staining the deck with Ready Seal. The wood just sucked it up like a sponge. I bought a 5 gallon pail and used 4-1/2 gallons. I was amazed that when it rained about a week later the water just beaded up like it does on a freshly waxed car. It's been about a year since I stained the deck and the water still beads up. It is starting to lighten up so I think I will put down another coat this fall. This is a GREAT product and I will use it on any outdoor wood that needs protection.

Pros Easy Instructions, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Even Application, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, High Quality of Material
  • DIY

mgudy

Northern Illinos
55 to 64, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mgudy
  • Best stain I have ever used
  • May 06, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This stain is by far the best outdoor wood stain/sealer I have ever used. Goes on even no running or streaking, and the color is beautiful.

Pros Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
  • DIY

USMC01

Wagoner, OK 74467, USA
35 to 44, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: USMC01