No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (16)
  • Easy to use product for Garage Door Insulation
  • October 15, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I used this to cover the inside of my 2 car and 1 car garage doors on my 3 car garage. These doors are aluminum and face the west. They really heated up in the summer making the garage extra hot. I followed the garage door installation video on the manufacturer's website and the installation turned out great. The 100 foot roll weighs 10 pounds, so the weight on the garage doors was about 6 (on the double) and 4 pounds (on the single door). I tested opening both door by hand and didn't notice any difference in the extra weight on them - so I didn't need to adjust the springs. Overall, it was a very easy installation. I used 1" wide double-sided carpet tape to attach it after cleaning the rails and styles with denatured alcohol to make it stuck really well. The garage temperature is much better, the room doesn't echo as much, and it brighter due to the reflection off the doors. It also cut down on some of the rattling sounds when the doors open and close. If you live in a hot area, I would recommend this on any south or west facing metal doors.

Pros Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Seals Well, Light Weight

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Style

Henderson, NV, USA
35 to 44, Male
41 out of 41 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Style
  • good energy saver
  • August 09, 2010
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I installed 2 rolls of the reflectix 4' x100' radiant barrier in my attic as well as a 10W solar gable fan. The measured temperature of the attic has dropped 10-15 degrees even though I have only done about 40% of the attic space with the barrier. I recommend using a lightweight staple gun like a JT21 to attach the product to the trusses since it may involve a lot of stretching and working in tight spaces.

BruceH2

Palm Bay, Florida
31 out of 31 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BruceH2
  • Very easy to install, no mess, looks great too
  • March 27, 2012

Compared to all other types of insulation this is easy and clean to install. I used on HVAC supply ducts. No fibers or dusting from the product at all. Cuts easily with a scissor or utility kife and straight edge. Very strong and lightweight at the same time. I simply made spacers out of leftover strips of the material to get the best R factor as the air space doubles the R. Metallic tape sticks very well. While there are other products with higher R factors, none are as easy and clean to install. Highly reocmmended.

  • DIY

kbsilver

New Jersey, USA
55 to 64, Male
20 out of 20 people found this helpful
more details...
By: kbsilver
  • DIY radiant barrier
  • August 20, 2008
  • Recommended Product

Armed with a sharp knife and 1/2" staples/gun, product is very flexible and does not tear. Immediate results noticed while installing as a radiant barrier in the attic. The 4' width is a bit much for a one-man install, but workable: after installing 3 rolls of this in my attic, if I had to do it over again by myself, I'd go with the 2' width roll. Like this product's performance enough to complete my project (I'll need 14 rolls of the 2' stuff).

WVOhho

Texas
19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WVOhho
  • Excellent Product
  • December 10, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I started a home project for insulating my garage doors. First I applied this great double sided insulated foil to the garage door panel using double sided tape. I then applied the ridged foam panel boards I also bought from Home Depot over this to bring the R value to a 9+ range. My two car garage is now 20+ degrees warmer this winter than before I added this insulation.

Pros Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
  • DIY

HOLIDAY

New Jersey, USA
35 to 44, Male
17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HOLIDAY
  • Will Make a BIG Difference!!
  • June 23, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I cannot give enough praise to this product. It has lowered our attic temp by at least 30 degrees or more. Air conditioner does not work as hard to keep up. Even our HVAC tech said that it went from one of the hottest to one of the coolest attics. I have two gable vent fans that are set to kick on at 100 degrees.....they have yet to come on this summer (we have had a few days in the upper 90's). I am reluctant to write such a good review.....afraid someone will jack the price up on it. Two notes of interest. A 4 X 100 ft roll is available online....that is the way to go. Much cheaper. Don't buy the Reflectix brand foil tape to tape the seams. The HVAC section at HD has much larger rolls for a little more. Also...it will be much easier to install with 2 workers. It will look like a space capsule when you are done.

Pros Performs Well, High Quality, Economical
  • DIY

mikeh

Farmersville, Texas
35 to 44, Male
17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mikeh
  • Easy to work with and effective
  • May 16, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Received two 100' rolls right on time and began to insulate the pony walls and south wall in my attic. The product went up very easy and after my first wall I found it much easier to measure and cut first before installing. Cuts very easily with a straight edge and a sharp utility knife. I can already feel the difference in the attic temp. I saved over $1,000 doing this myself and it only took me four hours.

14215469

17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: 14215469
  • Reflectix Rocks
  • November 13, 2010
  • Recommended Product

An absolutely outstanding product. We used Reflectix to insulate the duct work in our basement. Due to the very small tolerances we required a thin, flexible insulator and this was the only fit. Using the easy to follow instructions we have already seen a noticeable drop in our utility bill whilst seeing an increase in whole house comfort. The larger 4ft roll cuts easily, if required, and makes installation a breeze. We did a cost comparison against fiberglass and Reflectix worked out to be considerably more affordable whilst offering comparable or better insulating properties.

WeeFreeman

Ringoes, NJ
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WeeFreeman
  • Excellent Product is Backed by an Excellent U.S. based Company!
  • January 25, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I recently contacted a highly informative sales associate with Reflectix Inc., which she was very thorough regarding the R-Value for every application. They also manufacture a "Direct-Contact" barrier, typically found in "House-Wrap" category, which is perforated to allow for the structure to breathe (reducing mold, mildew, and wood rot). I plan to install the "bubble-barrier" on the interior of an existing mason block building built in the 40's, to reduce my heat-loss in the summer and heat transfer in the winter. Also plan to install in the attic, over HVAC duct-work, as well as wrap the water heaters and hot water lines inside the building. The rating system (R-value) was derived from government agencies using private testing to create an accurate rating system to determine barrier retention value. Keep in mind, this was back in the 80's, which desperately needs to be updated! Reflective barrier receives a lower R-value since it doesn't perform like insulation, instead it acts like a "built-in shade" to provide cooler surfaces and reduce heat transfer (southern walls being hot-to-touch in summer). Independent study suggests up to 80% energy savings, even with an R-1 insulating value. Since it "reflects" UV-B rays (penetrating sunlight) it can also reduce interior temperature by as much as 30*F on hot summer days. Easy experiment: Hold a piece up to shade you in the summer sun and you will know exactly what all this means.

  • Pro

MissouriMan

Kansas, USA
25 to 34, Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MissouriMan
  • Easy and works great!
  • March 12, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The reflective insulation was excellent to work with, had no fiberglass, went on easy and worked fine. We used the insulation in knee wall areas. We took readings on the wall before and after with an electronic infrared thermometer to prove it made a difference. It made a definite difference in that room which is 45 feet long by 14 feet wide. We were pleased with the results.

Pros Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, safe to work with no fiberglass

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Marlborough, CT
55 to 64, Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...