Customer Reviews for Rheem Gladiator 55 Gal. Tall 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff

Internet #309627191

Model #XE55T12CS55U0

  • Built-in leak detection and auto shutoff protects your home
  • Built-in EcoNet WiFi enables control & monitoring at home or away
  • Provides ample hot water for homes with 5+ people

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 591 reviews
  • 87% recommend this product
5star-icon409
4star-icon86
3star-icon30
2star-icon21
1star-icon45
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 591 reviews
Product was as described. Unfortunately, the outer shell is covered in dents from shipping. If ...
Product was as described. Unfortunately, the outer shell is covered in dents from shipping. If it wasn't the last one available within 100 miles I would have returned it, but when your installer is there and the old unit is dead you are stuck with what you've got. The unit seems to work fine otherwise, just make sure you inspect it closely before taking delivery.
by westbayou
I am only giving this one star because I received the item and it ran for 17 days before it start...
I am only giving this one star because I received the item and it ran for 17 days before it started tripping our breaker. We used a volt meter to test the elements & found the bottom element was bad. Drained the unit to replace the element and found it was covered in scale and broken. Literally busted open. If that amount of scale built up in 17 days our pipes wouldn't flow so that tells me we received a used water heater. I The facade was not smooth but that's cosmetic so I brushed it off. Now seeing the bottom element I know this item was not new. I am hoping either HD or Rheem can help explain this and make it right.
by Disappointed
Response from RheemFeb 5, 2021
Hi,

We apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact your local Home Depot and one of their helpful associates will be able to assistance with your concerns.

Jennifer rheem
1 person found this helpful
Is the technology worth it?
I just installed this unit two days ago, replacing an 18 year old unit that finally failed. WiFi was a consideration and also the built in leak detection. WiFi was an easy connection. Installation was typical with standard plumbing and electrical, filled the tank, turned it on and that's when the leak detection triggered. There was no water from the installation, all dry. I called Rheem Tech Support and they had me remove the leak detector sensor, and attach/tape it to the outside of the tank to let it dry out for about a week, also the external (red rope on the bottom). The sensor felt damp to the touch but not wet. I'll wait a week and reinstall and see how it goes. Cautiously optimistic.
by DKnots
4 people found this helpful
First one I ordered arrived damaged, and Home Depot ordered me another one. Second one arrived a...
First one I ordered arrived damaged, and Home Depot ordered me another one. Second one arrived and after I got it home and took it out of the box a week later I noticed the exterior had several dents from shipping. Not punctures, just several unsightly dents. Not surprised since it doesn’t come packed very well in the box and has almost zero protection. If it was any other appliance I would have returned it. But since it just sits in the corner of my garage, I can’t get too excited over several dents. I kept it and installed it anyway. It heats water like it’s supposed to. It works like it should. Just disappointed the manufacturer can’t figure out how to package it properly to prevent damage in shipping.
by F16DCC
3 people found this helpful
Water Heater burned up
I had the Rheem water heater for 5 months and it kicked the breaker. Turned it back on and about 3 hours later it kicked off again. Upon opening the cover plates to the heating elements, I tested them. They should be 9.5 - 16.00 ohms of resistance with the power off. The bottom element measured 0 resistence. So I pulled the bottom element. The water heater was a Rheem Gladiator 50 Gal. Tall 12 Year 5500/5500 Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff. It was only 5 months old. Upon pulling the bottom element, I found the element to be totally rusted and burned out. It was the cheapest piece of junk heating element you can buy. In addition the unit has caught fire under the heater itself and burned the wiring. If I can get a water heater to last a year I will be shocked. I pray the Lord bless all of you and guide you in truth in these last days we live upon this earth. Fast and Pray for guidence.
by David
8 people found this helpful
Rheem Gladiator water heater failure after few months
Smart panel capacitor exploded resulting no hot water and no working at all. Buy only a heater with mechanical thermostat which is $300 less. $300 extra for small piece cheap electronics that can fail anytime is not worth paying double price. BTW, you adjust water heater your temperature once and forget, you don't really need all this modern crap including wi-fi on device like simple water heater, what a scam.
by Karas
Response from RheemAug 20, 2020
Hi Karas,

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had and would like to speak with you in greater detail about your water heater. I will be reaching out to the email address you have provided and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Jennifer rheem
14 people found this helpful
Great product. I really like the leak detection and auto shutoff built in. Installation was simpl...
Great product. I really like the leak detection and auto shutoff built in. Installation was simple, getting it to the 2nd story attic not so much.
by Michael
3 people found this helpful
Easy to hookup and great features
It was simple to get hooked up and collected to the wifi. The app to control it is very self explanatory and easy to navigate.
by DJ1017
Response from Rheem Water Heating Aug 12, 2020
Hi DJ1017, Glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Gladiator, than you for taking time to share your experience with us. Jennifer
Nice Water Heater
I have a two heaters. I installed them by myself in January 2020. They work great and remote monitoring and control is great. After thunderstorm we lost one (control board). It was fixed promptly under warranty.
by Jerry_1
Response from Rheem Water HeatingAug 12, 2020
Hi Jerry_1, Thank you for the great feedback on your experience with the Rheem Warrant Department and the Econet Application. We are thrilled to hear you are enjoying you Rheem Gladiator. Jennifer
So far so Good. Easy Installation. Took about an hour to heat up a tank full of water. Wifi featu...
So far so Good. Easy Installation. Took about an hour to heat up a tank full of water. Wifi features are nice. Can control water temp from phone app. Also shows water usage and kilowatt usage over several days.
by Sadaken
4 people found this helpful
Showing 1-10 of 591 reviews