#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Rheem Performance 40 Gal. Tall 40,000 BTU Residential Natural Gas Power Vent Water Heater with 6-Year Tank Warranty

Internet #326589085

Model #XG40T06PV40U0

Store SKU #1000035126

  • Can vent up to 150 feet: See specification sheet for max. lengths
  • Features multiple venting options for inexpensive installation
  • Restricted in CA and UT – see disclaimer below

Customer Reviews

  • 3.9
    out of 1,327 reviews
  • 62% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,327 reviews
This was unit replaced my Bradford White that lasted 14 years. I hope to get the same performanc...
This was unit replaced my Bradford White that lasted 14 years. I hope to get the same performance out of this model. The Rheem direct vent runs quite, heats water fast, and is easy to adjust temperatures. I had the Home Depot install the unit; I have had a few issues on the install, but will handle those ratings elsewhere.
by
    • Recommended
    Very easy to install and seems to function as advertised.
    Very easy to install and seems to function as advertised.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    I had a plumber install water heater a week ago. No problems with installation. 50 gallon water...
    I had a plumber install water heater a week ago. No problems with installation. 50 gallon water heater replaced an older 75 gallon water heater that came with house. Plenty of hot water for our needs, even at the 125 degree setting. Recovery seems faster than old water heater. This water heater meets all of our expectations.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    4 found this review helpful
    This is a really high quality product, but be warned it is a beast! It weighs well over 300 lbs a...
    This is a really high quality product, but be warned it is a beast! It weighs well over 300 lbs and getting it down my basement steps was challenging. I recommend having it delivered since I managed to dent the side of mine transporting it home from my local HomeDepot. The box it comes in isn't really designed to lay it down on its side. Like other reviewers I would say the fan is pretty loud, but I kind of expected that since it puts out 76,000 BTU. It only look about an hour to bring all 75 gallons of water up to temp. I had a 40 gallon power vent HW heater at my old house an it was not as loud, but was also not putting out as many BTUs. I don't think I will be running out of hot water any time soon.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    5 found this review helpful
    I have no reason not to be satisfied with my purchase once installed as everything is working as ...
    I have no reason not to be satisfied with my purchase once installed as everything is working as intended. Product was installed by my brother-in-law who knew how to cut pipe. I took out a smaller size Bradford White unit but with same gallon capacity that had been there for 10 years. The new unit was easy to put in its place and offered little challenges, if any beside pipe realignments. Hot Water to Second Floor. Notice it a bit faster. But do not have relative energy bills to know if this speed is also saving money to my pocket book. There are a lot of pipes so it still takes a bit of time to get there but one there the temp seems more consistent in temp balance and longer lasting. When the in-laws are over we take basically 4 back to back showers and with my usually the 3rd or 4th in I still have hot water. There seems to be little other options for a "good" power vented water heater. So at the price it's fair but by no means a superb deal. Packaging/Transporting The delicacy to transport is important to take note. We have a slight indentation likely due to hand trucking it down the stairs on the outer casing. As the packaging of this product is the reason I knocked off a star. Having mistakenly purchase a Whirlpool heater of the wrong type which I later had to return. I can tell you there is a notable difference between Rheem's packaging and Whirlpool. To share. Rheems packaging consist of a plastic wrap on the unit surround either by a single wall or very thin double wall with I believe a bottom structure for support and no topper from the best I can recall. Whirlpool packaging was from a traditional vented (this was where I may my dumb purchasing error) had a sturdy double outer, by a single wall wrap-around inner plus both a top secure structure and bottom. Both purchases retail value where approximately the same price points.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    3 found this review helpful
    Replaced and replaced again...NOT GOOD
    Drove to a Brighton store in Colorado to pick up a new unit on 2/28/2016. Figured that extra travel time was better than ordering a unit and waiting which proved to be somewhat beneficial and I'll explain later. This is a big water heater compared to my old unit so there was some cutting and adjustments to make. This is about 10 inches taller than my old unit. Expected this so this was not bad and the new shark fittings make cutting pipes and installing units like this much easier. Instructions and set up were pretty easy and once I got over the nervousness of messing with a gas line, I had it all hooked up and filled and ready to go. Flipped the switch and waited for the burner to ignite and...NOTHING. Tried it several times before calling the store and still it failed to ignite. MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT! Not sure if this is a known issue but from reading a few other reviews it appears it might be. The store graciously said, bring it back for an exchange, which I was happy they offered but that meant unhooking, DRAINING and hauling the new unit back. Guess traveling for pick up was a better idea than ordering because I'm not sure what I would have done with a 170lb paper weight in my basement. Took it back and hauled yet another new unit back home this time praying this one worked and thankfully it did. Having to haul the unit home twice of course affected my rating above and further disappointing, the store, although accommodating wouldn't discount the price for my trouble. The unit is working and its nice to have more than 5 minutes of water when taking a shower. The big issue is the noise of the blower. WAY to loud and I found myself listening to it while getting ready for work and I'm two floors above. I doubt my install was much different than others that are using this unit and am disappointed it doesn't operate much quieter than the old. Here's hoping that Rheem has some other blower you can upgrade to that will take the noise down a bit. Don't want to spend more money but would do this if it was offered.
    by
    Response from RheemMar 14, 2016
    Hi,

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your Performance Gas water heater. We apologize for the very disappointing and unacceptable experience you encountered regarding your unit. As part of our goal to provide our customers with the best products and services in the market, we are working with all of our team members to ensure that problems like this do not occur in the future. If you have any questions, feel free to contact our customer service below.

    Thanks,
    Travis

    Tank-type: 1-800-621-5622 (Mon-Fri - 7:30AM to 5PM, CST) rheem
    • DIY
    5 found this review helpful
    Verdict is still up in the air
    The tank has grown in size and thus, could not get through the amount of space in my boiler room. Contractor had to move my furnace by a couple of inch to get it through. After a half day's work, contractor was able to install. I've had it for over a couple of weeks and the verdict is still out on the quality of the product. Online reviews give it a good rating, so I will take their word for it. Value is well within the competitors' range.
    by
    • Pro
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    2 found this review helpful
    Excellent Water Heater
    Rheem: Great price, Good quality, I installed the unit myself, instructions were very easy to understand. Exhaust blower is very quiet compared to my old water heater "O A Smith". Home Depot was very helpful with questions on installation and parts for gas line hook up and PVC piping for exhaust. Firing up the unit was easy and had hot water with in 20 minutes after installation. Very happy with product, installation instructions, and Home Depot for additional help. :)
    by
    • DIY
    • Recommended
    14 found this review helpful
    Installed myself and so far all great.
    by
    Response from RheemJul 16, 2024
    Hello,

    Rheem is glad to hear you had an easy installation and are enjoying your new water heater! Thank you for the 5-star review!

    Isaiah rheem
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Brand New & Bad Control Board
    Never bought Rheem and off to terrible start. Brand new installed and control board is not working. Customer service closes early and will continue w/o hot water for several more days until there's a solution. Couldn't be more frustrated!
    by
      • Recommended
      Was damaged was assured by plumber it would not effect efficiency but fact being I purchased a damaged product took pictures of the damage went back to store and got refunded $100
      by
      Response from RheemJul 16, 2024
      Hi,

      Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s unfortunate to hear that your new water heater arrived damaged. It’s good that you were able to document the damage and receive a refund from the store. Your feedback is valuable and can help others make informed decisions. We hope everything is working well now with your water heater!

      Derius rheem
      • Verified Purchase
      Everything worked out well
      by
      Response from RheemJul 16, 2024
      Cynthia,

      Thank you for your feedback! It’s great to hear that everything worked out well with the Performance 40 Gal. Tall 40,000 BTU Residential Natural Gas Power Vent Water Heater. Your positive review can be very helpful for others considering this product. Enjoy your new water heater!


      Derius rheem
      • Verified Purchase
      Nice unit... until the bottom falls out
      I replaced my old water heater with this unit. It seemed great, never had an issue with keeping water hot. Fast forward five years. Noticed a little water on floor, two weeks later I came home to a flooded basement because this thing rusted out. Five years!!!!! My old one was 20+ years old.
      by
      Response from RheemJun 28, 2024
      Hello David,

      Thank you for your review and feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced with our product. We always strive to provide a quality product and customer experience. We will certainly take your feedback to help our current and new customers have a better experience and product.

      Isaiah rheem
        • Recommended
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        I had only minor challenges with the installation.
        by
        Response from RheemJun 12, 2024
        Hello William,

        Rheem is glad to hear that you are enjoying your new water heater with minimal modifications needed! Thank you for your 5-review!

        Isaiah rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        Igniter was bad when purchased. Had to have them replace it. Not good that you can’t return unit to Home Depot for full replacement within 1 days.
        by
        Response from RheemJun 14, 2024
        Hello Sheri,

        Rheem apologizes for the inconvenience you experienced with your new unit and are glad to hear that you were able to have it quickly resolved. Our goal is to provide a quality product and customer experience. We will certainly use your feedback to help provide our current and future customers have a better experience and product. If you ever need assistance or just have questions about your water heater, feel free to reach out to our Technical Support Team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

        Isaiah rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        It’s a piece of junk. I have to turn it on and off probably 4-6 times a day to get it to heat. I have had 2 plumbers at the house to look at it and they both say, tear it out and get a different brand. I have 90 days to decide what to do. It’s apparently my new hobby. Don’t buy unless you want a new painful hobby.
        by
        Response from RheemJun 14, 2024
        Hello Walter,

        We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. Please reach out to our Technical Support Team for assistance. You may reach them at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts are waiting to help.

        Isaiah rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        Product was damaged out of the box along with the last 4 I have purchased. It’s a hassle to get a new one so I’m having to take a hit on my profits and install a damaged product.
        by
        Response from RheemJun 25, 2024
        Garrett,

        We are truly sorry to hear about the issues you’ve been experiencing with the water heater you have reviewed. It’s certainly frustrating to receive a damaged product, let alone four times in a row. We understand how this can impact your profits and add unnecessary stress to your work.

        Your feedback is incredibly valuable, and we assure you that it will be taken seriously. We strive to provide our customers with high-quality products and your experience is not indicative of the standard we aim to uphold.

        We’re committed to making this right for you. Please reach out to our Technical Support team so we can assist you with a replacement or a suitable solution. We appreciate your patience and understanding in this matter. Please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST

        Best regards,

        Derius rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        Heats water quickly between showers
        by
        Response from RheemMay 31, 2024
        Hello,

        Rheem is happy to hear that this unit operates quickly and efficiently for you! Thank you for the five-star review!

        Isaiah rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Had a problem but rheem helped fixed it
        by
        Response from RheemMay 17, 2024
        Hello Greg,

        Thank you for your 5-star review! We are glad that your issue was quickly resolved, and you are enjoying your new water heater. Thank you for choosing Rheem!

        Isaiah rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        Having issues not keeping hot water. Have to keep turn off switch and on to get the water heater to kick in. Called for someone to come out but they have not called me yet.
        by
        Response from RheemJun 25, 2024
        Hi,

        We are sorry to hear that you’re having trouble with your water heater. It can be really inconvenient when your water heater isn’t working properly.

        Here are a few troubleshooting steps you could consider:

        Ensure that your home’s gas supply is functioning properly. Sometimes, issues with the gas supply can cause the water heater to function intermittently.
        Try resetting the water heater by turning it off, waiting a few minutes, and then turning it back on. This can sometimes resolve temporary issues.
        Since your water heater is a power vent model, it’s important to make sure that the vent is not blocked or obstructed in any way, as this can affect the heater’s performance.
        Make sure the thermostat on the water heater is set to an appropriate temperature. If it’s set too low, the water may not get hot enough.
        If these steps don’t resolve the issue, it’s best to get a professional to inspect the water heater. We understand that you’ve already reached out for assistance, but if they haven’t responded yet, you might want to try contacting them again. You can also consider reaching out to our Technical Support team for further assistance.

        Remember, working with gas appliances can be dangerous, so if you’re not comfortable performing these checks yourself, it’s always best to wait for a professional. Stay safe! for more assistance, please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

        Derius rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        Showing 1-30 of 1,327 reviews

        Frequently Bought Together

        Exclusive
        +
        +
        Price:
        $1199.00

        Compare Similar Items