#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Rheem Performance 40 Gal. Tall 40,000 BTU Residential Natural Gas Power Vent Water Heater with 6-Year Tank Warranty

Internet #326589085

Model #XG40T06PV40U0

Store SKU #1000035126

  • Can vent up to 150 feet: See specification sheet for max. lengths
  • Features multiple venting options for inexpensive installation
  • Restricted in CA and UT – see disclaimer below

Customer Reviews

  • 3.9
    out of 1,327 reviews
  • 62% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,327 reviews
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
My second one, previous one had six years life span juts like did and died in 5 1/2 years. Let see how long this will hold on.
by
Response from RheemMay 14, 2024
Hi,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s unfortunate that your previous water heater didn’t last as long as expected. The lifespan of appliances can vary based on factors like usage, maintenance, and water quality. Hopefully, this new Performance 50 Gal. Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater will exceed your expectations and serve you well for many years. Remember to follow the manufacturer’s guidelines for maintenance to help extend its lifespan.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
Missing dielectric nipples from the factory
Bought this unit got it into place to install, then realized it’s missing the dielectric nipples from the factory. ( Says right on the box they are installed) Home Depot didn’t have them in stock and said to contact manufacturer for assistance. Manufacturer doesn’t care to rush them or give and sort of reimbursement for the inconvenience. This tells me enough about the manufacturer, I would second guess this product. All around poor customer service by both companies.
by
Response from RheemMay 14, 2024
Hi,

We are sorry to hear about your experience. It’s frustrating when a product doesn’t come as advertised and the service doesn’t meet your expectations. If you haven’t already, you might consider contacting the Home Depot customer service to share your experience. Additionally, you could look for the missing parts at a local plumbing supply store or online. We hope your issue gets resolved soon. Please call, 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

Derius rheem
    'twas a direct replacement. Home Depot honored Rheems warranty and I am happy.
    by
    Response from RheemMay 14, 2024
    Hello,

    We are glad to hear that your new Performance 50 Gal. Tall 6-Year 42,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater was a direct replacement and that Home Depot honored Rheem’s warranty. It’s always great when things go smoothly, and you’re satisfied with your purchase.

    Remember, regular maintenance can help extend the life of your water heater. Enjoy your new water heater!

    Derius rheem
    • Verified Purchase
    On my 3rd one.
    Each of the first two leaked from the bottom after only two years. Rheem warranty department is a pain to deal with. You can fill out a cost difference form to recoup the difference but then the old warranty from your old unit transfers to the the brand new unit. Dumb. Going to pick up my 3rd on warranty today just because I don’t want to spend $1300 on a different one. Install close to a floor drain if possible!!
    by
    Response from RheemMay 14, 2024
    Hi,

    We are sorry to hear about your experience with the water heater you have reviewed. It’s unfortunate that you’ve had issues with leakage and the warranty process.


    Please note that experiences can vary, and it’s always a good idea to consider different factors before making a purchase. If you continue to have issues, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with technical questions or issues you are experiencing. Remember to install close to a floor drain, if possible, as you’ve suggested. Good luck with your 3rd unit!


    Derius rheem
      Great product was just as advertised. Pickup at the store was great it was ready when we got there. Even took it out of the box so I didn't have to deal with that.
      by
      Response from RheemMay 14, 2024
      Maj,

      We are glad to hear that you had a positive experience with your purchase of the Performance 50 Gal. Tall 6-Year 42,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater from The Home Depot. It’s great that the product met your expectations and that the pickup process was smooth and convenient for you.


      Derius rheem
      • Verified Purchase
      Do NOT buy a Rheem power vent hot water heater.
      Rheem is a junk water heater with horrible customer service and no plumbers who will work with their cust. service in the NJ/PA/DE area except for jersey city - 117 miles away. Power vent failed on day 2. Cust. service would send a new power vent but wanted me to pay to ship it 2 day(next day not even an option) it came damaged- condensate connection broken - system still failed to work. Took back to HD for full refund and got a bradford-white (made in USA). Shame on HD for selling such garbage.
      by
      Response from RheemApr 19, 2024
      Hello Matt,

      We are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with the water heater you have reviewed. It’s frustrating when a product doesn’t meet expectations and the customer service doesn’t provide the necessary support.

      It’s good to hear that you were able to return the product to The Home Depot for a full refund.

      Derius rheem
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        I thought this water heater was qualified for the PECO energy efficient appliance rebate, but it did not. PECO rejected my application and did not approve this water heater. Lost $150 rebate which I was considering. Can we do anything about it?
        by
        Response from RheemApr 17, 2024
        Drew,


        Thank you for this 4-star review. We are sorry to hear about the issue with the PECO energy efficient appliance rebate. To qualify for the PECO rebate, the appliance must meet certain energy efficiency requirements.

        The Performance 50 Gal. Tall 6-Year 42,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater is indeed a high-efficiency model, but it’s possible that it didn’t meet the specific criteria set by PECO for their rebate program.

        Here are a few steps you could consider:

        Review the eligibility requirements for the PECO rebate program. Make sure the water heater meets all the necessary criteria.
        Reach out to PECO’s customer service. They may be able to provide more specific information about why your application was rejected and what you can do to rectify the situation.
        If you purchased the water heater with the understanding that it was eligible for the rebate, it might be worth discussing the issue with Home Depot’s customer service.
        Remember, it’s important to keep all your documentation related to this purchase and the subsequent communications with PECO and Home Depot. This can be helpful if you need to escalate your complaint.

        We hope this helps and your issue gets resolved soon!

        Derius rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        Power Vent WH
        I wascan AO Smith buyer for years.. i heard grest reviews about Rheem and bought it, no issues so far.. price is standard with other brands.
        by
        Response from RheemApr 17, 2024
        Hi Steve,

        It’s great to hear that you’re having a positive experience with your Rheem Performance 50 Gal. Tall 6-Year 42,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater. It’s always good when a product lives up to its reviews.

        It’s also reassuring to know that the price is in line with other brands. Your feedback can be very helpful for others who are considering this water heater.

        Thank you for sharing your experience!

        Derius rheem
          • Recommended
          very bad company!
          worked good for a year! then it just keeps on turning off randomly. it gives a one light code and pause. customer service said we dont see any problem. we can send someone to look at it but i have to pay that but the part will be free. lol. meaning their warranty is not a warranty. i read online alota people have same issue and its their faulty pilot box but they dont want to admit because they dont want to cover the cost. well people if you come across this i will say buy only Bradford brands!
          by
          Response from RheemApr 17, 2024
          Yasin,

          We are sorry to hear about the issues you’ve been experiencing with your water heater. It’s frustrating when a product doesn’t perform as expected, especially after just a year of use.

          Your feedback about the random shutdowns and the one light code is valuable, and it’s unfortunate that this wasn't able to be resolved to your satisfaction. It’s also concerning to hear about the potential issue with the pilot box.

          Thank you for sharing your experience.

          Derius rheem
            • Recommended
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            The unit was easy to install and set up
            by
            Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
            Hello,

            Thank you so much for your 5-star review! Rheem is thrilled to hear that the installation process was a breeze and that you are enjoying your new water heater. We hope your new Rheem Water Heater continues to serve you well for many years to come. If you ever need assistance or have questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566. We are at your service from 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST.

            Isaiah rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            No problem with Water heater this was a warranty replacement , Rheem approved replacement . Customer service at Home Depot was disappointing .
            by
            Response from RheemApr 5, 2024
            Hello,

            We are glad to hear that your Performance 40 Gal. Tall 40,000 BTU Residential Natural Gas Power Vent Water Heater is working well, and that Technical Support approved the warranty replacement. However, we sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with The Home Depot’s customer service. Your feedback is valuable and could help improve their customer service in the future. If you have any more questions or need further assistance, contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

            Derius rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            Unfortunately the seal on the plug was not properly sealed and caused a mild leak.
            by
            Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
            Hello Jaymie,

            We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We hope that your issue has been resolved. However, if you still require assistance, our Technical Support team is available at 866-279-4566 from 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST. One of our seasoned analysts will be more than happy to assist you.

            Isaiah rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            My only complaint is that you have to mount the power vent to the top of the unit, if this isn’t done correctly, you could potentially be venting gas into your home, I know it probably saves on some type of shipping cost and assembly cost. It should come assembled from the factory, ready to go, there is no way to check for leaks From the vent.
            by
            Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
            Hi,

            Thank you for your 4-star review. We understand your concern. Proper installation of the power vent is indeed crucial for the safe operation of the water heater you have reviewed. If not done correctly, it could potentially lead to gas venting into your home, which is a serious safety risk.

            Derius

            While it’s true that having the unit come pre-assembled from the factory could ensure correct installation and eliminate the risk of leaks, it might also increase shipping and assembly costs, as you mentioned. However, safety should always be the top priority.

            If you’re unsure about the installation or suspect a leak, I would strongly recommend contacting a professional plumber or the manufacturer’s customer service for assistance. They can guide you through the process or even perform a safety check to ensure everything is functioning as it should. rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Gas valve assembled incorrectly. Then they sent the wrong part in the mail. Two weeks of no water.
            by
            Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
            Hello,

            We are really sorry to hear about the issues you’ve experienced with the water heater. It’s unfortunate that the gas valve was assembled incorrectly and that the wrong part was sent to you. Being without water for two weeks is certainly a significant inconvenience. Your feedback is important and can help improve the overall service. If you have any more questions or need assistance with this issue, please call 866-279-4566b between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

            Derius rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Working great so far. Happy with the product Only issue was with delivery. Paid for room of choice delivery and I had to go out and stop them from driving away because they just left it on the driveway and took off was able to stop them and they reluctantly took down to the basement
            by
            Response from RheemApr 2, 2024
            Hello,

            We are glad to hear that the Performance 50 Gal. Tall 6-Year 42,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater from The Home Depot is working well for you. However, we are sorry to hear about your experience with the delivery. It’s indeed frustrating when the service you paid for is not provided as expected. Your feedback is important for correcting these types of potential issues. If you haven’t already, we would recommend reaching out to The Home Depot for possible solutions or compensation for the inconvenience caused. If you need any assistance with this process or have any other questions, feel free to contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

            Derius rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            Not yet a year old
            Was great for the first 10/11 months. Just replaced the hazardous gas sensor on Friday. It's Sunday and now it's probably a bad thermocouple. Not sure, shows low gas pressure and that as the possible problem. Not very sold on the quality. So here's another week without hot water waiting on another part. Thanks Rheem 😘
            by
            Response from RheemMar 19, 2024
            Hello,

            We regret the inconvenience you’ve encountered and trust that your issue has been addressed. Should you require further assistance, our Technical Support team is available at 866-279-4566 from 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST. Our skilled analysts are eager to assist you with inquiries on warranty coverage, technical specifications, and complimentary troubleshooting advice for your water heater.

            Isaiah rheem
              Quality/warranty is a pro rated warranty
              Tank was only 2 years old. Started leaking was advised by customer service to return item to homedepot . Ok no problem I did as such thinking that since it was warranty I would be able to just get it replaced. I then find out that the warranty for a failed tank is a prorated amount fooled me.
              by
              Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
              Hi,

              We sorry to hear about the issues you’ve had with your water heater. It’s unfortunate that the tank started leaking only 2 years in and the warranty didn’t cover the full replacement cost as you expected. We understand how frustrating this can be. If you have any questions or need assistance with anything else, please feel free to contact 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

              Derius rheem
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Showing 1-30 of 1,327 reviews

                Frequently Bought Together

                Exclusive
                +
                +
                Price:
                $1199.00

                Compare Similar Items