#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Rheem Performance 50 Gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater

Internet #307249495

Model #XG50S06PV36U0

Store SKU #1004653821

  • Can vent up to 150 feet: See specification sheet for max. lengths
  • Features multiple venting options for inexpensive installation
  • Restricted in CA and UT – see disclaimer below

Customer Reviews

  • 4.6
    out of 72 reviews
  • 80% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 72 reviews
Nice heater and works well
Good quality heater. The noise at the outside vent is a bit louder than expected. This heater is installed in the utility room by the furnace. the water heater makes less noise than the furnace. The anode hex- head is recessed and looks like it will be rather hard to remove. It is certain that dirt will collect in the recess, and some will fall into the hole when the anode is removed. The old rheem had a brass water drain valve, this one has a plastic drain. I am on a well and the water to the heater is always cold, as I live in Montana, the heater works well and provides lots of hot water. I am happy with the install and the heater. I would install another one.
by
Response from RheemDec 28, 2022
Hello,

Thank you for choosing Rheem Water Heating for your home! We are thrilled to hear you are enjoying your new water heater and appreciate you taking time to write this review.

Isaiah rheem
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Appears to be quality and works great. VERY noisy,...
Appears to be quality and works great. VERY noisy, don't want near living area.
by
Response from RheemOct 7, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for this 5-star review. We are glad to hear that your new water heater is working great. If you need assistance with your new water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with technical questions and warranty information.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
So far so good. No issues, so much bigger than...
So far so good. No issues, so much bigger than my 40 gal Bradford White which I replaced.
by
Response from RheemOct 5, 2022
Hi Brian,

Thank you for the 5-star review. We glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater with no issues. If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
Response from RheemSep 19, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for this 5-star review. If you need assistance with your new Rheem water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of your experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
Response from RheemSep 19, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for this 5-star review. If you need assistance with your new Rheem water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of your experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
Response from RheemSep 9, 2022
Hi, Thank you for this 5 star review. If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
Quiet and Fast!
Seems to be a very well built Gas Power Vented Tank. Amazingly Quiet. I am also Amazed at how fast it gets the water up to selected temp! I hope it last 20+ years. Yea, I know... Those days are gone!
by
Response from RheemAug 26, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for this review. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your new Rheem water heater. IF you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
This water heater works very well. The price was so...
This water heater works very well. The price was so much better than I could find elsewhere. Everything is great.
by
Response from RheemNov 1, 2022
Hi Page,

Thank you for this 5-star review! We are glad to hear your new Rheem Water Heater is working great for you! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
by
  • Verified Purchase
Easy install. Heats very quickly. Quality water heater highly recommend....
Easy install. Heats very quickly. Quality water heater highly recommend.
by
Response from RheemOct 21, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
The water heater works great! It was easy to...
The water heater works great! It was easy to install.
by
  • Verified Purchase
After a few days, it performs as expected....
After a few days, it performs as expected.
by
Response from RheemOct 21, 2022
Hi Joe,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
I love this water heater, it was easy to install...
I love this water heater, it was easy to install and the set up was easy also. I have a family of four and we always have hot water in the house. make sure you read the temperature setting because this water heater gets hot I have mine set at the lowest setting and the water temperature is great
by
  • Verified Purchase
Easy Install, and works great....
Easy Install, and works great.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Works great !
It works as it should . It heats water .
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Changing the Vent
Our old water heater vented up through the chimney. The chimney is non-functional and we wanted to remove it. This was our answer. With this water heater we were able to set it up to vent directly from the basement to the outside. We’ve had it for a month and so far it’s doing great.
by
Response from RheemOct 25, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.



Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Easy to install
Easy install, great start up
by
Response from RheemOct 25, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.



Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
by
  • Verified Purchase
Easy to install and heats water in a real short...
Easy to install and heats water in a real short time.
by
    1 found this review helpful
    by
      Great product and efficient
      Same as installing any hot water tank.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      Good choice
      Good choice. Fits perfect, runs well, great value.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      by
        by
          1 found this review helpful
          Easy install
          This has electric ignition that the description didn't say. Overall is good,
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Showing 1-30 of 72 reviews