No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (13)
  • Worst can design
  • April 30, 2012

Purchased 8 cans of this paint. 1st can sprayed for 5 seconds then turned to propellant only. Tried 2nd can only to have the same problem. 3rd wouldn't spray at all. Don't waste your time with this paint. Should have checked other reviews prior to purchasing this type. I will be returning them.

OutSider

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: OutSider
  • Huge Disappointment
  • July 06, 2014

Bought 12 cans to paint a wrought iron railing. Followed directions. First of all, color didn't come close to color on cap or product label. Second some cans sprayed light tan and others a sort of champagne color. Not even close. A waste of both time and money. So much for Rustoleum's quality control.

Cons color does not match from cans from same lot
  • DIY

Thomas

Knoxville, Tn
55 to 64, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Thomas
  • Had to return 6 different cans
  • April 22, 2012

This paint or the can is not nearly perfected. After 6 trips to HD, I gave up and went with a different idea on what kind of paint to use. The first time I tried it I shook it vigorously for 3 minutes. It spurted and just hissed out propellent. The subsequent times I shook at least 10 minutes thinking it had clumped up in the can. To no avail did it ever give more than a spurt and quit. I emailed Rustoleum to see what the problem is and should hear back from them in the next week or so. I am truly disappointed this didn't work.

  • DIY

MichaelRPh

Texas, USA
45 to 54, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MichaelRPh
  • The only thing hammered was my wallet.
  • April 23, 2016

When I purchased the product the first time it worked great. I was surprised such an effect could be had from a spray can. It reminded me of some of the unusual finishes that you get when woking in ceramics that you don't see until after something comes out of the kiln. That initial purchase was years ago, and it left such a lasting memorable impression that I didn't hesitate to buy it again. The packaging had changed from the traditional looking spray can with a removable lid, to the smaller one that you remove the clip from, but I wasn't really concerned about the package. I tested the paint in three different areas but since I was just applying the paint to areas that had a hammered finish, I was looking for a color match, on the three different textures on what I was refinishing and not really concerned with the finished product. As it turns out that was a huge mistake. Instead of the beautifully hammered looking finish I'd gotten years earlier, when the paint dried after this application I ended up with a flat, gray dull finish, which was disappointing to say the least, since I painted over a hammered finish to get there. I'm utterly convinced that more than the packaging has changed since my previous purchase years earlier. I wrote the company about my experience, because I wanted to know it there was something I could have done differently, something other than follow the instructions. At the time I'd actually considered getting more paint and trying again. Instead of answering my question they stated the obvious, that it should have worked given my test areas, but since the testing I did was for color matching, and surface proposes and seeing a hammered finish on top of an existing hammered finish would be near to impossible, the response I got was unreasonable. I completed the task at hand based off (1) previous experience with the product, (2) color matching, and (3) testing it on the three differently textured surface areas I was working with. After testing I regrettably pressed on confidently thinking things would be fine since paint often looks very differently after it dries. When the paint dried it was flat, dull and not hammered looking at all. Since customer service implied that it should have worked, and didn't offer any further suggestions outside of the instructions, which I followed, and had done previously with success, their response came of seeming somewhat sarcastic and condescending. And that's fine because at this point I will not use or recommend this product ever again. Curiously enough they didn't even ask for the lot number off the can. Really? After looking at the experience of others here, I'm convinced I am not alone and that the company is aware of the issue. And just incase you're wondering I shook vigorously, and prepped the area in accordance with the instructions. I might always wonder if I just got a bad batch, but I'm not willing to have my wallet hammered again to find out.

Cons flat dull finish

HammerdNfinished

Valdosta, GA
45 to 54
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HammerdNfinished
  • No, no, no
  • May 30, 2016

Could not get the hammered effect at all. The Rustoleum reply in one of these reviews says " For best results, apply several light coats versus one heavy coat. " The can instructions actually say: " Apply one heavy, even coat at moderate speed, spraying continuously over the object"

beerserver

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: beerserver
  • just basic spray paint
  • December 24, 2015

This paint was purchased to cover a glass and metal table that I loved but was the wrong color. I followed the temp and humidity directions to the letter. The result is a basic spray painted piece - not a hammered look. I am quite dissatisfied and will likely sand and start over with a different product. Do not recommend if it is the hammered look that you are after.

craftybynature

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: craftybynature
  • C'mon.
  • June 22, 2016

No hammered effect. Just gloopy mess. Rust-o-leum's own data sheet on their site says one heavy coat. As did the label. I got rid of the can, else I would take a picture of the label. see: https://www.rustoleum.com/~/media/DigitalEncyclopedia/Documents/RustoleumUSA/TDS/English/CBG/Universal/UNI-03_Universal_Forged_Hammered_Sprays_TDS.ashx

messypaint

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: messypaint
  • faulty can design
  • July 10, 2012

as mentioned by others it will spray only propellant sometimes..just a note to help others with this problem: turn the can upside down and it will spray! horrible can but the color i needed is only available in this can so i HAD to make them work. the trigger actuator is not good also..you sometimes have to move it sideways or press in different places to get it to spray properly

rtcinc

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: rtcinc
  • Rustoleum hammered antique pewter
  • June 01, 2015

Very disappointing. If I had wanted a solid pewter finish it would have been cheaper to purchase a can pewter or antique silver. The finish does not have a hammered look and does not have the black variation as shown on the top of can. I followed directions to the letter...clean, sand and temp/humidity level were all perfect. The new trigger is hard to work with and one can would only spray upside down.

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Wish I had read this before buying...
  • July 01, 2016

Terrible product! I'm so disappointed with this product! After following directions on the can and yeilding terrible results I turned to the website only to be given different directions! Wouldn't matter anyway, neither way worked! Disappointing flat pewter finish! Now what? Start over I guess- out time and money. Wouldn't use that product again! P.S. It's getting a rating of one star because it's the minimum required!

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...