#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for SAKRETE 50 lbs. Play Sand

Internet #100350256

Model #363501193

Store SKU #169803

  • Made of premium-quality sand for safe use
  • Washed and screened for convenient use
  • Perfect for gardening or building purposes

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 83 reviews
  • 50% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 83 reviews
Shiny metallic copper on sand toxic?
I’ve never seen sand that has powder like metal pieces im a little afraid because if this is toxic your kids/ environment is smelling it. What is that ? The metal looks like copper. Some pieces fly, others are very visible in the sand.
by
Response from Sakrete Customer CareAug 10, 2023
It’s difficult to know what has occurred with the Play Sand. Please contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). So, we may gather more information to aid with resolving your concerns. sakrete
    Not what is pictured
    The sand on the bag displays a light brown sand that looks soft. What you really get is a grainy and rocky sand that is not enjoyable to play with.
    by
    Response from Sakrete Customer CareJul 28, 2023
    Play Sand is a natural quartz silica sand. This sand is not graded to meet to meet a certain specification. Should you have any further concerns or questions regarding Sakrete products. You can contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). sakrete
      Big color variation between bags
      The sand is great but my biggest complaint is that the sand varies in color from bag to bag - from a light gray to a medium brown. That might be fine for a sandbox but I'm spreading it between gray pavers; the light gray looks great, the medium brown looks horrible. How is one supposed to know the color of the sand if all the bags look the same and are under the same UPC/sku??
      by
      Response from Sakrete Customer CareMay 23, 2023
      We do not quality control the color of the sand. There is only one UPC code for Play Sand. We don't color batch the sand. Should you have any further concerns or questions regarding Sakrete. You can contact our technical department directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). sakrete
        1 found this review helpful
        Not Play Sand
        The bag shows a beautiful golden color of play sand. However, that is not what we received. This play sand is dirty and grainy.
        by
        Response from Sakrete Customer CareMay 12, 2023
        Please contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). So, we may gather more information to aid with resolving your concerns. sakrete
          My son loves it!
          It can fill a little pool so the kids can play and enjoy!
          by
            • Recommended
            Fake! Nothing like the picture on the bag at all!
            This sand is not for kids playing. It is dirty. Don’t buy!
            by
            Response from Sakrete Customer CareAug 23, 2022
            It’s difficult to know how the Play Sand is dirty at this time. Please contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). So, we may gather more information to aid with resolving your concerns. sakrete
              1 found this review helpful
              DO NOT BUY THiS PRODUCT!
              This isn’t sand, it is coarsely loose gravel. It looks nothing like the picture on the bag. Save your money and don’t buy this item. I had to return all 35 bags purchased. It was very disappointing, unacceptable and false advertisement.
              by
              Response from Sakrete Customer CareMay 5, 2022
              Kevin, It’s difficult to know what has occurred with the Play Sand at this time. Please contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). So we may gather more information to aid with resolving your concerns. sakrete
              • Verified Purchase
              2 found this review helpful
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Minor issue with the sand being damp. Top layer dries out but below the surface says damp just like on a beach
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              It says it’s made for kids sandboxes and yet the...
              It says it’s made for kids sandboxes and yet the package said do not let it come in contact with skin or breathe it in at all. Threw it away.
              by
              Response from Sakrete Customer CareJun 28, 2023
              Jamie. The Play Sand can be used for kids' sand boxes. Sakrete certainly understands your concern. We would like to give you a brief explanation. The sands packaged in the play sand bag are silica sands. These sands are the same sand which can be found on all beaches and used at any lakes created as a beach access that you may visit. Silica sands have been used for many years in the commercial industry especially for sand blasting purposes. When silica sands are used for these types of applications under forced air it increases the air borne particles tremendously. Under these conditions with usage performed for lengthy periods can result in respiratory problems. High risk jobs such as abrasive blasting, foundry work, stonecutting, rock drilling,
              quarry work and tunneling.
              Chronic/classic silicosis, the most common, occurs after 15–20 years of moderate to low
              exposures to respirable crystalline silica.
              Based on these findings Proposition 65 was created which is the primary warning labels content and which was originated in California has been mandated to be placed on all bagged materials containing silica sand. sakrete
              • Verified Purchase
              1 found this review helpful
              Soft, clean play sand!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              I paid the delivery fee of $8.99 to have two...
              I paid the delivery fee of $8.99 to have two bags of this sand delivered for a project. Between the terrific delivery service and the great sand this was a win win. I couldn’t get that much sand home alone. They delivered quickly exactly as HD said they would. The sand quality is terrific. Highly recommend the sand and especially HD customer service
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Used sand to cushion under bricks. Worked great...
              Used sand to cushion under bricks. Worked great
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Bag leaked during transport. Had half a bag of sand...
              Bag leaked during transport. Had half a bag of sand in my truck bed.
              by
              Response from Sakrete Customer CareMay 25, 2023
              It's difficult to know how the bag opened to allow half of the material to spill out. Please contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). So, we may gather more information to aid with resolving your concerns. sakrete
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              hamster
              if you are a hamster owner please do not get this sand i did not hear good thing about this sand
              by
              Response from Sakrete Customer CareMay 15, 2023
              Should you have any concerns or questions regarding Sakrete products. You can contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). sakrete
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Not Play Sand.
                This is NOT play sand. It’s basically filtered dirt. Not at all for playing in. Visually unappealing as well. Closest resemblance I can give is dirt. Add water and you have mud. This is not play sand or beach sand.
                by
                Response from Sakrete Customer CareMay 3, 2023
                . Please contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). So, we may gather more information to aid with resolving your concerns. sakrete
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Tiny rocks throughout the sand...
                  Tiny rocks throughout the sand
                  by
                  Response from Sakrete Customer CareJan 11, 2023
                  Please contact us directly at 1-866-SAKRETE (866-725-7383). So, we may gather more information to aid with resolving your concerns. sakrete
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Showing 1-30 of 83 reviews