#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Samsung 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam and AddWash Door in Black Stainless, ENERGY STAR

Internet #206978142

Model #WF45K6500AV

Store SKU #1001799590

  • Add forgotten laundry after the cycle begins with AddWash
  • Super Speed washes a full load in as little as 36 minutes
  • 4.5 cu. ft. capacity gets more laundry done in less time

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 746 reviews
  • 79%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 746 reviews
Love my new washer! The add wash door has already come in handy, and is the main reason I purcha...
Love my new washer! The add wash door has already come in handy, and is the main reason I purchased this washer, as more times than not- I forget to put something in! I also love the steam and sanitize features!
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
3 found this review helpful
been positive
I've been happy with the purchase so far. It is very heavy, does a good job washing, is fairly quite, and has a LOT of features. One issue I need to figure out is using the secondary door after it has started. Hope it isn't a defect. Even given the price, with the use so far, I would recommend it
by
  • DIY
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
1 found this review helpful
This product has great features!
Beautiful machine, well designed, economic and silent!
by
    • Recommended
    Darth Vader Meets Dirty Laundry
    When the professionals came to install the Samsung AddWash Front Load Washing Machine, I was initially intimidated by its design and all the digital bells and whistles. The machine seemed vaguely menacing, like a dark metal Darth Vader lurking in my basement. I didn't find the owner's manual much help either. However, I have become accustomed to having a muscular front loading washer that lights up and sings! This machine seems to be very sturdily designed and it gives the owner multiple options for every conceivable type of washing load. I have always had top loading machines, but this front load washer is very easy to use, with a lot of room in the drum. It even features a secondary door in the main door so that you can add additional laundry once you have started the cycle (and it really works). I have tried washing everything in this washer: regular loads of laundry, pillows of all kinds, bedding, delicates, pet stuff, extremely dirty stuff, and even stuffed animals and bedroom accessories like a bedrest reading pillow. Because I was able to tailor the machine's cycles to each kind of load, all the loads came out clean, only damp, and undamaged in any way. The machine operates quietly and so far I have not had to deal with any balance issues when washing or spinning. The lack of an agitator removes most of the balance/load distribution problems. The control panel has a knob for selecting the kind of load you are washing and a digital display that gives you additional customized settings. Since the machine senses the size of your load and adds water accordingly, you cannot select the water level yourself. There is a drawer on the top left for dispensing the He laundry detergent, fabric softener, and bleach. You will get a digital error message if something is not right, such as the AddWash door being ajar. You also have a pause button, a delay cycle setting, and the option to use a lock on the machine for child safety. I feel like I have only just begun to explore all the options available with this washer. I like the fact that is is Energy Star certified so that I can save money while helping the environment. You also have the option of operating the machine remotely through a Smart Home Adapter that syncs your smart phone to the washer. I was sent the adapter but unfortunately cannot use it because I don't have an appropriate phone. This Samsung High Efficiency Front Load Washer is the most advanced washing machine I have ever owned and I am thrilled with its performance!
    by
    • Recommended
    20 found this review helpful
    The quality is obvious
    I have owned more than half a dozen low end washing machines, most coming with the purchase of a house. Several have broken and I have been able to fix some of them, although spare parts are expensive. My last machine still worked but had a defective cold water valve that added several hours to the wash time. Time for a better machine. If the build quality is as good as it looks it will likely outlast me. The first thing I noticed was the weight- over 200 lbs, I used a hand truck to move it several hundred feet over rough ground and a few low steps. The packing was excellent but made the machine so bulky it only just got in the door. The outside of the box gave clear detailed unpacking instructions. Hookup was easy once the machine was moved into position. The operating instructions were intimidating at first, but the complex control panel was logical and has many options I have yet to try. It even has an option to add internet access! The machine is much quieter than the old one, and does an excellent job of cleaning clothes.
    by
    • Recommended
    9 found this review helpful
    The Washer from the Future has Landed
    With its blue door reminiscent of a spaceship porthole, its somber stainless steel, and its control panel buzzing with diodes, this washer is the strongest technological statement that you can make in your laundry room. There is no doubt that this washer is the result of intense research from Samsung. For instance, the design, usage, performance, energy consumption, soundproofing, and connectivity are all cutting edge. In a nutshell, this Samsung washer has it all. Let's start with the AddWash feature, of which Samsung proudly gives the name of this line of washers. Any item forgotten after starting the washing cycle can be added through the AddWash door. This brings a level of convenience which is unmatched by any competitor. With AddWash, there are no more excuses for not switching to a front loader. There are indeed many good reasons to prefer front loaders to top loaders. For instance, front loaders are much much more energy efficient. According to the EnergyGuide, this washer uses 100 kWh per year, which is about a third of the energy consumption of a high efficiency top loader. With power consumption of 200W in wash mode and 550W in spinning mode, this washer should be the prime choice for any conservationist. This washer is also brilliantly quiet. Silence is another traditional advantage of front washers but, with its brushless motor, I have to check through the door to know whether the machine is actually tumbling. In active spinning mode, you can hear a little humming noise, but overall, it is remarkably quiet. So, how does R2-D2 wash? Pretty well so far. My white socks that I use for gardening – don’t ask – came much whiter than with my previous washer. There are many functions, which is great, and it is possible to save your favorite mode such as: normal + extra spin + rinse for example. It is large enough to clean our winter king size duvet and there is a dedicated bedding mode. The “quick wash” is particularly impressive, delivering a load in just thirty minutes. According to Samsung, the steam technology, that this washer uses, helps tackling the deepest stain and reduces the washing time. Finally, there is a possibility to control this washer with your phone. There is a dedicated app designed by Samsung for it. Should a problem arise, this feature should also help to troubleshoot the washer. However, in order to use this “Smart Home” technology, you will have to purchase an adaptor. Given the price tag of this washer, it feels a bit stingy from Samsung that consumers have to spend another $25 on Samsung website to fully enjoy the washer: this deserves to be included in the package. Regardless of this minor adaptor issue, this washer represents a giant technological leap forward, and ticks all the boxes, which should make it the prime choice for anybody shopping for a new washer.
    by
    • Recommended
    32 found this review helpful
    Balanced, Quiet, Lots of Features, Looks Awesome
    PROS: Plenty of room for clothes Normal cycle completes in just 45 minutes Stays balanced during spin cycle (no wobble!) Relatively Quiet (compared to my older LG) The black stainless steel is super sleek and stylish and the controls are easy to read. UnfortunatelyI didn't get the pedestals with my set, but even if I did, i don't know how you would lift this heavy beast up high enough to attach them? Seriously, this machine is heavy and took 3 people with a dolly to maneuver it around. My only complaint is that I think the bleach dispenser is too far back in the tray and is difficult to get to without getting bleach in the other dispensers. The other thing I do not like is the sound/chime that plays - I find it extremely annoying, but thankfully, you can turn off the sound completely and it remembers that setting each time you power on/off the machine. At the end of the cycle, there was still some standing water at the bottom of the rubber door seal and a little water that would come out of the drum holes. So I just wiped up the door seal with a towel and left the door slightly ajar to let it air-dry (from previous experience with front-load washer). That said, it is much easier to wipe around the seal to keep it clean and dry. I am really looking forward to trying out all the extra features and different cycles. I've had nothing but good experience with Samsung products so I am optimistic that this machine will last me a long time.
    by
    • Recommended
    26 found this review helpful
    Samsung engineers used their skill to create a great 5 star washer
    If you made a list of all the features and functions a clothes washer should have, you would find a match with this Samsung washer. The highlights of this washer is it has a large 4.5 CU feet capacity and is a front loading unit. With front loaders you can't open the door to add an item your forgot without draining if first. Well that's not a problem for this model. The engineers have designed a AddWash feature. You just pause the wash cycle and open the door inside the main door and you can add laundry to the existing load. In reading the manual they explain they automatic load measuring system. When you start a cycle the drum rotates and measures the weight of the load. Then it calculates the wash time based on the weight of the load. I thought this was very clever engineering by Samsung. Between the cycle knob and the touch pad control I can't calculate how many possible running scenarios there are, but there are plenty. There are 14 preset cycles on the dial: Rinse/Spin Allergen Sanitize Whites Bedding Heavy Duty Normal Deep Steam Quick Wash Towels Perm Press Wool Delicates Active Wear The manual provides a list of the type of loads and which cycle you should use. The control panel allows additional settings for the water temperature (there are 5), the spin selection (there are 6) as well as 9 cycle options, one of which is the Steam option which is a great feature. It can be used for heavily stained loads and sanitizing the laundry. And you can even save your settings for what you like best. The detergent is loaded in a slide tray with areas for pre-wash, washing and fabric softener. Just pour everything you want in the proper area, load your clothes, select the cycle and you're ready to go. Note that if you use powdered detergent you need to remove the liquid detergent pan before adding the detergent. This washer will provide excellent cleaning results for all your different types of loads. Samsung has brought high-tech into the laundry room. Samsung also has matching dryers (both electric and gas) available at Home Depot.
    by
    • Recommended
    21 found this review helpful
    WF45K6500AV/A2 Spin Cycle Failure
    purchased in june 2018 - only 3 years later the machine won't complete a spin cycle. similarly to another review on this site. it is incredibly disappointing to have such an expensive and robust machine that will not function at this stage. i have shipped to my mom in brazil in the confidence i have on samsung brand, but now with this issue and without proper support it is completely useless!!
    by
    Response from Customer CareJun 9, 2022
    Hello Leonardo Jardim, We appreciate your patience in dealing with the situation that you're having right now with your product. and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please know that we value your feedback and we will continuously work on improving the quality of the products we offer. Your issue is something we can improve with the steps provided in these links: Cycles, settings, and features on your Samsung Washing machine https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS00061937/ Samsung washing machine won't spin or won't stop spinning https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01000997/#make-sure-the-washer-is-level How to reset your washing machine https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS00087882/ Samsung washing machine error codes https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01002001/ If you need additional assistance you may reach us via the following links. 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us 4. Phone Customer Care: 1-800-726-7864 (1-800-SAMSUNG) Reference number: 1144583623 Thank you for choosing Samsung. ^Ross
      Worst washer ever owned
      this is by far the worst washer i ever owned. we lived in rentals and apartments before and used washers that cost fraction of what we paid for this one and they worked 100 times better. please save your money and don't buy this. my laundry has a stinky smell after every wash, stains are never cleaned, and worst of all, clothes always come out soaking wet!! samsung, never again!
      by
      Response from samsungcareJan 26, 2022
      Hello. If I was in your shoes, I would feel the same way about the washer. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us. This concern may be able to be resolved with some troubleshooting steps. Take a look at the links below for assistance. ^Pat http://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01108627/ http://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001013/
        Stopped spinning with less than 3 years
        My washing machine broke right at 3 years of use. I set up an appointment with Samsung to get it fixed, which I will end up paying more than $500 all together to get it fixed.
        by
        Response from SamsungOct 4, 2021
        Hello, we are sorry to hear that your experience has been less than ideal. This experience is not what we expect for our customers. We really appreciate you taking the time to sit down and write out all the details of your experience so far. We definitely want all of our customers to enjoy their appliances and to have many years of use. Feedback like yours will certainly help us to continue improving our products and customer experiences. If you have questions or further concerns, contact us directly on Facebook at (http://m.me/samsungsupport) or on Twitter at (https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513). When you message us, give them this number (1143759683) and it will help our team pull up your information. Thank you for being a Samsung customer. ^Lena Samsung
          Extremely disappointed, poor quality
          let me begin by saying that all my appliances are samsung. but i no longer have confidence in their appliances. i currently have a non functional washer model wf45k6200aw/a2. with only 5 to 6 years, it no longer powers on. this is not the first issue that i've had with their appliances, a few month back our dryers wheel bearing gave out and had to be replaced, prior to that our refrigerator stopped cooling, due to clogged rear coils. i've had nothing but issues with these poorly designed and cheap quality appliances. it appears that these appliances have a shelf life that last up to a few short years after the warranty is no longer available.
          by
          Response from Samsung CareAug 12, 2021
          Hey, Henry. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and telling us how you feel about the washing machine. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to report your feedback via the appropriate channels. ^Pat
            Do not purchase!!!!
            To make it simple, I'm stuck with a machine that doesn't wash my clothes properly. Clothes go in with a stain and comes out with the same stain. Not recommended if you have an infant or young children in general. Very disappointed.
            by
            Response from SamsungJul 26, 2021
            Hello Tamar, we are here to help ease your frustrations on your washing machine. We are continually improving the quality of our products and your feedback is important to that process. I am including a link to a helpful troubleshooting guide to support your concerns on the cleaning performance (https://bit.ly/2TCib4N). For further assistance, feel free to reach out to us on Facebook at (http://m.me/samsungsupport) or on Twitter at (https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513). When you message us, give them this number (1143548971) and it will help our team pull up your information. We thank you for choosing Samsung for your laundry needs. ^Lena Samsung
              An absolute waste of money
              1.5 years into the purchase, the machine started breaking. Although, it still covered by the warranty the service is very difficult to schedule (COVID is blamed, of course), and replacement parts availability is iffy. Worse yet, it appears the same parts, in my case water pumping motor tend to break. Once, the warranty is over and the cost of repair for these machines are sky high will be looking for an alternative from other brands.
              by
              Response from SamsungJul 23, 2021
              Hello SD76, I can understand that this has been a frustrating experience. Thank you for taking time to review your product. We are doing our best to improve the quality of our products. If the problem has not been resolved, please reach out to our support team on Facebook at (http://m.me/samsungsupport) or on Twitter at (https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513). When you message us, give them this number (1143543428) and it will help our team pull up your information. Thank you for being a Samsung customer. ^Lena Samsung
                Do not buy this washer, especially without the longest warranty you can get. It's overpriced and...
                Do not buy this washer, especially without the longest warranty you can get. It's overpriced and oversold. Clothes get clean. I expect a washer to last longer than 2 years. It has electronic problems. Samsung has advanced technology but has not figured out how to make a reliable washer. The wifi connectivity requires an additional item and it rarely works, Samsung does not keep the app maintained. The add laundry door seems cool but is not with the extra money. I'm very disappointed. I wish Bosch still made washers and dryers.
                by
                Response from SamsungJul 1, 2021
                Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Jonny. Samsung loves to hear from our customers and uses reviews such as this one to make improvements to our future products. ^Lo Samsung
                  loved it until the warranty expired
                  So I bought this washing machine at the end of January of 2020. Fast forward a year and 3 months later and the words started rubbing off the control panel where you select your wash cycle. I contacted Samsung and they toldnme i have to pay for the part to replace it. Totally unfair. That is definitely a manufacturer defect. I googled the issue and saw that many others had the same issue I did with the words rubbing. It also happende to them right after there one year mark. Next thing you know i won’t be able to see what cycle I’m selecting and I’ll have to use a sharpie or something. This is ridiculous. The pros, the washing machine gets my clothes really clean and in rings the clothes out so well you don’t have to dry them very long. But I’m really disappointed about the sisplay issue.
                  by
                  Response from SamsungMay 25, 2021
                  Hello Staceyannm1, I know how frustrating it can be when results and expectations do not meet. We are continually improving the quality of our products and your feedback is vital to that process. I am including the information to our parts distributor J&J international for customers purchasing Samsung parts or accessories. To place an order you can go online at www.samsungparts.com, or by phone at 800-627-4368. J&J's hours of operation are 9:00 am - 8:30 pm EST, Monday – Friday. Thank you for being a part of the Samsung family. ^Lena Samsung
                    • Recommended
                    Not a great product
                    second problem with the machine and now i'm out of warranty. the company that samsung suggests i use could not come for 2 weeks and cost $79 for diagnostic. i called a repairman who cost $65 and came immediately. he said it was an expensive sensor (3c code) and an expensive fix.
                    by
                    Response from Samsung CareApr 6, 2021
                    Thank you, Paula, for informing us of your experience with the washer. I'm sorry to hear our service center wasn't able to come out for 2 weeks. I am, however, happy you were able to find another service center to help with the repair. I know you are still dealing with repairs, but I hope things play out smoothly. If you have any questions for us, never hesitate to contact us again. ^Pat
                      DO NOT BUY A SAMSUNG WASHER or DRYER
                      Only lasted 4 years. I had to repair both after only 4 years. Has only a 1 year warranty. Spend a little more $ and buy Speed Queen. Comes with 5-7 year warranty and will last 20 years.
                      by
                      Response from SamsungMar 3, 2021
                      Hello KristiKotlers! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I understand that it is frustrating to repair appliances. IF you happen to need further assistnace, please reach out to us via any of the following:
                      1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport
                      2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513

                      Please use the following ticket number for your reference: 1143032545
                      Thank you for choosing Samsung. ^Nic Samsung
                        Mold is extreme
                        After six months the mold was insanely bad, and clothes would come out of the washer smelling moldy. A Samsung technician came out and explained this is a frequent problem with this model and Samsungs in general. After taking apart the seal and carefully scrubbing all the parts with vinegar and bleach and then running the long sanitary cycle with vinegar repeatedly, the mold never fully went away and would come back in full bloom a week or two after sanitizing. We love everything else about the machine, but after a few years of moldy clothing, great features and design are moot. We just replaced it with an LG, which seems not to have Samsung’s mold issues, according to reviews.
                        by
                        Response from SamsungMar 3, 2021
                        Hi Drake! Thank you for taking the time to share our experience. We are so sorry to her that you're having concerns with mold in your washer. I understand that you're cleaning the unit however the link below is provide additional steps to prevent the mold and odor you're experiencing.
                        (http://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01108629/#washing-machine-has-a-mildew-smell-or-visible-mold)
                        Thank you for choosing Samsung^Nic Samsung
                          Don’t buy this machine
                          DO NOT BUY. Just read forums and do research and become aware with the amount of problems these machines have. Their are tons of videos on repairing all sorts of issues ranging in prices. This is not a good sign. My machine is only a year old, used only by me with monthly maintenance every month and already has an issue with washadd the (little) door.
                          by
                          Response from SamsungFeb 25, 2021
                          Hello Dilan! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Please contact us via 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport
                          2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513
                          so we can see how we can rectify your concerns.
                          Please use this ticket number for your reference: 1143006800

                          Thank you for choosing Samsung.^Nic Samsung
                            Good Washing Machine
                            After nine months of use, I have been happy with this washing machine. It gets clothes clean in less than an hour on the normal cycle, and the spin cycle gets rid of excess water well. It is a bit noisy, so I am glad it is in a laundry room with a door to close. Glad to have purchased a pedestal for this washing machine, as it is difficult to see the remaining clothes without a drum light. I purposely leave the door open overnight to ensure all water evaporates and to prevent it from smelling. Do not use all of the fancy cycles, so probably did not need those features. But I do LOVE the small door feature to add clothes later in the cycle. Would purchase this washing machine again.
                            by
                              • Recommended
                              Cute but noisy
                              i do like the washer design. i absolutely love the add wash door. it vibrates no matter what size load i have in it. my husband check the leg levels and they are fine. my washer and dryer are in our bedroom, and i can hear it spinning in my living room. i purchased the wifi, however i do not think i want to use it.
                              by
                                3 Years of Perfection
                                we have the washer and dryer which we purchased for our new home. we’ve had them for 3 years and have had 3 wonderful years of completing the worst chore. there are only two of us but my athlete husband washes a too-full load three times per week and everything has performed as expected. we read the manuals front-to-back before using and keep up with maintenance, which is extremely easy with self-clean.
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  Locked up
                                  After a few months after purchase, I lost power and after it came back in a few minutes, the washer just would not come back on and locked up with my items. Still under warranty so I called the store, it took them five (5) days to open as they had to pull it apart so I could get my stuff which by the way, stated to mildew. Still being worked on. Sorry dont need another one. Disappointed!
                                  by
                                  Response from SamsungFeb 16, 2021
                                  Hi Rhonda! Thank you for taking the time to share your experienced. I understand that your washer stopped working causing your clothes to be trapped inside. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced and are happy to know that you're on your way to having the unit working as designed.
                                  If you happen to need assistance after the repair please feel free to reach out to us.
                                  Thank you for choosiness Samsung.^Nic Samsung
                                    Great concept; Cheaply made
                                    we purchased model wf45k6500av/a2, 3 years ago. almost on queue for the expiry of the warranty, the machine began failing. the repair technician identified multiple cracks in the wiring and said that repairing or replacing the wiring harnesses was not economical. he advised that we buy a new machine. and, he said that these problems were common. we chose to sauter the wires ourselves..... and so began our journey of hunting for newly cracked wires that required repair. yesterday, multiple errors showed up again and we are throwing in the towel. it is going to the dump. essentially, these machines are built to self destruct. don't buy them. we are switching to another brand..... and unfortunately will be buying extended warranty
                                    by
                                    Response from Samsung CareJan 18, 2021
                                    We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. Anyone would be disappointed if they had to endure this. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Unfortunately, we weren't able to meet your expectation, but we are hoping we can change that in the future. ^Pat
                                      A washer that cannot handle water
                                      I have had this washer for less than 3 years and the hinge from the smaller door has rusted and broken off. How can a washing machine not handle water, and less than 3 years at that. The extended warranty that I purchased says it does not cover the item and Samsung says that since it has not been conveniently recalled, I, the consumer am to pay for repairs. So the consumer has to pay for Samsung using inferior quality metal on a washing machine.
                                      by
                                      Response from SamsungFeb 3, 2021
                                      Hello Sara! Thank you for taking the time to share your experienced. We would like to speak to you to see what assistnace can be provided as the unit is considered out of warranty We can be reached via any of the following using ticket number: 1142804279
                                      1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport
                                      2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 ^Nic Samsung
                                        Good Washer, But False Advertising
                                        the main issue i have with this washer is one of the listed features is wifi. it is not until i already received the washer and read the manual which states i had to also purchase the "smart adapter". without this accessory, you are unable to use the wifi feature. i just wish the description said a "smart adapter" is needed to use wifi feature. i also wish the description stated the "smart adapter" does not come with the washer.
                                        by
                                        Response from Samsung CareDec 14, 2020
                                        This is an important concern that we are looking into to make this information much easier to find. So we can understand where you are coming from. Thank you for the feedback. ^Pat
                                          • Recommended
                                          Bad washer - doesn't last long
                                          we've had the washer for 3 years and aren't able to wash our clothes as code 4c keeps popping up. we've done everything that the website says several times and still no fix
                                          by
                                          Response from Samsung CareDec 8, 2020
                                          I completely understand where you are coming from. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. May I suggest reaching out to a service center. You can do that by using the link below. ^Pat https://www.samsung.com/us/support/service/locations/
                                            Very covient and has a fast mode
                                            its one of the best washers i've ever own and i love it! there's a steam function that allows for my higher end cloths and when i'm in a hurry the fast mode is about 20 minutes!
                                            by
                                              • Recommended
                                              Defective Washer
                                              washer is leaking from the bottom of machine identified in trail run itself and dryer has dent
                                              by
                                              Response from Samsung CareOct 16, 2020
                                              I understand your concern and we would be more than happy to assist you. Take a look at the link below for steps regarding your dilemma. ^Pat https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001016/
                                                Showing 1-30 of 746 reviews