No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (1)
  • Why aren't these stocked?
  • February 06, 2017
  • Recommended Product

I just purchased another box. I am remodeling my 110 yr old house, which is balloon framed with rough cut oak. Nothing is level since they used plaster in the old days and it didn't matter. After stopping at every lumber yard and diy box store I found these in an article and Home Depot had them for order only. Greatest thing ever. Finished my sons bedroom and am using them for the kitchen now. Only complaint is waiting a week for them instead of in store. Should be stocked right next to the joint compound with a sign "hey, dummy, buy these, you'll never regret it"

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
  • WORKED AS INTENDED. FYI MENARDS SELLS 36 INCH FOR ONE...
  • August 14, 2018

WORKED AS INTENDED. FYI MENARDS SELLS 36 INCH FOR ONE QUARTER OF YOUR PRICE

Jeff

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Jeff
  • Saved the job
  • December 22, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I'm a DIY'er and am rebuilding our master shower as part of our bathroom renovation. I decided and had already purchased "1/2 inch" Hardibacker cement board, only to find out that it's not quite a true 1/2 inch, but a little less. This was causing problems where the Hardibacker was not meeting up flush with the bottom of the existing sunken shower walls, or with the rest of the regular 1/2 inch drywall outside of the shower. Straitflex shims are sturdy, easy to cut and staple, and are exactly 1/16 of an inch apiece, which allowed me to stack them easily on my existing studs to bring the Hardi up flush to the other surfaces. MY ONLY COMPLAINT: These things should be stocked at the store! Had to wait for them to be shipped to my house. Otherwise, the product is excellent and was a lifesaver. The big box of 100 shims was plenty enough for both of our bath renos.

Pros Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Performs Well Cons not available at local store.
  • DIY

EvanJms

Lakeland, FL
45 to 54, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: EvanJms
  • A Perfect Size For A Shim
  • August 22, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I purchased these shims because they are a reasonable size (.070, about 1/16") to correct stud alignment errors on a bathroom tile job. They also make up the difference between Hardibacker and sheetrock. They can be stacked and stapled to existing studs as desired.

Pros Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
  • DIY

Disappointed

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Disappointed
  • Quick Shipping, Product Worked Well
  • January 27, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I needed to level some rafter ties in the attic and bought a set of these shims to do so. In some places I had to put as many as 8 shims because that particular tie was 1/2" out of level from others. They are made of dense incompressible cardboard and serve well to level or plumb studs/rafters etc. Just don't forget to buy longer drywall screws as needed if several shims are used.

Pros Easy to Use, Performs Well, Economical
  • DIY

Matt

DFW, TX
35 to 44, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Matt
  • Had uneven studs and these worked perfect to level out...
  • March 06, 2018

Had uneven studs and these worked perfect to level out my drywall. 100 shims goes a lot quicker than you'd think though; I ended up needing 1.5 boxes for a 12' long wall section.

Tyler

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Tyler
  • Far better than anything else for shimming studs. Double or maybe even triple to get thicker adj...
  • December 21, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Far better than anything else for shimming studs. Double or maybe even triple to get thicker adjustment. Attach to studs with a stapler (a Dewalt stapler like DWHTTR350 that is in stock in the local H.D. store works well).

HomeDepotCustomer

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • just buy them. they are wonderful for all kinds of leveling and flattening issues. large format t...
  • February 21, 2017
  • Recommended Product

just buy them. they are wonderful for all kinds of leveling and flattening issues. large format tiles which are the rage now need perfect walls and floors and this is the weapon to get you there. i agree with everyone else.....these things should be stocked in the stores. c'mon guys. i always have these on hand at job sites and hate ordering them.

Thomas

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Thomas
  • They worked great
  • May 15, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We use less mud and turn out a better product. We use these shims on each side off butt joints and we have perfect butt joints. I have been In Drywall for over 30 years and its the the right way to do butt joints.

Pros Great Value
  • Pro

Rick

Bristow, VA, USA
45 to 54, Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Rick
  • Very handy material..I used it to even up door frames, used between drywall/concrete board to wal...
  • September 05, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Very handy material..I used it to even up door frames, used between drywall/concrete board to wall studs, etc. Too bad it isn't sold in the stores and has to be ordered. I also used them to establish a temporary consistent "stop" for my tilework around the bathtub (see attached photo)

Video & Photo

Don

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Don