No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (13)
  • Effective in function, great product.
  • January 10, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Great fan for transferring air from one room to the next. Although it's designed to be a thru-wall fan, it's assembly allows you to take it apart for different scenarios where the wall or installation requires it to be thicker/longer than a standard 4-6" thick wall. I was faced with a situation of having to bring in heat from the wood stove in the living room into my son's room - which meant I had to go thru a closet. By taking the fan apart into the two separate pieces (you do this anyways during standard installation) I was able to order 8" diameter aluminum flex-duct, use a 8" insulation duct sleeve around that duct to better keep the heat, and effectively create a path of 5ft. from one closet wall to the next. Note that the on/off switch of the fan as well as the power cord is on the blower/exhaust side end, not the suction/induction side, but the actual fan motor is on the induction side -- therefore, I had to do an additional (but really simple... I am not an electrician at all!) modification to extend the cables from the motor to the switch control using 18gauge wire. So by spending $60 on the fan and another $25 on flex duct, insulation sleeve, and wire; I am saving HUNDREDS of dollars in oil-heat savings. The oil boiler doesn't kick in till like 4-5 in the morning when the stove fire goes out, and fire is started back up when we wake, essentially running on oil for maybe 2 hours. And my son's room is basically only about 3 degrees cooler than the main room where the stove is located, so I'd say that's a pretty effective heat transfer. Prior to the installation we had about a 10-15 degree difference! I only gave it 4 stars on appearance just because to my personal taste, the plastic grills are not the prettiest things out there. The fan itself is not ultra quiet, but it's not an unbearable noise either, which I am totally happy to deal with... The sound of saving money makes up for the slight fan noise.

  • DIY

zumo

Sag Harbor, NY, USA
23 out of 23 people found this helpful
more details...
By: zumo
  • Vent an HVAC utility room
  • March 02, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I needed to vent a utility room that housed the HVAC and hot water heater. With the heat running the temperature would easily reach over 100 degrees inside the room. I installed this thru-wall vent and paired it with a Suncourt ductstat plug-in temperature sensor to turn it on and off automatically. The fan keeps the room from going over 87 degrees, which is a huge difference (fan is on high). The power cord is on the front of the fan that exhausts the air. I needed it on the other side and was able to push the cord backwards, cut out a notch in the drywall, and feed it through the wall. The fan is fairly quiet even on high. Overall, I am very pleased with its performance. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because I would have liked the high setting to be a little stronger for my purposes.

Video & Photo

  • DIY

BillFixedIt

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BillFixedIt
  • Just what we needed
  • December 15, 2007
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This little fan was the answer to our prayers. We installed a woodstove in the family room last year. Problem is, there's no cold air return to pick up the warm air from the family room and distribute it to the rest of the house. Rather than adding a duct and possibly messing up the air distribution balance of the furnace system, I put one of these fans in the wall between the family room and dining room to blow the hot air to where the HVAC system could pick it up and use it to warm the rest of the house. Long story short...last year, without this fan, it would get into the mid-80's in the family room with the woodstove going as low as it possibly could. The heat would literally drive you out of the room. With the fan, it hasn't gotten above about 73 degrees in the family room so far this year. I did have to make on minor modification. Since the thermostatic outlet that I use to control the fan has to be on the inlet (family room) side and the fan cord is on the outlet (dining room) side, I had to unhook the cord from the outlet side grille and run it along the fan body to the grille on the other side. I cut a little keyway below the fan hole for the cord to run through the wall and it looks great. Just make sure that no sharp edges rub against the cord.

sarajim

Central Illinois
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: sarajim
  • Easy installation and moves a lot of air, but could be quieter and more attractive
  • December 28, 2014

I installed this fan in less than an hour. I located my studs, cut the holes with a jig saw, and it all went smoothly. Fitting the two tubes together took a little bit of jiggling things around, but it went very quickly. The tubes are flexible, so if you have trouble getting them to seat properly, you can flex them somewhat. The fan does move quite a bit of air on the low setting. I doubt if we would use the high setting at all. I installed this to bring warm air into a cool bedroom. I don't think I would use this fan again for this application because: >It's a bit loud >It's industrial-looking . Despite the grid on the cover, the inner guts are in full view, and it doesn't look very good. I would use this fan to bring warm air into a workshop or garage, however, or someplace where the fan wasn't visible.

Pros Easy to Install, good air flow Cons loud, industrial-looking
  • DIY

Shasta

Northern California
45 to 54, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Shasta
  • Nice Fan
  • March 21, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

fan works great, only problem and it's a minor one, but worth mentioning the fan needs a reversible motor because the power cord may not be on the side you need, causing the direction of air flow to be in the wrong direction,

  • DIY

Visions

Detroit, MI, USA
45 to 54, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Visions
  • Easy to install
  • January 01, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This fan was easy to install. We have a split level and the heat from the pellet stove would not reach the living room. Installed the fan through the living room wall and this fan keeps this room at 63 degrees which is just fine for me.

Pros Easy to Install, Quiet

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Okie

Trumbull, CT, USA
65 or over, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Okie
  • Which side the cord is on
  • December 10, 2008
  • Recommended Product

I almost sent this fan back because the cord seems to have to come down on one wall only. That means the cord would have to come down in my living room, where the air would be blowing in, and my wife did not want that. So I packed it up and was about to return it with the included free shipping/return address label (a nifty time saving feature for those items that don't work out). I put it off a day. I took it out of the box again and looked at the unit more closely. Sure enough, the fan has been designed so that you can run the cord back through the wall and through a notch in the opposite cover. The cord with plug can go down either wall. If you do it that way, you have to cut a little keyhole notch at the bottom of the round hole on one wall for the cord, but it doesn't show when you put the fan cover on. This is a great design feature, and saved me from sending it back. This fan is quiet, does the job, like the other reviewers have said. And so you're fully informed, it can also be hard-wired. Great design.

SteveInTn

Way out in the country in Tennessee
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SteveInTn
  • Meets expectations so far
  • November 12, 2012
  • Recommended Product

Installed in our seasonal summer lake cottage to move heat into the addition. I've only used it a few times to date and have been happy. How it performs in a few years remains to be seen. My installer anchored the unit inside the wall on both wall sides to minimize vibration. I recommned everyone do that. Had I known the power cord could have been moved and hard wired, I'd have had that done too.

Pros Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight Cons first unit was cracked but easy replacment @ hd

GoodDad

Minneapolis, MN
45 to 54, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: GoodDad
  • Thru Wall Fan
  • May 28, 2006
  • Recommended Product

This was an extremely easy to install, it took less than 30 minutes. The tools I used were a stud finder, jig saw, drill, screwdriver and a pencil to mark the hole. I used the fan duct to mark the hole on one side of the wall after finding the studs with the stud finder and cut the hole with the jig saw. After checking the fit I used the drill with a long 1/4" bit to drill four holes through the other side of the wall on four points of the circle through the fan hole I had already cut. This allowed for perfect alignment on the other side of the wall. I used the fan duct again to mark the other side of the wall lineing up with the four holes I drilled for alignment. I then cut the hole with the jig saw, checked the fit and installed the fan with the screws supplied. Plugged it in and put the tools away. This fan works quite well both in the winter for heat circulation and in the summer to keep the air moving. Highly recommended.

Gerard

Vermont
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Gerard
  • Great Value and Great Product
  • July 10, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Title says it all! this fan is so quiet I have to check to see if it is on.

  • DIY

StepOne

Phoenix, AZ, USA
35 to 44, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: StepOne