#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Trex Trex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft Select Winchester Grey Composite Deck Board Sample

Internet #302673462

Model #WGS90000

Store SKU #1002646092

  • 1 in x 6 in x 12 in sample piece
  • Made with 95% recycled materials
  • Protected against rot, warp, splinters and termites

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 84 reviews
  • 62% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 84 reviews
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Response from TrexSupportDec 7, 2020
Hello, and thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us as well. We hope you enjoy your brand new deck for many years to come! Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Response from TrexSupportDec 1, 2020
Hello, and thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your rating regarding this product. If you have any questions or need assistance, please give us a call by phone at 1-800-BUY-TREX (1-800-289-8739), M-F 8-5pm EST. Thanks, Casey - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
  • Verified Purchase
1 person found this helpful
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Response from TrexSupportNov 30, 2020
Thank you for choosing Trex. We're sorry that you were not satisfied with your purchase. We would like the chance to discuss with you further, please feel free to contact us Monday thru Friday 8am-5pm at 1-800-289-8739. Erin, Trex Customer Care Trex
  • Verified Purchase
Very pleased with Trex....
Very pleased with Trex.
by HomeDepotCustomer
Response from TrexSupportNov 30, 2020
We appreciate your positive feedback & are glad you're satisfied with your finished project.
We hope that you will continue to enjoy your deck for years to come. Happy Holidays. Erin, Trex Customer Care Trex
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Response from TrexSupportNov 12, 2020
Hello, and thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry this product isn’t working for you. However we’d
like to learn more about your situation and what exactly happened. If you would please contact us at 1-800-289-8739 from
there we can hopefully find a solution. We look forward to serving you! Kindly, -Trex Customer Care Team Trex
  • Verified Purchase
Easy assembly, quality product, good color, and a competitive price....
Easy assembly, quality product, good color, and a competitive price. Less than excellent because the grain pattern was repetitive, not random.
by Rick
Response from TrexSupportNov 12, 2020
Hello, and thank you for being a Trex customer. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you enjoy your new decking for many years to come! Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
  • Verified Purchase
1 person found this helpful
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Response from TrexSupportNov 11, 2020
Hello, and thank you for being a Trex customer. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you enjoy your new decking for many years to come! Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
  • Verified Purchase
Really happy with the product. Very durable and looks sharp....
Really happy with the product. Very durable and looks sharp.
by TODD
Response from TrexSupportNov 11, 2020
Hello Todd! Thanks so much for choosing Trex, we hope you have a great time out on your deck! - Trex Customer Care Trex
  • Verified Purchase
Nice products but took too long to get it
Nice products but took too long to get it
by BPAT
Response from TrexSupportNov 10, 2020
Hi there! We are glad that you are satisfied with your boards, and we are sorry for the long lead times we have experienced this year due to high order volume. Thank you for your patience and for choosing Trex. - Trex Customer Care Trex
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended Product
1 person found this helpful
by Al
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
  • Verified Purchase
The product arrived early. It was in good shape. I...
The product arrived early. It was in good shape. I was very disappointed when I seemed assistance from employees who had absolutely no interest in helping me move the boards to my vehicle, much less load it. One guy said he would but quickly disappeared. Service was terrible by in store employees! ! !
by DAVID
Response from TrexSupportAug 26, 2020
Hello David, and thank you for choosing Trex decking. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Kindly, Elisabeth-Trex Customer Care Trex
  • Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
It was exactly as the picture. Love the look...
It was exactly as the picture. Love the look haven't completed the install. Still trying to get the old wood boards up. Easy to cut just ready to install.
by PATTI
Response from TrexSupportAug 19, 2020
Hello Patti and thank you for choosing Trex Select! We appreciate your business and this great review. We look forward to serving you again. Kindly, Elisabeth-Trex Customer Care Trex
  • Verified Purchase
1 person found this helpful
The product is durable and long-lasting. The problem however, is that it is long-lasting and, ove...
The product is durable and long-lasting. The problem however, is that it is long-lasting and, over time, the manufacturer comes out with new product lines and abandons the old ones. I installed an older generation Trex deck with board dimensions that matched 2x6 lumber. About six years later I decided to expand the decks and found that a matching product was no longer available. The only available material was the same width but considerably thinner and had a phony looking wood grain imprinted on one side. Adjusting between the old and the new required some machining, installing the product upside down and making adjustments to the substructure. Now, some years later, the same problem has resurfaced with a tree falling on the deck and damaging several planks. In the case of deck damage, the problem is exasperated by the fact that the damage is in the area of the old decking, which is otherwise in decent shape. Repairs have not yet begun however, given my previous experience, I foresee problems arising from the lack of availability of matching material. This is a problem that would not arise with dimensional lumber - a 50 year old 2x6 has the same dimensions and general appearance as a brand new 2x6. I only have experience with Trex however, I expect the same problem exists with other manufacturers. If you're going to install a composite deck, be sure to buy several extra planks so you'll have matching materials to repair any damage that may arise in the future. It's pretty much a sure bet that matching replacement materials will not be available five years after you install your deck.
by CompositeDeckProblems
Response from TrexSupportMar 24, 2020
Hello, Foremost we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced regarding discontinued product. Regarding product changes, Trex decking eventually transitioned from early generation composite decking to new generation composite decking. New generation composite decking is currently what most composite manufacturers offer as early generation decking lines have been discontinued over the years with product advancements. This transition occurred to increase the performance of the composite decking industry as Trex's new generation decking has a 3 sided outer shell to help prevent fading, scratching, and staining. As you have mentioned, when building a deck it is always best to buy enough material at one time for the entire build to prevent any issues locating product down the road. Again we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the difficulties and if you have any questions feel free to contact our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
    31 people found this helpful
    Easy to install and looks great!...
    Easy to install and looks great!
    by Jerry1961
    Response from TrexSupportDec 18, 2019
    Hello, We are incredibly grateful that you took the time to leave us this review. In addition we are thrilled to hear that you love our products and we hope you continue enjoying your brand new, low maintenance decking for many years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
    • Verified Purchase
    1 person found this helpful
    The color represented online wasn't even close to what was sent. Pebble Grey was more like Charco...
    The color represented online wasn't even close to what was sent. Pebble Grey was more like Charcoal Grey
    by jd
    Response from TrexSupportNov 7, 2019
    Hello, and thank you for your interest in Trex decking. We’re sorry to hear your product didn’t come as expected. However it is possible you may have received a different color sample than what was ordered, as we do have a charcoal gray decking color called Winchester Grey from our Select deck line. If you would like our Customer Care Team to review your concerns we are happy to assist, and if we find you that you did receive the wrong color sample then we are happy to send out the correct replacement. Please contact us at 1-800-289-8739 for further assistance. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
    • Verified Purchase
    1 person found this helpful
    Interested in installation to replace existing deck and expansion of...
    Interested in installation to replace existing deck and expansion of deck.
    by Jae
    Response from TrexSupportOct 9, 2019
    Hello Jae, and thank you for your interest in Trex. In addition thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. For ordering, availability, and pricing of Trex decking please contact your local Home Depot store at the lumber desk for assistance. If you have any technical, installation, or product questions about our decking feel free to contact our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 and one of our customer loyalty advocates will be happy to help! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
    • Verified Purchase
    Great looking, easy to work with, Deck Boards and 2x6 solid in Saddle color. Now lets see how lon...
    Great looking, easy to work with, Deck Boards and 2x6 solid in Saddle color. Now lets see how long it last. Enhance Composite Decking Boards
    by CC
    Response from TrexSupportOct 2, 2019
    Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. In regards to life expectancy of the material; with the Trex 25 year Residential limited warranty, and the 25 year fade/stain residential warranty you can be sure to rest easy with your brand new, low maintenance decking for many more years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended Product
    9 people found this helpful
    high quality composite and color as expected....
    high quality composite and color as expected.
    by SUSAN
    Response from TrexSupportSep 30, 2019
    Hello, and thank you for your review and feedback. We work hard to meet customer expectations, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. We hope you enjoy your brand new, low maintenance Trex deck for many more years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
    • Verified Purchase
    Horrible product. Do not buy. Surface flakes, company does nothing about it.
    Horrible product. Do not buy. Surface flakes, company does nothing about it.
    by Stepp
    Response from TrexSupportSep 16, 2019
    Hello, and thank you for reaching out to Trex. Foremost we apologize for any issues you are experiencing, however if your decking material is indeed flaking on the surface this would certainly fall under our Trex warranty. To appropriately review your concerns please contact our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 for further assistance. We look forward to speaking with you. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      9 people found this helpful
      4 Star Review
      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
      by HomeDepotCustomer
      Response from TrexSupportSep 11, 2019
      Hello, and thank you for your review. We hope you enjoy your new Trex deck for many years to come. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      • Verified Purchase
      not impressed
      When you think of composite decking, the first word from people is Trex. Like Levis used to be the word for blue jeans. I have included a picture of a cross section of 2 different Trex boards the groove is completely different. Not to mention the bit that came with the Trex brand clips fit very few of their own fasteners. Everyone of my other bits fit them fine. Makes me question quality control
      by cautiousone
      Response from TrexSupportSep 10, 2019
      Hello, and thank you for choosing Trex. If you have the Select deck boards the groove should be the same in all of the grooved board profiles. However if you have boards from 2 different deck lines then it would have 2 different groove types. In regards to the Trex Hideaway Universal Hidden Fasteners these come with our Trex Hideaway bit which is a #1 Square drive designed specifically for the fastener screw. We are not aware of any issues with this so if you are having difficulties please contact our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 so we can review the situation to best assist. Thank you for your time and we look forward to hearing from you. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
        10 people found this helpful
        The product is good, but putting the project off for...
        The product is good, but putting the project off for 2-months, awaiting delivery, sucked. I understand it was a factory issue, but Home Depot could have done a better job communicating the issue and offering an alternative.
        by HomeDepotCustomer
        Response from TrexSupportAug 30, 2019
        Hello, Sorry to hear of your project delay due to our back order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that it may have caused, and we hope you can now enjoy your brand new, worry free, low maintenance Trex deck for many years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
        • Verified Purchase
        1 person found this helpful
        The product was great. The only problem was the factory...
        The product was great. The only problem was the factory banding of the bundle was so tight it dented the sides of the boards and one of them had an 1 1/2 chunk taken out of the side.
        by Mark
        Response from TrexSupportAug 21, 2019
        Hello Mark, and thank you for choosing Trex. We’re sorry to hear one of the boards didn’t come as expected. We try to take every precaution to ensure that everything arrives safely in good condition. Please feel free to return the damaged board to your local Home Depot store, or you can contact our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 as well and we can walk you through the claim process for a refund. Hope this helps! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
        • Verified Purchase
        5 people found this helpful
        Quality of merchandise excellent. Order fulfillment and delivery extraordinarily poor....
        Quality of merchandise excellent. Order fulfillment and delivery extraordinarily poor.
        by Thomas
        Response from TrexSupportAug 19, 2019
        Hello Thomas, We are extremely sorry to hear about this, and even more sorry to disappoint a customer. If you need assistance, or have any questions please reach out to our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 to voice your concerns. We'd like to make sure that such mistakes don't happen again. We look forward to hearing from you, as your feedback makes us better. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
        • Verified Purchase
        1 person found this helpful
        5 Star Review
        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
        by HomeDepotCustomer
        Response from TrexSupportAug 14, 2019
        Hello, and thank you for being a Trex customer. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you enjoy your new decking for many years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
        • Verified Purchase
        Easy to install
        Easy to install
        by Jay
        Response from TrexSupportAug 8, 2019
        Hello Jay, and thank you for choosing Trex! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you enjoy your brand new, low maintenance deck for many more years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
          • Recommended Product
          5 Star Review
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
          by LoriandAl19
          Response from TrexSupportAug 7, 2019
          Hello, and thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you loved your Trex deck board sample, and we hope it helped you with your decking decision. Thanks, Tori- Trex Customer Care Team Trex
          • Verified Purchase
          Beautiful & Easy to Install
          Love our balcony more than ever now. This composite decking material is pricy especially with the surcharge if you don’t order over $1000 worth but still a really nice product. It’s easy to install. Arrives within 8 business days. Actual size is a little smaller. Check specs.
          by SH
          Response from TrexSupportJul 30, 2019
          Hello, and thank you for your lovely review. We work hard to meet customer expectations, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. We hope you continue enjoying your high performance, low maintenance Trex balcony for many more years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
            • Recommended Product
            1 person found this helpful
            Have used Trex before. Love working with it. ...
            Have used Trex before. Love working with it. Just wish facia boards would come in many multiple widths as what you need to cover is never the same. Overall great product though.
            by Kirby
            Response from TrexSupportJul 23, 2019
            Hello Kirby, and thank you for choosing Trex. We appreciate your feedback as well, as it is customer feedback that makes us better! Just in case this helps in anyway we do offer 2 fascia board sizes available in a 1x8", or a 1x12" in 12' lengths only. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
            • Verified Purchase
            2 people found this helpful
            Showing 1-30 of 84 reviews