#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Trex Trex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft Select Winchester Grey Composite Deck Board Sample

Internet #302673462

Model #WGS90000

Store SKU #1002646092

  • 1 in x 6 in x 12 in sample piece
  • Made with 95% recycled materials
  • Protected against rot, warp, splinters and termites

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 96 reviews
  • 74% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 96 reviews
Great product. Easily cut with sharp power saw. Minimal fade...
Great product. Easily cut with sharp power saw. Minimal fade on 3 year outside test-piece. Also less than 1/16” shrinkage (if any) on 8 feet. Two-day delivery.
by HomeDepotCustomer
Response from TrexSupportJul 16, 2019
Hello Robert, and thank you for choosing Trex! We appreciate your remarkable review and feedback. Hearing that you love our products is the best thing we could hope for. We hope you enjoy your brand new Trex deck for many more years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
  • Verified Purchase
1 person found this helpful
Replaced the old and weathered PT railing cap on a...
Replaced the old and weathered PT railing cap on a deck with Trek. Used my router to round the cut ends so it looks finished. Material looks good and was easy to work with. The new cap should last a long time.
by Don
Response from TrexSupportJul 10, 2019
Hello Don, We are incredibly grateful that you took the time to leave us this review. We are thrilled to hear that you love your new deck and are happy with the finished product. We hope you and your family enjoy it for many years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
  • Verified Purchase
Website filled with phony reviews from a promotion. Watch out. These reviewers did NOT actually...
Website filled with phony reviews from a promotion. Watch out. These reviewers did NOT actually install the product, but just reviewed it on the website! How is this allowed? Other reviewers just received a sample board in the mail. Is the company trying to hide real reviews with these fake ones just to sell the product?
by trisha
Response from TrexSupportJul 10, 2019
Hello, and thank you for reaching out to Trex! When customers install our Select deck line they may mistake the sample boards on the website for the actual decking boards that they have already installed. Hope that helps clarify your concerns. If you have any questions you can always reach out to our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
    1 person found this helpful
    So far do good.. will know more after it has been in use for a few months
    So far do good.. will know more after it has been in use for a few months
    by Joe
    Response from TrexSupportJul 8, 2019
    Hello Joe, and thank you for your review. We work hard to meet customer expectations, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you! We hope you continue enjoying your new Trex deck for years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended Product
    The new boards are about 3/16 of an inch thinner...
    The new boards are about 3/16 of an inch thinner than the older ones
    by LEE
    Response from TrexSupportJun 26, 2019
    Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! The Select decking boards have not gone through any changes to the color,style, or profile. If you are having differences in the thickness with the Select decking please feel free to contact us at 1 (800) 289-8739. Thank you, Bradley, Trex Customer Care Trex
    • Verified Purchase
    15 people found this helpful
    Trex lasts . . Our decks 19 years and counting. . . . We have three decks, using the 2 x 6 nomina...
    Trex lasts . . Our decks 19 years and counting. . . . We have three decks, using the 2 x 6 nominal installed on the West, and South sides of our Oregon house . . . the trim we did in the best cedar we could get, clear, tight grain, red cedar . . . the decks look like we just put them in . . . ALL the cedar trim is rotting, moss ridden, cracked and now must be replaced . . . we know a couple who had a cedar deck for thirty years 15 miles from us, and it all had to be replaced 4 years ago . . . we pressure wash it every few years or so, or whenever the wife threatens me, whichever is later . . . stains from the BBQ come out with a light pressure wash and sometimes I have to go over the stains themselves 2 or 3 times, but chicken, steak, pork, whatever BBQ sauce we are using at the moment, comes OUT. NOT as fond of the newer stuff with the cladding . . looks too fake to me, but the 4th side looks like what we have down already, so when I can swallow the cost, I'll replace the trim with the new stuff . . the whole mess will outlast us both . . . You can see from my photo, 19 years after install, and 3 years after I last pressure washed it, a little dirty, BUT the deck is fine, whille the cedar trim all around it is thrashed . . .
    by ItrainsinOregon
    Response from TrexSupportJun 17, 2019
    Hello, and thank yo for your review of Trex! We are glad to hear that the decking has worked well for you over the years. Trex is designed to last and we are happy that you are getting a long life out of our Trex material. Thank you, Bradley, Trex Customer Care Trex
      • Recommended Product
      14 people found this helpful
      This is the perfect product for around our pool. ...
      This is the perfect product for around our pool. It is very durable and I would recommend it.
      by Debbdoo
      Response from TrexSupportJun 9, 2019
      Hello, and thank you for sharing this great review! We are thrilled to hear that you love our product, and we hope you enjoy your brand new pool deck for many more glorious years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      • Verified Purchase
      5 Star Review
      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
      by HomeDepotCustomer
      Response from TrexSupportJun 5, 2019
      Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you continue enjoying your new Trex deck for many years to come! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      • Verified Purchase
      We returned our Trex because it is not what it...
      We returned our Trex because it is not what it used to be. The Trex we used 9 years ago was about 1.25” thick and one color all the way through. The new stuff is less than an inch thick and black in the center with a plastic coating that looks like plastic. We were very disappointed.
      by Nt59
      Response from TrexSupportMay 16, 2019
      Hello, and thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear this product does not work for you. To address your concerns even though our early generation decking was groundbreaking for its time, spills and scuffs were still known to leave a mark. With product advancements over the years we came out with a new product referred to as newer-generation decking. With that said today's Trex decks resist blemishes with an innovative, high-performance shell that wraps around three sides of our deck boards to protect it from the elements, providing resistance to fading, staining, scratching and mold. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      • Verified Purchase
      34 people found this helpful
      Sample was good...
      Sample was good
      by Kevin
      Response from TrexSupportMay 8, 2019
      Hello Kevin, and thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you love the product and hope it helped you select your favorite decking color! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      • Verified Purchase
      Sample was good...
      Sample was good
      by Kevin
      Response from TrexSupportMay 8, 2019
      Hello Kevin, and thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you love the product and hope it helped you select your favorite decking color! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      • Verified Purchase
      Sample was good....
      Sample was good.
      by Kevin
      Response from TrexSupportMay 8, 2019
      Hello Kevin, and thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you love the product and hope it helped you select your favorite decking color! Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      • Verified Purchase
      We purchased T-rex decking for our backyard over a year and a half ago and it still looks as good...
      We purchased T-rex decking for our backyard over a year and a half ago and it still looks as good as the day we bought it. My favorite feature of the decking is that it requires very little maintenance compared to regular wood decking that would need constant sanding and staining to keep the appearance as nice as t-rex. We installed the deck ourselves and it was very easy to work with and made the project no hassle. I would spend the extra money on the t-rex decking without question. I was going back and forth researching if I should use decking screws or T-rex hide away Fasteners. I am happy that I decided to use the T-rex hide away Fasteners, they clip under the T-rex decking and hide any screw holes that you see in traditional decking. T-rex has many different color options or you can custom order from the store with a Home Depot rep. Overall, great product!
      by JonS
      Response from TrexSupportApr 22, 2019
      Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! We are happy to hear that the Trex decking met your expectations and we hope you enjoy your decking for many years to come. Thank you, Bradley, Trex Customer Care Trex
        • Recommended Product
        17 people found this helpful
        Excellent product, looks like real wood!
        Excellent product, looks like real wood!
        by Angel
        Response from TrexSupportApr 17, 2019
        Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! Trex is designed to give the look of wood while having a much longer lifetime. we hope tat you continue to enjoy your decking for years to come. Thank you, Bradley, Trex Customer Care Trex
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended Product
        2 people found this helpful
        The decking looks good and was easy to work with....
        The decking looks good and was easy to work with. The only negative is the cost.
        by HomeDepotCustomer
        Response from TrexSupportApr 9, 2019
        Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! Trex is designed to be easy to install and look great for many years. we hope that you enjoy your decking for many years to come. Thank you, Bradley, Trex Customer Care Trex
        • Verified Purchase
        1 person found this helpful
        Bought this and paid the premium because it's suppose to be very low maintenance. It is. Howeve...
        Bought this and paid the premium because it's suppose to be very low maintenance. It is. However, it's always full of static electricity so every single time you touch a switch, door knob or anything metal you get shocked!!! I would never have purchased this if I had known about this problem. The company refuses to admit that there is a problem.
        by Greg
        Response from TrexSupportApr 8, 2019
        Hello Greg, While this is not common, static electricity can occur on walking surfaces in dry climates or in areas where dry winds and dust borne particles lay on the decking surface. This condition can be decreased greatly with the use of a product called ACL Staticide. The 2 products tested were General Purpose Staticide and Heavy Duty Staticide, and both are effective in greatly reducing static electricity on Trex decking surfaces. If you have any further questions please feel free to reach out to our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 and we'll be happy to assist. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
          12 people found this helpful
          5 Star Review
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
          by Mike
          • Verified Purchase
          The product was used as a top of my deck...
          The product was used as a top of my deck railing. It was straight and level, cut well with smooth edges and worked fine.
          by Eric
          Response from TrexSupportFeb 7, 2019
          Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! We are happy to hear that you are happy with your Trex material. Thank you, Trex Customer Care Trex
          • Verified Purchase
          4 people found this helpful
          Cut ends of boards show a gray interior. Solid color...
          Cut ends of boards show a gray interior. Solid color throughout would be better.
          by HomeDepotCustomer
          Response from TrexSupportNov 28, 2018
          Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! The color of the decking board comes from the composite shell that wraps the top and sides of our board. The inner core is a dark gray composite material which can be painted/stained on the ends if you are wanting to cover the dark gray. Additionally, fascia boards cause also be used to help cover up the ends to give the decking surface a more seamless look. Thank you, Trex Customer Care Trex
          • Verified Purchase
          7 people found this helpful
          This might not be the case for everyone but I just built a deck out of trex materials and was ver...
          This might not be the case for everyone but I just built a deck out of trex materials and was very unimpressed. Every board came with a 5 degree miter cut on both ends. As a result, I had to re-cut every single board to get them square. Almost every board was also badly bowed and required a crowbar to bend back into place. I am definitely concerned with how long this material will last since it was already scratched when delivered.
          by Walnut
          Response from TrexSupportNov 12, 2018
          Hello, and thank you for writing a review, we sincerely appreciate you bringing any concerns to our attention so we can best advise. Foremost all boards have a tolerance on the length to ensure they can be trimmed down into shape. We recommend cutting 3/16" off each board end before it's installed to ensure a straight and clean edge. For slight bowing this also has an acceptable tolerance and can also be installed. Just begin installing the board from one end, and as you move along the board gently push the board into line and use the Trex hidden fasteners, or screws to secure it. The use of a bow wrench can help align your boards as you secure them. For any scratched boards with visible surface damage this could've occurred during transit and we apologize for the inconvenience. With that said you can exchange any damaged boards at your local Home Depot. If you need any additional assistance please contact our customer care team at 1-800-BUY-TREX. Your business means a lot to us, so please don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
            15 people found this helpful
            I recomend only if you like spending more and the non fade feature. The flooring get dirty easy. ...
            I recomend only if you like spending more and the non fade feature. The flooring get dirty easy. You would be better off with other value brands out there and with the savings you could be grilling steaks all summer.
            by Reds
            Response from TrexSupportNov 6, 2018
            Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! We are sorry to hear you are having some problems with dirt on your decking. we do have a care and cleaning guide to help keep your deck looking clean and pristine. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us at 1-800-289-8739. Thank you, Trex Customer Care Trex
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended Product
            So far so good.. just started to put together ...
            So far so good.. just started to put together
            by JENNIFER
            • Verified Purchase
            plastic wood. what will they think of next?
            plastic wood. what will they think of next?
            by fredflintstone
            Response from TrexSupportOct 12, 2018
            Hi FredFlintsone, thank you for your review. We hope that you enjoy your Trex deck for many years to come! Kindly, Brittany Trex Customer Loyalty Advocate Trex
              • Recommended Product
              Looks terrific, but scratches very easy. Be sure your minimum distance between Joists is 16" or i...
              Looks terrific, but scratches very easy. Be sure your minimum distance between Joists is 16" or it will sag in the sun/heat of summer. Hidden fastners are worth the money, even though expensive, as it vastly improves the finished look.
              by Pm
                • Recommended Product
                24 people found this helpful
                Awesome
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This color would go perfect with the trim on my house. I can really see a nice deck made out of this product. Seems durable too. I’m not sure of the cost however. Might be pricey.
                by Bettyblu
                  • Recommended Product
                  Solid decking
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This decking is incredible, solid, and i don’t even have to stain it. This is incredibly high quality and would recommend this to anyone looking to build a deck or porch with the best material!
                  by jamesmwiz
                    • Recommended Product
                    Very thick/heavy material
                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Very, Very solid wood. I believe it's pressed wood, but by the way it looks and feels, it great quality. Will make a deck look beautiful. The heaviness of it makes me think it'd last years.
                    by RATASHIQ
                      • Recommended Product
                      High quality
                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am very impressed with this deck board and the quality and durability. The installation process is quick and easy and the videos I found were very helpful. I can't wait to expand my deck further for family and friend quality time needs.
                      by julio30
                        • Recommended Product
                        Beautiful
                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Was planning on replacing my deck and I got a sample of this decking it is beautiful the color is exactly what I wanted and I can tell by the feel of it be great a bare feet can't wait to get started
                        by Bluedot61
                          • Recommended Product
                          Great sturdy decking
                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this sample product.. it's very durable, color holds up well, resists dings or scratches.
                          by Angela1052000
                            • Recommended Product
                            Showing 1-30 of 96 reviews