#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for VELUX 22-1/2 in. x 46-1/2 in. Venting Curb Mount Skylight w/ Laminated Low-E3 Glass, White Solar Powered Room Darkening Shade

Internet #315974270

Model #VCM 2246 204CS00XW

Store SKU #1006105714

  • 10-year hail warranty against glass breakage
  • Includes solar powered pre-installed shade and remote
  • Curb mount design ideal for flat or low-slope roof applications

Customer Reviews

  • 4.8
    out of 209 reviews
  • 97% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 209 reviews
Great replacement
Replaced 3 skylights that were 35 years old. Fit was same as previous. Factory installed solar blind is a nice feature.
by
    • Recommended
    love the solar powered blinds and the skylight
    bought this last year as a replacement for an existing skylight. This is built much better than the old one, plus the light filtering solar powered pleated blind is awesome!
    by
      • Recommended
      works very well, as I'd hoped
      These skylights offered a transformative improvement to my main living space. The solar-powered blind is movable in the app, and the customer service / tech support was great at helping me make the initial setup. You will need a ladder to hit the reset button on the blinds, and also clean — my installation contractor had left on the clamps on the blinds and also the Energy rating stickers, so I needed a 7 ft ladder to clean the window (a bit of residue from one of the stickers), which is good to have anyway. I like that they are recessed from the ceiling, in line with the roof -- this way I get all the light and it does not make the room as baking hot, as it cuts down on the amount of time there is direct sunbeams coming in, but maximizes indirect light. Also the shades work like a charm to diffuse the direct light but keep the illumination. the house is so much happier for it.
      by
        • Recommended
        Terrific skylights
        I just had 2 fixed skylights installed and we are very pleased. We got the solar powered blind option on one of the skylight and it's genius!!
        by
          • Recommended
          No leaks!
          I replaced three 35-year old Velux skylights. They were in pretty bad shape with lots of leaks. The new ones are great. So far, no leaks!
          by
            • Recommended
            Improved Screen
            Purchased this to replace existing Velux skylight that was 28 years old and starting to leak. Like the white interior, helps make the area lighter then the old dark wood. Also, thank you for improving the screen. The new screen is slightly smaller then the old one, WHICH is a plus because the old screen covered then entire window area and was hard to remove.
            by
              • Recommended
              love the solar blinds
              Just had two installed in my living room and they look great.
              by
                • Recommended
                Looks great, Easy install
                Replaced an old skylight and the new Velux skylight looks great. Added the solar blinds
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Amazing effect
                  Skylight is totally clear and allows an amazing amount of light to fill the room, while blind blocks nearly all light. blind functions quickly and quietly.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    Easy to use and air tight
                    This skylight replaced a 25 to 30 year old skylight. It is much easier to open and close, more sound proof and a clearer overall sky view. I am very pleased.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Love the product, not so much the installers!
                      I bought these about 3 months ago (installation just got done 2 weeks ago :(, the product is great, however, your "Certified" installers are not. They have no clue what they are doing with your product. I suggest they go through training in order to be certified, but I do love the skylights and the blinds!
                      by
                      Response from Customer ServiceOct 1, 2020
                      We are happy to hear that you love your VELUX Skylights! In an effort to improve our business, we encourage you to email us with your comments and concerns with the VELUX Certified Installer Company. Please send those to: vcustomer.service@velux.com We do hope that you will enjoy your VELUX products for many years to come!
                        • Recommended
                        looks great!
                        Replacment skylight installed with solar blinds with roof replacement. Looks and work great.
                        by
                          • Recommended
                          Love the Solar Shade
                          Bought replacement skylight and opted for solar shade when having our roof reshingled. We really love the skylight and especially the great shade. I would have replaced the old one sooner if I knew these Velux ones were so great. THANKS!!!
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            Solar shade just what we wanted
                            As a replacement to an Velux's existing—and largest—skylight, we included the solar shade & are very happy we did. There was no elecrtricity in the high-ceiling location, so this solution was perfect. The only minor complaint was that our original Velux skylight was installed with (included with?) some interior wood trim (about 4" or so) while the replacement skylight did not have this same interior wood trim. So we are left with having to do some minor wallboard repair & painting where the wood trim was removed with the old skylight.
                            by
                              • Recommended
                              Starry nights
                              I replied my two old bedroom leaking skylights after 20 year with new Velux fixed Skylights with shades. I love them so clear and love the shades so easy to use the remotes.
                              by
                                • Recommended
                                Love my Velux Skylight!
                                We remodeled our home and replaced the Velux skylights that were installed in the early 1980's. The replacement was easy because the newer models had the same measurements as the older models.I like that Velux didn't change that aspect of the skylights. The newer skylights are such an improvement over the older models, with the use of low e glass and vinyl. I especially love the solar powered shades, they work great on two of my skylights and I will be getting another shade for my third skylight.
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  Nice features but it's not a direct replacement
                                  Bought this to replace the same model only an older version and I had to rework the ceiling.
                                  by
                                    • Recommended
                                    Twenty one years make a difference!
                                    Three Velux skylights were installed in my second floor renovation 21 years ago. They worked fine. My roof is currently being replaced and because of the number of old layers, there were issues with the old skylight installation and it was going to be easier to install new ones. I'm very impressed with the number of improved features with the new ones: painted, screens easier to insert/remove, sturdy chain mechanism, hood over the sash frame, etc., etc. The installer was impressed too. Really terrific changes over the old model. Congrats.
                                    by
                                      • Recommended
                                      Highlight of the Remodel
                                      Our remodel combined two bedrooms into one master suite, which required the removal of a 4x6 window. As a replacement, we installed two VCM 2234 manual skylights which turned out to be the highlight of the newly remodeled space.
                                      by
                                        • Recommended
                                        Modern look. Velux Active is a must.
                                        I had 3 Velux skylights with solar-powered shades installed in my living room recently. The skylights replaced two older skylights (different sizes) with manual blinds. At first, I was concerned due to the lack of blinds in my new skylights, as there appeared nothing to shield me from the sun. However, my new skylights came equipped with solar-powered shades with Active control (via a hub). The hub was easy to set up. Once set up, Velux Active senses room temperature, monitors outdoor temperature, and automatically closes the blinds up to 80% of the way. So you still get the light, but your house would not bake in the sun. It works remarkably well. Solar power means you don't have to run electric to the roof. There is an option to have the shades open/close automatically in the morning/evening at preset times, but I wish there was either IFTTT integration or a way to set up "open/close" times at sunrise/sunset + offset (e.g. +/- 1 hr). Otherwise, in the summer the shades may open too late in the AM, and in the winter they may open too early, and constant time adjustment will be required. From the outside, the skylights have a very streamlined, modern look -- not boxy like my old skylights. Very nice! Overall, I am impressed.
                                        by
                                          Seem to function well
                                          Bought these to replace 28 year old Velux that were leaking and we needed a new roof. The new ones look a lot cleaner and hopefully will last another 28 years.
                                          by
                                            • Recommended
                                            Very well made
                                            I bought these a month ago and was very impressed by the quality of construction. The solar blinds work so well, we ordered another two to replace another manufacturers skylights!
                                            by
                                              • Recommended
                                              Brand New Skylight
                                              It looks great, but I could never figure out how to install the cartridge looking thing to allow the window to open and close, so I had to wait for Monday to call twice to figure it out. Now it works just fine! No explanation on how to push the thing in firmly until it clicks and what the allen wrench is for?
                                              by
                                              Response from Customer ServiceMar 17, 2020
                                              We are happy to hear that you like your new VELUX skylight! The allen key that is included with your skylight is used to release the drive chain from the sash. It would only needed if there was damage to your skylight and the sash had to be replaced. If you have additional questions about your skylight, please be sure to call us @ 1-800-888-3589.
                                                • Recommended
                                                Quality and Convenience
                                                I replaced another brand skylight that was leaking about 3 years ago with a Velux. I just replaced a second skylight that was also leaking again with a Velux. These new Velux Manual Venting skylights are a real upgrade; they are solidly built, easy to operate and look great inside and out. Each has a solar powered blind which is easy to operate with the remote. The old skylights had string operated blinds that were difficult to reach and constantly binding up. I look forward to many leak free years with these units.
                                                by
                                                  • Recommended
                                                  Love the light!
                                                  I love my new skylight. It is installed over our shower - done as part of our bathroom remodel. It opens smoothly and the extra light is fantastic. Makes it feel like an outdoor shower.
                                                  by
                                                    • Recommended
                                                    great features
                                                    I had this put in in August 2019. Love it. It gives a lot of light and easy to open
                                                    by
                                                      • Recommended
                                                      Replacement Installation
                                                      Just replaced builder skylights in family room and bathroom. Look great and low-e coating is suitable for non direct sun. We added a solar blind for south facing skylight that gets direct sun. Mechanically works well and translucent model still let's light in while blocking direct rays. The reduced noise during rain is noticeable and a welcome improvement. Next. Let's see how they hold up...
                                                      by
                                                        Remote shade
                                                        Old Velux skylight had a Venetian blind. Like the remote controlled shade better.
                                                        by
                                                          • Recommended
                                                          Great Skylights, so far!
                                                          Had 4 Velux skylights installed in September 2019 as part of a re-roofing job. The Velux replaced Roto skylights that, in my opinion, are junk. Had 2 sets of Roto on the house over a 20 year period and the newer set were worse than the originals! Should have got Velux the second time around! Got absolutely no support from Roto! The Velux skylights are obviously superior and better engineered. They've only been on the house for about 4 months now but I can already see a big difference. They don't frost up like the Roto did and don't sweat like the Roto did. So far, so good! Hopefully, they will perform well over the winter.
                                                          by
                                                            • Recommended
                                                            Modernizes vaulted ceiling Great Room
                                                            We originally had 3 roof access skylights that had been installed by the builder 35 years ago. We had no problem with them. They were easy to open and close. We did not have any leaks throughout the 35 years. Due to their age we were required to put in new skylights when a new roof was installed in order to warrantee the roof. We are hoping that these new skylights will last another 35 years like the original ones did. We also installed the solar powered blackout blinds that look great and modernizes the vaulted ceiling overlooking our living room. The shades are a pleasure to open and close with the remote(s) that were included. Customer Service is excellent should you have any questions about the product.
                                                            by
                                                              • Recommended
                                                              Showing 1-30 of 209 reviews

                                                              Frequently Bought Together

                                                              +
                                                              +
                                                              Price:
                                                              $1215.27