No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (3)
  • Good so far
  • November 05, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Holds a lot of wood north to south. The smoke must travel to the front of the stove in order to then travel up then back to the flue. Good for burn tubes but some comes out when the door is open. Stove is so tight that you need to leave the door open to get it ripping so you get some smoke in the house. Maybe that's normal. My last stove was a VC old cast stove. Now I have the hang of it....she's a beast. I got the model with legs. Has no outside air kit unless you get the pedestal. The blower is weak. Once firebox is full, you have to be careful not to damage the burn tubes with the last log. Long burn time but not the advertised 14 hours. After 10 she's still putting heat off. By 12 you're almost out of coals.

Buckslayer

15 out of 15 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Buckslayer
  • I have had this stove for 2 years now. I absolutely love it. I now use half the amount of wood th...
  • September 26, 2017
  • Recommended Product

I have had this stove for 2 years now. I absolutely love it. I now use half the amount of wood that I used to use with my old Hurricane. I used to have to clean my stove pipe every month but I'm on 2 years and still have absolutely no build up in my pipe. When you get this thing up to operating temp and the double burners kick in there is hardly any smoke coming out. You have to really look for it. You have to follow the instructions on how to build a top down fire unlike the old ways of a bottom up fire. Love the double air vent controls. I would recommend a pipe damper though. I left mine in from my old stove and I'm glad I did. It gives you so much more air control. I spent a lot of time researching different stoves and this one had all the features I was looking for without the high cost of some fancy names out there. Dual air controls. Easy clean out with the ash bin in the bottom. I got the fan with mine. Now that I would say was a waste of money, it's noisy and doesn't move much air, I'm looking for a different option for that right now. I have a 3700 sq. ft home and it heats it nicely. I would highly recommend this stove.

lv300wb

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: lv300wb
  • Really Happy With It
  • May 26, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I was worried about some of the bad reviews, but our budget dictated this stove, and I am very happy with it. I do have a word of warning before I get in to the review: the manual specs say the stove pipe must be 19 inches away from the wall, while the back of the stove must be 17 inches minimum. Having both happen at the same time is not possible, and the installation instructions caused us to cut the hole in the ceiling 2 inches too close to the wall; when the pipe is 19 inches from the wall, the back of the stove is 15 inches from the wall, it is physically impossible to have the pipe 19 inches from the wall and the back 17 inches. We solved the problem, but people should know: when installing, MEASURE THE DISTANCE FROM THE BACK OF THE STOVE, AND POSITION THE PIPE HOLE ACCORDINGLY once you've properly measured the stove. Now, about the stove, we have a 2400 square foot house and this thing heats the entire house. I have read some of the descriptions of starting problems, i.e. having to have the door open, but I have only had this problem when the wood isn't sufficiently seasoned. The first time we fired it up, the house reached 80 degrees and we had to open windows to cool off. It functions perfectly if you follow the instructions and use dry wood; at least it has for me. I've had oak coals still red in it after 12 hours, allowing me to load it up before bed and still have coals to aid in getting a fire going in the morning. It isn't fancy and there are no frills, but it heats and looks good enough in our living room. I am very happy with it.

Pros Good Size & Weight, Easy to Use Cons installation instructions need clarification
  • DIY

Sizlunt

Auburn, California
35 to 44, Male
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Sizlunt
  • wow! lots of heat. warms house up quickly!
  • November 23, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Excellent stove..... but just make sure on your first start up you keep that square metal lid in place in middle of floor of wood stove....also be prepared as with ALL new stoves for some smoke to come from new paint...paint has to cure so your gonna get some and smell from it at all 3 burn stages.....light fire, medium fire and roaring fire....once it has gone through this, you will have a wonderful wood stove that is very efficient.

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
  • This winter since we installed the stove we have been very cozy and warm. My wife is very happy. ...
  • December 05, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This winter since we installed the stove we have been very cozy and warm. My wife is very happy. There's nothing better than waking up to a warm house. And with this stove we can load it up before bed and usually wake up with enough coals to rekindle a blazing fire in no time! Love it!

Video & Photo

Jjhemh

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Jjhemh
  • Heats our entire 4,000 sq. ft., two story ranch house...
  • November 29, 2017

Heats our entire 4,000 sq. ft., two story ranch house here in Wyoming. Of course our winters have been getting warmer the past few years and our house is well insulated, etc., but we're burning about 35% less wood than with our old wood furnace. Thank you "Mr. High Efficiency!"

LarsX

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: LarsX
  • Works fantastic!
  • January 10, 2017
  • Recommended Product

If you follow the directions building the fire, it works great. I first built a fire the traditional way. It took a lot longer to get it to the right operating temperatures. Once you get it to the right operating temperature and you get that double burn going, you get very little smoke out the chimney. When completely closed it up at night I still have good coals in the morning. Just throw some smaller pieces in and open it all up and it's right back to operating temperatures. Very efficient stove when considering fuel consumption over time and the amount of heat it puts out. Highly recommend this stove.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Vogelzang ponderosa
  • March 08, 2016
  • Recommended Product

Burns great and i get around 6 hours on a load of pine,after 8 hours all i need to do is add wood and the coals will light the wood on fire.

Hcar

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Hcar
  • Buy this stove
  • December 19, 2017
  • Recommended Product

Don't buy a cheaper stove. Spend the extra money upfront and save on loading the stove with wood and wood consumption. I bought a cheaper model 4 years ago and it eats wood. Once the coals are established I'm getting 12 hour burn times in between loading. Makes almost no ash and my fire hasn't been out since I put the stove in over a week ago. This stove works better than $2500 stoves.

  • Pro

Eric

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Eric
  • Best wood stove ever!
  • September 27, 2016
  • Recommended Product

This wood stove is a must! It's got plenty of room for wood and I'd recommend to anyone.

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...