RIDGID 6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology-R26111 - The Home Depot
Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

RIDGID

Model # R26111

Internet # 100523155

Store SKU # 370834

6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology

RIDGID 6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$114.00 / each
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # R26111

Internet # 100523155

Store SKU # 370834

The RIDGID 6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander features electronic variable speed control of 4000-10,000 OPM (no load speeds) to maintain constant speed and power under load applications. Its soft-start motor gradually increases the speed of the sander to provide an even finish. Its onboard vacuum adaptor fits standard 1-1/4 or 2-1/2 in. hoses for a cleaner, virtually dust-free work environment.

  • Includes one R2611 sander, three sheets of 80G sandpaper, one cloth dust bag, one hex key, one front pommel handle assembly and one operator’s manual
  • Powerful 4 amp motor with 10,000 RPM
  • Dual random orbit settings of 1/8 in. for fine finishing and 1/4 in. for aggressive stock removal
  • 2-position/removable handle for superior ergonomics and flush sanding capabilities
  • Lock-on button for ease during continuous use
  • Hex Grip microtexture for a secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Microfiber hook and loop backing pad for quick and easy paper changes
  • Integrated brake pad for a gouge-free workpiece
  • Lifetime service agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase (begins after the warranty period expires)
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
14.17 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
8.77 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
7.36 in 
Product Depth (in.) 
14.2 in 
Product Height (in.) 
8.8 in 
Product Width (in.) 
7.4 in 
Details
Amperage (amps) 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cord Length (ft.) 
Corded Tool Type 
Disc Sander 
Cordless/Corded 
Corded 
Dust collection type 
Bag 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
10000 
Power Tool Product Type 
Corded 
Product Weight (lb.) 
7.2 lb 
Random orbit 
Yes 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Variable Speed 
Yes 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Lifetime Service Agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 2.9 out of 5 by 81 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money I have a small cabinet shop, and i thought I would give this one a try. I bought this sander thinking it might be similliar to the $500 festool sander. I knew it would not even be close, but I thought it would do a better job than my small palm sander. Man was I wrong. I also bought a pneumatic palm sander from Lowes, and was going to compare the two. The pneumatic palm sander kicked its butt. This sander was terrible. I can buy two palm sanders, one for each hand, and they would do a better job. The sander also got real hot and had no power whatsoever. Terrible sander for the money. July 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Product constantly fails I have owned six of these sanders. They are great until you get any type of static electricity build up. Every time I have been sanding MDF and a static charge has developed, the sander stops working by the end of the job. Every sander I purchased has failed December 3, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Look like a quality tool.... Used it to sand some hardwood floors along the edges and in few hard to reach places. Sander quit after a few hours of intermittent use. The orbital drive started making noise and then quit. Home Depot replaced it. I have my fingers crossed. Why can we make tools in the USA anymore? February 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love it ! I really like all the features in this sander for a fraction of the price of other brands: - The dust collection is impressive along with a shop-vac, the skirt work very well. - I tested the scratch pattern on plastic as did Fine Woodworking Magazine and is is very homogenous. - I have no problem whatsoever with the velcro padding as other complained. - Vibration is minimum and hand position is well designed reducing fatigue. I use it heavily for both coarse sanding and finish polish on wood furniture and really love it. September 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by rigid 6 in random orbital sander Sander worked great for a couple months . Then the motor went out had it repaired then it went out again in about 2 min i also have the 5 in rigid nothing but problems the switch has went out 3 times in less than a year never again will i buy a rigid tool . I would think that a sander would last longer than the package of sanding discs i bought with it . ... October 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very disapointing! I'm a professional woodworker who looked forward to the size and power this tool was suppose to have. After less than an hour of use, I had to replace the backing pad assembly with after market replacement parts----$10 plus shipping. Another 20 minutes of use and the backing pad broke loose again. I ordered several replacement pads assuming this would be a perpetual problem. After getting another 20 minutes of use with the new backing pad I completely lost power and chucked the sander in the trash. I need tools that can be counted on and this one just isn't worth it! August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 6 in. Variable speed dual sander Best sander ever,battery is good. Machine heavy enough but not too heavy. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for house hold projects and easy to use. Cuts your project times down by half. Easy to use and having the control settings to speed up or lower your power is a plus. Light weight and versitial for anyone to use. Having the catchers helps keep clean up to a minimal. Overall this product is perfect for anyone with wood projects In mind. Highly recommend trying it and seeing is believing. April 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good But I had mine from 03/09 to 08/09 and returned it today and got another one primaily due to the fact that all others which HD does not carry are alot more $$$ so I took a chance again. Make sure you have a reciept which helped the return, HD scores a 10+ in my book due to the ease of return. Reason for return, same as the Rigid 5" ROS was the pad where the sanding pads attach to lost it's grip and pads were flying off. Tried different mfg. of the pads, new ones old ones and same result. Will see how this one holds up, keeping reciept. August 27, 2009
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Sander when it works Bought this as a recondition thought it might be a better buy. Was I wrong !! I used this sander 5 times and then it just quit. Took it to have it looked at for repair, remember recon tools from Ridgid do not have a warranty. Was going to cost 79.00 for repair I only paid 90.00. Took it home and threw it in the trash were it belonged. Shame Ridgid won't stand behind their recon tools. February 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by RUN AWAY! Thought this was the ticket for my sanding needs...I was dead wrong. After purchasing two for my small company, one quit after 4 hours use. I took it back with the receipt and got another one. After another 4 hours the other one up and quit. Took that one back as well and exchanged that one too. Now, just after 2 hours of sanding the other one quit mid job. This back and forth exchanging stuff during jobs is redundant and would be unnecessary had I purchased a better quality and more expensive tool. Buyer beware....spend the extra money and get something better than these pieces of garbage! June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad I've had mine for abot 3 yrs. The die cast metal plate that the pad attaches to broke. I'll probably buy another since it has lasted about as long as the Bosch 6" sander I bought before and paid 2.5x as much for. I design and build kitchen cabinets and furnature as a part time business so my sanders see some use. I will probably see about getting a replacement part and fixing this one so I have a spare. It would be nice if they had replacement pads in the store and I have a huge stockpile of 6" 3M microfinishing paper (good paper) and some is 6 hole while other is 8. I had to drill holes into the pad for dust collection for the 8 hole paper. This sander really does sand well. I like the results better than the Bosch. Just wish it was more durable. February 17, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This thing is garbage do not buy!!!! I went through 3 of these sanders before I finally gave up.... cheaply built.. only good thing about it is how Home depot stands behind it... but got tired of driving to the store constantly to replace it after a days worth of work! August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great sander I bought this sander for a trim project I was working on that required a bit more muscle than my hand or my B&D Mouse could provide. I bought this sander mainly becuase of the 1/8" vs 1/4" orbit selector for heavy sanding. Bottom line is that in about 45 minutes I fully sanded, including removing gouges and severly uneven edges, what I could not have done all day long with the Mouse. That's no knock on the Mouse, this is just a much more powerful tool. The tool is a little heavy for holding vertically while sanding as I did (pieces were already fastened to the wall). My arms tired after 5-10 minutes, but this tool would be fine for sanding on a horizontal surface. Lots of power, smooth operation, felt like a quality tool. I liked the 12' lighted cord for the extra length and easy identification to see if it's plugged in. Highly recommended. February 19, 2007
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good to use Easy to hold,vacuum works well.Handles over head and high on wall very well. August 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive, but has some design flaws. When this works, I really like the feel for how it handles. But, I've replaced the bottom plate once already under moderate use. Now, something broke and the plate appears to be completetly detached. I wish Rigid would come up with a fix for this design problem. January 25, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by third one going back thought I was getting a great sander.. works well for a few months, but with 2 times of week usage, the disc holding pad wears out and disc go flying..taking back my third one for that reason.. on top of that home depot does not stock coarse disc... you may find 100 grit...3 strikes now im out September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Purchase the problem with this sander was finding the sandpaper disc. . . the store had the product but not the paper. Had to go to another store for the sandpaper. Frustrating! October 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by It is no deal I bought this sander to replace a dewalt I had for 10 years + this tool made it almost through 1 heavy duty project, don't wast your money it is not the deal it seems! June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use - Bogs Down When Sanding Quiet but bogs down easily while sanding. Feels good in hand when using. Would buy better quality sander next time. June 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor quality build The first two didn't work out of the box. The third got me through the first job but broke on the second. When it works it's great but your then just enjoying the (working) exception to (it's going to break) rule. It's too bad given I prefer the 6" discs and step up size from a palm sander. I'll find something else but this just isn't the answer. August 15, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worked great...for 4 hours. Went through two of them in one day. After the first one quit, I exchanged it. After the second one quit, I returned it. No symptoms, just quit dead both times. Both quit after I came back from a break and the sander had cooled down. Those four hours each one was working were great hours, but I guess I expect more than an half-day's work from a tool. July 1, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great sander Needed new sander and since all my other RIDGID tools have been great, I went with this one. It works great. September 5, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best sander ever! Great sander! Plenty of power and versitale. Love the hook and loop design. April 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Why has t taken me so long? Years I have been using a 5 inch Dewalt orbital sander. Why didnt I switch to the 6" sander before. Lots of power and I can dial it right back on delicate sections. Love it!! April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great last long time Great for large jobs. I was amazed at how much difference the 6 inch had over the 5. February 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE AND EFFICIENT NOT SURE IF 2 SPEEDS IS NEEDED BUT VERY COMFORTABLE AND EFFICIENT . LARGE REAR PORT INSTALLS ONTO AND SHOP VAC February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Sander Worked well out of the box. Sanding discs are hard to find. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid Sander I've owned this sander for several years (at least 5 years) and have been very happy with it. Features: - Loooong cord. I believe is is 12-15' long. Ridgid does not overlook this important detail. A nice bonus is the lighted plug with a sander icon on it. This helps when you have several tools plugged into a power strip. I can quickly and easily locate the plug I want without playing the guessing game - Consistent and solid performance --doesn't clog with sawdust - Plenty of power - Does not overheat - even after 45 minutes of continuous use - 2 different orbit patterns - Variable speed with trigger lock - Support handle (the black outrigger) can be rotated 90 degrees - Durable and tough (I've dropped it several times with no visible damage) - Full Lifetime Warranty on all Ridgid handtools --Warning: This does not cover normal wear and tear but rather manufacturer's defect, not unlike other main manufacturer's warranties. So exercise care and caution I have been very happy with my sander and expect it to last for the next decade, at least. December 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good product Does what I need it for until I wear it our after a few years January 1, 2014
  • 2015-05-05T11:02:53.449-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_100523155, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


Orders for this item may be expedited for an additional fee.


Other Delivery Options:

Express and Expedited shipping options are also available. Estimated arrival times are available in checkout.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.