0648846051345

RIDGID

Model # R26111

Internet # 100523155

Store SKU # 370834

6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology

Was  $114.00
$99.00 /each

Save $15.00 (13%)

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander features electronic variable speed control of 4000-10,000 OPM (no load speeds) to maintain constant speed and power under load applications. Its soft-start motor gradually increases the speed of the sander to provide an even finish. Its onboard vacuum adaptor fits standard 1-1/4 or 2-1/2 in. hoses for a cleaner, virtually dust-free work environment.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Includes one R2611 sander, three sheets of 80G sandpaper, one cloth dust bag, one hex key, one front pommel handle assembly and one operator’s manual
  • Powerful 4-Amp motor with 10,000 RPM
  • Dual random orbit settings of 1/8 in. for fine finishing and 1/4 in. for aggressive stock removal
  • 2-position/removable handle for superior ergonomics and flush sanding capabilities
  • Lock-on button for ease during continuous use
  • Hex Grip microtexture for a secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Microfiber hook and loop backing pad for quick and easy paper changes
  • Integrated brake pad for a gouge-free workpiece
  • Lifetime service agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase (begins after the warranty period expires)
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.) 
14.2 in 
Product Height (in.) 
8.8 in 
Product Width (in.) 
7.4 in 

Details

Amperage (amps) 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cord Length (ft.) 
Corded Tool Type 
Disc Sander 
Cordless/ Corded 
Corded 
Dust collection type 
Bag 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
10000 
Power Tool Features 
Lock On Switch,Random Orbit,Variable Speed 
Power Tool Product Type 
Corded 
Product Weight (lb.) 
7.2 lb 
Random orbit 
Yes 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Variable Speed 
Yes 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Lifetime Service Agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

9 Questions26 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology
6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
6 answers

disks for Ridgid 6 inch sander

This question is from 6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology
Asked by
DHJ
January 9, 2013
Where do you find a place to purchase the sanding pads/disks for the Ridgid sander?
I would like to see the advertising include directions so the purchaser can find the place to buy supplies for each item.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Chicago
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 29, 2013
Answer: 
HI DHJ,
I'm sorry, I don't understand your question, but I'd like to help. This sander uses standard typical hook and loop (velcro) sanding discs with or without holes (The holes help draw dust off the surface and back into the dust bag or the shopvac port).
Does that help?
TTM
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Tucson AZ
Read all my Q&A
November 30, 2013
Answer: 
I am using the Diablo disks the shop carry. Their hole pattern match any sander. They work great for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Belpre, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 26, 2013
Answer: 
There are some there at the store. They are hook and loop. They are made by Diablo. I believe they are a universal pad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Broomfield, CO, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 4, 2013
Answer: 
I can't tell you exactly where to buy discs but I can say that Norton has a 6 inch hook loop disc I use on a regular basis with this machine. Talk to the pro desk or a local hardwood flooring company.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Missouri
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2013
Answer: 
Hydroflow Equipment, St Louis MO, Just ask for the right diameter and specify 6 hole disks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 10, 2013
Answer: 
Hi DHJ, your local Home Depot should have the 6 inch sanding disc in stock. If not you can order on line here. http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Search?keyword=6+inch+sanding+disc&langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053
You can order the backing pad part number 301239001 from your local authorized service center or through you local Home Depot. You can find your local service center by Read More
Hi DHJ, your local Home Depot should have the 6 inch sanding disc in stock. If not you can order on line here. http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Search?keyword=6+inch+sanding+disc&langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053
You can order the backing pad part number 301239001 from your local authorized service center or through you local Home Depot. You can find your local service center by going to the RIDGID web page. There you will find a section for service centers. If you need further help, stop by your local Home Depot. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
5 answers

A lot of reviews a bad on this sander, but the 2610 was great. Have these problems been taken care of. Thanks Chris

This question is from 6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology
Asked by
Council Bluffs, IA
Read all my Q&A
December 27, 2013
I look at a lot of reviews both good and bad. It just seems like those with problems had the same thing wrong. I love ridgid tools and was just wondering. Thanks chris.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 28, 2014
Answer: 
no... get the bosch one much better IMO
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
I havent had any problems with my sander and found it worked great. I have had about 3 months. It is very powerful and heavy duty.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
I thought it was pretty good at first but after some use it rattles like heck and needs the pad tightened every few minutes...returning it
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Tucson AZ
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
I am testing the new model (the one with darker metal parts and better grip). So far I am very happy with all the features (no dust with shopvac, vibration OK, 2 paterns 1/8 & 1/4)
If it lasts, it is a winner.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 30, 2013
Answer: 
There have been no commonly reported or known problems affecting model R26111 as a whole that we know of, to be taken care of or that have warranted any specific changes for that model.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
 
4 answers

Does this come with a scrub brush attachment?

This question is from 6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology
Asked by
krix
New York City
June 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Belpre, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 26, 2013
Answer: 
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Prescott Valley, AZ USA
Read all my Q&A
October 30, 2012
Answer: 
No, but I use a Scotchbrite pad and cut it to fit the circle for between coatings. It sticks to the hook and loop on the sander. Gray Scotchbrite works well for wood working, but you could use the courser pads for tougher jobs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Houma, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 17, 2012
Answer: 
I am not aware of any scrub brush attachment for this sander. However, that is an idea that may have merit and value.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2012
Answer: 
No, the R2611 sander s does not come with a scrub brush attachment, or a pad of that type.
Thank you
RIDGID Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Can I get a psa pad for this sander?

This question is from 6 in. Variable-Speed Dual Random Orbit Sander with AIRGUARD Technology
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 7, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 1, 2015
Answer: 
Yes you can. if you go into the rental dept they can order you one. If not Google replacement pad and they come up right away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 28, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, but for the money - $50.00.00 you are better off returning it and ordering yourself a bosch... the rigid 6in sander was poorly designed...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
Yes you can buy them. I bought from Online Industrial Supply. There are others as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-07-27 T13:08:19.162-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100523155, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 60ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 2.9 out of 5 by 91 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This thing is garbage do not buy!!!! I went through 3 of these sanders before I finally gave up.... cheaply built.. only good thing about it is how Home depot stands behind it... but got tired of driving to the store constantly to replace it after a days worth of work! August 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Soft Start\Worn out pad The soft start is annoying. If you let go for a second you have to wait for it to start again. This is hard to get used to. I only use this about 2 times a year. The sand paper is difficult to remove from the backer. You need to use your nails to get behind it or the backing Velcro comes off with it. Now after changing the paper a few times the backer is going to be needed to be replaced as others have said in their reviews. I believe the backer should be redesigned. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good to use Easy to hold,vacuum works well.Handles over head and high on wall very well. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Two Repeat Failures Bought this sander in late 2006 while building a strip canoe. It worked great, at least for two days when the switch failed. It was repaired under warranty and has worked well until Decdmber 2010 when the switch failed again. My use has been intermittent and relatively light duty, so a repeat failure does not make me happy. Unfortunately any other alternative in the 6 inch ROS with dust collection category are many times more $$$. The inconvenience of repair cost is the price to be paid I guess. December 14, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Sander when it works Bought this as a recondition thought it might be a better buy. Was I wrong !! I used this sander 5 times and then it just quit. Took it to have it looked at for repair, remember recon tools from Ridgid do not have a warranty. Was going to cost 79.00 for repair I only paid 90.00. Took it home and threw it in the trash were it belonged. Shame Ridgid won't stand behind their recon tools. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for house hold projects and easy to use. Cuts your project times down by half. Easy to use and having the control settings to speed up or lower your power is a plus. Light weight and versitial for anyone to use. Having the catchers helps keep clean up to a minimal. Overall this product is perfect for anyone with wood projects In mind. Highly recommend trying it and seeing is believing. April 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by It is no deal I bought this sander to replace a dewalt I had for 10 years + this tool made it almost through 1 heavy duty project, don't wast your money it is not the deal it seems! June 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by don't buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1st one died right after warranty ran out,something like 100 days.I am a cabinetmaker so i use often,thought maybe just got a lemon,so i got another one.lasted only 2 weeks the main shaft flywheel assembly snapped.Home depot replaced it.the new one lasted just passed warranty again.What junk!My story is not over yet 2 weeks ago i saw rigid had changed a couple of things and lower price ,i thought maybe they resolved the issues,well it just died 10 min ago,guess i was wrong. April 4, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This sander is a nightmare, and has serious faults. I agree with the many reviews regarding design flaws with this sander. It stopped working the first time I used it. I returned it to Home Depot and bought a Makita 5 in which was less money. Okay, it does not have the bells and whistles this Rigid poor excuse for a sander says it has, but it works really well. Don't waste your money on the Rigid sander. Oh.. and the instructions are worthless as well. September 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use - Bogs Down When Sanding Quiet but bogs down easily while sanding. Feels good in hand when using. Would buy better quality sander next time. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by gets the job done I got this sander to finish table tops and large panels. It will definitely get the job done. Having good sanding discs is a must. I use Klingspor discs. I like the dust collection because I can hook this up to my Rigid shop vac with the 2" diameter hose. Getting the continuous on switch to engage can sometimes be a little tricky. The sander will work well. I like the long cord also. It is a good value for a 6" sander. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Sander, Pad is sensitive to abuse I use this sander in my boat maintenance business. I have used higher priced models in the past and this sander is by far my favorite. The only down sides are that it is quite heavy with a vacuum hose attached and the will not take much abuse. Accidentally sanding without sandpaper will ruin the hook for the Velcro style hook and sand paper. Also is you try to sand something to hard like a bolt or other pointy object it can burn the pad creating a hard ridge. March 11, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Why has t taken me so long? Years I have been using a 5 inch Dewalt orbital sander. Why didnt I switch to the 6" sander before. Lots of power and I can dial it right back on delicate sections. Love it!! April 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great until you need a replacement pad Some of you don't like holes in your paper.. They really don't have any purpose. But hard to find without. Bona and norton both have 6 inch hook loop. Ask the pro desk. Also the pad wares out and is hard to replace. You have to order from manufacture. Runs strong and the weight helps it be more aggressive for floor sanding. This machine is not a floor sander it's only good for fine sanding not rough sanding. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great sander I bought this sander for a trim project I was working on that required a bit more muscle than my hand or my B&D Mouse could provide. I bought this sander mainly becuase of the 1/8" vs 1/4" orbit selector for heavy sanding. Bottom line is that in about 45 minutes I fully sanded, including removing gouges and severly uneven edges, what I could not have done all day long with the Mouse. That's no knock on the Mouse, this is just a much more powerful tool. The tool is a little heavy for holding vertically while sanding as I did (pieces were already fastened to the wall). My arms tired after 5-10 minutes, but this tool would be fine for sanding on a horizontal surface. Lots of power, smooth operation, felt like a quality tool. I liked the 12' lighted cord for the extra length and easy identification to see if it's plugged in. Highly recommended. February 19, 2007
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Sander Ever Had I own three other sanders - finishing, belt and a large drum sander. This one is my favorite. If you are serious about woodworking this is the first and last to buy. I have done furniture and floors with it, my friends are using it, and still running. Had it for about three years. The pad is a bit worn but still capable of doing the right job. Very efficient and aggressive sander for finishing jobs. Good material removal. June 24, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best sander ever! Great sander! Plenty of power and versitale. Love the hook and loop design. April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor product support I used my sander for a short time before the sanding pad wore down. Home Depot does not stock them and Ridgid's warranty is not easy to use nor practical. A new pad thru this website is $42! Ridiculous. A poorly designed part needs additional supplied with the product and availability at the store. I bought a 2 pack on another website for less$ April 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Design I used sander for two weeks then the bottom rubber piece that is used to attached the sand paper to just fall off. It has 4 screws that hold that part to the rest of the assembly. It appears that the four screw are not enough to properly hold the bottom piece together. The holes on the rubber where the screws are attached eventually got so enlarged that it could no longer hold bottom anymore and just came flying off. November 10, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid Sander I've owned this sander for several years (at least 5 years) and have been very happy with it. Features: - Loooong cord. I believe is is 12-15' long. Ridgid does not overlook this important detail. A nice bonus is the lighted plug with a sander icon on it. This helps when you have several tools plugged into a power strip. I can quickly and easily locate the plug I want without playing the guessing game - Consistent and solid performance --doesn't clog with sawdust - Plenty of power - Does not overheat - even after 45 minutes of continuous use - 2 different orbit patterns - Variable speed with trigger lock - Support handle (the black outrigger) can be rotated 90 degrees - Durable and tough (I've dropped it several times with no visible damage) - Full Lifetime Warranty on all Ridgid handtools --Warning: This does not cover normal wear and tear but rather manufacturer's defect, not unlike other main manufacturer's warranties. So exercise care and caution I have been very happy with my sander and expect it to last for the next decade, at least. December 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Works good when it works Mine has failed twice. I did not read the warranty close enough and failed to properly register it. HD tightened some loose screws the first time free of charge but shortly after that the output shaft and screw broke and it's beyond economical repair. Definitely a design flaw with that tiny main shaft. I loved it while it worked though. July 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by third one going back thought I was getting a great sander.. works well for a few months, but with 2 times of week usage, the disc holding pad wears out and disc go flying..taking back my third one for that reason.. on top of that home depot does not stock coarse disc... you may find 100 grit...3 strikes now im out September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Replacement parts not readily available In general, I love Rigid tools. They are very affordable and usually incredibly durable. A couple of months ago I bought this sander to refinish my deck. This tool has tremendous power. Takes a while to figure out how to use it with skill. The first surprise is that the sand paper selection for this sander is extremely limited compared to competitor 5 inch sanders. In the last phase of my project the micro fiber hook and loop pad wore out, and it would no longer hold a sanding disc. You can't buy the pad on-line or in Home Depot stores. You have to call Rigid to even get the phone number and the part number to order, and you can only order it during normal business hours mon-fri. Ironically, HD stocks replacement pads for other mfg 5 inch sanders, but not the 6 inch Rigid!!!. If I had to do it again, I'd buy someone else's 5 inch machine who's replacement parts are readily available. August 15, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great last long time Great for large jobs. I was amazed at how much difference the 6 inch had over the 5. February 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE AND EFFICIENT NOT SURE IF 2 SPEEDS IS NEEDED BUT VERY COMFORTABLE AND EFFICIENT . LARGE REAR PORT INSTALLS ONTO AND SHOP VAC February 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Sander fails and lifetime warrenty is a joke I made the mistake of buying two of these sanders. Both have failed. When returned for repair under the lifetime warrenty, Rigid indicated they were "not covered". I made the mistake of buying 7 Rigid products. Some they managed to get registered, others, the materials I sent in have "disappeared into the either". The companies position on this boils down to "to bad, so sad" February 1, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I was pleasantly suprised by the performance of this sander. I was choosing between the 5" and the 6" and found that the 6" was many times better. This machine cuts with (course) and smoothes (fine) the wood flat like no other sander I have used. No down pressure is needed and I have found no circular patterns in the wood. It balances well on the wood and is easy to handle. I also like the dust collection port. October 30, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by One major weak link to otherwise great product. I was hired to help restore a mid-century modern post and beam house designed by a famous architect. Repairing rot on the beams is my main job and required that I purchase a random orbit sander. I am pretty much brand loyal because of my experience with my other Ridgid tools, so I went straight for the Ridgid. I loved working with it right out of the box. Plenty of power, The choice of 1/8 or 1/4 diameter orbits is a great feature for the work I'm doing. I had a little trouble with the "Lock-on-Button" as I was having trouble avoiding the trigger and kept accidentally deactivating the lock. I have figured that out now. My big problem with this product is that after only using it for 10 days, the hook and loop pad has worn out. Based on my experience, comparing info with my co-workers who use different brand and the reviews I've read about this sander, it has a problem with this. What makes the problem worse is that the replacement pad is not available where I purchased the tool, nor have I been able to find it elsewhere. I have ordered 3 of them from an online source but they are special order and I won't likely have them for 2 weeks! I'm dead in the water. I expect better from Ridgid and based on my other experiences with your products I know Ridgid expects more from itself, too. At least I hope they do! Without the problems I've mentioned, I would rate this sander 4 stars, at least. The weak quality of the hook and loop material brings it down to a 3. The fact that the replacement part is not available at Home Depot, or anywhere else that I've been able to find, is inexcusable and since I'm screwed at the job site until my replacements come, the rating now has gone down to 2. Come on Ridgid! Fix this! August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Sander Worked well out of the box. Sanding discs are hard to find. January 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worked great...for 4 hours. Went through two of them in one day. After the first one quit, I exchanged it. After the second one quit, I returned it. No symptoms, just quit dead both times. Both quit after I came back from a break and the sander had cooled down. Those four hours each one was working were great hours, but I guess I expect more than an half-day's work from a tool. July 1, 2012
  • 2016-07-27 T12:37:35.723-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_91, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_100523155, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 99ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT