Model # FG2215H2MICBL

Internet #100644802

Store SKU #383321

Rubbermaid 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
0071691413622

Rubbermaid

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote

Was  $8.97
$6.97 /each

Save $2.00 (22%)

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rubbermaid designed this 16.5 in. H x 23.9 in. W x 15.9 in. D Roughneck 18 Gal. Storage Tote to keep items out of the way and free up valuable floor space. This container can withstand areas with harsh temperatures of hot and cold, such as attics and basements. Roughneck containers are made with a durable material that's built to last.

  • Storage capacity of 18 Gal.
  • Sturdy polyethylene plastic construction
  • Room for all your linens, tools, sports equipment and more
  • Snap-on lid for secure storage
  • Built-in handles for safe transportation
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

17 Questions30 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
18 Gal. Roughneck Tote

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
 
4 answers

What type of plastic is the bin constructed from? Is it archival quality?

This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
Asked by
rth
January 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Westminster, SC 29693, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 20, 2014
Answer: 
Don't know the chemical composition of the container. The plastic is somewhat soft but very tough. Have used them for about 20 years to store and transport just about anything, clothing, tools, stuffed animals, business documents. Never had any problems.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
monterey park
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
Roughneck containers are made with a durable polyethylene material for a ... Durable storage that will keep your things safe from the environment; Sturdy, built-in ..... a serial number printed on the label and imprinted into the plastic of the item.
That is a YES!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 8, 2013
Answer: 
They are made with a durable (yet slightly flexible) Polyethelene rubber/plastic that can take a beating, withstand moderate UV exposure, and is sturdy enough to handle stacking the totes with a full load.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 9, 2012
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in our products!
The Roughtote storage boxes are made from low density polyethylene. They are designed for household use and have not been tested for archival properties, so we do not recommend them for specific preservation applications.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
 
3 answers

Will this take on water if it floods?

This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
Asked by
Baton rouge
Read all my Q&A
September 9, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 9, 2016
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in our products! The 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote is made of polyethylene material for durability and strength. We cannot guarantee protection against acts of nature such as a flood.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Arizona, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 9, 2016
Answer: 
Its water tight up to the lid. However every year they make these a little thinner than the last. Your lucky to get a year out of them before they crack. Also due to the thin plastic you wont be able to carry them around with much weight in them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

September 9, 2016
Answer: 
This will fill with water if it is submersed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
 
3 answers

Will these hold water?

This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
Asked by
Lancaster CA
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
I need something this size for my swamp cooler to drain into.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Palmdale
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2015
Answer: 
Yes they will hold water. I use mine for a pondless waterfall that i have had for 3 years. No problem. I drain it in the winter. Mine is in the ground with earth holding the sides. If you were going to use this freestanding I would double it.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
October 27, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, you can soak items in a water bath in this tote or keep oily items contained.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for inquiring about the Rubbermaid 2215 Roughneck Tote. Rubbermaid totes are designed to hold household items, not liquids. The pressure of the water pushing out on the sides will cause the unit to break.
+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
 
3 answers

Is there a discount for purchasing 20 Rubbermaid 18gallon totes? model FG2215H2MICBL

This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
Asked by
DORK
New Jersey
October 3, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
monterey park
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes check on line shopping for discounts on multiple item purchase.
+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 17, 2013
Answer: 
They sell a 12 pack, but they are the same exact unit price as the individual. Currently $8.47 as of 9/17/13
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

October 4, 2011
Answer: 
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question. This item is an in store only item. To obtain pricing, discounts and availability you will need to contact your local Home Depot store with inquiries.
To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found at the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at
Read More
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question. This item is an in store only item. To obtain pricing, discounts and availability you will need to contact your local Home Depot store with inquiries.
To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found at the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
Read Less
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
2 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:05:26.635-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100644802, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 25ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 326.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cracked while sitting in temp controlled storage I have about ten of these containers in the 3-gal, 14-gal and 18-gal sizes. All of them have been stored in a climate controlled storage unit for about 5 years and every one of them have split of the lids have cracked. So much for the 10-year guarantee.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy to protect Videotapes I am cleaning out my parents house, but need to protect a number of video tapes. To date I have purchased the 18 gal Roughnecks. Glad I did. Superior over cardboard. Sturdier and easy to move around.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK overall Disappointed that the handles don't seem to lock as tightly as I'd hoped, but overall the quality of the storage boxes is OK. Pretty much what I expected except that the covers don't fit as snugly.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I needed something that had more depth to it, without being bigger in circumference (still being ... I needed something that had more depth to it, without being bigger in circumference (still being manageable for my craft shows). This fit the bill. It is well made and sturdy.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size and sturdy! Was able to find exactly the size I needed directly from Rubbermaid... Using them to organize my husband's workshop supplies so needed something sturdy.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for moving I got these to put yarn in When moving across country. They were easy to fill and recognize when unloading.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed Bought this to store my robotic pool cleaner outdoors. It is perfect. Highly recommend
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 18 Gal Roughneck Tote Great product and great service with Home Depot in Benton Harbor, thank you!
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not the quality of my older ones. Great for storage. Great for storage. Great for storage.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good container lid closes tightly to keep out insects (moths especially).
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and outstanding Home Depot experience I bought 10 sets (tote+lid) of these 18-gallon Rubbermaid totes on sale at Home Depot because of their outstanding durability in a hot attic (other cheaper brands had cracked their lids). When I got home, my wife found that the new lids fit two other Rubbermaid totes (10 gal and 18 gal) that we had filled long ago but were missing the tops. She snapped up 2 lids from the batch of ten totes that I had brought home and put them on the old totes to seal them. I tried to buy some replacement lids online but found that you had to buy them in packs of 10 and the unit cost was more expensive than what I paid for a full 18-gallon tote at Home Depot. I used chat on the Home Depot website to ask for a price on just a lid and the chat person said that they didn't have a price and suggested that I visit my local Home Depot and ask the manager of the storage container department if he could sell me two lids. I was shocked when the Home Depot storage department manager said that he couldn't sell them to me….but he gave me 2 lids and walked me out to the store exit. On the way, he explained that many people buy the totes but forget (or don't care about) the lids so they always have extra. Kudos to Home Depot for such a customer-friendly response! Lowes is closer to where I live but Home Depot will now get more of my business!!!
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, strong, seals well Like most reviews for these my experiences have been positive. These and the large 54 gallon roughneck are the best bins I have used(I am a bit of a bin freak so I have a good variety). They stack well, last forever and the way the lid sits provides the best seal. I have a few that have done probably 150,000 miles in my truck bed which are still going strong and they get tossed around quite a bit. They stay pliable in the cold and have not cracked down to -5. One huge plus for is that the blue tarp reusable bags that you get at Ikea fit over these things like a glove. While the bags are not seam sealed, the combo of the good seal of the lid and the Ikea bag have proven to be to watertight in my truck bed even in heavy rain for over 300 miles.
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, but there is a market for lids I've got a dozen of these. Lids are cracking on several. It's a commodity item, so I haven't kept the receipts. It's way too much trouble to take advantage of the warranty. However, it is extremely wasteful to throw out the whole bin just because of the lid. There is a market for lids! Rubbermaid, could you please respond to this demand by supplying lids on their own? Isn't that how capitalism works, suppliers respond to demand?
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great container, poor lid. I have a dozen 18 gal. containers for xmas storage. Containers have held up well, but the lids on half have broken up after 6 years storage. Obviously a different material was used. I can't find a source for replacement lids.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from extremely durable! I have used the 'roughneck' storage containers for a number of years. I am a teacher and store books in a facility that is not climate controlled. The books are always in great shape when I open the containers each year. I was disappointed that I could not find a store in my area that sells the 'roughneck' division. I am so glad I was able to order them on-line!
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I shipped a motorcycle engine (95 lbs.) in one of these. put a board in the bottom and drilled holes to bolt up the top to the bottom and took it to greyhound that way. made it safely cross country. If it's strong enough for that it can do any household storage job I could ask.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reduced Quality We apparently had a previous version and loved them. But these are not as good as before. They are OK but wouldn't purchase them again. They are thinker and the lids do not stay closed as well.
Date published: 2015-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good storage product I like their sturdiness & stackability, however these containers have one major drawback. The outer surface is so slick that the typical 3X5 blank Avery labels found at office supply stores won't stick to them for very long. I tried wiping the label area first with 'Goof', then applying an Avery label, also using additional clear packaging tape around the borders of the label. Even after doing that they still stick poorly and eventually peel away. As a result, since these Roughnecks aren't transparent containers, it's hard to know what's inside unless you write on them with a black permanent marker, which seems a poor solution if you fill them with numerous items and routinely change the contents, as I do. It would be great if Roughneck would design and sell blank labels that have at least the same 'stickiness' as their original UPC code label. However, even these original labels will eventually peel away from the super-slippery Roughneck surface. I’ve asked at several Office Supply stores and they have no such 'extra-sticky' label for sale.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Storage, EZ stacking Roughtotes and the entire line of rough stuff from Rubbermaid is designed for the clutz in us all. I've had huge storage problems over the years, moving stuff from one attic to another. I've dropped these out of an attic to a floor with no damage. I've drilled holes in them and bought dozens of small locks to keep prying eyes out of them. You can store heavy papers or light weight xmas items and count on them to be protected. In Florida storing things in the heat can be brutal. The roughtotes held up for years while other brands cracked or broke. They are ez to stack, just take care to put the heavy totes on the bottom. Even then, they will not crack but might bend. Colors are limited but some different ones can be found so you can color code your storage. Roughtotes are one of the best items rubbermaid makes!
Date published: 2009-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dimensions not accurate Product is great but product dimensions are not the sizing at the bottom of the container ; they merely reflect the opening at the top of the container , therefore won't fit items that would be accomodated by the so called size because of tapering of the container from top to bottom .
Date published: 2011-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roughneck These totes are awesome. I like the way the lids seal on the totes. I like the way the totes stack. I am glad the totes are still available at Home Depot but very disappointed they are not available at any other stores.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these totes After remodeling the house which meant moving out and then moving back in after it was done, we had to box up all of our stuff. Most of that was done with actual boxes with a few of the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes. After we moved back in, I built shelves that would fit these totes which meant that we were pretty much committing to buying more of these. Luckily, our local Home Depot had a green version that must have been discontinued as it was a few dollars off. We bought these, filled them and came back for more of the regular priced ones as the green ones were gone. I like the fact that I can probably put 50lbs of stuff in one without the tote having any problem at all. The lids are a little tricky to get on but once one gets the hang of it, they go on pretty easily and seal really well. They are also stack-able although with my shelving system, I don't really need to. Plus, these come with a 10 year warranty which is nice to have for something as simple as a tote. Overall, I would much rather spend the extra few dollars on these compared to the cheaper and less robust plastic storage totes.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy tubs I bought 20 of these tubs to replace the packing boxes I bought from Uhaul. The boxes are collapsing and I am putting everything in tubs for storage. They are the perfect size.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great garage storage containers Great for pottery, garage items, and tools storage.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not the same tote as 10 years ago... seems theyre making this with a lighter flimsier plastic than they used to, makes stacking high less possible....dissapointing, but still happy to be able to get the product
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great item with great pickup We ordered these from your store because the price was so much better than our other searches found. Plus, we ordered so that we could just load up when we arrived to get them, and they were neatly stacked, marked and ready to put into our vehicle. Cannot say too many fabulous things about the item, the price and the service.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outlasted smoke & water damage! :) I had a house fire 3 weeks ago. :( My dryer motor caught on fire and it went into the walls and ceiling! My hundred year old house house was in flames within minutes. There was a lot of smoke and water damage. I am thankful to say anything that was in Rubbermaid containers were unaffected! Right below the fire in my basement was my high school year books safe & sound in the Rubbermaid tote. Everything around them even the tote below that wasn't Rubbermaid were soaked and ruined, but they were safe and sound! I will only buy Rubbermaid containers from now on!! I highly recommend that you do too! Jen Deline
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Durability Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lid Does Not Stay On Securely Bought the 18 Gal. Rubbermaid Roughneck Tote on sale at Home Depot for use in a storage bin. Was disappointed to discover that the top does not have a secure fit at all. Even the cheapest rivals to this product usually have secure fits with the top. Simply stated the top does not have a snap tight fit, and stays rather loose, which is a bit odd that Rubbermaid would produce a product like that. There were several of these on display and thinking that perhaps it was just a bad piece, I tried putting the top on at least 4 of these totes, and every one had the same ill fit of the cover. If you are going to be moving your tote around often, this is NOT the tote for you. If you intend on leaving it in one spot and putting other totes on top of it, you can get away with buying it.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lid doesn't fit storage perfectly I was on the market for storage, and someone recommended me this product. I bought 8 of them. When I was at home, I put the lid on every storage, 5 lids would not fit storage box perfectly (they did not lock at all - either the lids were too small or a bit too big). I went to the store to exchange them. Please make sure to put and lock the lid to the storage box to see that they fit before you leave the store to prevent you from having this problem. When I was at the store to exchange this products, I met with 2 customers who had similar problem.
Date published: 2010-01-20
  • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_326
  • loc_, sid_100644802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 91ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT