Model # A9FS8R1

Internet #202078676

Store SKU #105770

Ryobi Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)
0033287147540

Ryobi

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
$1997 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
Make clean holes in wood with the RYOBI Forstner Bit Set. It includes eight bits with 3-flat shanks to resist slipping. An X-Wing design gives you high visibility and precision cutting.
  • Helps you quickly make clean holes in wood
  • Great for making flat-bottomed holes
  • X-Wing design for greater visibility and precision cutting
  • 3-flat shanks
  • Target marks are viewable at 700 RPM
  • Includes 1/4 in., 3/8 in., 1/2 in., 5/8 in., 3/4 in., 7/8 in., 1 in. and 1-3/8 in. bits

Product Overview

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
Model #: A9FS8R1
Sku #: 105770
Internet #: 202078676

Make clean holes in wood with the RYOBI Forstner Bit Set. It includes eight bits with 3-flat shanks to resist slipping. An X-Wing design gives you high visibility and precision cutting.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Helps you quickly make clean holes in wood
  • Great for making flat-bottomed holes
  • X-Wing design for greater visibility and precision cutting
  • 3-flat shanks
  • Target marks are viewable at 700 RPM
  • Includes 1/4 in., 3/8 in., 1/2 in., 5/8 in., 3/4 in., 7/8 in., 1 in. and 1-3/8 in. bits

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
1.97
Product Height (in.)
5.59
Product Width (in.)
8.27

Details

Bit Material
Other
Drill Bit Type
Forstner
Drill Bit Type(s) Included
Forstner
Individual/Set
Set
Number of Pieces
8
Returnable
90-Day
Self-Feeding
No
Shank Style
3-Flat
Shank Style
3-Flat
Tools Product Type
Power Tool

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
1.97
Product Height (in.)
5.59
Product Width (in.)
8.27

Details

Bit Material
Other
Drill Bit Type
Forstner
Drill Bit Type(s) Included
Forstner
Individual/Set
Set
Number of Pieces
8
Returnable
90-Day
Self-Feeding
No
Shank Style
3-Flat
Shank Style
3-Flat
Tools Product Type
Power Tool

Questions & Answers

will this forstner bit set work with my ryobi hand drill?

Asked by: Dency
Yes, it should work fine in your Ryobi. I used a 1/2" dewalt cordless with the 1 3/8" bit without a problem
Answered by: Ben
Date published: 2017-02-21

Im very new to the Ryobi trim router or any router in that case and i want to know if this bit set can be used with it. Thanks in advance

Asked by: Newdiyer
Hi, Newdiyer. We would suggest getting a router bit set. An example of one can be found at the link below. Best regards, Lynn from the Ryobi team. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Ryobi-Router-Bit-Set-15-Piece-A25R151/205626187
Answered by: Ryobi Tools Team
Date published: 2017-08-06

diameters in set

diameters in set
Asked by: cannoneer
1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 5/8", 3/4", 7/8", and 1"... then a 1 3/8"...
Answered by: Fluffyjo
Date published: 2017-05-24

Do forstner bits come in the 1/4' siza?

Asked by: Larry
This is the one that I got.
Answered by: Fluffyjo
Date published: 2017-03-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_15, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 126ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece) is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 152.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, exceed my expectations.... Great value, exceed my expectations.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well crafted bits and worked well. Well crafted bits and worked well.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Very helpful... Easy to use Very helpful
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It performed as expected. It performed as expected.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hobby use in my house... Hobby use in my house
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doing fine so far. Doing fine so far.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They work fine. They work fine.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works great!... It works great!
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased!... Very pleased!
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tools.... Great tools.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good ... Very good
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible The cutting edges of these bits are very poorly machined. There are divots all along the cutting-edges and the bits do not cut well. This was a factory-sealed bit-set, so I know that it was not a returned product. The attached photos are the bits BEFORE any usage, i.e. straight out of the box!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit set for the price. They make clean holes with lots of chip clearance. They have a hea... Great bit set for the price. They make clean holes with lots of chip clearance. They have a heavy point to keep the bit on target when starting to drill.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless Right out of the package I noticed that the cutting edges were very jagged and dented and had burrs (see image). The three largest bits were dull requiring a ridiculous amount of force to get through soft pine. There was no point in trying the other bits. Completely unusable. They're going straight back to the store as soon as I find the receipt.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For occasional use ...the set is a great value. I'm not sure what other buyers expect when the set is priced less than a single high quality bit ($17 when I purchased the set), but for occasional use where tolerances are non-critical you can't beat this set. If you're expecting more plan on spending a few hundred dollars putting together a set of appropriate bits.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for. These were really dull, inefficient bits. Unable to cut through soft ... You get what you pay for. These were really dull, inefficient bits. Unable to cut through soft wood. I would only recommend them for drywall or plastic or thin plywood.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, awesome value I needed to make a series of 1 3/8" holes in cabinet doors. This set includes bits up to that size, so I was able to purchase this for about the price of a single 1 3/8" bit. Not only did it cut quickly, I had zero issues which slippage. And despite everyone saying not to - I used them with a hand drill. I can only imagine how well they work in a press!
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I expected After reading the previous reviews I have arrived at the same opinion as several. Not very sharp, but under the conditions and the price it is what it is. A better set will be something on the list in the future. Not disappointed though, I expected them to not be premium quality for the price. Used to build a picnic table. Had to recess holes where the carriage bolts were placed in legs and supports. Worth the 19.00 wouldn't use on fine woodworking projects. Hope this helps.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from They look like forstner bits These bits cover a good range of sizes and come in a case to keep them organized. They will make fairly clean sided holes in soft woods but do so more through friction than actual cutting. The cutting edges are very dull and full of nicks and even roll overs. If I had to guess I would say they receive only the initial grinding step and none of the additional honing steps involved in the making of better forstner bits. I bought this set because the store was out of the size of Freud bit that I needed for a project and I figured these were better than using a paddle bit, I was wrong. Just for kicks I tried two of these forstner bits head to head against two of my older Freud bits and these take 8-10 times longer to make the same depth of hole in the same yellow pine stock. I ended up cutting my stock wide, using a paddle bit for the wholes, and ripping the face flat on the table saw before trimming to final dimensions. If you have to make only a few flat bottomed holes in soft lumber very occasionally you could probably get by with this set. I wouldn't even consider using them on hard woods.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What hinge? This is a great set of bits. Cuts are relatively quick, quiet, and accurately bored. The statement, 'You will never have a hard time finding your target mark again!' may apply to most people, but not to me. I managed to miss the mark twice in a line of several holes. However, visibility of the mark is superior to other forstner bits. As with any forstners, some of the bits should only work at lower than usual rpm--adjust drill belt or speed accordingly. If you don't the bits will smoke & squeal like a stuck pig on steroids. The storage box is quite well made and useful, except that mine came with no hinge pins. A couple of small sheet metal screws fixed the problem, but a company with Ryobi's reputation shouldn't allow that to happen. Also, It's difficult or impossible to remove all the advertising & promotional illustrations from the case. Sitting on my shelf, it looks like I shoplifted it. But I didn't, and the bits don't care. All in all...a great set at a great price.
Date published: 2010-09-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dull bits in general I agree with the other two recent posters that these bits are dull, right out of the box. Maybe the manufacturing process is totally hit and miss, or maybe the quality has declined. With all of the good reviews, I was surprised how dull these bits were. I had always bought Freud before--so I was used to good, sharp bits when newly purchased. Will get to work sharpening these and see if they can be improved.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dull, dull, dull I needed to drill two 1/2" flat bottom holes in two douglas fir sliding doors. I bought this kit thinking it would be nice to have the other sizes. It was a complete waste of money. The brand new 1/2" bit was so dull right out of the (sealed) box that I could barely drill the holes. The holes were so ragged, it would have been cleaner to use my regular 1/2" drill. What a poor quality bit. This set is absolutely junk. Save your money and buy something else.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs Work Before Being Used My set had bad burrs along the cutting edge and required honing before being used. I used a diamond file to remove the burrs and the bits should be fine. Kinda like buying from Harbor Freight, as cheap as they were I knew I'd have to work on them first. Took 10 minutes but required a SMALL diamond file.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't had a chance to use these bits yet since I am working on another project that doesn't r... I haven't had a chance to use these bits yet since I am working on another project that doesn't require the use of these bits. I'm in the process of finishing my garage so I can use it as a shop when I pull one or both of the cars out. I gave it 5 stars even thou I haven't used them yet. They look like they will do the job I plan to use them for. I just bought a new drill press and wanted these bits to use with it. It's a nice starter kit for a new drill press owner.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal Why pay almost the same amount for just one size competitor's bit when you can get this Forstner package of multiple sizes for a buck or two more! I needed to use this style bit to countersink 1 and 3/8" holes for mud sill plate 8" j-bolts and 1/2" washer/nuts. I used a separate 5/8" drill bit after the Forstner bit to drill a clearance hole for J bolt. Awesome results. Shed sill plate footprint for the wall bottom plate framing is a perfect bed for a shed wall.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lower sizes will burn! Just picked these up the other day to drill through red oak. I know red oak is hard but the 3/8" bit was more like a wood burning tip. I adjusted my speed according to the bit size in my drill press and they smoked right away. The other reviews on the quality and how these bits were sharper are accurate. The larger 7/8" bit worked great it for about three holes and then it too began to burn. I would not recommend these bits, not even for a one time job.
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bought this because I had to make an 13/8" hole for some cabinet doors for a project. I had seen... Bought this because I had to make an 13/8" hole for some cabinet doors for a project. I had seen previous reviews talking about poor quality and smoking upon use. The cabinet doors were birch plywood. The bit worked flawlessly. 2 days later, I tried to make more holes in some reclaimed pine decking...and the bit bound, smoked horribly, and couldn't even do 1 hole. In summary, worked once for a job then might as well throw away.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Save your money I had ten 1" holes to drill 2" deep at an angle in a 4x4 for a coat rack I made. First two holes were clean, third had some tear out, by the 7th I just changed over to a spade bit. They weren't working at all and had gone dull immediately. All holes were done in a drill press at 750 rpm. Makes sense why 7 of these bits are the same price as 1 decent one
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you only need to make a few pockets then this set will work for you. If you are working with ... If you only need to make a few pockets then this set will work for you. If you are working with soft woods these set will work great, hard woods will be a challenge. I used them to make pockets in a slab of purple heart. These bits had problems after the second plunge.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was looking for a single bit when I found this 8 piece kit. The cost was the same to get all 8... I was looking for a single bit when I found this 8 piece kit. The cost was the same to get all 8. I've used it to make about 75 flat-bottom holes. It works fine in my corded drill, although a drill press would give you a perfectly flat hole without user error.
Date published: 2017-03-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_152
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 191ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT