Model # A9FS8R1

Internet #202078676

Store SKU #105770

Ryobi Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)
0033287147540

Ryobi

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
$16.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Make clean holes in wood with the RYOBI Forstner Bit Set. It includes eight bits with 3-flat shanks to resist slipping. An X-Wing design gives you high visibility and precision cutting.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Helps you quickly make clean holes in wood
  • Great for making flat-bottomed holes
  • X-Wing design for greater visibility and precision cutting
  • 3-flat shanks
  • Target marks are viewable at 700 RPM
  • Includes 1/4 in., 3/8 in., 1/2 in., 5/8 in., 3/4 in., 7/8 in., 1 in. and 1-3/8 in. bits

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will this forstner bit set work with my ryobi hand drill?

Asked by: Dency
Yes, the bit will work in the drill, but you'll get better performance with a drill press.
Answered by: SteveO
Date published: 2017-01-24

What are the recommended drilling RPM for your bits? Would like to know for both soft and hardwoods. Thank You

Asked by: keith
for softwoods 1/4" thru 5/8" - 2400 rpm's 3/4" thru 1" 1500 rpm's 1-1/8" thru 1-1/4" 1000 rpm's 1-3/8" and above 500 rpm's Hardwoods 1/4" thru 3/8" 700 rpm's 1/2" thru 1" 500 rpm's 1-1/8" and above 250 rpm's Remember to raise bit often and clear chips, makes for a cleaner hole and keeps bit cooler to prevent burning and prolong tool life.
Answered by: BodaciousLawn
Date published: 2017-02-14

diameters in set

diameters in set
Asked by: cannoneer
Includes 1/4 in., 3/8 in., 1/2 in., 5/8 in., 3/4 in., 7/8 in., 1 in. and 1-3/8 in. bits
Answered by: BodaciousLawn
Date published: 2017-02-14

Do forstner bits come in the 1/4' siza?

Asked by: Larry
yes is the little one
Answered by: peter
Date published: 2016-11-08
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 49ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece) is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Two of Eight Were Warped (DEFECTIVE) Warped bits drill larger holes. Two of these bits wobble in my drill press (3/8" and 1/4"). I bought it in VA Beach (250 miles away)before Christmas and threw away the package. I can't find the receipt. I advise everyone to test these bits upon purchase. Several here have the same complaint.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great bang for the buck very well constructed, box is nice too organize. they cut pretty well but not as nice as the more expensive bits, but for casual use and jobs here and there they are great.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beyond horrible As bad as a bit set can get. The machining is not even acceptable. Out of the box, they appear to have been used on a sidewalk. I thought I bought a used set, but all 4 other sets had the same horrible machining. Dull isn't the word. I think it is time for Ryobi to go out of business. Even a low grade Diablo bit is superior in quality. I bought these in a pinch because I had to make a few clean holes on a job, and I had left my high quality bits in my shop. Needless to say, they tore up the wood, completely destroyed the hole and blew out the backside of the material. NEVER again will I buy a Ryobi product. Luckily HD took them back. But that's what I get for buying a cheap set of junk bits that aren't even fit for an amature.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible I bought these bits because the price was right. I should have known better than to think a full set of bits would cost the same price as 1 bit from a better brand. The bits were dull out of the box. Burned wood on the first hole I tried to drill. These are getting returned....
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had to return. Had to return this product because it would stop counting down at 1 hr. Will have to see if the next one ordered has the same problem. Home Depot very nice and accommodating in the return process.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Bit Set I got this bit set just in case I need it let me tell you that if wasn't for it, I wouldn't finish some work I did in my kitchen, strong and sharp, perfect!
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi Forstner Bits This is a good product. The only problem I have is the flat part of the bits have small knicks on them. The product makes the cut I need for pen turning.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did what I needed Product did what I needed it to do and is a great value. Not sure it would handle pro use, but for home use, it's perfect.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Set This is a set of good quality forstners, especially for the price. They make perfect flat bottom recesses for bolts and clean holes without the shaking seen with flat-bore bits.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great set of bits I really like the flat shanks for holding power, the bits cut fast and very clean. In my opinion, the best set of forstner bits I've owned
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I would think twice about it. I was glad when I first purchased the set. So far they have been pretty good but, then I was using one bit and guess what, the bit is not made the correct size. It is between sizes. Rather than take the whole set back I would like to have the one bit replaced or I would even purchase another bit , if some one would tell me what the number is fir the 3/8" bit.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product was as advertised and seems to fit my needs Nothing special to report but product and service was good as usual
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible quality. Upon opening the bit set it appeared each bit had been sharpened in a garbage disposal. I returned them to purchase another unit thinking that it must have just been the one defective set, but all of the other units in the store had the same appearance. This type of quality is unacceptable even for a value brand.
Date published: 2015-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time and Labor Saver These bits make perfect holes or perfectly flat bottoms. Excellent quality at a very reasonable price.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Straight. Two of the bits wobbled badly. Not good for doweling. Waste of $20.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I've drilled into hard maple and walnut with these bits and they always cut cleanly with no tear out. The bits have a center point that keep the cuts perfectly centered. Needless to say, Forstner bits should only be used in a drill press, not a handheld drill.
Date published: 2011-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected I am a professional woodturner/woodworker. Most of my shop was still in boxes after a recent move and I needed to quickly drill some holes to help a friend with a repair job. I couldn't find my (much more expensive) Forstner bits, so I bought these figuring they'd do in a pinch. I had no trouble drilling numerous holes, with most of the set, in white oak using my drill press. I'm not saying they will out perform my other Forstner bits a year from now, but they worked quite well for me.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too dull to be used Too dull right out of the box. Cheap price not useful if can't even be used first time out. Burned more wood than it cut. I had previously purchased a different brand, similarly-priced, similarly-Chinese forstner bit set and they put these Ryobi bits to shame. I only picked up the Ryobi set because I needed the lower size range.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Get What You Pay For The price is great but honestly they were all really dull right out of the box. I suppose I could take the time to get a file and sharpen them but it kind of defeats the purpose of buying something to save time. Ryobi is great for it's cheap price but this isn't the first tool I've bought from them that has been lackluster on first use.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from total Gaebage! these bits were not just dull but the cutting edges were chipped and jagged. they may cut straight in a drill press but on the job site building a set of stairs with a hand drill they walk all over the place and you have to push so hard to get them to cut and i mean practically standing on your drill. this WILL ruin your drill in short order. bottom line they are totally garbage!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Forstner bit set. I was a little bit worried that for the price it would be very poor in performance.I was very much impressed w/ its performance.The bit holder was another plus, Thank for making my project much easier. The Toolman
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective so far Used with a cheap no name drill press. Cut smoothly through some cherry and maple. Little tearout observed.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great for destroying your project I was excited about getting this set. The box is well designed. The bits are absolutely horrible. Trying to drill through a pine 2X4 is a nightmare. It is hard to imagine how a company could put out a product this bad. No more Ryobi for me.
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mostly Dull Out of the Box Most of the bits in the set I got were dull. That was a huge disappointment seeing as this product has such great reviews. I was disappointed in the bits and will need to sharpen them myself.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Drills These are extraordinary drill bits. There are exceedingly sharp and straight. I've been thrilled every time I use them!
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Without spending to much money this is a very good buy. They cut clean holes in both softwood as well as hardwood.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality....Great price Bits work well in both hard/soft woods and for boring into poly panels
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat the price! Great value for the money. Would recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced set of bits.
Date published: 2012-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like it should Great product out standing buy ! Ryobi is one of the best .
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Forstner Bit Set This set is a great value. I needed the 1-3/8" bit for cabinetry hinges and upon shopping around, a single 1-3/8" bit can run about the same price as this set. Nice bits overall.
Date published: 2015-03-09
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_78
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 105ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT