Model # A9FS8R1

Internet #202078676

Store SKU #105770

Ryobi Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)
0033287147540

Ryobi

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
$19.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Make clean holes in wood with the RYOBI Forstner Bit Set. It includes eight bits with 3-flat shanks to resist slipping. An X-Wing design gives you high visibility and precision cutting.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Helps you quickly make clean holes in wood
  • Great for making flat-bottomed holes
  • X-Wing design for greater visibility and precision cutting
  • 3-flat shanks
  • Target marks are viewable at 700 RPM
  • Includes 1/4 in., 3/8 in., 1/2 in., 5/8 in., 3/4 in., 7/8 in., 1 in. and 1-3/8 in. bits

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will this forstner bit set work with my ryobi hand drill?

Asked by: Dency
Yes, it should work fine in your Ryobi. I used a 1/2" dewalt cordless with the 1 3/8" bit without a problem
Answered by: Ben
Date published: 2017-02-21

diameters in set

diameters in set
Asked by: cannoneer
1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 5/8", 3/4", 7/8", and 1"... then a 1 3/8"...
Answered by: Fluffyjo
Date published: 2017-03-22

Do forstner bits come in the 1/4' siza?

Asked by: Larry
This is the one that I got.
Answered by: Fluffyjo
Date published: 2017-03-22

What are the recommended drilling RPM for your bits? Would like to know for both soft and hardwoods. Thank You

Asked by: keith
for softwoods 1/4" thru 5/8" - 2400 rpm's 3/4" thru 1" 1500 rpm's 1-1/8" thru 1-1/4" 1000 rpm's 1-3/8" and above 500 rpm's Hardwoods 1/4" thru 3/8" 700 rpm's 1/2" thru 1" 500 rpm's 1-1/8" and above 250 rpm's Remember to raise bit often and clear chips, makes for a cleaner hole and keeps bit cooler to prevent burning and prolong tool life.
Answered by: BodaciousLawn
Date published: 2017-03-12
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 18ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece) is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 105.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not do well going through 2x4 material. did not do well going through 2x4 material.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for me...they are just bits..... Works for me...they are just bits.....
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Drilled through oak treads just fine Drilled through oak treads just fine
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like they are supposed too! ... Works like they are supposed too!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product and works well. Very good product and works well.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well, clean, sharp hole . ... Worked well, clean, sharp hole .
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected great price... Better than expected great price
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price and sharp bits... great price and sharp bits
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good set ,does a good job Good set ,does a good job
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great set for the price ... Great set for the price
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really and clean cut... Really and clean cut
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts clean holes... Cuts clean holes
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from work clean work clean
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent... excellent
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I expected After reading the previous reviews I have arrived at the same opinion as several. Not very sharp, but under the conditions and the price it is what it is. A better set will be something on the list in the future. Not disappointed though, I expected them to not be premium quality for the price. Used to build a picnic table. Had to recess holes where the carriage bolts were placed in legs and supports. Worth the 19.00 wouldn't use on fine woodworking projects. Hope this helps.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible The cutting edges of these bits are very poorly machined. There are divots all along the cutting-edges and the bits do not cut well. This was a factory-sealed bit-set, so I know that it was not a returned product. The attached photos are the bits BEFORE any usage, i.e. straight out of the box!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless Right out of the package I noticed that the cutting edges were very jagged and dented and had burrs (see image). The three largest bits were dull requiring a ridiculous amount of force to get through soft pine. There was no point in trying the other bits. Completely unusable. They're going straight back to the store as soon as I find the receipt.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from They look like forstner bits These bits cover a good range of sizes and come in a case to keep them organized. They will make fairly clean sided holes in soft woods but do so more through friction than actual cutting. The cutting edges are very dull and full of nicks and even roll overs. If I had to guess I would say they receive only the initial grinding step and none of the additional honing steps involved in the making of better forstner bits. I bought this set because the store was out of the size of Freud bit that I needed for a project and I figured these were better than using a paddle bit, I was wrong. Just for kicks I tried two of these forstner bits head to head against two of my older Freud bits and these take 8-10 times longer to make the same depth of hole in the same yellow pine stock. I ended up cutting my stock wide, using a paddle bit for the wholes, and ripping the face flat on the table saw before trimming to final dimensions. If you have to make only a few flat bottomed holes in soft lumber very occasionally you could probably get by with this set. I wouldn't even consider using them on hard woods.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dull, dull, dull I needed to drill two 1/2" flat bottom holes in two douglas fir sliding doors. I bought this kit thinking it would be nice to have the other sizes. It was a complete waste of money. The brand new 1/2" bit was so dull right out of the (sealed) box that I could barely drill the holes. The holes were so ragged, it would have been cleaner to use my regular 1/2" drill. What a poor quality bit. This set is absolutely junk. Save your money and buy something else.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs Work Before Being Used My set had bad burrs along the cutting edge and required honing before being used. I used a diamond file to remove the burrs and the bits should be fine. Kinda like buying from Harbor Freight, as cheap as they were I knew I'd have to work on them first. Took 10 minutes but required a SMALL diamond file.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad bits dull, pitted, terrible bits. They tore rather than cut. could barely get through pine.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, awesome value I needed to make a series of 1 3/8" holes in cabinet doors. This set includes bits up to that size, so I was able to purchase this for about the price of a single 1 3/8" bit. Not only did it cut quickly, I had zero issues which slippage. And despite everyone saying not to - I used them with a hand drill. I can only imagine how well they work in a press!
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dull bits in general I agree with the other two recent posters that these bits are dull, right out of the box. Maybe the manufacturing process is totally hit and miss, or maybe the quality has declined. With all of the good reviews, I was surprised how dull these bits were. I had always bought Freud before--so I was used to good, sharp bits when newly purchased. Will get to work sharpening these and see if they can be improved.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What hinge? This is a great set of bits. Cuts are relatively quick, quiet, and accurately bored. The statement, 'You will never have a hard time finding your target mark again!' may apply to most people, but not to me. I managed to miss the mark twice in a line of several holes. However, visibility of the mark is superior to other forstner bits. As with any forstners, some of the bits should only work at lower than usual rpm--adjust drill belt or speed accordingly. If you don't the bits will smoke & squeal like a stuck pig on steroids. The storage box is quite well made and useful, except that mine came with no hinge pins. A couple of small sheet metal screws fixed the problem, but a company with Ryobi's reputation shouldn't allow that to happen. Also, It's difficult or impossible to remove all the advertising & promotional illustrations from the case. Sitting on my shelf, it looks like I shoplifted it. But I didn't, and the bits don't care. All in all...a great set at a great price.
Date published: 2010-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Two of Eight Were Warped (DEFECTIVE) Warped bits drill larger holes. Two of these bits wobble in my drill press (3/8" and 1/4"). I bought it in VA Beach (250 miles away)before Christmas and threw away the package. I can't find the receipt. I advise everyone to test these bits upon purchase. Several here have the same complaint.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great bang for the buck very well constructed, box is nice too organize. they cut pretty well but not as nice as the more expensive bits, but for casual use and jobs here and there they are great.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible I bought these bits because the price was right. I should have known better than to think a full set of bits would cost the same price as 1 bit from a better brand. The bits were dull out of the box. Burned wood on the first hole I tried to drill. These are getting returned....
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had to return. Had to return this product because it would stop counting down at 1 hr. Will have to see if the next one ordered has the same problem. Home Depot very nice and accommodating in the return process.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Bit Set I got this bit set just in case I need it let me tell you that if wasn't for it, I wouldn't finish some work I did in my kitchen, strong and sharp, perfect!
Date published: 2016-06-28
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_105
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT