The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GUD27ESSJWW
  • Internet #205908364
  • Store SO SKU #1001377971

Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White

Was  $1,399.00
Special Buy  $1,298.00
$1,168.20 /each

Save $230.80 (16%)  through 01/25/2017

Discontinued Model:

Model # GTUP270EMWW

Internet #202799093

Store SO SKU #413794

GE Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691226666

Discontinued GE

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The GE Unitized Washer and Electric Dryer features a 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and a 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer that accommodate large loads, helping you spend less time doing laundry. The innovative washer unit features an auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels that automatically measure the load size and add just the right amount of water, making it easy to conserve energy. Rotary washer and dryer controls help make it easy to set the ideal settings for your load.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer accommodate large loads
  • Rotary electronic washer controls and rotary electromechanical dryer controls simplify cycle selection
  • 9 wash cycles, including delicates, heavy duty and permanent press, help you care properly for a range of fabrics
  • 3 wash/spin speed combinations help you match the spin speed to the fabric type
  • 5 wash/rinse temperatures give you a high° of control over fabric cleaning and care
  • Auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels automatically measures the load size and adds just the right amount of water
  • Bleach and fabric softener dispensers automatically mix solutions with wash water for bright, soft-to-the-touch results
  • 4 dryer cycles, including air fluff and cool down, address everyday drying needs
  • 4 drying temperatures help you pick the setting that's right for your clothes
  • Cycle status lights provide accurate cycle times
  • 3-way exhaust options (back and sides) for versatility
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $1,399.00
Special Buy $1,298.00
$1,168.20 /each
Save $230.80 (16%)
Was $1,499.00
$1,349.10 /each
Save $149.90 (10%)
$1,399.00 /each
Was $1,599.00
$1,439.10 /each
Save $159.90 (10%)
Name Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White High-Efficiency 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer and 5.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White High-Efficiency 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer and 5.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in Classic Slate
Brand GE Frigidaire GE Frigidaire
Ratings (547) (101) (509) (88)
Dryer Fuel Type Electric Electric Electric Electric
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 3.2 3.8 3.3 3.8
Product Width (in.) 26.8 27 26.8 27
Product Depth (in.) 30.85 31.5 30.85 31.5
Color/Finish Family White White White Slate
Product Height (in.) 75.5 76 75.5 76
Washer Features No Additional Features Add Garment (pause),End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control No Additional Features Add Garment (pause),End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

85 Questions138 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Door hinged on left or right for the drier?

This question is from Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Tania
Manchester NH
November 2, 2012
I've reviewed the answers here: one answer from GE says that the "door hinges are on the left and not reversible." The other answer from GE says that the door hinges are on the right" and not reversible. So, WHERE ARE the door hinges on this model? Thx.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Answers (3)

Asked by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
EdnaB123
Miami, FL, USA
February 17, 2013
Answer: 
On the right, in my model.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 2, 2012
Answer: 
Hello Tania,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer
model # GTUP270EMWW.
I apolozie for the confusion on the dryer door hinges and will be happy to clarify this for you.
Facing the front of the unit, the dryer door is hinged on the right. The door is not revesible.
Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Can the vent be taken out the side of the machine and not the back? I need to push it in closer to the wall.

This question is from Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Nancy
Sterling
October 25, 2012
I have a restricted space and need the machine to go back. Right now the vent is running form the dryer and holds the maching fromt he wall. I bought a GE a few years back and it had the option of running the dryer vent out the side of the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
MiamiCondoOwner2013
Miami
May 3, 2013
Answer: 
Bear in mind that code may not allow you to vent to the side. In Miami, for instance, dryers now have to vented to the back. Apparently it's slightly safer that way, but it's a MAJOR headache if you're dealing with restricted space, and let's face it, anyone considering this unit likely is.
In the end, I couldn't find a stackable W/D that would fit into the 15yo closet and conform to the new code. Read More
Bear in mind that code may not allow you to vent to the side. In Miami, for instance, dryers now have to vented to the back. Apparently it's slightly safer that way, but it's a MAJOR headache if you're dealing with restricted space, and let's face it, anyone considering this unit likely is.
In the end, I couldn't find a stackable W/D that would fit into the 15yo closet and conform to the new code. Luckily, my contractor solved it. He built a 3"-deep frame around the closet and attached the louvered folding doors to the frame. Voila! Instant 3" more depth to the closet. Painted and finished, it looks like it has always been that way. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Litchfield County, CT
Read all my Q&A
October 26, 2012
Answer: 
I have had my unit for a little over a month and my unit does not have a knock out available to vent out either the left of right side like my old unit had. It was installed vented from the back and my unit is about 4 1/2" from the back wall. That's about the best you are going to get as far as clearance. Hope this helps answer your question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 26, 2012
Answer: 
Hello Nancy,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer model # GTUP270EMWW.
This model offers 3-way exhaust options. (Rear; Left; Right) This is facing the front of the appliance.
The installation instructions are available on the Home Depot website under "More Info".
I hope this helps!
Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Does the washer lid stay open on its own or do you have to hold it open?

This question is from Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Anne
Richmond, Va
April 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
It stays open on its own
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New Orleans
Read all my Q&A
April 25, 2012
Answer: 
The washer lid stays open, the dryer lid does not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 19, 2012
Answer: 
Hello Anne,
Thank you for your interest in the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White
Model # GTUP270EMWW.
Yes, the Lid will stay up on its own.
I hope this helps.
Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Another question asked is where dryer door is hinged. Answer was left side. When I look at the picture it is on my right.

This question is from Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
erinnis
Florida
November 28, 2011
Are the hinges on the left or right when you are facing looking at the dryer?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Boston, MA, USA
Read all my Q&A
December 6, 2011
Answer: 
The hinges on the unit I have are on the right side of the dryer door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 29, 2011
Answer: 
Hello,
This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer model # GTUP270EMWW.
I apologize for the confusion and the incorrect post on the dryer door swing and hinges. The picture on the Home Depot website is correct. The hinges are located on the right side of the dryer and the door is not reversible .
I hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 3 4 5 6 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:52:33.260-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202799093, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 6 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 1248ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 509.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not recommend this purchase I have owned this GE washer dryer unit for 6 months and am already on my second repair to the washer. I do not have tons of laundry, it is only used 1 time a week for two people!! very disappointed with this product! No problems with the dryer at this time.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected I like a lot about this w/d combo. For starters, it fits well in a limited space. Second, the capacity is definitely larger than expected; it really is a lot like a conventional family washer and dryer. It gets the job done. It has multiple settings which I like. So far I only have 2 negatives. I wish it had a signal when the dryer is about to be done; it has none. Second, the dryer keeps making a slash-type grease mark on my clothes, randomly. I have wiped out the interior of the dryer repeatedly, wiped all the nooks and crannies, and I cannot figure out what is making this grease mark. And once it's on the clothes, it doesn't come even with another washing nor chlorine bleach.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We purchased this to replace an older stackable machine. This machine is much larger and so quiet. We love the capacity and it drys the clothes quickly and you hardly hear the machine running (unless you have a noisy zipper or something in the dryer). In short, we could not be happier and have had zero problems.
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The reviews with Poor ratings are real. The washer broke after 1.5 year. GE technician conclude that the circuit board and motor are bad and repair cost is more than half of a new unit's MRSP. The dryer rips the button off my comforter cover one by one. What's worse is that any clothing with drawstrings (hoodie, sweatpants, shorts) will be ruined. The drawstrings get twisted and tighten very badly and become difficult to untangled.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buttons come off from shirts, cloths get damaged in dryer I have this model in my apartment. Everytime I use the dryer couple of buttons come out from shirts and sometimes cloths get torn. I don't know what the issue is. But it looks like many people are having the issue. The washer also has some issue while filling water. It tries to find out how much cloths are there and fill water. The funny thing is at some point the water is drained and filled again. So you just loose your soap water with this. Interesting thing is GE is still unaware of this issue regardless of many reviews on the product web page and several other places. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from strange sounding agitator We just got this machine but I've never had one with an agitator that sounds like a drum beat - boom...boom...boom...You can hear every single turn it makes - not smooth sounding and continuous like my old one. And put it on delicate and it's even worse - the beats are farther apart but more pronounced. It's on our main floor so hard to ignore.
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Size and features So far so great with this 2 in 1 unit - the delivery team was fantastic, and even got it up and running for me. The washer fits a good size load easily, as does the drier. Both seem to be relatively quiet and balanced well. Good range of settings and variable features to choose from. Very happy overall, and no issues to speak of. Plus it fits well in my apartment.
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features Bought it in Feb installed it in March. Been using it for about 6 weeks. Works great. Only one thing that could be improved upon is that it does not have a buzzer when each cycle is done, including when dryer is done. That can't be too big a deal when being manufactured to put in a buzzer. Otherwise so far so good!
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars The delivery men were professional and efficient. I had to bring in a plumber to replace on of the valves so they had to bring the washer back to the warehouse and deliver it a second time. The washer was actually larger than the one that it replaced. The delivery man had to squirm out sideways after installing it.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect apartment washer/dryer I bought this for my daughter in her new apartment. She loves it! She was pleasantly surprised at how large a load it holds. It's also very quiet. This was a great purchase.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This unit ruins your clothes! My Landlord replaced an old unit that went bad with this unit. I wish I had the old unit back becuase this new unit does a terrible job of washing and drying. The wash machine does not wash the clothes very clean and if you use fabric softner it dose not rinse out so it leaves spots on clothes. It also leaves clothes so wrinkled when they come out of the wash it looks like they have been in the washer for a week wet! The washer also rinsed my clothes four times the othe day, not sure why? As for the dyer it's no better. Anything that has a string on it the string will be shredded off. It also rips off buttons and has put holes in sweaters. I have also found black marks on clothes that will not ome out. I hang a lot of clothes to dry and the dewrinkle cycle gets absolutely no wrinkles out so I have to put it on for a lot longer and my clothes still look wrinkled. This unit is just very poor! Is GE going to reimburse us for all the clothes it has ruined. I really don't have a lot of extra money to be buying new clothes!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits in tight squeeze I wanted to buy the largest capacity in the smallest form. This fit the bill. It cleans well and is more than ample for a person show (like me). I like the dryer efficiency over the sound quality and duration of the washer. At time the washer seems to sound bogged down and exhausted, but it cleans adequately.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Machine is a workhorse. A bit hard to understand features and operation. The wash is well done and the spin get more water out than the machine it replaced, reducing drying time greatly.
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Washer broke within first year The machine had been working okay until a week ago. I had issues where it did not look like the washer thoroughly rinsed out the detergent, but it seemed to get the clothes clean. About a week ago the washer started malfunctioning. It would stay in the rinse cycle for an extended period of time with the lid locked and the machine did not stop when I turned the switch to the off position. I ended up having to unplug the machine to stop this. I had this happen a couple times before determined that this was a recurring problem. The only good thing about it breaking is that I am within the one year limited warranty (only one week away from having it a year!). Hoping that the repairs will be covered. The repairs are a whole other issue. I have found it hard to schedule service with GE. My appt has been rescheduled twice, so I am without a washer for over a week. The dryer works well and is still working; however, I have had a couple bottoms get caught in the lent catcher. One caught button came off and the other did not, resulting in a shirt that was twisted into a tight ball and is stretched and disfigured. Unfortunately there are not many options out there when it comes to unitized washer/dryer combos, but I don't know that I would recommend this one. I am a single person that had been using it for about a year,probably 3-4 loads every other week, so it is very disappointing to have it break so soon. Also extremely frustrating to try to get service. Looking back, I probably would have rented a unit to avoid all this hassle.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product fine; delivery not what I paid for... Paid for delivery, install and haul away. They delivered and told my maintenance person that they would not install because old one was not removed. I was not informed that the old one was to be disconnected for them to install and haul away. So clearly I paid money for a service we did not get.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine and does the job well. I bought this machine for my country home and fits in the restroom so well. it looks like the house was built for the machine!
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WARNING bought this used 1 year old, had repair man out and learned ex full load is only 1/2 way in tub line -- water only fills to 1/2 tub for ex large load. what's the purpose of a large tub if only goes to 1/2 way -- this is actually a med load to me. supposed to be a water saver. now I have to do several small loads for washing rather than my usual 4 loads. wish we'd never bought this even used. repairman aid nothing wrong with washer unit. this is how it functions. 1st time using dryer -- tore off string for my pants. what next? I could not afford a new one and good friend had this and NO problems -- just advised not to EVER open the lid --HUM
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Appliance I bought this a few months ago when I redesigned the laundry room. I was a bit concerned at first about the washer being easy to load and unload, but that is not a bit of a problem. The drum turns very easily so I can reach the clothes in the back. It is big enough that I have washed my quilted bedspread and a sleeping bag. I love , that for my everyday laundry, I can leave the setting on medium and let the machine decide how much water it needs. Place clothes and detergent in and hit start ! Of course going from the washer to the dryer is very convenient. When getting clothes out of the dryer it is really nice not to have to stand on my head !!
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE MY LAUNDRY CENTER. My husband wanted to do away with the pedestals under my front loading washer and dryer. I cannot bend over and lift heavy, wet jeans and towels out of a front loader. So I suggested we try this unit. I researched MANY before I purchased this product and I am so glad that I did purchase it. Because of the new guidelines for front loaders and the minimal amount of water used in those machines, clothes are not getting clean. This washer washes my clothes clean and the delicate settings are perfect for things that are simply less dirty and not in need of a scrubbing. YET -- it handles my rugs and my queen size sheets and bedding EASILY (not in the same load, of course). I am VERY happy with this purchase. The dryer is the right size and height for me to not bend to remove articles. The ONLY reason I did NOT give this product a five star is because it is slow to dry a large load of towels/jeans. It simply takes two cycles to get them dry and I live in a dry climate. OTHER THAN THAT, I AM IN LOVE!!!!!
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing appliance with exceptional value! I bought this appliance 2 months ago and am extremely satisfied with my purchase. This space saving appliance offers an enormous amount of space for large loads of clothing . If your looking for a washer and dryer that you can wash a comforter in this appliance does an exceptional job. Quiet operation and amazing cleaning capabilities ! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Larger than I thought, purchased as a 1st floor unit, thinking that I would have to keep unit in basement to do large items. Find that this unit handles all but the very largest items (i.e. king size comforters). Concise and easily understandable instructions
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Convenient A nice unit for my mom. It handles her laundry needs efficiently and is great for limited space . Although we had to replace the original unit due to the clutch going out in less than 2 years so I highly recommend purchasing the extended service warranty.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gets the job done This unit is okay for the price. It fits in the limited space I have and cleans/dries the clothes pretty well. The only things I don't like about it is that you can't tell what cycle the machine is on while washing and there's also no dryer buzzer for when a load is done drying. I bought this in October 2013 and had to have it serviced in January 2014. The piece that locks the washer lid broke off somehow and I was unable to use it until it was fixed. The repairman insinuated that it happened from doing an overly large load of laundry (I don't wash anything but medium loads because I specifically don't want to put a lot of stress on the machine). Since then it's been pretty good though.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Regular size loads I purchased this item a few months back and absolutely love it and would recommend it to everyone! I love the fact it has a regular size washer tub and dryer. We are a family of four and it works perfectly for us.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some Great, Some Not So Great Features I bought this machine last year. I love the size of the drum and the way it washes and dries my clothes. However, the "mother board" or control center or computerized panel controlling the functions (whatever you call it) is already starting to act strangely. Twice now the washer has stopped right before the end of the spin cycle, with lights on the panel flashing - and they continue to flash even when I shut off the washer. The machine would not work when I moved the dial to the start position. Both times I unplugged the washer overnight; it successfully reset itself and I was able to use it, but I suspect I will be taking advantage of the 5-year warranty I purchased in the near future.
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this to replace a small ages-old stackable and it works flawlessly! Dries great, it's quiet, and SPACIOUS! I would highly recommend this!
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice unit We needed to replace the upstairs laundry center and had some time to do so as we also have side by side set in basement. I spent much time looking online and reading reviews and this model seemed to get the most praise. It looks nice, fits well into closet, accommodates large loads, and cleans very well. It is also extremely quiet while operating. My only complaints are that a wash cycle takes an unreasonably long time, and the dryer drum is plastic. Perhaps they are all that way now, but the plastic is synonymous with CHEAP to me. Overall, I DO like this unit and would recommend it to others.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size Love it. Really great to have laundry upstairs rather than in basement. Easily fits in spare bedroom. Good size, can wash and dry king size comforter.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my machine I bought my machine several months ago and am so glad I did. It holds as much as my previous front loader and the dryer is more efficient.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not well built So disappointed I bought 2 of these And both had problems not completing cycles .. The funny thing is A&E can't figure out the problem !!
Date published: 2015-08-04
  • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_509
  • loc_, sid_202799093, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 115ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT