The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GUD27ESSJWW
  • Internet #205908364
  • Store SO SKU #1001377971

Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White

Was  $1,399.00
Special Buy  $1,298.00
$1,168.20 /each

Save $230.80 (16%)  through 03/01/2017

Discontinued Model:

Model # GTUP270EMWW

Internet #202799093

Store SO SKU #413794

GE Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691226666

Discontinued GE

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The GE Unitized Washer and Electric Dryer features a 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and a 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer that accommodate large loads, helping you spend less time doing laundry. The innovative washer unit features an auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels that automatically measure the load size and add just the right amount of water, making it easy to conserve energy. Rotary washer and dryer controls help make it easy to set the ideal settings for your load.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer accommodate large loads
  • Rotary electronic washer controls and rotary electromechanical dryer controls simplify cycle selection
  • 9 wash cycles, including delicates, heavy duty and permanent press, help you care properly for a range of fabrics
  • 3 wash/spin speed combinations help you match the spin speed to the fabric type
  • 5 wash/rinse temperatures give you a high° of control over fabric cleaning and care
  • Auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels automatically measures the load size and adds just the right amount of water
  • Bleach and fabric softener dispensers automatically mix solutions with wash water for bright, soft-to-the-touch results
  • 4 dryer cycles, including air fluff and cool down, address everyday drying needs
  • 4 drying temperatures help you pick the setting that's right for your clothes
  • Cycle status lights provide accurate cycle times
  • 3-way exhaust options (back and sides) for versatility
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $1,399.00
Special Buy $1,298.00
$1,168.20 /each
Save $230.80 (16%)
Was $1,499.00
$1,349.10 /each
Save $149.90 (10%)
$1,399.00 /each
Was $1,599.00
$1,439.10 /each
Save $159.90 (10%)
Name Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White High-Efficiency 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer and 5.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White High-Efficiency 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer and 5.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in Classic Slate
Brand GE Frigidaire GE Frigidaire
Ratings (573) (106) (509) (95)
Dryer Fuel Type Electric Electric Electric Electric
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 3.2 3.8 3.3 3.8
Product Width (in.) 26.8 27 26.8 27
Product Depth (in.) 30.85 31.5 30.85 31.5
Color/Finish Family White White White Slate
Product Height (in.) 75.5 76 75.5 76
Washer Features No Additional Features Add Garment (pause),End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control No Additional Features Add Garment (pause),End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Door hinged on left or right for the drier?

I've reviewed the answers here: one answer from GE says that the "door hinges are on the left and not reversible." The other answer from GE says that the door hinges are on the right" and not reversible. So, WHERE ARE the door hinges on this model? Thx.
Asked by: Anonymous
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-20

Can the vent be taken out the side of the machine and not the back? I need to push it in closer to the wall.

I have a restricted space and need the machine to go back. Right now the vent is running form the dryer and holds the maching fromt he wall. I bought a GE a few years back and it had the option of running the dryer vent out the side of the machine.
Asked by: Anonymous
Bear in mind that code may not allow you to vent to the side. In Miami, for instance, dryers now have to vented to the back. Apparently it's slightly safer that way, but it's a MAJOR headache if you're dealing with restricted space, and let's face it, anyone considering this unit likely is. In the end, I couldn't find a stackable W/D that would fit into the 15yo closet and conform to the new code. Luckily, my contractor solved it. He built a 3"-deep frame around the closet and attached the louvered folding doors to the frame. Voila! Instant 3" more depth to the closet. Painted and finished, it looks like it has always been that way.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2015-11-07

Does the washer lid stay open on its own or do you have to hold it open?

Asked by: Anonymous
It stays open on its own
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-17

Another question asked is where dryer door is hinged. Answer was left side. When I look at the picture it is on my right.

Are the hinges on the left or right when you are facing looking at the dryer?
Asked by: Anonymous
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-17
  • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_86
  • loc_, sid_202799093, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 34ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 509.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected I like a lot about this w/d combo. For starters, it fits well in a limited space. Second, the capacity is definitely larger than expected; it really is a lot like a conventional family washer and dryer. It gets the job done. It has multiple settings which I like. So far I only have 2 negatives. I wish it had a signal when the dryer is about to be done; it has none. Second, the dryer keeps making a slash-type grease mark on my clothes, randomly. I have wiped out the interior of the dryer repeatedly, wiped all the nooks and crannies, and I cannot figure out what is making this grease mark. And once it's on the clothes, it doesn't come even with another washing nor chlorine bleach.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We purchased this to replace an older stackable machine. This machine is much larger and so quiet. We love the capacity and it drys the clothes quickly and you hardly hear the machine running (unless you have a noisy zipper or something in the dryer). In short, we could not be happier and have had zero problems.
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The reviews with Poor ratings are real. The washer broke after 1.5 year. GE technician conclude that the circuit board and motor are bad and repair cost is more than half of a new unit's MRSP. The dryer rips the button off my comforter cover one by one. What's worse is that any clothing with drawstrings (hoodie, sweatpants, shorts) will be ruined. The drawstrings get twisted and tighten very badly and become difficult to untangled.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buttons come off from shirts, cloths get damaged in dryer I have this model in my apartment. Everytime I use the dryer couple of buttons come out from shirts and sometimes cloths get torn. I don't know what the issue is. But it looks like many people are having the issue. The washer also has some issue while filling water. It tries to find out how much cloths are there and fill water. The funny thing is at some point the water is drained and filled again. So you just loose your soap water with this. Interesting thing is GE is still unaware of this issue regardless of many reviews on the product web page and several other places. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from strange sounding agitator We just got this machine but I've never had one with an agitator that sounds like a drum beat - boom...boom...boom...You can hear every single turn it makes - not smooth sounding and continuous like my old one. And put it on delicate and it's even worse - the beats are farther apart but more pronounced. It's on our main floor so hard to ignore.
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Size and features So far so great with this 2 in 1 unit - the delivery team was fantastic, and even got it up and running for me. The washer fits a good size load easily, as does the drier. Both seem to be relatively quiet and balanced well. Good range of settings and variable features to choose from. Very happy overall, and no issues to speak of. Plus it fits well in my apartment.
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features Bought it in Feb installed it in March. Been using it for about 6 weeks. Works great. Only one thing that could be improved upon is that it does not have a buzzer when each cycle is done, including when dryer is done. That can't be too big a deal when being manufactured to put in a buzzer. Otherwise so far so good!
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars The delivery men were professional and efficient. I had to bring in a plumber to replace on of the valves so they had to bring the washer back to the warehouse and deliver it a second time. The washer was actually larger than the one that it replaced. The delivery man had to squirm out sideways after installing it.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect apartment washer/dryer I bought this for my daughter in her new apartment. She loves it! She was pleasantly surprised at how large a load it holds. It's also very quiet. This was a great purchase.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This unit ruins your clothes! My Landlord replaced an old unit that went bad with this unit. I wish I had the old unit back becuase this new unit does a terrible job of washing and drying. The wash machine does not wash the clothes very clean and if you use fabric softner it dose not rinse out so it leaves spots on clothes. It also leaves clothes so wrinkled when they come out of the wash it looks like they have been in the washer for a week wet! The washer also rinsed my clothes four times the othe day, not sure why? As for the dyer it's no better. Anything that has a string on it the string will be shredded off. It also rips off buttons and has put holes in sweaters. I have also found black marks on clothes that will not ome out. I hang a lot of clothes to dry and the dewrinkle cycle gets absolutely no wrinkles out so I have to put it on for a lot longer and my clothes still look wrinkled. This unit is just very poor! Is GE going to reimburse us for all the clothes it has ruined. I really don't have a lot of extra money to be buying new clothes!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Machine is a workhorse. A bit hard to understand features and operation. The wash is well done and the spin get more water out than the machine it replaced, reducing drying time greatly.
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Washer broke within first year The machine had been working okay until a week ago. I had issues where it did not look like the washer thoroughly rinsed out the detergent, but it seemed to get the clothes clean. About a week ago the washer started malfunctioning. It would stay in the rinse cycle for an extended period of time with the lid locked and the machine did not stop when I turned the switch to the off position. I ended up having to unplug the machine to stop this. I had this happen a couple times before determined that this was a recurring problem. The only good thing about it breaking is that I am within the one year limited warranty (only one week away from having it a year!). Hoping that the repairs will be covered. The repairs are a whole other issue. I have found it hard to schedule service with GE. My appt has been rescheduled twice, so I am without a washer for over a week. The dryer works well and is still working; however, I have had a couple bottoms get caught in the lent catcher. One caught button came off and the other did not, resulting in a shirt that was twisted into a tight ball and is stretched and disfigured. Unfortunately there are not many options out there when it comes to unitized washer/dryer combos, but I don't know that I would recommend this one. I am a single person that had been using it for about a year,probably 3-4 loads every other week, so it is very disappointing to have it break so soon. Also extremely frustrating to try to get service. Looking back, I probably would have rented a unit to avoid all this hassle.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product fine; delivery not what I paid for... Paid for delivery, install and haul away. They delivered and told my maintenance person that they would not install because old one was not removed. I was not informed that the old one was to be disconnected for them to install and haul away. So clearly I paid money for a service we did not get.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits in tight squeeze I wanted to buy the largest capacity in the smallest form. This fit the bill. It cleans well and is more than ample for a person show (like me). I like the dryer efficiency over the sound quality and duration of the washer. At time the washer seems to sound bogged down and exhausted, but it cleans adequately.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine and does the job well. I bought this machine for my country home and fits in the restroom so well. it looks like the house was built for the machine!
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Appliance I bought this a few months ago when I redesigned the laundry room. I was a bit concerned at first about the washer being easy to load and unload, but that is not a bit of a problem. The drum turns very easily so I can reach the clothes in the back. It is big enough that I have washed my quilted bedspread and a sleeping bag. I love , that for my everyday laundry, I can leave the setting on medium and let the machine decide how much water it needs. Place clothes and detergent in and hit start ! Of course going from the washer to the dryer is very convenient. When getting clothes out of the dryer it is really nice not to have to stand on my head !!
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing appliance with exceptional value! I bought this appliance 2 months ago and am extremely satisfied with my purchase. This space saving appliance offers an enormous amount of space for large loads of clothing . If your looking for a washer and dryer that you can wash a comforter in this appliance does an exceptional job. Quiet operation and amazing cleaning capabilities ! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Larger than I thought, purchased as a 1st floor unit, thinking that I would have to keep unit in basement to do large items. Find that this unit handles all but the very largest items (i.e. king size comforters). Concise and easily understandable instructions
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gets the job done This unit is okay for the price. It fits in the limited space I have and cleans/dries the clothes pretty well. The only things I don't like about it is that you can't tell what cycle the machine is on while washing and there's also no dryer buzzer for when a load is done drying. I bought this in October 2013 and had to have it serviced in January 2014. The piece that locks the washer lid broke off somehow and I was unable to use it until it was fixed. The repairman insinuated that it happened from doing an overly large load of laundry (I don't wash anything but medium loads because I specifically don't want to put a lot of stress on the machine). Since then it's been pretty good though.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some Great, Some Not So Great Features I bought this machine last year. I love the size of the drum and the way it washes and dries my clothes. However, the "mother board" or control center or computerized panel controlling the functions (whatever you call it) is already starting to act strangely. Twice now the washer has stopped right before the end of the spin cycle, with lights on the panel flashing - and they continue to flash even when I shut off the washer. The machine would not work when I moved the dial to the start position. Both times I unplugged the washer overnight; it successfully reset itself and I was able to use it, but I suspect I will be taking advantage of the 5-year warranty I purchased in the near future.
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this to replace a small ages-old stackable and it works flawlessly! Dries great, it's quiet, and SPACIOUS! I would highly recommend this!
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice unit We needed to replace the upstairs laundry center and had some time to do so as we also have side by side set in basement. I spent much time looking online and reading reviews and this model seemed to get the most praise. It looks nice, fits well into closet, accommodates large loads, and cleans very well. It is also extremely quiet while operating. My only complaints are that a wash cycle takes an unreasonably long time, and the dryer drum is plastic. Perhaps they are all that way now, but the plastic is synonymous with CHEAP to me. Overall, I DO like this unit and would recommend it to others.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Washer and Dryer!!! I absolutely love all the different features. It also dries fairly large loads quickly (for the size of the appliance!)
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My review It has the features I like being a single unit, takes up less space in confined utility area.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit Does give more space in the laundry room. Dials easy to see and operate at eye level.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall good unit Overall a good unit. Bought it as a floor model. Only problem is a broken drier knob
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits all of our needs amd fits in a tight spot We love our washer dryer combo. It works great and doesn't take up a bunch of space
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of operation Settings are clearly defined and easy to set. I'm glad I purchased this product.
Date published: 2015-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stacked Unit I love this stacked unit. It saves me so much room and is so convenient!!
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not satisfied. Having too many issues with this product, not washing properly.
Date published: 2015-12-16
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_509
  • loc_, sid_202799093, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 118ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT