Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144920485

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$93.77 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

8 Questions9 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
2 answers

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Mid-South
Read all my Q&A
April 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Berkshires, mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2016
Answer: 
As long as edges flush with concrete surface should be okay
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 26, 2016
Answer: 
Hi techimnot,
Yes, you need to line the bed with a breathable fabric.
Landscape Fabric is porous and will allow the water to pass through while holding the soil in place.
Garden beds need to drain, and when they drain, soil will wash away. If you line the raised bed with rubber or plastic sheeting, drainage will suffer, and so will your plants.
There should be holes in the walls of the raised bed for Read More
Hi techimnot,
Yes, you need to line the bed with a breathable fabric.
Landscape Fabric is porous and will allow the water to pass through while holding the soil in place.
Garden beds need to drain, and when they drain, soil will wash away. If you line the raised bed with rubber or plastic sheeting, drainage will suffer, and so will your plants.
There should be holes in the walls of the raised bed for drainage to ensure a healthy garden.
Thank you for asking,
-Travis Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Are there chemical free?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Berkshire,mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2016
Answer: 
Seems to be au natural. No signs of chemical treatment
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, they are not treated with any chemicals as far as I know
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

What is the depth of each tier?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2016
I see that 10.5" is listed as the depth, but what about the other tier?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Mason, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 20, 2016
Answer: 
The deeper bed is 10.5" deep, the shallower side is 7" deep.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

What is the depth of the bed?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 30, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

May 1, 2016
Answer: 
The bed is 10.5 inches high, 48 inches wide and 96 inches long.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:34:36.159-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520864, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 77ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 220.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Instant (nearly) garden Nice kit, easy to assemble. Living in a poor soil area, I wanted a raised bed for a herb garden. This fits the bill nicely. I combined it with an additional 48x48in kit. Assemble, fill with soil and instant garden. A few gotchas though - 1. there are no anchors, so it floats on the surface. I ended up staking min down on a few spots around the edge. 2. Careful when mixing kits. Mine had two slightly different lengths (a fraction of an inch difference) of boards that caused some bowing when put together.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Typical mass produced product Kit is well thought out. pull ALL of the parts out first, look at the boards and dove tails. I bought 2 kits. Side rails had some major issues as did the posts. I did alot of trimming and sanding to get mine to look good. i used 2 kits and made one large box. worked well and the wife is happy. Looks really nice if you spend some time.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Description is inaccurate This item description is totally inaccurate. The product I purchased online required screwing each and every board to hold them in place in the u-channel. The instructions noted that it SHOULD NOT BE RETURNED TO THE STORE. I also purchased a second bed from the local store and it was milled with the dove-tail joint construction. Due to this, I was unable to connect my two beds as neither boards were compatible with the other posts. Also a screw driver is required to secure the dove-tail boards via a post top piece. The dove-tail joint posts were smaller and the boards were thinner than the online purchase. The fair rating is due to the misleading description and the inconsistency in the product's produced by this manufacturer. I would recommend this as an inexpensive raised bed.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and beautiful raised bed garden kit This raised bed garden kit is exactly what I was looking for! They are very pretty and so easy to put together. My 12 year old son and I did it in minutes without any tools. We bought two kits so we have an area of 4 ft x 16 ft for our vegetable garden. Both kids enjoy helping to water the garden and watch it grow. If all goes well this summer, already planning to purchase more to expand our garden next year!
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little expensive for what you get, but very easy to install We were looking to put in a raised garden bed and I kept procrastinating on building my own. Mothers day rolled around, the tomatoes were still in little pots on the deck and the wife wanted them in the ground. Found this unit at Home Depot and decided to give it a try. It is a great little product which really works well, but in my opinion it is over priced. Eighteen ceder plants, six corner units and some caps should not cost almost ninety dollars, but I guess you are paying for the ease of install. Once I cleared the sod away and created a 4 x 8 level area, the actual installation of the bed only took about 10 minutes. Many bags of top soil, garden soil and organic compounds later and we were ready to plant. It is now a month later and the tomatoes, beans, cucumbers, basil and other items are doing great. Now that we have started with this system, I will probably add another 4 x 4 unit next year.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love them Love them... I should have put a little stain protection on them before I started planting, but that was my fault. I only have one crucial piece of advice - wear gloves when putting this together - it's a natural wood product and splinters could be a concern. BUT... I am serious - love these boxes and they look beautiful!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cedar Raised Garden beds The plans are thinner than I had thought they would be, but they seem sturdy enough. Assembly was very simple and, given the configuration I made, I was able to have one more bed than I had planned - two less deep instead of one deep. Ask me again in two years after it's had a chance to weather the elements.
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from above ground planters box This is my second purchase of this product. I really enjoy the ease of the assembly, also just the overall quality of the product. Not to mention how good it looks in our yard. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who is interested in purchasing a above ground garden box or boxes.
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and especially easy for me to put together! This raised bed was VERY easy to put together and I love the look of it. For the complete ready-to-go garden, purchased bags of good dirt and plants and voila! there it is, the new kitchen garden! I'm having a big event in June and all is now ready for it.
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the money This is made of very light weight wood, the posts that you slide the borders down on split , many of the boards were warped, it would be much better to buy lumber and build a bed from scratch.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient, Easy, and pretty! My husband picked one of these up from the store, and had no problems at all putting it together. It was completely stress free and probably put it up within 20 minutes. It looks great too!
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Quality Product I just purchased my fourth one of these Cedar Garden Enclosures. They are easy to assemble and they are very attractive. And the company that makes them provides excellant customer service.
Date published: 2015-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very practical product Easy to assemble, one has to be careful not to apply too much force while assembling it. It took about 20 minutes to put it together. Easy to expand in the future.
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great garden Easy to assemble, and versatile. I put three together and have 12 tomato plants, 4 squash, 12 pepper plants, and an assortment of herbs. Also cucumbers.
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to put together and very aesthetically pleasing. We put it in our front yard and it looks very nice. Easy assembly (I put 2 together in about 20 minutes). Great price, great product!!
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My garden is doing very well. I planted veggies in one side and flowers in the other. I am considering expanding and purchansing another.
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Assemble Product is light and had good tolerances. Assembly was easy. Wish it could be more customized.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product This is a good product. It's durable, easy to assemble, and the price was excellent.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from raised garden very easy to install, looks great, good quality product perfect for my herb garden
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Easy to assemble. Wood not as good of quality as i was hoping but acceptable
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and sturdy went together easily, is sturdy and should last for years
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased... Perfect for a small herb/veg garden, easy assembly
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is O.K. for the money Packaging was beat up and faded. It did take a mallet and some tapping to get together. The big complaint is that some of the dovetails on the corner posts were broken so wouldn't hold corners together. I had to put screws in some corners to keep together. It is o.k. for the money I guess but a really rough product.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dove tail joints great , wood was quality I looked at a lot of raised garden beds and this was the best one . I bought 2 4x8 foot kits and a small 16"x16" kit. Used the small kit and made one 16"x8'. They assembled very easily. From reading other reviews I agree they are quality and the best part they are made in the U.S.A. One more advantage is that you can go on the company's web site and order parts to extend to existing beds. They look good in our yard and my wife loves them. As always H.D. employees were very friendly and help full in making your purchases.
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good size for small garden The Cedar wood is great, but make sure you pick the spot you want it to set it up. It is very flimsy to move and I damaged mine a bit trying to move it by myself 4 feet. Easy to assemble. I recommend a mallet to help the boards slide together. I'll buy more of these in the future. I'd say it's a bit expensive for the amount of wood you get though. Also the height of the box isn't really high enough to keep some basic pests out, or dirt in if it rains really hard. I had to dig into the grounds pretty far to plant things.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes gardening easy After my father announced he wanted a garden for the grandkids and came over to my house with a Garden Weasel type contraption, I decided there had to be an easier way. No way was I going to till the hard clay soil in my yard. I found this raised bed, picked it up, and within twenty non- curse filled minutes, we had fully assembled the unit. Went to our local compost yard and filled bags with black gold, and now my tomato plants are over three feet tall. Cheaper to garden on your own? Hardly. But at least this time it was fun.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does not hold up well We bought these garden beds three years ago and up to this year I was very happy with them. But, now, at the start of our 3rd year, they are falling apart. The joints are coming apart and one corner just completely fell off. The toppers to the corners have come off over the years too. We are putting in stakes to keep them together for this growing season, but we will have to get new ones for next year. I don't expect things to last forever, but longer than 2 years!
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive raised gardens in just a few easy minutes... As I was getting my gardens started late this year, I needed to work fast. I had purchased the 4x4 garden last year and it worked really well for me, so this year I moved my old one to a different part of the yard and connected it to this set. Everything is growing beautifully! I imagine building my own beds might cost less (though some reviewers state otherwise) but this was a great option for me as I do not own the tools (yet) to do that.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This item is better priced then others, easy to put together, work with and place. I started with two and a week later got another one then two weeks after that I got one more for a total of four! Our corn, tomatoes, chili plants, lettuce, carrots and cantaloupe are growing great. The fourth one will be for round two of cantaloupe, corn and pumpkins. I just wish my yard was bigger! It could be used as a sandbox for kids if you use a plastic liner such as a plastic drop cloth that painters use.
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect little garden bed Easy to put together. Exactly how it was described. Only downside was the 25 cu ft of dirt required to fill it (very heavy!). It was exactly what I wanted for my yard! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2014-09-23
  • y_2017, m_1, d_16, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_220
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 89ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT