0077924081484

Weber

Model # 731001

Internet # 100657671

Store SKU # 781111

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

$399.00 /each

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # 731001

Internet # 100657671

Store SKU # 781111

Weber Logo
The large fuel door makes it easy to add charcoal

The large fuel door makes it easy to add charcoal

The large 726 sq. in. cooking space gives you plenty of room to put items on the grill

The large 726 sq. in. cooking space gives you plenty of room to put items on the grill

The bowl and lid are made of porcelain-enamel to retain heat and for durability

The bowl and lid are made of porcelain-enamel to retain heat and for durability

Width: 26.5 inches
Height: 34 inches
Depth: 26.5 inches

The Weber 22 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker boasts a whopping 726 sq. in. of cooking space across two plated-steel grill grates—enough room to smoke a full-size bird and several slabs of ribs simultaneously. This charcoal smoker has a built-in lid thermometer with a smoke-zone sweet-spot identifier between 200 and 275 degrees F that makes it easy to monitor heat and regulate accordingly with air dampers and briquette adjustments. To keep foods moist and flavorful, a porcelain-enameled water pan is included for high-humidity slow-cooks that produce juicy, tender, restaurant-quality results every time.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Includes (2) plated-steel cooking grates comprising a combined 726 sq. in. of cooking area
  • Bowl and lid constructed with porcelain-enamel for supreme heat retention and overall durability
  • Large aluminum fuel door allows grill masters to easily add charcoal
  • Outfitted with (4) rust-resistant dampers—(1) upper, (3) lower—each with (4) air vents
  • Lid is equipped with (2) glass-reinforced nylon handles
  • Built-in analog lid thermometer displays internal temperature
  • Includes: (1) porcelain-enameled water pan, (1) porcelain-enameled charcoal chamber, (1) steel charcoal grate, (1) silicone temperature grommet and (1) premium-grade form-fitting smoker cover
  • Weber's warranty varies by component; please see user manual for specific details regarding this model
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber customer service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
26.50 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
34 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
26.5 in 
Cooking space (sq. in.) 
726 
Product Depth (in.) 
24 
Product Height (in.) 
48.5 
Product Width (in.) 
23 in 
Details
Color Family 
Black 
Grill Assembly 
Full Assembly Required 
Grill/Smoker Fuel Type 
Wood 
Grill/Smoker Fuel Type 
Wood 
Heat thermometer included 
Yes 
Ignition Type 
Manual 
Outdoor Living Product Type 
Smoker 
Product Weight (lb.) 
68 lb 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Smoker chip tray included 
No 
Total BTU 
0 Btu 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
ANSI Certified,CSA Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Limited 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Grill/Smoker Fuel Type: Wood
Brand: Weber
Price: $300 - $400
Review Rating: 4 & Up
Grill Assembly: Full Assembly Required
Search
15 Questions91 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
11 answers

Can't decide 18.5 or 22.5

This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
Asked by
crodon963
Visalia,Ca
August 19, 2012
I'm new to smoking food. I have tried it on my weber genesis grill which turned out fine but I want to smoke turkeys for thanksgiving and I think WSM would be the better way to go but what size should I get? I've read that the 22.5 burns alot of fuel and is hard to maintain temps. where as the 18.5 wont hold large meats like whole racks of ribs you have to cut them in half which is no big deal but will it hold a turkey? Or turkeys?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2014
Answer: 
crodon963,
By all means get the 22.5" model, you won't be sorry! It's better to have a little to much room than not enough when you need it. You can Barbecue small or large on the 22.5' Smokey Mountain Cooker, use less fuel to cook smaller amounts of food! Hope this helps with you're question!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 28, 2014
Answer: 
Bigger is better. I have both sizes but a rack of ribs fits much better in the larger grill.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 4, 2013
Answer: 
The 22-1/2 inch is very large, but the other day I made 4 racks of ribs and 5 pounds of chicken wings at the same time. It's great to be able to make all that if you have room to store the grill. btw: Wings on the smoker are unbelievable! If you have never tried them, you don't know what you're missing.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Buffalo, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 28, 2013
Answer: 
get the 22.5 it does not burn a lot of fuel. no more I am guessing than the 18.5 as for the temp, it took me the first time about 15 minutes to get it locked in at 225 and stayed there for 5 1/2 hrs. it was so easy I thought the temp gauge was not working correctly, but it was. also with this one it is really big, you could easily fit 2 whole turkeys in this this, my first cook, I fit a 6 lb. chix, a Read More
get the 22.5 it does not burn a lot of fuel. no more I am guessing than the 18.5 as for the temp, it took me the first time about 15 minutes to get it locked in at 225 and stayed there for 5 1/2 hrs. it was so easy I thought the temp gauge was not working correctly, but it was. also with this one it is really big, you could easily fit 2 whole turkeys in this this, my first cook, I fit a 6 lb. chix, a 10lb. chix, 7 lbs. of chix thighs, and 6lbs. of polish sausage and still had room to spare. don't cut yourself short, because you are going to wish you bought the larger one. that extra space is nice. lets put it this way this thing is big enough where at the end of the summer I plan on smoking a whole suckling pig, probably about 30 lbs. or so. I saw a guy do it on you tube. he curled it up in a circular shape and tied his feet together. took him about 6-8 hrs. So my recommendation, buy the larger one, better to have the space and not need it than need the space and not have it. you won't be sorry Read Less
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2013
Answer: 
I had the same question before I bought my 22.5. If you plan on smoking some serious turkeys or even large meats like brisket, then go with the 22.5. Temperature hold is superb and fuel consumption is not bad. I've had 10 hour cooks with one large bag of charcoal and wood chunks. Plus you can always use less if cooking less. And think about this: you can never add more cooking space to your smoker, but Read More
I had the same question before I bought my 22.5. If you plan on smoking some serious turkeys or even large meats like brisket, then go with the 22.5. Temperature hold is superb and fuel consumption is not bad. I've had 10 hour cooks with one large bag of charcoal and wood chunks. Plus you can always use less if cooking less. And think about this: you can never add more cooking space to your smoker, but you can always decrease it. If you have the storage space and budget for the 22, then get it. Read Less
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Alta Loma, Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2013
Answer: 
We have two WSM units that we use for competition BBQ and I would recommend the 22" version. Yes, the 22" version does burn more fuel as their is more volume to heat inside the unit, but does give you the greater flexibility to do turkey's and whole racks of ribs. If you use lump hardwood charcoal like hickory or mesquite, you will find that it lasts much longer and gives the food a much better flavor Read More
We have two WSM units that we use for competition BBQ and I would recommend the 22" version. Yes, the 22" version does burn more fuel as their is more volume to heat inside the unit, but does give you the greater flexibility to do turkey's and whole racks of ribs. If you use lump hardwood charcoal like hickory or mesquite, you will find that it lasts much longer and gives the food a much better flavor than using regular charcoal briquettes. With a little bit of practice, definitely not a bad thing, I think you will be very happy with the WSM 22" unit. Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
West Haven, UT
Read all my Q&A
March 26, 2013
Answer: 
I have the 22.5 and have not had any problem with it using a lot of fuel or maintaining temperatures. If you use the Minion Method for building your fire, it will go for 12 to 14 hours easily. You can find out more about the Minion Method on the Internet.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 29, 2013
Answer: 
If you want to smoke turkeys pick the 22.5
If you only want to smoke one turkey - 18 is fine.
The 22.5 does burn a lot of fuel, but it gives you the option to smoke a lot of meat at once. Just buy some hardwood charcoal to mix with your dry wood.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Camillus, NY 13031, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 9, 2012
Answer: 
I have the 22.5 Weber, and it is not hard to keep a steady temp, especially using the minon method. Fill up the pan with as much charcoal as you need and scoop out about 1/2 a chimney full and light that and then return that to the rest of the charcoal and you'll be able to hold low temps for longer periods and burn much less fuel. I went though one bag and a 1/4 doing a 17 hr cook on 2 pork butts. It Read More
I have the 22.5 Weber, and it is not hard to keep a steady temp, especially using the minon method. Fill up the pan with as much charcoal as you need and scoop out about 1/2 a chimney full and light that and then return that to the rest of the charcoal and you'll be able to hold low temps for longer periods and burn much less fuel. I went though one bag and a 1/4 doing a 17 hr cook on 2 pork butts. It held temp overnight unwatched for 7 hrs while i slept and dropped a whole 5 degrees overall. I was very impressed with this. If your gonna spend the money, get the 22.5 and be absolutely happy with the ability to do large turkeys or whole racks of ribs. I did 8 full baby back ribs over the summer with 4 on top and 4 on the bottom all laying down without the need for cramming them into rib holders, so much easier and a much more even smoke throught. Read Less
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Scottsboro, AL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 28, 2012
Answer: 
I recently bought the 22.5 and smoked a 20# turkey, 2 hens, 2 ribs and 8 short ribs in 9 hours. I used a 15# bag of charcoal with chestnut sood for smoke. I could have easily have smoked 4 smaller turkeys in this smoker at one time.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

August 20, 2012
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. It’s really a matter of preference and what will work best for you and your needs. Both models work extremely well. The 18.5” is fairly deep when the top cooking grate is removed. This should allow for one average size turkey of 12 to 14 pounds to fit properly. If you have any further questions, please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071.
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
 
11 answers

how much is the cover for this?

This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
Asked by
leroylynn
April 11, 2012
weber221/2 in smokey mountain
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 17, 2014
Answer: 
The cover was included in mine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
August 20, 2014
Answer: 
It comes with a cover.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2014
Answer: 
leroylynn,
The Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker comes with a fairly decent cover. It is packed with the unit when you purchase it!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Francisco, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
It comes with a cover
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 4, 2013
Answer: 
A cover came with my Weber 22-1/2 inch Smokey Mountain Cooker. It seems quite adequate for the job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2013
Answer: 
The cover is included. I'm not sure how much an extra one would cost.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Alta Loma, Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2013
Answer: 
We just purchased two of these WSM 22" units and included in the package is a cover. It is actually well made for a manufacturer's provided "free" cover.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Camillus, NY 13031, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 9, 2012
Answer: 
The cover is included with your purchase
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Indiana
Read all my Q&A
June 26, 2012
Answer: 
It comes with a cover when you buy the 22.5" version
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Youngstown, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2012
Answer: 
It is free comes with grill
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

April 12, 2012
Answer: 
Weber includes a premium-grade cover with the purchase of the 18" and 22" Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker. If you have any additional questions or need to order a replacement cover for your smoker, please give us a call at 1-800-446-1071.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
 
10 answers

Can I use it with natural gas?

This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
Asked by
BIG--AUK
FAYETTEVILLE,TN 37334
March 26, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Lincoln, Nebraska
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2015
Answer: 
Nope.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 8, 2015
Answer: 
No, out of the box it's not rigged for natural gas use. I know some people have gone far to rig up their cooker with a gas line and burner... I'd say if you're going through that much trouble, you should just buy a different cooker.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
August 20, 2014
Answer: 
No. This i s a charcoal/ wood model
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Francisco, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. This is a charcoal smoker
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

November 10, 2013
Answer: 
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Buffalo, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 28, 2013
Answer: 
no this designed to be used with charcoal and a hardwood
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2013
Answer: 
Absolutely not. Charcoal and wood chunks and chips should be the only fuel with this particular unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Alta Loma, Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2013
Answer: 
The Weber Smokey Mountain is for charcoal only. It is truly a smoker and not a grill. It is designed for low and slow. The ultimate temperate would be 225-250 degrees. I would suggest hardwood charcoals such as Hickory or Mesquite and not briquettes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
West Haven, UT
Read all my Q&A
March 26, 2013
Answer: 
No. It uses charcoal and wood. It is not designed to use any form of gas. It works beautifully, and I use it often, turning out great smoked meats. But, only with charcoal and wood.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

March 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hello BIG—AUK and thank you for your question.
The Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker is designed for use with charcoal only. The charcoal chamber capacity is 300 briquettes.
Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
9 answers

How difficult is it to add wood or charcoal during you cook?

This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
Asked by
Lake Secession, SC
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2014
Is there enough space between the water pan and the fire box to easily add fuel to the fire?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 15, 2016
Answer: 
Not hard at all. The 22.5 has a large charcoal chute...just open it up and dump it in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lincoln, Nebraska
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2015
Answer: 
Not difficult at all. But the way this is set up, if you use The Minion Method, one bag of charcoal will be enough to cook just about anything.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Gasport, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 15, 2015
Answer: 
Yup...they suggest you use tongs, but we just place them on the coals with no problem even when she is hot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Denver
Read all my Q&A
June 9, 2015
Answer: 
It has a large door on the side below the water pan and the space between the water pan and fire box is more than adequate to add wood and charcoal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 17, 2014
Answer: 
Once you learn the cooker and the speed at which it burns wood/coal, you'll get a good feel for how much to add before you start your cook. A full ring of coal with woodchunks can EASILY last 12 hours... I've gone on 16+ hours on a full ring of fresh coal and wood at 220 degrees.
To answer your immediate question, I wouldn't recommend adding if you don't need to, but it's as easy as opening the door and Read More
Once you learn the cooker and the speed at which it burns wood/coal, you'll get a good feel for how much to add before you start your cook. A full ring of coal with woodchunks can EASILY last 12 hours... I've gone on 16+ hours on a full ring of fresh coal and wood at 220 degrees.
To answer your immediate question, I wouldn't recommend adding if you don't need to, but it's as easy as opening the door and tossing additional fuel into the fire. Just don't burn yourself! Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
August 20, 2014
Answer: 
I had to add charcoal half way though to finish the turkey. There is a door for access, I just shoveled it in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Westfield, MA
Read all my Q&A
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
Very easy. Take a look at some of the videos online. The front door opens for easy access.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2014
Answer: 
Tigerbassin77,
It's very easy to refuel your Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker as there is enough room to accomplish adding fuel, wood or charcoal! I just got done BBQing a whole beef brisket (not the small pieces or ends you find at most grocery stores), it weighed 21 1/2lbs. I put a whole 20lb. bag of charcoal in & started it with the Minion Method & put 1 split 16" log of Mesquite & 2 split hickory logs Read More
Tigerbassin77,
It's very easy to refuel your Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker as there is enough room to accomplish adding fuel, wood or charcoal! I just got done BBQing a whole beef brisket (not the small pieces or ends you find at most grocery stores), it weighed 21 1/2lbs. I put a whole 20lb. bag of charcoal in & started it with the Minion Method & put 1 split 16" log of Mesquite & 2 split hickory logs (I got the split logs at Home Depot, I believe CharBroil brand ?). That lasted for 14 hours, I had all the vents practically closed with the top vent closed about 2/3rds closed. I didn't have to refuel but, could have easily!
Hope this answers your question, & BTW you bought an OUTSTANDING Bar-be-cuer that will give you some of the BEST BBQ you've ever had with a little patience & practice! After you get the hang of it, it'll take very little tending.
Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 2, 2014
Answer: 
It is very simple. Open the side door and use tongs to place the wood or charcoal. You usually don't have to add much if you control your temperature with the vents.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-05-26 T16:21:47.834-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100657671, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 204ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;