Model # 1487001

Internet #203597715

Weber Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
0077924018626

Discontinued Weber

Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Performer Platinum Grill features an exclusive Touch-N-Go gas ignition system that ignites charcoal briquets with the push of a button. Especially handy is an LCD countdown cook timer with a large readout. The timer attaches to the grill or can be easily removed if you'd prefer to take it inside or keep it with you. The grill's classic porcelain-enameled bowl and lid with a One-Touch Cleaning System and high capacity ash catcher make clean up hassle free. Storage options are plentiful with the CharBin storage container which protects your charcoal from the elements and the built-in Thermoset work table that provides a great work surface for preparing your next grilled masterpiece. Also features a wire bottom shelf, no-rust aluminum vent and a glass-reinforced nylon handle.

  • Total cooking area = 363 sq. in.
  • Plated steel hinged cooking grate and plated steel charcoal grate
  • Electronic Touch-N-Go ignition system; aluminized steel One-Touch cleaning system with removable, high-capacity, aluminum ash catcher; Tuck-Away lid holder
  • Rust-resistant aluminum damper; one glass-reinforced nylon handle; removable LCD cook timer; two Char-Basket charcoal fuel holders
  • Thermoset work table; heavy-duty steel cart frame; three tool holders; built-in lid thermometer
  • Two durable all-weather wheels with full wheel hubs and two locking casters
  • Uses disposable 14.1 oa. or 16.4 oz. LP cylinders (sold separately)
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com
  • Assembly required
  • Protect your investment with a grill cover (sold separately)

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

10 Questions23 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Is this grill available in other colors?

This question is from Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Asked by
Mary
May 20, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Salisbury, NC
Read all my Q&A
June 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Chula Vista, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 18, 2013
Answer: 
weber makes it in black, blue, red, and green.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Prescott Valley, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 4, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it is offered in black as well as a dark blue.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marietta, GA
Read all my Q&A
May 21, 2013
Answer: 
I ordered the grill via on-line and green was the option which is a great color (vs. black). Jeff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

May 20, 2013
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. Yes, it is also available in black and blue. See the links below.
Black
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Weber-Performer-Platinum-22-1-2-in-Charcoal-Grill-in-Black-1481001/203597717
Blue
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Weber-Performer-Platinum-22-5-in-Charcoal-Grill-in-Dark-Blue-1488001/203597729
If you have any further questions please contact Weber Customer Service at Read More
Thank you for your question. Yes, it is also available in black and blue. See the links below.
Black
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Weber-Performer-Platinum-22-1-2-in-Charcoal-Grill-in-Black-1481001/203597717
Blue
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Weber-Performer-Platinum-22-5-in-Charcoal-Grill-in-Dark-Blue-1488001/203597729
If you have any further questions please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
4 answers

would you rather use this performer platinum grill than a weber gas grill?

This question is from Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Asked by
sunny
claremont
July 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Salisbury, NC
Read all my Q&A
June 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes! You can't beat the taste of a charcoal grill and even if you have trouble getting the charcoal lit, this will make it so easy!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lancaster, California
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2014
Answer: 
Wife bought me a nice gas grill 2 years ago, been used twice. The charcoal grills provide much better flavor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tennessee, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 28, 2014
Answer: 
I use the performance platinum grill more frequently when cooking beef and other meats that the charcoal taste makes it a special dish. I do use my Weber gas grill when regulation of temperature or longer cooking times are required.
Both products make for a complete outdoor cooking experience!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Prescott Valley, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 21, 2013
Answer: 
Absolutely, love the convenience of lighting and the traditional smoke flavoring to the food.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

How long does it take for the coals to heat up? How many times can you use the propane ignition system before you ned a new one?

This question is from Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Asked by
carioca
orange county
July 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Tennessee, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 28, 2014
Answer: 
The average time for the coals to ignite and heat up is five minutes. This is the average time to leave the gas igniter lit. Different types of charcoal may vary in really ready yo cook . For example lump charcoal lights very quickly while briquettes have different lighting times; either way, five minutes lighting time is pretty standard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 22, 2013
Answer: 
The coals take about 20-30 minutes to get started, depending on how much you use -- of course, you only have the gas on for 5 minutes and then you have the typical wait until the coals all get hot.
The gas lasts a long time. The earlier version I had used a 5lb gas tank, and we had to refill it once after about 8 or 10 years. I would expect one of these little gas cylinders to last at least a season.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

July 24, 2013
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. The charcoals will take approximately 15 to 20 minutes to light and ash over when using the gas ignition. The gas ignition is only used for the first 5 to 10 minutes of this. The disposable tank will last for twelve 10 minute ignitions. If you have any further questions, please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

What is the difference between the Performer Platinum and the performer Gold grills?

This question is from Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Asked by
Mac
June 11, 2013
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Tennessee, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 28, 2014
Answer: 
Both are equipped with the wonderful 22 1/2 inch Weber grill and cart. The Platinum adds the special convenience of a propane lighter for starting the charcoal without paper or lighter fluids which leave a lingering taste in anything being cooked.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Chula Vista, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 18, 2013
Answer: 
the platinum starts the charcoal or hardwood with gas from a small propane tank. no lighter fluid or newspaper needed. after the wood has begun to burn, the propane is not used to cook. the basic grill design, otherwise, is the same.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

June 12, 2013
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. The difference is the addition of the electronic touch-n-go gas ignition system on the Performer Platinum. If you have any further questions, please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:31:05.454-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203597715, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 244ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 33 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charcoal Weber Great upgrade of features from previous charcoal webers. My previous one lasted 11 years of extensive use before the adjacent table cracked - this new one seems to have a sturdier table. Best two new features on the Platinum Performer are 1. Propane starter worked even better than I thought it would - very easy to use. 2. Charcoal bin is ingenious. Not sure why someone didn't think of this one a while ago. Yes, I was already a big fan of Weber grills. But this one is a great step forward. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I'm A Happy Cooker! Best charcoal grill ever! I switched to a small gas grill years ago. Man, have I been missing out on grilling!!! With this grill I know now how much I have missed the joy of cooking with charcoal. This Weber is great! I love the ease of starting the grill with the gas cannister and no lighter fluid. The one-touch cleanup up is just terrific! NO MESS! The styling and nice work table are just beautiful! All the other features of this great grill are just ++++++++! May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weber Performer Platinum Charcoal Grill Got this about three weeks ago and have used it a fair amount of times. It has a decent sized cooking area and maintains a sufficient temperature. Being a low and slow cooker myself, this is definitely a plus. I have not used the propane ignition yet though. I figure that I will when the weather gets a bit more windier and colder. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weber Grill & table I have always liked the weber grills, the only thing is that is didn't have a table with it. Finally found this one on line. I was a little leery of buying for the cost, since no one had one to see. I bit the bullet and ordered it, and I am so glad I did. It is great. The table surface is a good size, and I really like the touch n go ignition to light the charcoal. It actually works better than using lighter fluid and lighter or the chimneys. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by #1 Grill I bought my grill 3 years ago. I love my grill. I keep it in the garage so I should never have to buy another. It's sturdy, wheels that lock, and I don't have to buy lighter fluid. Not one thing bad to say about this grill. Go buy one! August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Grill Ever So easy to use and would definitely recommend. My father has this grill from the first year it came out over a decade ago and is still going strong. The new details between then and now are so much more improved. This grill is a must. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great grill, poor packaging / handling This grill is great. It replaces an earlier version of the same grill (with the stainless top) we've had for over 10 years which had started to rust around the bowl. My only problem is with the packaging and/or handling. When I began to assemble the grill, I found that the plastic table had a crack along one edge, and the dome top had a big dent in the rim. Fortunately, it was easy to get Weber to send me replacements. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Grill I really wanted the taste of charcoal but the starting-ease of gas. And I got it with this grill. Assembly took a couple of hours but was very straight forward with no problems. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Grill This grill is perfect! It assembled easily (I did it by myself in about 45 minutes). The instructions are clear and concise. It lights like a dream and of course, being a Weber, cooks my food perfectly! June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weber is the best! Fairly easy to assemble...had it up and running within 40 minutes. Good looking and a great grill unit. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Finally, the Weber I've always wanted I currently own 3 Weber Kettles and the wife bought me the Performer Platinum for my birthday. This is the ultimate Weber Kettle, no more lighter fluid, an attached table. I'm in heaven, think a nice Prime rib would be a good break in meal March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gas lighting is a great feature The best charcoal grill with ease of lighting makes the need for a propane/natural gas grill superfluous! The cart is adequate for most cooking, although more counter space, especially when the need to access the charcoal arises, could be considered Cooked two beef tenders to perfection this weekend!. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a difference from gas Setup was a breeze, love the charcoal storage bin and the green color is beautiful, not just black. Huge cooking area and we had forgotten what charcoal barbequing taste like and is that much more work than the old gas grill. We are very happy with our choice. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I expected from Webber Easy to assemble and just what I had expected from Webber. I love the gas starter. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Purchase! This was the second purchase of this product, the first was a gift Liked it so much I bought one for myself. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It makes charcoal grilling a better experience. The Weber Performer Platinum with the built-in propane gas ignition system makes charcoal grilling a breeze, though you still need to make sure that you are using good quality, dry charcoal. This Weber grill is so tightly made that the grilling temp can rise to well over 500 degrees. I'm very happy and satisfied with this Weber product. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great grill We love it. So much easier with the gas starter. Weber is always our number one choice, and this grill is the best. The table attached to the grill is convenient to hold all your food, or anything you need for preparation. We had our grill shipped to the store and it arrived within days. September 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by really great! we love this grill. so easy to use, and the combination of a gas start with charcoal grilling is wonderful. we purchased the green model online, which wasn't available in-store. it is nice looking (some folks had complained about the blue model being too light in color), and works like a charm! June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weber performer platinum grill i love my new grill - it stands up to the reviews it has received. I previously had a Weber grill and really enjoyed it but I love the fact I no longer need lighter fluid. The built in charcoal holder and temperature control are great features. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Ever! I am dedicated to charcoal grilling. This is the best charcoal Grill I've ever owned. This grill is durable and holds up to weather and keeps producing a fine product. I have owned this grill for about four years and don't want anything else. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is the best grill I've ever used We are so happy with this Weber Grill. We have had this grill for over a month now and have used it a half dozen times. The grill is easy to use and the food tastes great. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The product is working great, but was missing a timer that was supposed to be in the box The unit works fine and was easy to assemble. The only draw back was that there was supposed to be a clock/ timer included and it was not in the box. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Product-Step Up Man, this grill works wonders and the best part is the fire starter ignition system. No more starting charcoal fires with chimney's with flying paper starter! May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by this is the best BBQ grill I ever owned. I gave my gas grill away to a neighbor and will never go back to gas again. other than it being on back order, my purchase was great. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's a Weber - what else can I say! Great grill! Additional features like the electronic lighter and the attached cart make it a real pleasure to use. April 23, 2013
  • 2016-10-30 T14:36:53.157-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_203597715, prod, sort_default
<<2
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 135ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT