Model # 1487001

Internet #203597715

Weber Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
0077924018626

Discontinued Weber

Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Performer Platinum Grill features an exclusive Touch-N-Go gas ignition system that ignites charcoal briquets with the push of a button. Especially handy is an LCD countdown cook timer with a large readout. The timer attaches to the grill or can be easily removed if you'd prefer to take it inside or keep it with you. The grill's classic porcelain-enameled bowl and lid with a One-Touch Cleaning System and high capacity ash catcher make clean up hassle free. Storage options are plentiful with the CharBin storage container which protects your charcoal from the elements and the built-in Thermoset work table that provides a great work surface for preparing your next grilled masterpiece. Also features a wire bottom shelf, no-rust aluminum vent and a glass-reinforced nylon handle.

  • Total cooking area = 363 sq. in.
  • Plated steel hinged cooking grate and plated steel charcoal grate
  • Electronic Touch-N-Go ignition system; aluminized steel One-Touch cleaning system with removable, high-capacity, aluminum ash catcher; Tuck-Away lid holder
  • Rust-resistant aluminum damper; one glass-reinforced nylon handle; removable LCD cook timer; two Char-Basket charcoal fuel holders
  • Thermoset work table; heavy-duty steel cart frame; three tool holders; built-in lid thermometer
  • Two durable all-weather wheels with full wheel hubs and two locking casters
  • Uses disposable 14.1 oa. or 16.4 oz. LP cylinders (sold separately)
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com
  • Assembly required
  • Protect your investment with a grill cover (sold separately)

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

10 Questions23 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Is this grill available in other colors?

This question is from Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Asked by
Mary
May 20, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Salisbury, NC
Read all my Q&A
June 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Chula Vista, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 18, 2013
Answer: 
weber makes it in black, blue, red, and green.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Prescott Valley, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 4, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it is offered in black as well as a dark blue.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marietta, GA
Read all my Q&A
May 21, 2013
Answer: 
I ordered the grill via on-line and green was the option which is a great color (vs. black). Jeff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

May 20, 2013
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. Yes, it is also available in black and blue. See the links below.
Black
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Weber-Performer-Platinum-22-1-2-in-Charcoal-Grill-in-Black-1481001/203597717
Blue
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Weber-Performer-Platinum-22-5-in-Charcoal-Grill-in-Dark-Blue-1488001/203597729
If you have any further questions please contact Weber Customer Service at Read More
Thank you for your question. Yes, it is also available in black and blue. See the links below.
Black
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Weber-Performer-Platinum-22-1-2-in-Charcoal-Grill-in-Black-1481001/203597717
Blue
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Weber-Performer-Platinum-22-5-in-Charcoal-Grill-in-Dark-Blue-1488001/203597729
If you have any further questions please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
4 answers

would you rather use this performer platinum grill than a weber gas grill?

This question is from Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Asked by
sunny
claremont
July 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Salisbury, NC
Read all my Q&A
June 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes! You can't beat the taste of a charcoal grill and even if you have trouble getting the charcoal lit, this will make it so easy!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lancaster, California
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2014
Answer: 
Wife bought me a nice gas grill 2 years ago, been used twice. The charcoal grills provide much better flavor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tennessee, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 28, 2014
Answer: 
I use the performance platinum grill more frequently when cooking beef and other meats that the charcoal taste makes it a special dish. I do use my Weber gas grill when regulation of temperature or longer cooking times are required.
Both products make for a complete outdoor cooking experience!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Prescott Valley, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 21, 2013
Answer: 
Absolutely, love the convenience of lighting and the traditional smoke flavoring to the food.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

How long does it take for the coals to heat up? How many times can you use the propane ignition system before you ned a new one?

This question is from Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Asked by
carioca
orange county
July 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Tennessee, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 28, 2014
Answer: 
The average time for the coals to ignite and heat up is five minutes. This is the average time to leave the gas igniter lit. Different types of charcoal may vary in really ready yo cook . For example lump charcoal lights very quickly while briquettes have different lighting times; either way, five minutes lighting time is pretty standard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 22, 2013
Answer: 
The coals take about 20-30 minutes to get started, depending on how much you use -- of course, you only have the gas on for 5 minutes and then you have the typical wait until the coals all get hot.
The gas lasts a long time. The earlier version I had used a 5lb gas tank, and we had to refill it once after about 8 or 10 years. I would expect one of these little gas cylinders to last at least a season.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

July 24, 2013
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. The charcoals will take approximately 15 to 20 minutes to light and ash over when using the gas ignition. The gas ignition is only used for the first 5 to 10 minutes of this. The disposable tank will last for twelve 10 minute ignitions. If you have any further questions, please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

What is the difference between the Performer Platinum and the performer Gold grills?

This question is from Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Asked by
Mac
June 11, 2013
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Tennessee, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 28, 2014
Answer: 
Both are equipped with the wonderful 22 1/2 inch Weber grill and cart. The Platinum adds the special convenience of a propane lighter for starting the charcoal without paper or lighter fluids which leave a lingering taste in anything being cooked.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Chula Vista, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 18, 2013
Answer: 
the platinum starts the charcoal or hardwood with gas from a small propane tank. no lighter fluid or newspaper needed. after the wood has begun to burn, the propane is not used to cook. the basic grill design, otherwise, is the same.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

June 12, 2013
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. The difference is the addition of the electronic touch-n-go gas ignition system on the Performer Platinum. If you have any further questions, please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:31:05.454-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203597715, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 304ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New to Charcoal and Very Satisfied! Assembly was straightforward and pretty easy. I was able to assemble the grill with no help in about 30 minutes. Performance so far has been better than expected and I am slowly learning to master the fire -- which is fun. I used a gas grill for 20 years and cannot believe I waited so long to try live fire grilling. Chops and steaks over lump cannot be beat. Looking forward to mastering low and slow over the summer. Also have used the grill to cook pizzas using the Kettle Pizza insert--makes phenomenal wood fired pies. Highly recommend the propane lighting feature and believe it is the only way to go if you can afford it.
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weber Grill & table I have always liked the weber grills, the only thing is that is didn't have a table with it. Finally found this one on line. I was a little leery of buying for the cost, since no one had one to see. I bit the bullet and ordered it, and I am so glad I did. It is great. The table surface is a good size, and I really like the touch n go ignition to light the charcoal. It actually works better than using lighter fluid and lighter or the chimneys.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, the Weber I've always wanted I currently own 3 Weber Kettles and the wife bought me the Performer Platinum for my birthday. This is the ultimate Weber Kettle, no more lighter fluid, an attached table. I'm in heaven, think a nice Prime rib would be a good break in meal
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gas lighting is a great feature The best charcoal grill with ease of lighting makes the need for a propane/natural gas grill superfluous! The cart is adequate for most cooking, although more counter space, especially when the need to access the charcoal arises, could be considered Cooked two beef tenders to perfection this weekend!.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the best BBQ grill I ever owned. I gave my gas grill away to a neighbor and will never go back to gas again. other than it being on back order, my purchase was great.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever! I am dedicated to charcoal grilling. This is the best charcoal Grill I've ever owned. This grill is durable and holds up to weather and keeps producing a fine product. I have owned this grill for about four years and don't want anything else.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weber performer platinum grill i love my new grill - it stands up to the reviews it has received. I previously had a Weber grill and really enjoyed it but I love the fact I no longer need lighter fluid. The built in charcoal holder and temperature control are great features.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best grill I've ever used We are so happy with this Weber Grill. We have had this grill for over a month now and have used it a half dozen times. The grill is easy to use and the food tastes great.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only choice if you cook with charcoal Replaced my 10 year old performer with the new version I loved it so much. My old one had a little rust around the handle and the ignitor didn't work anymore ( I did smoke in it ) but it was still a great grill. I gave it to a co-worker who loves it. This is hands down the best charcoal grill you can buy. It is so nice to not have to use lighter fluid. Excellent for indirect cooking. Thermometer is accurate and it's easy to get correct temperature. It's important to me living in the north because I like to grill year round. Getting the temp right when it's 35 degrees outside is critical to a good meal. Good quality and easy to assemble. Overall just a great grill. I may never cook on a gas grill but lighting the coal with gas is the only way to go.
Date published: 2014-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Performer Platinum Charcoal Grill Green Grill has some good features. Propane starter option. Temperature gauge. A place to hang the cooking grill. Table to set things on while grilling. I am disappointed with the clean out metal. It is thinner than on previous grills I have purchased. It is difficult to get the clean out pan off. It seems like you could bend the metal and then it will be a real challenge to use the briquet residue clean out system. I purchased a cover for the grill but that is too small and did not close well when I put it on the grill and table.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even Better Than The Classic Weber Grill They improved a perfect product by adding charcoal storage, a built in tray included in the mobility. We've had two (2) Weber standard charcoal kettle style grills working over the last 20 years. One rusted out; the other is closely following. We replaced one with this one and are thrilled with it; after reviewing a croweded marked of charcoal, gas, and infrared competitors - this was a great choice for us. Love it! The propane lighter was a new feature to us - it is great. No need for lighter fluid ever again!
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Grill Excelant grill at a very decent price for all of the things it will do which is everything imaginable. Highly recommend this grill. There was a slight problem with the lighter when assembled but a call to Weber got a new part within just a couple of days mailing time. They sent replacement part immediately. I can't imagine what else could be added to improve this grill.
Date published: 2014-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i finally own one. i despise this grill. LOL...per my kids. it has taken me awhile to understand how long the charcoals stay hot enough to continue cooking. I start out with a couple of ribeyes and find out after that I can still throw out another piece of meat and it continues to cook! anxiously waiting to place a slab of baby back ribs.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from #1 Grill I bought my grill 3 years ago. I love my grill. I keep it in the garage so I should never have to buy another. It's sturdy, wheels that lock, and I don't have to buy lighter fluid. Not one thing bad to say about this grill. Go buy one!
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Grill Ever So easy to use and would definitely recommend. My father has this grill from the first year it came out over a decade ago and is still going strong. The new details between then and now are so much more improved. This grill is a must.
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weber is the best! Fairly easy to assemble...had it up and running within 40 minutes. Good looking and a great grill unit.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Fun One of my better decisions was to purchase the Weber PERFORMER PLATINUM 22-1/2 IN. charcoal grill in green. I spent the extra $50.00 for the gas ignition and what a difference that makes! Igniting the coals is now fast (less than 10 minutes from cold to blazing hot), easy (a simple click of the starter knob), and CLEAN (no more black hands). The other features, lid holder, tool hooks, ash clean-out container, charcoal dry bin, small containers for indirect heat, off-set hood vent (for drawing the heat across the food), large working surface, wheels, built in thermometer and timer all make using this charcoal grill a real pleasure. I also bought a heavy duty, custom cover to protect the grill from the elements. My ten year old grandson and I were able to assemble the unit in record time as the instructions were clear and easy to follow. I fully expect to be using this grill for many delicious meals in the years to come.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weber Performer Platinum Charcoal Grill Got this about three weeks ago and have used it a fair amount of times. It has a decent sized cooking area and maintains a sufficient temperature. Being a low and slow cooker myself, this is definitely a plus. I have not used the propane ignition yet though. I figure that I will when the weather gets a bit more windier and colder.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Grill This grill is perfect! It assembled easily (I did it by myself in about 45 minutes). The instructions are clear and concise. It lights like a dream and of course, being a Weber, cooks my food perfectly!
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grill I really wanted the taste of charcoal but the starting-ease of gas. And I got it with this grill. Assembly took a couple of hours but was very straight forward with no problems.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! This was the second purchase of this product, the first was a gift Liked it so much I bought one for myself.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great grill We love it. So much easier with the gas starter. Weber is always our number one choice, and this grill is the best. The table attached to the grill is convenient to hold all your food, or anything you need for preparation. We had our grill shipped to the store and it arrived within days.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I expected from Webber Easy to assemble and just what I had expected from Webber. I love the gas starter.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really great! we love this grill. so easy to use, and the combination of a gas start with charcoal grilling is wonderful. we purchased the green model online, which wasn't available in-store. it is nice looking (some folks had complained about the blue model being too light in color), and works like a charm!
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is working great, but was missing a timer that was supposed to be in the box The unit works fine and was easy to assemble. The only draw back was that there was supposed to be a clock/ timer included and it was not in the box.
Date published: 2013-07-02
  • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_, sid_203597715, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 109ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT