Internet #203310380

Model # 266198

Store SKU #996860

0020066220280

Varathane

8 oz. Dark Walnut Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain

  • One coat coverage, premium wiping stain highlights wood grain
  • Fast dry wood stain creates rich color that dries in 1 hour
  • Easy to use wood finish covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz.
$ 5 98
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+
+

Product Overview

  • One coat coverage, premium wiping stain highlights wood grain
  • Fast dry wood stain creates rich color that dries in 1 hour
  • Easy to use wood finish covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz.
Varathane 8 oz. Dark Walnut Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain provides high quality color in 1 coat to enhance the natural beauty of interior wood surfaces. Fast drying formula dries in 1 hour and uses nano pigments to offer superior color and coverage. Superior wood stain saves time, energy and provides a great value. Easy to apply with a good quality synthetic brush or clean lint free rag without the need for pre-stain or wood conditioner.
  • One coat coverage, enhances natural grain of interior wood surfaces such as furniture, cabinets, doors, trim, floors, paneling and more
  • Achieves rich, deep color in one coat - covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz. can
  • Semi-transparent, high performance stain features nano pigments for ultimate color clarity
  • Premium formula seals wood pores and enhances wood grain with superior coverage
  • Available in a wide variety of trendy and vintage colors to finish any project
  • Dries in 1 hour saving time on projects
  • Cleans up with mineral spirits
  • Top coat with Varathane polyurethane within 1 hour of staining for durable, long lasting protection
  • No wood conditioner required prior to application
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • One coat coverage, premium wiping stain highlights wood grain
  • Fast dry wood stain creates rich color that dries in 1 hour
  • Easy to use wood finish covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz.
Model #: 266198
Sku #: 996860
Internet #: 203310380

Varathane 8 oz. Dark Walnut Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain provides high quality color in 1 coat to enhance the natural beauty of interior wood surfaces. Fast drying formula dries in 1 hour and uses nano pigments to offer superior color and coverage. Superior wood stain saves time, energy and provides a great value. Easy to apply with a good quality synthetic brush or clean lint free rag without the need for pre-stain or wood conditioner.

  • One coat coverage, enhances natural grain of interior wood surfaces such as furniture, cabinets, doors, trim, floors, paneling and more
  • Achieves rich, deep color in one coat - covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz. can
  • Semi-transparent, high performance stain features nano pigments for ultimate color clarity
  • Premium formula seals wood pores and enhances wood grain with superior coverage
  • Available in a wide variety of trendy and vintage colors to finish any project
  • Dries in 1 hour saving time on projects
  • Cleans up with mineral spirits
  • Top coat with Varathane polyurethane within 1 hour of staining for durable, long lasting protection
  • No wood conditioner required prior to application
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • One coat coverage, premium wiping stain highlights wood grain
  • Fast dry wood stain creates rich color that dries in 1 hour
  • Easy to use wood finish covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz.
Varathane 8 oz. Dark Walnut Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain provides high quality color in 1 coat to enhance the natural beauty of interior wood surfaces. Fast drying formula dries in 1 hour and uses nano pigments to offer superior color and coverage. Superior wood stain saves time, energy and provides a great value. Easy to apply with a good quality synthetic brush or clean lint free rag without the need for pre-stain or wood conditioner.
  • One coat coverage, enhances natural grain of interior wood surfaces such as furniture, cabinets, doors, trim, floors, paneling and more
  • Achieves rich, deep color in one coat - covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz. can
  • Semi-transparent, high performance stain features nano pigments for ultimate color clarity
  • Premium formula seals wood pores and enhances wood grain with superior coverage
  • Available in a wide variety of trendy and vintage colors to finish any project
  • Dries in 1 hour saving time on projects
  • Cleans up with mineral spirits
  • Top coat with Varathane polyurethane within 1 hour of staining for durable, long lasting protection
  • No wood conditioner required prior to application
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • One coat coverage, premium wiping stain highlights wood grain
  • Fast dry wood stain creates rich color that dries in 1 hour
  • Easy to use wood finish covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz.
Model #: 266198
Sku #: 996860
Internet #: 203310380

Varathane 8 oz. Dark Walnut Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain provides high quality color in 1 coat to enhance the natural beauty of interior wood surfaces. Fast drying formula dries in 1 hour and uses nano pigments to offer superior color and coverage. Superior wood stain saves time, energy and provides a great value. Easy to apply with a good quality synthetic brush or clean lint free rag without the need for pre-stain or wood conditioner.

  • One coat coverage, enhances natural grain of interior wood surfaces such as furniture, cabinets, doors, trim, floors, paneling and more
  • Achieves rich, deep color in one coat - covers up to 70 sq. ft. per 8 oz. can
  • Semi-transparent, high performance stain features nano pigments for ultimate color clarity
  • Premium formula seals wood pores and enhances wood grain with superior coverage
  • Available in a wide variety of trendy and vintage colors to finish any project
  • Dries in 1 hour saving time on projects
  • Cleans up with mineral spirits
  • Top coat with Varathane polyurethane within 1 hour of staining for durable, long lasting protection
  • No wood conditioner required prior to application
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Varathane Varathane Varathane Varathane
Name 8 oz. Dark Walnut Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain 8 oz. Ebony Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain 1 qt. Briarsmoke Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain 1 qt. Cognac Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain
Price
$5.98
$5.98
$8.98
$8.98
Ratings (1803) (1803) (1803) (1803)
Container Size 8 OZ-Ounce 8 OZ-Ounce 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart
Transparency Transparent Transparent Transparent Transparent
Coverage Area (sq. ft.) 70 70 275 275
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
8 OZ-Ounce
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
70

Details

Application Method
Brush,Wipe On
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Dark Walnut
Dry to touch (min.)
60
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
1
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Base Material
Oil
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain Key Features
Top coat required
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Specialty Finish/Small Project
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
1
Transparency
Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
8 OZ-Ounce
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
70

Details

Application Method
Brush,Wipe On
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Dark Walnut
Dry to touch (min.)
60
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
1
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Base Material
Oil
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain Key Features
Top coat required
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Specialty Finish/Small Project
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
1
Transparency
Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Questions & Answers

how would you describe the color? Is it more brown or gray?

how would you describe the color? Is it more brown or gray?
Asked by: shelley
dark smokey grey
Answered by: samuel2u
Date published: 2019-02-13

Can i use this on my screened patio deck floor?

Asked by: Jayz
I would not hesitate using it on your wood deck floor. That being said, I would use a lower gloss polyurethane (my personal preference for this type pf project) to protect the wood and preserve the color after application. Maybe test it on a separate piece of wood deck plank (scrap) that's not part of your floor to test to be sure it dries and looks like you would like it. Also as a tip, I recommend working in small square areas. It makes it much easier to wipe the excess off for a consistent look. I just got this product recently and love how it looks. Best of luck with your project!
Answered by: RedLaserRemodeler
Date published: 2018-09-02

Can it be used on the laminate flooring

Like the puzzle wood ones
Asked by: Adnila
I would say no as the product needs to be absorbed into the wood.
Answered by: Shuggie23
Date published: 2019-07-03

Can this stain be used on cedar siding?

Asked by: Cam
Not sure about cedar siding but I made farm style shutters from cedar fence planks from Home Depot and they look fantastic! This stain has good penetration and has repelled water since application. Assuming your siding is about 1/2 inch thick like the fence planks, you should have no problem at all. I highly recommend this stain!
Answered by: RedLaser
Date published: 2019-06-16
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_357
  • loc_, sid_203310380, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 13ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

8 oz. Dark Walnut Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1801.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I applied prestain Minwax, then 1 coat of this to desired finish. Looked very nice. LET dry in ... I applied prestain Minwax, then 1 coat of this to desired finish. Looked very nice. LET dry in shop for a few days. It may have not dried adequately, smell test was pretty much solvent free. Applied Minwax poly with brush and in process removed probably 1/3 of the finish. Project done in Spring @65% humidity. Make sure it's dry and spray final coats would have produced desired result. I suppose i can just apply another thin coat of varathane since it's just semisolid stain that sits on the surface for the weathered grey.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would not recommend this exact product because the color is very, very off/different than what th... Would not recommend this exact product because the color is very, very off/different than what the label states. This stain turned bare wood into a light gray color; was supposed to be a color resembling "Sunbleached" wood (not gray) Coverage was good and stain properties seem good, too. Maybe color will fade with time and it might finally turn into a more sunbleached looking color. Until that happens, I cannot recommend this particular product. Maybe they should change the color label to "Gray" until that happens.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I picked this product because I searched for hours on a good stain to use to stain my bathroom vanity. I liked the fact it said one hour dry time and one coat coverage. To be honest, the one coat coverage is not accurate. I ended up doing 3 coats to achieve the color I wanted but if you do thin coats like suggested then it will dry in one hour. My first coat I used a clean white sock to apply it, waited 2 hours then applied a second coat with a foam brush. I left it on for about 2 minutes then wiped the excess off with a white sock. I let the second coat dry over night, the next day applied the third coat with a foam brush and waited 2 minutes before wiping off the excess. Always use a new foam brush and a new white sock for each new coat. I used the Varathane stain polyurethane for the top coat.
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked great on pine. I would Suggest applying 2 thin coats with a lint free rag. Trying to do o... Worked great on pine. I would Suggest applying 2 thin coats with a lint free rag. Trying to do one thick coat will leave you with open spots and uneven areas. And Yes it dries fast, but let it sit for a day to fully dry out before applying a clear finish. I actually applied a glaze over the stain to give a weathered paint effect before applying the clear poly.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I needed something in between the Golden Oak and the really dark stains I have. It fit the bill ... I needed something in between the Golden Oak and the really dark stains I have. It fit the bill perfectly. It makes pine look to be a medium oak shade and it is exactly what I was looking for. Very happy with it. It does need to be watched and wiped off as it will build up a layer that won't allow a clear coat to properly adhere. All in all very happy.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The color was a perfect match but wouldn't soak into real cherry wood like I thought it should. I... The color was a perfect match but wouldn't soak into real cherry wood like I thought it should. It sat there on top of the wood and did not soak in so I tried rubbing it in and that didn't work either it just wiped off. So I really don't know if I would recommend this product for real cherry wood...maybe a different type of wood might work...who knows.
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this stain to match an old project (> 15 years old) that needed a new piece of oak repla... I bought this stain to match an old project (> 15 years old) that needed a new piece of oak replaced. It result was outstanding with the new wood not being obvious from the old surface. It is easy to apply with a rag or brush. Wipe it off after 2 - 3 minutes. A topcoat can be applied after the stain dries. Follow can instructions.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very dark than the color shown on the container. I... Very dark than the color shown on the container. I used it myself and it was easily applied and rapid to dry. It stains wood deeply and give rich color. I wished if I applied lighter color. I used two layers. Anyway i recommend this product. A good finish but I applied final gloss varnish to protect the door from uv and water.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not anything close to the color on the can as previous reviewers have said. I ordered this in very high hopes that it would be the color shown or at least CLOSE because I have a busy Etsy shop and am trying to find a stain that dries fast that is close to the colors I use from Minwax. Well, this stain does dry much faster, but the color is red/orange! It's almost what I would call a Gunstock not a light walnut. I had the same exact results as a previous poster posted in their photo, and I am experienced in staining. I gave it two stars due to the drying time. If they were to make it the color on the can. I would buy again. Otherwise, they won't be receiving my business for this color. Also, it is absolutely ABSURD that you can only purchase this online. If I could have purchased in the store, it would have been much easier to find a matching color, now I am scared to even buy a different color in hopes that it's close to what I need because I need to buy two and they still may not be close and waste even MORE money.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a great color. Make sure to use a wood... Such a great color. Make sure to use a wood sealant or Mineral Spirits on the raw wood before applying. I learned this from web research, and believe it made a big difference in getting an even and desired look. For this project, it is on 12' of Maple-veneer premium plywood from HD, used as a desk / dresser top.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The stain colored the wood in the color shown on... The stain colored the wood in the color shown on the can. I suggest reading and following the instructions on the can carefully. When I left the stain on less than a minute before wiping the excess, then the color was too light. When I left the stain on a couple minutes, the color was too thick and dark.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The chip sample as well as the printed label were... The chip sample as well as the printed label were brown. The finished product was battleship gray on my chair legs and I followed the application directions as stated. I had to remove the finish and redo the job. But another product. I should ask for a refund since the color wasn’t as depicted.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although I didn't catch the hue on my first attempt--bought... Although I didn't catch the hue on my first attempt--bought "red mahogany" that was too brown--my 2nd attempt with "cognac" was perfect. I'm restoring a headboard and cognac matches the hue of the existing wood precisely. Making the repair saved me $600 minimum--not bad for a $7 can of stain.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed to stain over a previously stained rough wood coat rack to change the color to a reddish b... Needed to stain over a previously stained rough wood coat rack to change the color to a reddish brown. This stain got it exactly right. Went on easy. Could modulate the color by how quickly I wiped it off. Was not affected by the original color underneath. Came out exactly how I wanted it.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used this product to stain some pine car siding.... I used this product to stain some pine car siding. While the stain went on well, the color was quite a bit grayer on the pine then the picture on the can and the sample in the Home Depot store. Overall, seems to be a quality stain, but the sample colors were not a very good match.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked ok, but not as well as other stains I've... Worked ok, but not as well as other stains I've used in the past. More like a paint than a stain. I found that it worked best when you paint it on, let it stand for 15 minutes, then rub it off with a paper towel. Regardless of the method, the appearance was flat -- not shiny.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used several brands and types of stains over the years, but this on was very easy to apply... I have used several brands and types of stains over the years, but this on was very easy to apply and work with. I love that it dries quickly and for the most part, evenly. I used this for a sign that was given as a gift and it's a gorgeous color!
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this to try a different color. Let me say that this brand never has failed me yet. The c... I bought this to try a different color. Let me say that this brand never has failed me yet. The color was perfect on pine. It reminds me of a red mahogany but not as dark red as it. It has kind of a purple tint to it just like a black cherry does.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1, Varathane, label or the product is good, but, if... 1, Varathane, label or the product is good, but, if you use this, there isn’t a lot of pigment for staining. There is more sealer in it, it may say “oil penetration”, it’s referring to the sealer, not the color of stain. Pick and choose wisely.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The stain result in a varied amounts of tan and... The stain result in a varied amounts of tan and gray, so the wall shows depth and not just a normal one color stain. I have used this next to a tan wall and medium dark kitchen cabinets. Looks great next to both of them. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Stain, NOT at ALL the designated color I built a simple white-wood table and wanted to stain and varnish it. I should have tested it on a piece of scrap wood first but I've never had any problems with any of the name-brand stains (like minwax) expecting there to be a possible slight difference in color depending on the wood. Well... THIS stain was supposed to be "light walnut". We all know what a light walnut is supposed to look like. This stain painted on THICK like a paint (not like a stain) and was bright RED/ORANGE. The stain left after wiping most of it off (or trying to, since it's thick) was the same, bright red. So I had to finish the table this way. I dripped/smeared some of the stain onto the can's label (while "painting") where it shows what "light walnut" is supposed to look like. Instead of the soft, light brown walnut color, it's red/orange/brown. Dried the same. This is terrible "stain" and I'll never be buying this brand again.
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am really pleased with the color and coverage. I have used the Varathane Premium Wood Stain in ... I am really pleased with the color and coverage. I have used the Varathane Premium Wood Stain in Golden Oak in just about everything I've stained in my home. I am completely satisfied and will buy it again.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used this stain on new kitchen cabinets. I wanted the stain to be a lot darker that what it was,... Used this stain on new kitchen cabinets. I wanted the stain to be a lot darker that what it was, so I defeated the purpose of stain and added another coat. Loved how the cabinets came out.
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had no choice to use this brand and color since... Had no choice to use this brand and color since hd stopped carrying minwax brand. I feel like the color should be slightly brighter when dried. Next time I’ll just hit up Sherman Williams.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The color is excellent it looks like it’s name... The color is excellent it looks like it’s name the color representation sample does not give an accurate idea of what the color will actually look like but we were very happy with it .
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It goes on more like a paint than a stain... It goes on more like a paint than a stain that would show off the wood grain. If that is the way you want your look it would be great but not for showing off the grain in the wood.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time with this product. Touching up a used piece of furniture, and matching pretty well. ... First time with this product. Touching up a used piece of furniture, and matching pretty well. Dried quickly. Nice stain. Would try one of Varathane's stains again, if needed.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After being a long time Minwax fan, Home Depot has made the decision to evolve over to Varathane.... After being a long time Minwax fan, Home Depot has made the decision to evolve over to Varathane. Having used the product before, figured I would go with it on a 9' showpiece dining room table. I started with a one pint can and liked the way the repurposed pine wood took the stain. I ran out and went for the quart can. I had to look at the can multiple times because the viscosity was noticeably thicker, thought maybe I bought stain/poly blend. I was impressed, the stain is more consistent, spreads evenly and dries as advertised in one hour given normal conditions. Looking at the can again, Varathane is a Rustoleum product, a proven brand. One word of advice, test the stain on a scrap piece. This dark walnut stain has a lot of color in it which is impressive, however it absorbs very quickly in this type of wood. I literally wiped it off as I stained the entire board surface (2x8's). Came back with a hand rubbed second coat using a cotton rag to fill in any gaps; the results were amazing. Finished it off with two coats of tung oil.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Its more like regular paint when you apply it the wood grain does not show. I've used another bra... Its more like regular paint when you apply it the wood grain does not show. I've used another brand and it did not cover the wood and you could still see the grain in the wood
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This stain is very thick and difficult to use. I... This stain is very thick and difficult to use. I thinned it and it went on unevenly and required excessive work to even out. Switched to Minwax and had no problems.
Date published: 2019-06-18
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1801
  • loc_, sid_203310380, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT